Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summerside Press Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska

Summerside Press Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska

One signature away from a recording contract, Ginny travels to Glacier Bay, Alaska, to ask advice from her former fiance, Brett. While there, Ginny discovers a box of love letters written by Clay, a missionary, to Ellie, his children's governess. Will Ginny and Brett discover---as Clay and Ellie did---that love and healing are found in unexpected places? 320 pages, softcover from Summerside.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
42 out of 42100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska
Review 1 for Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Two tales intertwine

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ginny is a singer on the brink signing a contract with a major recording label, but now in light of all the chaos around her she goes home to Glacier Bay to seek the advice and companionship of her best friend and ex-fiance, Brett.
Brett's grandmother gives Ginny a collection of old letters to read that tell a timeless tale of love overcoming hardship.
This was an enjoyable read, and I really liked following the two stories and seeing how the old stories had an effect on Ginny. I liked the interactions between the characters, and how Ginny healed through her relationship with God and with her friends. I really liked the old-time story, and how it really added to the one set in present day. One of my favorite characters was Ellie's grandfather, his faith and sense of contentment was inspiring.
Overall, this was a well written book and I really got the feel for the two stories and thought they went well together. It's a hard book to describe because it isn't a story that goes in a straight line, but the heart is there. Ginny didn't deal with things the way that she should have, but it made her human I could see that sometimes when she pushed people away it was her way of crying for help. A surprising satisfying read :)
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WARMTH OF LOVE MELTS GLACIER BAY, ALASKA

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
barbjan10
Location:Arlington, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When the copy of Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska arrived, the snow was flurrying and ice was forming outside my door – unusual but not impossible for Texas. At my age, I can easily feel the cold in my bones and curled up in my cozy chair with a favorite throw and somewhat dreaded reading about Alaska with such cold weather about.
Soon, my chill lessened as the words of Trish Goyer and Ocieanna Fleiss warmed my heart with the blessings of how they joined together to write a sweet lovable story of a modern day successful popular singer Ginny Marshall who still yearned for her lost love and decided to leave her responsibilities behind in Hollywood temporarily to find ex-fiancé Brett Miller who had returned to his home in Glacier Bay, Alaska.
Ginny was not prepared for what she would find, and could she…would she allow these things to change her life forever or return to her singing career. Everything was completely different and opposite of what she knew as life and she was faced with not understanding what she was learning. Ginny found that Brett was away in the wild beautiful mysterious Alaskan country with no way of contacting him. Surprisingly, Brett’s Grandma Ethel knew who Ginny was immediately and insisted she stay with her. Soon, we are immersed in two periods of time when Grandma Ethel’s wise sense of discernment gave Ginny a box of letters from the 1920’s that told the story of Ellie who had traveled to Alaska upon her own broken engagement to become the governess to missionary Clay’s children upon the death of his young wife. From here our story becomes much deeper in emotion, hardship, and endearing information on history of this charming but untamed part of Alaska and the people brave and determined to settle this area as their home
.
The authors blended together the two ongoing stories with skill and Biblical truths that kept the story’s strength alive in this reader’s imagination. The descriptions of Alaskan scenery made it very visible in my mind and awed me. Being a history buff, I admit shear admiration and fascination for the research that was essential to the story.
Two love stories…..Ginny and Brett, Ellie and Clay – both very parallel, but unalike with the exception one couple learning to love; while the other attempted to find their love again. This story is about love. All the kinds of love God has created and told so well by the writers Trish and Ocieanna. My chill of the weather outside was soon forgotten through the warmth and heart rendering stories of these characters, their community, and their history. The authors added clever wit and humor throughout that made it such a joy to read and I wholeheartedly recommend it to you….see how God can work all things together for good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Glacier Bay, Alaska and Two Stories Of Romance

