Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Journey to Christmas, DVD

Tyndale House Journey to Christmas, DVD

Travel to the Holy Land with five people---a messianic Jew, a First Nations woman, a poet, a Christian radio personality, and an agnostic lawyer---as they discover the true meaning of Christmas. Commentary from Bible experts, stunning photography, and an engaging reality-show format bring to life the culture, places, and people surrounding the nativity. Four sessions on two DVDs. Approx. 180 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
26 out of 3087%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Journey to Christmas, DVD
Review 1 for Journey to Christmas, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very interesting

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
DoBee
Location:Radford, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I found this to be very interesting and somewhat informative. The photography was great and the interaction between the "cast members" was enjoyable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Journey to Christmas, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great way to look at real Christmas story!

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
sweettea
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very interesting to listen to views and expectations of the different people on this trip. A great way to reconnect to the real Christmas Story! The visual quality help to make you feel like you were taking the trip with the group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Journey to Christmas, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The photography of the Holy Land is amazing!

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rhino
Location:Whitby, Ontario Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The struggle each individual who were a part of the experience would help anyone who is going through faith challenges appreciate how we all deal with doubts and find inspiration in their discoveries.
Highly recommended for anyone who has visited the Holy Land and can learn and admire the landscape, the 3 major faiths, history and archeology of the area.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Journey to Christmas, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
mack3
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very well done. Shared this move with my devotion group who love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Journey to Christmas, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent cinematography; interesting perspectives

Date:April 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think the five people selected for this DVD set/reality television documentary accurately represent many people in Christian churches in the United States today. Lots of agnosticism; many people who aren't sure what they believe or who they believe in; others who say they need to experience a miracle or mighty touch from God in order to believe in Him; even more who learned about Christ as a child, and maybe even prayed a prayer, but it hasn't had an impact on their lives as adults.
The cinematography is fabulous. The geographical and cultural visits throughout this movie are beautiful and inspiring. I would add, though, that not much Scripture is shared in this movie, and it has been filmed more for "seekers" rather than those who have a solid faith in Jesus Christ.
I received a complimentary copy of this DVD in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was provided.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Journey to Christmas, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Speedy delivery,excellent quality,enjoyable movie

Date:January 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
blg2you
Location:Calgary, AB
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The personal stories are refreshing, their journey was a beautiful reflection of historical events, the scenery and culture captured in the movie are breath taking. I really enjoyed watching this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Journey to Christmas, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anne
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie brought Israel and the history of Christianity to the viewer. The characters were real people with different views and outcomes. I pray for those in the movie still struggling with the reality of Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Journey to Christmas, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good, but

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janice R Cramer
Location:Medina NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I agree with some of the other reviewers that it is great historically but that the travelers could have used more guidance in their journey. It lacked biblical references and chronological direction. I would, however, use it again with adults.
I condensed and simplified the guide for maximum understanding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Journey to Christmas, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

ok, but not great

Date:December 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Dillsboro, IN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Journey to Christmas, a 2 DVD set, is a 4 episode reality series where 5 individuals are brought together to experiene the Christmas season in the holy land. The fact that I am not an avid reality show viewer is probably the biggest reason for my more negative review of this series. I found myself disinterested in the friendships developed among the 5 travelers and only mildly interested in their running commentary of their take on this holy land experience.
The 5 people were made up of 3 women and 2 men with each one coming to this journey with a unique purpose. Drew was probably the most outspoken and direct (no surprise that he is a radio talk show host) stating that he was in a "crisis of faith" and trying to decide waht he believed about God. Dusty is a singer/songwriter and Nazreth is a visual artist, and both of these women are profess belief in Christ. Rory is an international relations analyst from both Jewish and Christian backgrounds but is himself an agnostic. Kim is a first nations youth worker, Christian, and spends her journey trying to find out if Jesus was "tribal" or if this is just "white man's gospel." As you can probably imagine, the mix provided quite an array of thoughts and opinions as they saw the sights of the holy land. So, obviously, a lot of the opinions expressed, I did not agree with (plus I will mention that there was the occaisional taking of God's name in vain).
On the other hand, it is good to understand the true details of the nativity and rid ourselves of some of the "Christmas card" images we may have in our minds. However, a trip to the holy land will not necessarily convince an unbeliever of the truth of Jesus Christ, but will deepen the faith of a believer (as expressed by some of the participants). I am sure they have a much fuller understanding of the Christmas story by having experienced the landscape of the holy land firsthand.
I just couldn't get into the whole "reality show" side of this series. I found it distracting at some points and just plain dull in other parts. I would have enjoyed just a regular documentary - but, hey maybe I'm just boring like that. 3 out of 5 stars.
I received a free copy of these DVDs from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for a fair and honest review.
Check this series out for yourself at www.tyndale.com/Journey-to-Christmas/9781414365084.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Journey to Christmas, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

