Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Rose Publishing Rose Then and Now Bible Map Atlas

Rose Publishing Rose Then and Now Bible Map Atlas

The new Then and Now: Bible Map Atlas includes features that will satisfy the needs of students, pastors, or people interested in understanding the Scriptures better. The book includes:
  • Bible maps with clear plastic overlays of modern-day cities and countries and show you where Bi9ble places are located today
  • More than 120 full-color accurate and updated topographical maps
  • Many maps include notes and arrows to show details and routes of people and events
  • Fascinating insights explain how geography and politics affected the lives of Bible people like Abraham. Moses, Joshua, David, Esther, and many more.
Along the way you will come to understand Bible places and the people who lived there!

The exciting vents in the Bible took place thousands of years ago--in a culture very different from today's modern world. Author Dr. Paul Wright has lived in Jerusalem for many years and teaches about the culture, politics, and geography of the Bible. With a wonderful gift for storytelling, Paul opens up the world of the Bible in ways that will help you understand the stories of beloved Bible characters.

  • See how David's clever understanding of geography and politics led to his marriage with Ahinoam of Jezreel
  • Discover why Naomi, in the book of Ruth, couldn't just move back to Bethlehem after her husband's death and farm his land again.
  • Find out why Moses and the children of Israel took the long route from Egypt to the Promised Land, rather than the direct route
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rose Then and Now Bible Map Atlas
Review 1 for Rose Then and Now Bible Map Atlas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helpful atlas

Date:March 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jimmy Reagan
Location:Leesville, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you like a fine Bible Atlas written by someone who has been immersed in the lands of the Bible? Then the Rose Then and Now Bible Atlas is a great option for you. Substantial at 272 pages, yet accessible even for newer Bible students, we have a real asset here.
Perhaps you saw the earlier Rose Then and Now Bible Maps. I always felt it was more of a Sunday School item than one for the serious Bible student, though the modern overlays are a brilliant idea. Frankly, there were just too few of them and I would have preferred a different scale at times. There are about the same number of overlays, but we have a fine atlas too. Really, the overlays are just a nice addition to the atlas itself.
What we have now is Rose Publishing joining the big boys in the atlas world. What is unique to this volume among the atlases out there is the historical detail given. Paul Wright does a great job of relating the biblical narrative as he progresses incorporating well the geographic details. The history begins with the Patriarchs. There is no mention of Adam or Genesis 1-11, pro or con. My guess is that there is little real geographic knowledge of those times.
Still, Scripture pervades the volume. In the chapter on Jesus, He is described as God in human form. The entire atlas takes a historical approach. There are no sections on parts of the Bible like, say, the Minor Prophets. Their time period is covered in the historical flow, just not the books themselves. Most atlases take the other approach, but I am glad to have one from this distinct vantage point.
The maps themselves are from Carta, which is the gold standard of Bible maps. The pictures are satisfactory and the maps plentiful enough to go along with a rich text. Most people just try to get one quality Bible Atlas. This volume is a contender for the Bible Student.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rose Then and Now Bible Map Atlas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Resource

Date:February 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
paul dare
Location:Westland, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another wonderfully made, helpful and encouraging resource from Rose Publishing. The Rose Then and Now Bible Map Atlas is a beautifully hardbound volume that belongs on the shelf of any Bible student today. This 272 page text book by PhD Phil H. Wright is packed with beautiful color photographs of the Middle East along with over 100 full color maps. There are eight (if I counted them all) plastic overlays that give the reader a great compare and contrast view of ancient cities and regions with modern day countries and capitols.
Dr. Wright uses the flow of the books of the Bible to shed insight on the lay of the land and it's importance during each epoch of Biblical history. Scholarly and robust articles on the patriarchs, Moses, David, Jesus, Paul and more, explore the details of each period of history and paint a sweeping visual survey of the Bible for the reader.
This is a great book and would make a wonderful gift to a high school graduate, heading off to Bible college. It would also make a great coffee table book for any Christian family.
I can highly recommend another great publication from the team at Rose Publishing. Get your Then and Now Bible Atlas today.
Rose Publishing provided me an advanced reader edition of this resource.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rose Then and Now Bible Map Atlas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome atlas that brings history to life