Date:February 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tricia Goyer and Ocieanna Fleiss in thier new book, "Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska" published by Summerside Press takes us to Glacier Bay, Alaska and into the life of Ginny Marshall.
From the back cover: Love finds you
Sometimes the love we've always wanted is the one we've always had.
Singer Ginny Marshall is one signature away from a major recording contract--a dream come true for a girl still struggling to bury the memories of the past. Wanting to talk to someone with her best interests in mind, she looks up her former fiancé, Brett Miller in Glacier Bay, Alaska. There, the stunning scenery provides a respite from LA's pressures, and Ginny finds community among the charming residents.
She also discovers a box of old letters and is swept up in the tale of Clay, an early missionary to Alaska, and Ellie, the woman who traveled there to be his children's governess. As their story unfolds, Ginny just might discover that healing and love are sometimes found in the most unexpected places.
I have yet to visit Alaska but this book makes me want to remedy that situation soon. Glacier Bay seems like a really nice place to hang out in with the people to meet and the places to see. "Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska" is written by two authors so we are treated to two stories that dovetail together. And both of them are romances. It just doesn't get any neater than that. "Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska" is great fun to read. Ms. Goyer and Fleiss have a great way of telling the story and moving it along at a nice pace. Their characters are wonderful and they give them life and unique voices. All this and Glacier Bay, Alaska also. A really enjoyable read.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Finds You!

Date:February 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ginny's wishes to become a famous recording artist has come true. But it seems to be happening so fast with no one to share it with or to even get advice from. Danny had invited her out to celebrate and one surprise was a contract he is wanting her to sign but she just does not feel right about something. As camera flashes were going off Danny gives her a gorgeous diamond necklace. What kind of commitment was he expecting from her? She tells him she needs time to think, maybe take a few days off.
When Ginny gets home the only thing she can think of is she needs to speak with her ex-fiance Brett Miller.
She makes flight arrangement to Glacier Bay, Alaska. But will Brett even want to talk to her after the way she just left him hanging with her ring in his hand to follow her star to fame?
Ginny arrives in Alaskan and it was breathtakingly beautiful. She is planning to stay at the Lodge but when she stopped off to meet Brett's grandmother Ethel in order to find out how to get in touch with Brett his grandmother insisted Ginny stay with her until Brett came home. Ginny felt right at home with Ethel, she was such a sweet woman. Ginny discover a box of letters from long ago and Ethel encouraged her to read them. The letters were an eye opener for Ginny. Not just as to the history of the letters but of the trials and tribulations of a missionary by the name of Clay. The letters had a healing affect on her, opening her heart to what God has planned for her in this place.
The authors came together and wrote a story of reconciliation not just with a loved one but with oneself and God. I loved Ethel and could feel her heart breaking physically and emotionally. Then there was the comparison between Ellie and Ginny I found most intriguing. Brett and Clay two men each in a different time still healing from a lose yet yearning to love and with a reluctance to accept a special gift from God for fear of lose again.
I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Summerside Press/Litfuse Publicity Group for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Romance across the years

Date:February 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska, is a heartwarming story of love . . . and more! Romance is very much a part of the tale, but another big draw for me was observing Ginny and Ellie grow and discover more about themselves. The descriptions of the surroundings made me feel like I was visiting Glacier Bay -- and made me wish I could go there.
Tricia Goyer and Ocieanna Fleiss did a tremendous job of weaving together the two women's stories. As I understand it, Tricia wrote the contemporary part of the story and Ocieanna the historical part. The life paths their two main characters took were so very similar, even though Ginny and Ellie lived decades apart. There are a few fun surprises along that way that tie Ginny and Ellie closer together that was apparent at the beginning.
For a fun, touching read, settle in to your comfy reading spot for an enjoyable journey to Glacier Bay, Alaska. I think you'll enjoy your trip.
Thanks to Litfuse Publicity Group for providing a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Story and letters intertwine