For Five Strangers, the Nativity is Now Reality

Date:December 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
swarren340
Location:Richmond, KY
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Some wonder about the truth behind Christmas. Not Santa Claus, but the Nativity. Either the Christmas story is true, or millions of Christians have been misled and believe a completely demented lie. This small group study, Journey to Christmas, seeks to answer the questions behind Christmas. Five people take a journey through the Middle East, walking in the footsteps of Christ. They first meet at the Tel Aviv airport in Israel.
This is not just a journey on a Jeep throughout the desert, but they also journey just as the Maggi would have, on camel. The four-session video gives an awesome background on the Maggi, explaining who they were, why they went, and how they knew to go. But, it is not just about the big events outlined in Scripture, the video does a great job outlining the day-to-day life of Middle Eastern families.
The live of those on this journey are interesting in and of themselves. They all have unique backgrounds and deal with the journey in their own ways. Perhaps the most interesting person is the radio talk show host, Drew Marshall. He desired, almost demanded, a supernatural experience before he finally gave up on Christianity. Days after this prayer, he was asked to take this journey. I won't include spoilers on the outcome of his journey, but it is definitely an interesting one to watch unfold.
As far as criticisms go, it almost seems as if these sojourners through Israel were just let loose with a tour guide and no Gospel presentations actually take place, at least not within the video presentation. While the academics explaining this trip are obviously intelligible on biblical tradition and the Holy Lands, there is no one of instant name recognition such as Mike Licona, Craig Blomberg, or the like.
I would also warn church groups or Bible studies to confront the theological statements made by those on the journey, remembering most of the comments are not reflective of orthodox Christianity. There were also factual claims made by the tour guide that I am not sure can be proven or are evidentially based, such as where the manger was, the location of Golgotha, and the claim of the actual empty tomb of Christ. Lastly, there was a presentation to establish the fact that Jesus was born, but there was no mention of Christ being God incarnate or the purpose of the cross.
On the other hand, the video has been well produced. It will hold your attention and the visuals are incredible. All of your study materials are contained on the first DVD. The tour guide is fortunately very good and answers the group's questions well.
Finally in the last episode of the collection, part of what I was looking forward to in the series happened. The Christmas story was read as a group while looking out over Bethlehem. Ultimately I cannot recommend this video for churches and small groups to purchase for as an outreach or apologetic tool, but it does give a good lesson in historical Christianity. I am glad I watched it, but I cannot endorse it.
I was given a copy of this DVD to review for Tyndale House Publishers and was not required to give a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Journey to Christmas, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Journey To Christmas is a four session DVD study that brings a new, unique way to look at the truth and existence of Christmas.
This study follows the journey of five people: Rory Nisan, an international relations analyst; Nazareth Mebrahtu, an artist; Drew Marshall, a radio talk show host; Kim Kakakauay, a First Nations youth worker; and Dust May Taylor, a writer/singer. They are five people from different walks of life who, for different reasons, have agreed to take this journey though the Holy Land in search of the truth concerning God's entrance into this world.
This DVD study has all the elements of a reality show but without the ridiculous, drastically exaggerated drama. For these five people, it's not about the ratings. It's about the experience of the journey. For these five people, it's about experiencing God as they travel through the same landscape as Mary, Joseph, and Jesus. For these five people, it's about getting more out of Christmas.
This is one study series that will bless its audience immensely, thus it is a recommended purchase for a church study or even a personal look into the Christmas story.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Journey to Christmas, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fresh Way to Focus on Christmas