Date:March 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Retha
Location:South Africa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you read the Bible and wonder what the weather was like, what type of soil the Israelites had to contend with or where exactly did these specific events take place? At a glance the Rose Then And Now Bible Map Atlas reveals these mysteries. Although the Israelites lived centuries ago, their lives and times become a reality when peering through plastic overlays of modern day maps on top of biblical maps centuries ago.
The Old Testament timeline cleverly combines Bible history, time span markers and year markers. The Bible books are displayed according to the historical settings, not when the books were written.
One of the maps that fascinated me the most was the one on Culture and Commerce in the Ancient Near East. In addition to the different trade routes, the map displays the different commodities by way of tiny images, e.g. for horse breeding, camel breeding, and where different mines were.
The route travelled by Abraham took him through fertile lands with abundant water as well as the hard limestone and hill countries of Israel. His daily challenges to keep his tribe safe, such as finding grazing for his livestock, digging wells for water, and protecting it, becomes a reality with the different land context maps displaying the geography, the topical surfaces, and climate.
Another example of the Bible Map Atlas’s uniqueness is a map highlighting events in the life of John, for example where he met Jesus for breakfast. Each chapter written on historical people and events contain relevant maps, tables, Bible passage references, and images.
I highly recommend, the Rose Then And Now Bible Map Atlas for its uniqueness, researched information, relevance, and picturing the life and times of the Bible. It draws you in; you will spend hours in these pages without realizing it.
Rose Publishing provided me with an advanced reader copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rose Then and Now Bible Map Atlas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book and PDFs

Date:October 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
sangera
Location:NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book is awesome with lots of pictures and text explaining heroes of the Bible. Some large full page maps have sturdy clear plastic overlays of modern day places. The bibliography is impressive and the Index is very detailed covering 7 pages.
My favorite is that you receive a very nice book as well as the book on PDF, 287 pages. The book is very large but the files can be opened on the iPad.
Thank you to Rose Publishing who gave me this book to review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rose Then and Now Bible Map Atlas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good resource!

Date:September 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Micah
Location:Canada
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Rose Then and Now Bible Map Atlas is a great (and very large) resource for Biblical culture and location study. It contains a large index for ease of use so people can access their desired topic more quickly. This book contains approximately two-hundred and seventy pages, with over 400 charts, maps and/or pictures (including a timeline) for very vivid detail regarding the topic that the reader may be researching. Plastic overlays show modern-day differences in the geography from that of ancient times. There are also large cultural studies that are based off of thirty characters , covering the Exodus, Jesus’ life, Paul’s Journeys, the Patriarchs, Isaiah’s vision, and so much more. This is a great resource for researchers or for those who merely desire to quickly see an overview of a certain character, culture, or chorography. So many other topics are discussed also, such as cultural traditions, politics, and interesting facts about the land and regions. This is a five star book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rose Then and Now Bible Map Atlas
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

maps illegable

Date:November 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Paul
Location:South Africa
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ebook maps are so small they are illegable & cannot expand as can the rest of the print. I have a Samsung 10.1 Tablet. I have found that a number of ebook inserts in cbd's ereader are illegable so I am not sure if its the reader or publishers fault. If the maps are illegable there is no point buying the atlas. CBD kindly refunded purchase price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rose Then and Now Bible Map Atlas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than I expected

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Steve Lucas
Location:Atenas, Costa Rica
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shortly after I became a Christian, my dad gave me a Bible atlas. I loved it. Understanding the geography of the Bible has helped my personal and professional Bible study ever since. So when I received my copy of the Rose Then and Now Bible Map Atlas (With Biblical Background and Culture) by Paul H. Wright (Rose Publishing, 2012), I couldn’t wait to dive in.
In many ways Wright’s atlas is like all others. It has the standard maps of the Holy Land depicting the travels and conquests from the Bible. It also has detailed Jerusalem city maps from the time of Christ, and the requisite charts detailing the reigns of the Herods, the Caesars, and the various governors of Judea.
But that’s where the similarity ends. Wright’s atlas has so much more than the standard atlases on the market. It includes overlays for many of the maps that show modern borders and cities. It also includes many present-day photographs, as well as illustrations and timelines. But the greatest feature is the running background and cultural commentary which makes it read more like an illustrated history book than a standard Bible atlas.
The information and commentary is organized according to the central figure of the period: from Abraham in Genesis to John, the author of Revelation. This makes Wright’s atlas particularly helpful for students trying to put their Bible study in the proper context. A thorough index in the back assists in this as well.
Wright’s atlas is not perfect, however. At times I found it a bit too thorough, as he includes many smaller details that are probably best reserved for a true history book. But even with this shortcoming, I can recommend it as being worth the investment. It is a good tool to have on the shelf.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rose Then and Now Bible Map Atlas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must have resource