Date:January 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gringa93
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love finds you in Glacier Bay, Alaska by: Tricia Goyer and Ocienna Fleiss
Two love stories are intertwined in a beautiful way. We start out meeting an up and coming singer, Ginny Marshall, who is on the verge of becoming the new "it" girl in the music industry. She is living the life in Los Angeles when thoughts of a old boyfriend send her to Glacier Bay, Alaska. Ginny goes to this quiet, remote town to talk to the only person that has ever gotten to know the real Ginny, former fiancee Brett Miller. Ginny survives the culture shock of this small town and learns to love these simple, joy-filled people. Brett's grandma gives Ginny some intriguing love letters to read. While Ginny gets caught up in these letters, she rediscovers her heart's desire to serve the Lord and love for the special man God placed in her life a few years ago.
I must admit that I was swept into the story the love letters brought as well as the lessons Ginny was learning about in her own life. The authors did a beautiful job of interweaving the letters into the story in a way that the reader was never confused. I like how the letters were italicized so you could tell instantly you were reading a letter. The characters and their struggles felt real. Hearing about this quaint small town makes me want to travel to Glacier Bay and get to know the people there. This was a great read and I look forward to reading more from Tricia Goyer and Ocienna Fleiss.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

historical and contemporary romance

Date:January 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ginny Marshall is a very popular singer. And her manager has great plans for her future. But Ginny is not ready. There is too much from her past she needs to take care of first.
Like her former fiancée, Brett Miller. She needed to talk to him. It had been two years since she had walked out of their relationship and sent the ring back. Back to Glacier Bay, Alaska.
Ginny decides to fly up to Glacier Bay and just talk to Brett. No one knows her better than he does, perhaps he can help her understand to do with her future.
When Ginny arrives in Glacier Bay, Brett is on an extended kayaking trip. Brett's Grandma Ethel convinces Ginny to stay with her until Brett returns. Ethel introduces Ginny to a collection of letters telling a love story from nearly a hundred years before.
The authors weave the current love story with the one from two generations before. The experiences are cleverly paralleled.
The strength of this novel is its setting. This is one in a series of romance novels taking place in various locations in the United States. The authors do a great job of weaving the history of the area into the story. One really gets a feel for the area.
The romance is pleasant. It would have been a bit slow but becomes quite interesting when paralleled with the historical story. The authors have done their research well.
The Christian themes are strong in this novel. Ginny is faced with the possibility of great success. And God has certainly given her a gifted voice. But is it what God wants?
This is not a page turning novel but it is a rewarding story to read. Not only will you get insight into an area of Alaska, but you'll read a pleasant romance too.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from a publicity group for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

**A Story That Stole My Heart**

Date:January 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska contains two stories that intertwine. Ginny Marshall has had a rough life. She was abandoned by her mother at a young age, raised in California’s foster care system, and had been bounced from home to home. She is now an up and coming musician, who is running from all of the pain from her past… loss, abuse, and a broken heart.
Ellie’s story begins in 1928 and intertwines with Ginny’s in the form of letters written in the early years of Glacier Bay. Her life also was filled with hurt, loss and, disappointment. She is also looking for security, certainty, and surety. As both stories unfold, parallels do, too. Both accounts woven together into beautiful stories of hope, redemption and pure love.
Ginny has been presented with a music contract that any musician would be overjoyed to sign. As appealing the offer is, she finds herself needing to seek advice from someone who has her best interest at heart. She heads to Glacier Bay, Alaska to find her former beau, Brett Miller, the only person she feels that will give her the sound advice she needs. She learns that she is really seeking closure.
Ellie, whose life was unexpectedly turned upside down, retreated to Strawberry Point (which has later renamed Glacier Bay) for an entirely different reason. She was seeking employment as a governess for a widowed minister, his four children, and his nephew. Her arrival was unexpected, and she didn’t feel welcomed. Her faith, determination and sense of responsibility kept her serving this hurting family, even as she was being pushed away.
The authors, Tricia and Ocieanna, have beautifully woven these lives, who lived nearly 100 years apart, together into this hard-to-put-down modern-day romance. Both of the characters grew and developed chapter by chapter; from being insecure and unsure about life, and about themselves, to having a confidence only God can give.
**Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska by Tricia Goyer and Ocieanna Fleiss was provided for me free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Romance At It's Finest