Date:December 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hearthside Homeschool
Location:Cape Cod
Age:35-44
Gender:female
One of my favorite studies we did in the Senior High School Class at our church was The Gospel Journey. This was also a reality series and it was powerful. When I saw this offered*, I remember how much we enjoyed that one and knew we'd enjoy this as well. Although we haven't yet finished this journey, we like what we've seen. This is a fresh way to focus on Christmas and would be good for teens and adults, which is nice to see! Many times we see an abundance of products for children at this time and few that are aimed at adults. This is a refreshing change and may be just what you need for your teen or adult class.
*I received a copy via Tyndale for review purposes. A positive review was not required, merely an honest one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Journey to Christmas, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great series about the Christmas story

Date:December 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit that Christmas parties and gift-making mean I’m still one episode short of finishing this documentary/reality series about searching for the truth of the Christmas story, but I do have a strong opinion about it: I love it!
I think this would be a good DVD to show in a church setting (small study group or a larger event) but it’s also appropriate and accessible for anyone who’s interested in learning more about the Jewish culture and the settings included in the Biblical account of Jesus’ birth. You don’t have to be a churchgoer to get something from it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Journey to Christmas, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Journey to Christmas Video Review

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
MJinnette
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This video series was interesting. It is not for children. They would become bored very quickly and would not be interested in the historical, biblical, and geographic information that help these five people in their journey. There are four sessions, each one approximately 45 minutes long.
Five strangers from varied backgrounds and for different reasons spend a few weeks in the Holy Land at Christmas time trying to find the true meaning of Christmas while experiencing the sights where Jesus was born, lived and died. They experience living in a Bedouin tent during a brutal sandstorm like the Wise Men did; participate in daily activities Mary and Joseph would have done as they explored Nazareth; and traveled part of the difficult route Jesus' parents would have taken on their way to Bethlehem.
The stories of the participants were not neatly tied up with a bow at the end of the series. Some did not find everything they were looking for; other had their faiths strengthened and their lives were changed because of this journey. Most felt that Christmas has become everything Jesus taught against and that everyone was caught up in all the hoopla. We have lost our focus on the true reason for the season.
I loved seeing the different places and hearing about individuals involved in the Christmas story. I think it would be perfect for a Sunday school class, a bible study group, or someone wanting more from Christmas.
This video series was provided by Tyndale House Publishers for review without compensation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Journey to Christmas, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tracy
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to confess, I'm a giant nerd, especially when it comes to anything that even resembles a documentary! This movie (to me) felt much more like a documentary than a Bible study, (which was one of the reasons I liked it so much!) I love Bible studies that are full of knowledge (by all means, I think we need the emotional/how to apply to our lives type Bible studies, and I do enjoy them every once in a while) where reading them or seeing them helps me to leave knowing more than when I started. I have to confess something else here too, I planned on reviewing it over a few days, but ended up watching the entire thing in one day. I loved it, the scenery was stunning, the quality of this film is fantastic!
This film takes us on the journey of five "modern day explorers" Who travel to the Holy land to learn more about Jesus' birth. One thing I very much loved about this Bible study is that it gives us so many different perspectives! I loved hearing what each of the five explorers thought or how they interpreted personally what they were seeing and learning.
It's a little too late in the year for me to share this with our ladies group this year, but I know what our Bible Study will be for next year! Fantastic!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Journey to Christmas, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Visually "see" the true meaning of Christmas