Date:August 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robert Bock
Location:Northern Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rose Then and Now Bible Map Atlas – A Review by Robert Bock
If you want a Bible Atlas that goes beyond putting places on a map, this book is for you. I have used Rose’s Then and Now Bible Maps power point for some time now to show me where things are or were located. It is a great tool for that. Doctor Wright has produced a unique and magnificent atlas framed around the events and people of the bible. Each page contains pictures, maps, and discussions based around a central person or persons. It is well organized and easy to use, especially if you are studying a particular person or time during the bible. It adds depth to any study along with other resources such as commentaries and dictionaries.
In Chapter Seven, Naomi and Ruth – The Way It’s Supposed to Be, several maps of the area shown in detail, but relates them to the story of Naomi and Ruth as told in the book of Ruth. It sites biblical references and the story is told in regard to the geographical and cultural settings of the time. This is not just a one page discussion, but covers four pages richly illustrated with photographs of the area as well as wonderful color maps.
I want to thank Rose Publishing for providing an advanced copy of this book for review. The copy was provided as a PDF file which is an exact digital image of the printed book. I will be adding this book to my reference library. It is indispensable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rose Then and Now Bible Map Atlas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review for Rose Bible Map Atlas

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Seeker
Location:Deland, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You know the statement, “You got me at hello,” well this book got me at the introduction. As Dr. Paul Wright says, “Everyone loves a good Bible story,” and I say yes we do, especially along with pictures and maps. This is what The ROSE BIBLE MAP ATLAS with Biblical Background and Culture gives those want to delve deeper into the study of the Word of God. Dr. Wright gives vivid descriptions of the Biblical lands in his writing. He gives us phrases like “rugged terrain,” “cold winter rain,” and “scorching desert heat” when describing Judah. As you read the book it makes you feel like you are standing right there in the Holy Land at that very moment. Most of the time we read the Bible to receive spiritual insight to correct ourselves, but Dr. Wright encourages us to add to our seeking of the understanding of the Bible the geographical information The ROSE BIBLE MAP ATLAS gives us. We find out why the people lived the way they did. The author presents to you lively, colorful pictures to look at in order to see the land from the verses you are reading about. As you continue to read this great work, you will know about the weather of the part of the earth you are seeking information about. When most people travel they would like to know what the weather is like at the destination they are going. You may read about droughts and storms in Bible and you may want to know how much rain the Holy Land receives within an average year. The ROSE BIBLE MAP ATLAS with Biblical Background and Culture maps are spectacular. For a long time I personally have been trying to find biblical maps with the display of the hills and mountains of Israel. I finally found them in The ROSE BIBLE MAP ATLAS, and you will too. I have never seen maps with such detail as they are in this book. As you read about the traveling of Jesus across the land you will look at him differently. You will not only look at him spiritually, but also how physically fit his was. Jesus traveled many miles across the land of Israel, and you will see the hills he had to climb, the sea he had to cross, the distances he had to walk to get where he needed to go to spread the Holy Word of His Father. Never had I wanted a book open when I am studying the Bible as much as I do The ROSE BIBLE MAP ATLAS by Rose Publishing. This book will place you in the midst of the stories of the Bible in real time, back when the events were happening. Dr. Wright gives us the history of Herod and Pontius Pilate during the life of Jesus and after by mentioning historical facts. As I look at one of the maps of the Fertile Crescent, I see for the first time God placed His people Israel by plenty of water, fertile green land, and agriculture. Dr. Paul Wright summed it up best in his quote from page 10, “It is helpful to note that the location of a strategic position is frequently determined by its relationship to nearby areas of difficulty such as high mountain ranges, the open desert or the sea. Folks who came to possess special technologies and skills could manage to cross areas of difficulty, and through such risk reaped great economic or political reward. It is said in the word of God from 2 Timothy 2:15, “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God, a worker who does not need to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.” May God continue to bless you in your studies of His word. Amen.
*For this review Rose Publishing has provided me with an advanced reader copy.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.