Date:January 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of my new favorites for the LFY line, this sweet romance had a gentle smoothness to it that just stuck with me, even during the period of time I had to set it aside to complete other reviews on deadline.
What I loved so much? It wasn’t your typical formulaic romance. The characters have already gone through their struggles and are now coming back together. Which is often unheard of in today’s romance genre. And it worked. So completely worked. Yes, the tension was still there as well as the romantic “sizzle” without the roll-your-eyes-get-over-it factor.
Combining Ginny and Brett’s story with a love story through letters from the past was pure genius. Letter writing is hard to make intriguing in a novel. It can often lack the tension it needs to keep the reader interested, but these veteran authors pulled it off.
It’s one of those stories that is so smooth. So seamless you forget that you’re really reading. The setting becomes a character, Brett’s Gram is a complete dear and what a fun surprise it was at the end of the story to find out who she really is. (shh, but I won’t tell for spoiler alerts)
It’s one of the best gentle romances I’ve read in a long time and I’m for sure and certain adding this one to my already maxed-out collection on too-small shelves.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers through Litfuse for my copy to review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love the Love Finds You series

Date:January 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tricia Goyer is one of my favorite Amish fiction authors so when I realized she had co-authored a Love Finds You book I was totally excited because I have been reading this series for a couple of years and just love them. The thing that I enjoy most about the Love Finds You series is that each book always sweeps the reader to a different locale. With Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska the reader finds themselves swept into a snowstorm in Alaska. We meet Ginny Marshall, who seems to finally be getting what she wants, a top recording studio wants to sign her to a major contract, and she is dating one of People magazines most eligible bachelors, but instead of feeling happy, she just feels like she wants to run away. Brett Miller is the only person she feels like she can trust to talk to, thing is he is in Alaska and she is in LA and more than that he just happens to be her ex- fiancee. Will she find the answers she needs once she makes the trek to Alaska?
This book was a visual treat! The author's descriptive prose really brings the setting of Alaska to life, allowing me to easily picture Alaska in all it's beauty! While the characters in the story were great, and easy to relate too, after all Ginny was dealing with past issues, issues that her new boyfriend new nothing about.I thought the chemistry between Ginny and Brett was great. For me though, it was the story that is revealed thru a box of old letters. The letters transported me back to the 1920's revealing a remarkable love story. Even though the story shifts from past to present, the transition is always smoothly done. If your looking for a very well written story, that blends together a wonderful historical story, while also providing a great contemporary read as well, your not going to be disappointed with this book. A great story line with interesting characters and beautiful scenery made this another great addition to the Love Finds You series!
A complimentary copy of this book was provided in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A love story like no other. Unforgettable!!!