Date:December 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
HS Mom of 4
Location:Georgia, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is there more to Christmas than what we experience in North America?
Travel back in time to Nazareth and Jesus' birth. Learn from Biblical scholars and university professors in ancient history, New Testament history, and Physics and Astronomy about not only the political unrest of the time, but also the everyday challenges of Mary and Joseph. In Journey to Christmas, you will follow along with 5 people who had never been to Israel - to the Holy Land. Each traveler is seeking his own answer to personal questions regarding the Nativity story. The diverse backgrounds of the travelers bring many different perspectives as they interact with each other, their guide, and the story - a messianic Jew, a First Nations woman, a poet, a Christian radio personality, and an agnostic lawyer.
In this series, you will find the true meaning of Christmas.... not the meaning normally seen in North America. The Christmas story is not about decorating, shopping and gift-giving.
Filmed on location in the Holy Land, follow the path that Mary and Joseph would have tred on their way to Bethlehem for the census. See where the Dead Sea Scroll were found. Through the eyes of the travelers, you will experience Avdat, Bet She'an, Bethlehem, Caesarea, Capernaum, Ein Kerem, Jerusalem, Masada, Nazareth, and Qumran.
As a visual learner, Journey to Christmas has allowed me to "see" the places written about in scripture more clearly. I can now picture the journey of Jesus' earthly parents to Bethlehem and the harshness of their daily life.
This will be a great addition to any home or church library. With the series set-up in 4 sessions, you could easily watch and discuss on the four Sundays of Advent leading up to His birth. I look forward to sharing this with my family and friends.
This DVD series includes a four-session study with discussion material and tools (in pdf format) including promotional material for use in small groups and/or churches.
I received a complimentary DVD of a Journey to Christmas from Tyndale Publishers for my review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Journey to Christmas, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful scenery of the Holy Land

Date:November 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
LaTawnia Kintz
Location:Forest Grove, Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Journey to Christmas is a fascinating new reality DVD series that invites you to explore Jesus’ birth through five modern-day explorers. Shot on ultra-high-definition film and packaged as a four-part DVD church curriculum, this unique study series chronicles the experiences of five very different people—a messianic Jew, a First Nations woman, a poet, a Christian radio personality, and an agnostic lawyer—as they journey through the Holy Land to discover the true meaning of Christmas. Guided by a local historian (Nizar Shaheen) with on-camera commentary from a team of Bible experts (astronomer Dr. Hugh Ross, ancient history expert Dr. Paul Maier, archeologist and New Testament scholar Dr. Craig Evans, Biblical times culture expert Claire Pfann, and others), viewers will see the Christmas story unfold though the eyes of each member on this unique pilgrimage. Journey to Christmas lets you immerse yourself in the culture, places, and people surrounding the Nativity. Stunning photography, a reality show format, exotic locations, and fascinating commentary from a team of Bible experts make this an unforgettable Bible learning experience!
I decided to review this DVD because I thought it would be interesting and I couldn't pass up seeing some great sights of the Holy Land.
The five explorers: Kim, Rory, Nazreth, Drew and Dusty, were pretty much every-day people coming from different backgrounds with similar questions about the true meaning of Christmas. I think I understood Drew best, having been a cynic for much of my life.
Were their questions completely answered? Well, you will have to watch the DVD to find out.
I went through the provided study material and found it good. It leaves enough room to bring about discussion on not just the explorers but also about who Jesus is, the archeological findings and what the true meaning of Christmas is to each person.
The scenery and places where the series was shot was wonderful and only heightened my desire to go to the Holy Land. But, I might have to pass on riding on a camel.
This is a beautifully filmed series that will be worth reviewing over again. It is suited for a small group study and will not only delight the viewers but will also bring them to a better understanding of why we celebrate the birth of our Savior.
This complimentary DVD series was provided by Tyndale House Publishers for review purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Journey to Christmas, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Addition to the Christmas Season