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I suppose sometimes it takes getting lost to enjoy the joy of being found." Ginny Marshall should know. She's had more than a lifetime's share of being hurt and having put her in hopes into people only to have them completely come up short. Now it seems that the best solution to ever being hurt is to keep from becoming too attached to anyone. Especially those that would affect her ability to love again.
Ginny always felt abandoned. After becoming a child in the foster care system when her mother dropped her off and never looked back it seems trust is something that will remain elusive to her. When she does find parents who want her and will love her, they are snatched away just as quickly, reminding her that the lessons learned are often painful. When Ginny has the opportunity to finally fall in love with Brett Miller and spend their lives helping in the missions fields, she remembers all the times in the past that people she has loved have left her, and leave Brett before he can break her heart.
Now that she has pursued her goal of becoming a singing sensation and finally get the contract of her dreams, more money than she can ever spend and the most eligible man to love, she turns and runs once more. She heads back to Glacier Bay, Alaska to the only man who truly knows her inside and out. Yet will she be able to find Brett once again and hope that he can provide the advice she desperately needs? Brett however is out exploring the Alaskan wilderness when Ginny arrives and she is faced with staying with his grandmother until he hopefully returns home as promised. Ginny is given a box full of old letters from Ethel, his grandmother, to pass her time since Brett is in charge of restoring the historical museum in town. Will the letters she reads from another time, provide her with the answers she desperately seeks to make her life whole again?
I received Love Finds You in Glacier Bay Alaska by Tricia Goyer and Ocieanna Fleiss compliments of Litfuse Publicity and Summerside Press for my honest review. I LOVE every single, Love Finds You book I've read and getting the opportunity to see how love is found in the Alaskan wilderness sounded perfect for the setting for a great romance story. Couple that with reading about another historical time set in the early 1800's through the letters Grandmother Ethel provides her sheds light into all the wounded places in all our lives. I love her character and how strong her faith is truly is unforgettable. Brett's ability to see all sides of Ginny's past and even what motivates her, makes him truly a remarkable man to fall in love with. Just the description of the small town of Gustavus makes me want to add this not only to my bucket list of places to visit but also places to live. I easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars and love how it all ended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
homeschoolmom24
Location:Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About the Book:
Singer Ginny Marshall is one signature away from the recording contract of her dreams—a deal that would guarantee success for the former foster child, who still struggles to bury the memories of her painful childhood. But Ginny needs advice from the one person who will look out for her best interests—her former fiancé, Brett Miller. She travels to the remote town of Glacier Bay, Alaska, where the town’s colorful characters and stunning scenery provide respite from LA’s pressures.
In Glacier Bay, Ginny discovers a box of old letters and is swept up in the love story between Clay, an early missionary to Alaska Territory, and Ellie, the woman who traveled there to be his children’s governess. When Ginny is reunited with Brett in Glacier Bay, will she discover—as Ellie did—that healing and love are sometimes found in the most unexpected places?
About the Authors:
TRICIA GOYER is the award-winning author of more than thirty novels. She and her husband have four children and live in Arkansas.
OCIEANNA FLEISS is a published author and editor. She lives with her husband and their four children in the Seattle area. This is the authors’ third book together.
My Review:
Tricia Goyer and Ocieanna Fleiss have come together once again to grace us in pure dynamite duo fashion as no one else is capable of accomplishing. Love Finds You in Glacier Bay Alaska is a sure fire hit for all of us that love a good fiction, inspirational, romance novel. As always their characters come to life as no other.
Ginny has alot of thinking to do and some unfinished business to take care of so she returns to Alaska to find Brett her long, lost beau. Upon returning she goes to Brett's grandmother's house to await his return. Upon waiting for him she is introduced to a love story like no other in a different way then one might expect.
She then sees Brett for the first time in two years and the chemistry between the two can be felt through the pages it is that magnetic. This book was quite enjoyable and even contains some photos of the famous town.
The book is set to be released January 1, 2013. The publisher has decided to giveaway Love Finds You in Glacier Bay Alaska to one of my readers. But if you can't wait, you can get your hands on this great book by following this link. Good Luck!
**Disclosure** This book was provided to me for free from the publisher for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Two Stories of Love in One Novel

Date:January 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cricket
Location:Montana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Ginny Marshall met Brett Miller, she met a man who could help her put the pain of growing up in foster care behind her. But the siren’s song of a professional singing career lured Ginny away from Brett and led her to LA. After two years, she is one the verge of signing the recording contract of her dreams. But Ginny needs advice from the one person who will look out for her best interests—Brett, who now lives in Glacier Bay, Alaska.
Ginny journeys to Glacier Bay where she meets Brett’s grandmother who asks Ginny to read a box of old letters. Soon, Ginny is swept up in the love story between a young city girl named Ellie, who traveled to Alaska in 1928 to be the unwelcomed governess for the children of Clay, an early missionary to the Alaska Territory.
I usually shy away from novels that are written by more than one author, but co-authors Tricia Goyer and Ocieanna Fleiss skillfully integrate the two love stories in this book. The authors explored the setting and captured the stunning scenery of Glacier Bay, as well as the colorful personalities of the town’s lively characters.
When Ginny is reunited with Brett, will she decide her love for him is stronger than her desire for a successful singing career? Will Clay ever accept Ellie into his heart and into his life in the dangerous world of the Alaskan Territory? Will they discover God’s plan for their lives and find healing and love in Glacier Bay, Alaska? If you love Christian romances blended with bits of history and mystery, set in a captivating locale, you'll find it all in Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska.
Disclaimer: I received Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska as part of the Tricia Goyer Fiction Launch Team. I was not required to write a positive review and no money exchanged hands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Beautiful!

Date:January 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pilar Arsenec
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a confession to make... I normally do not read books like this. If truth be told, I'm not into romance novels.
So, when I agreed to read and review this book, I was a bit skeptical. I honestly didn't think I was going to like it.
Well... I was completely wrong. "Love Finds in Glacier Bay, Alaska" is an amazing read.
I could not put this book down. I loved this story so much.
This story drew me in and hooked me from the first page and it didn't stop till the very end. I was completely fascinated by the story, characters and Alaska.
I smiled, I laughed and I cried. I thought my heart would burst. This is a beautiful, beautiful story.
I highly recommend "Love Find You in Glacier Bay, Alaska". Please read this book, I promise you won't be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Running Away to Alaska

Date:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
cceeyore
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For me to voluntarily go to Alaska would take a lot. I hate cold weather. Absolutely hate it. So why am I wanting to escape there now?
The answer is simple. I read a book that took me there. And if I could figure out how not to be so blasted cold, I would want to move there. Except for the bears.
What book? Love Finds You in Glacier Bay Alaska. Tricia Goyer and Ocieanna Fleiss are the authors. And they are simply geniuses. This is their third book together ... and I have to say, I am on the hunt for the other two!
Tricia penned the modern-day story of Ginny Marshall, a young woman who could have all of the fame and fortune of a pop star, but opts instead to runaway to Alaska to seek advice from her ex-fiance. Ocieanna, in turn, wrote the story through letters of Ellie, a young woman who lived in the 1920′s who moved to Alaska to raise the children of a recently widowed missionary. Ginny finds herself lost in her story ... which helps her find her way in life as well.
This book is one you will not be able to put down. I read it on the trip home from Christmas in North Carolina ... even made my husband drive with the interior light on after dark so I could read more. Then, when we got home, I still had several chapters to read before I was finished. And despite being absolutely exhausted to the point that I didn't even want to unpack, I had to finish this book!
I had to find out if Ellie ... well, I am not going to ruin it for you!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful Story of Love, Healing & Hope

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shelly
Location:Maryland
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only read one other book in the Love Finds You series which was also written by these authors: Love Finds You in Lonesome Prairie Montana. I enjoyed this installment in the series even more than the previous book!
The Alaskan setting, especially the town of Gustavus, is practically a character itself. It's a small town where everybody knows everyone and are all up in each other's business,but with the best of intentions. They support each other, cheer for each other, maybe even gossip a little about each other, but it's definitely an interesting and scenic little town. This gorgeous setting and all of the photos I have seen from the authors' research trip have me dreaming about taking a trip to Alaska some day.
The central characters are carefully crafted. Ginny is a complex character that reminds me of those girls you know in high school; the pretty, talented ones people admire. I couldn't relate to her style with the heels, long flowing locks, and beautiful singing voice. But I could relate to her past hurts that she carries around with her and her longing to have a strong family unit of her own.
Brett is the kind of guy that every girl dreams about; handsome, supportive, and a "man's man". He's who Ginny runs to when she feels like she's losing her sense of self. And his grandmother reminds me of my own grams; wise, frail in body but strong in spirit, and full of stories. I loved Ethel and how she embraced Ginny without hesitation. It made me miss my grams very much.
There is another love story contained within the letters that Ginny reads dating back to when the town was first being settled. While I found this story interesting and the premise behind it meaningful (I am a history buff), I also found myself a bit distracted by all of the details in the letters. However, this is just a personal style preference that doesn't take away from the enjoyment of the unfolding story.
I highly recommend you check out the research behind this book and the authors' pinterest boards. It will give you another perspective and help you visualize the beauty of the setting.
Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska is a touching story of love, healing, and hope that is definitely a must-read!
Disclosure: I received a copy of this book for review purposes. All opinions are my own and no other compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Two Love Stories In One