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first DVD that I have ever requested to review and it was a dandy. I am so glad I was able to watch this four part series. We watched the first two last night and the last two tonight. You can split them up in four series and do for a church bible study. The DVD is so applicable since it applies to the birth of Jesus is a totally different format as we head into December and his birth.
There are five very different people on this journey to the Holy Land. There is a Messianic Jew, A First Nations woman, a poet/singer, a radio personality who is trying to find God, and an agnostic lawyer. This group along with a local Bible scholar follow the paths that Mary and Joseph would have taken to get to Bethlehem. You see the culture, places and people surronding the nativity. The photography is superb and breathtaking as you experience the sights as the group does. They spend the night in a Bedioun tent and experience a horrific sandstorm ( the worst one in 42 years), ride camels, follow the route Mary and Joseph took, You see the Christmas story unfold through the eyes of each member. They end up in Bethlehem on Christmas Eve and read the gospel story and how that story will never be the same to each of them. There is also commentary from Bible experts which really highlight the story even more. It was interesting to hear each of them after they got back and processed it all what their final take from the trip was. This DVD has enriched my Christmas season even more and I plan to pass this on to my family so they can experience this marvelous DVD for themselves.
Since I will probably never get to Israel, this DVD showed me what it is like and that is why I am so thankful to Tyndale Publishers for sending me this free just for my honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Journey to Christmas, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Stunning Picture

Date:November 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bartik
Location:California
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Why should you watch this documentary?
Visually this documentary is stunning! The sights and sounds are authentic, the tour is spectacular, immerses you into the culture, and one can really visualize what Christmas is truly about.
I appreciate that the documentary is not biased and has individuals of different backgrounds that contribute to the Christmas story each with a unique way of thinking.
I also enjoyed the bit of history and insight that is provided throughout the documentary of the different places shown. However, it is also the failure of doing this point well that might drive you away from enjoying this documentary (explain below).
Why you might not enjoy this documentary?
To complete the point I made about the history and insights in this documentary, I am glad that it is somewhat contained in this documentary, however, if you are looking for detailed historical analysis, this is not the documentary to watch.
If you don’t like reality television shows, this is also not the documentary to watch. They have interviews (kind of like in survivor) where they have the people sit and talk about the experience and such. This is somewhat annoying especially if you are watching this documentary purely for a Christmas insight and to gain knowledge – I know the people I watched it with were annoyed at the “reality t.v.” feel.
The biggest reason you might come away disappointed after watching this documentary (as is the case with me) was the lack to biblical and spiritual content. It is interesting that though the documentary is about Christmas, the amount of actual scriptures read regarding Christmas was minimal. And spiritually? I did not come away enlightened or “blessed.”
Conclusion:
If you would like a stunning view (tour) of the holy land, you won’t be disappointed. You will feel immersed in the culture, you will see the sights, hear the sounds, and could even smell the smells (with a little imagination). This documentary provides a different view of Christmas and moves away from the commercialization of Christmas that the North American society has made the holiday to be. But ultimately, spiritually it does not contain much depth.
I received this DVD free from Tyndale House Publisher for the purpose of providing my honest review. I was not required to give a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Journey to Christmas, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Journey of a Lifetime

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
shortcake
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a faith-based, reality, maybe more documentary, small group discussion series--a pretty ambitious undertaking. This set of four videos follows a group of five people from various backgrounds, each with their own set of spiritual struggles. They follow the path of the Nativity from the Bible, starting in Nazareth and ending in Bethlehem, learning the customs and life style of those living during the time of Christ’s birth. They hit all the major tourist landmarks along the way.
Being a history junkie, this sort of thing appeals to me greatly. There is a lot of background information all throughout each of the four sessions. I watched the first two right away and would have watched all four in one sitting if I had the time. The human drama of the participants was an added layer to what otherwise would have been an historical documentary. I found it interesting to see if these holy sites would build faith in the group or would they be taken back by the extreme tourist traps the sites have become.
This series is set up as four small group lessons that I believe would be perfect for a home study where you bring in people who might not want to go to church. There are discussion materials you can print out to help facilitate a talk amongst your group. I don’t know if the videos themselves would inspire people to faith, but that is where we come in and lead our friends and neighbors in a thoughtful discussion of what happened 2000 years ago.
This DVD was provided free of charge by the Tyndale Blog Network in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>