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once I picked this book up I wasn't putting it back down. Such an awesome book! We are treated to two love stories in one.
Ginny Marshall has a promising music career, living the good life, or is she? She is now on threshold of making it big, but she wants to talk to her exfinancé Brett Miller before signing. Why? She was the one who chose to leave him, she just drove away!
One thing I found throughout this book was the love of the Lord, no matter how far back we went, He was their Rock. As soon as we meet Brett's Grandmother, we see that she walks with Her Lord. She embraces Ginny with her love, and gives her a might gift....Ellie's and Clay's letters and journals. Oh how I never wanted this to end! Made me want to move to Glacier Bay, what a beautiful area that is described in this story, and the people care! No seat belts, the speed limit is 25mph, no stealing, and so much love.
What a warm loving movie this book would make! It was a wonderful read that I recommend!
I received this book from the Author through her Launch Team, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Where did love find you?

Date:January 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marcy
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
I would just like to write, "I loved this book. Go buy it." But that wouldn't be much of a review. I will work to find the words to tell you why I loved it. If I succeed in that, you will want to buy this book.
First of all, it's not just a love story. It's multiple love stories. There's the obvious love story between Clay and Ellie mentioned above, and the rather complicated love story between Ginny and Brett, also referenced above. But more than that, this book is a love story between all of these characters and Glacier Bay, Alaska. Not the bay itself, though the way the authors describe it, you will long to be there, but between the people, the community of Gustavas. Unlike the fast-paced, me-me-me world that many of us live in, this slower-paced community, where every person's name in the community is tossed into the pot for a Christmas gift exchange, and Thanksgiving dinner is one ginormous potlock at the local lodge, people understand what it means to love your neighbor, and to love God.
It is because of that sense of community and love (and Clay and Ellie's letters) that Ginny is able to realize that recording contracts and fame are not the stuff real life is made of. I was touched down to my core as Ginny is able to peel back the layers of her own heart and discover that when love finds you, it may not be quick or easy, or free from pain, but when it is God-ordained, it will not ever let you go.
Disclamimer: I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating and heartwarming!

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beverly
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’ve always dreamed of a vacation in Alaska. Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska made me feel like I was there. The descriptive writings of coauthors, Tricia Goyer and Ocieanna Fleiss, made the setting feel so real to me. From the glaciers, forests, and the mountains to the bears, whales, and puffins, I was truly captivated.
Ginny is a singer who is about to experience her career dream, or will she? A trip to Glacier Bay may be just what Ginny needs to help her make a decision. While there, a box of letters, presented by Grandma Ethel, beckons a historic trip back in time. While lost in the story these letters paint, Ginny finds herself making a personal connection with the characters. Will she find the career of her dreams or will the letters lead to something she’d never dreamed of as she confronts her past?
God often uses things in our lives that seem insignificant at the time, to show us His plan. If we allow Him, God will make a beautiful story out of our mess. Grandma Ethel puts it this way. “It’s hard to know, isn’t it, whether the things we face are just because the world is full of sin and sinful people, or if God is working out a plan,…I happen to think it’s both. There’s sin, but through it all, He takes the mess we make and paints a masterpiece.”
This book is filled with many emotions: spunk, rejection, forgiveness, sadness, friendship, heartache, adventure and romance in good taste weave together to make this a delightful read. This is a book you will not want to lay down.
**Disclaimer: I was provided a copy of this book as part of the Tricia Goyer 2013 Fiction Launch Team in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for all to read!!!

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mal Mal
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great book that I absolutely loved loved loved!!! I really enjoyed seeing life through both Ginny and Ellie's eyes. I loved reading through Ellie's letters with Ginny and learning some lessons along the way as she did! It's a great book on the power of love, forgiveness, and trusting the Mighty God we serve!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.