Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summerside Press Baroness, Daughters of Fortune Series #2

Summerside Press Baroness, Daughters of Fortune Series #2

Lilly and Rosie, daughters of an empire coming of age in the roaring twenties, can have anything they want except freedom. Expected to marry well and to take the reins of the empire, they have their lives planned out for them. But Lilly, Esme's daughter longs to return home to Montana, to adventure outside the confines of New York City. And Jinx's daughter Rosie dreams of the bright lights of the newly emerging silver screen. But following their dreams - from avant garde France, to Broadway, to the skies in the world of barnstormers and wing-walkers will take all their courage. And if they find love, will they choose freedom or happily ever after?
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
10 out of 1283%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Baroness, Daughters of Fortune Series #2
Review 1 for Baroness, Daughters of Fortune Series #2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

NO GO!

Date:January 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Inyokern, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Because I am a Deep Haven Fan, I gave Warren a second shot in this series. Also, I over-looked the utter disregard for Christian principles in the first book and gave it an average rating. But, NO GO for another book. But this book goes further astray and I find no way to justify this as a work any truly Christian publishing house should market.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Baroness, Daughters of Fortune Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Baroness : Very interesting, actually...

Date:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Before taking a look at the story, the first thing that catches the eye is the cover. My, what a splendid job! I could not stop staring it at it for a long while.
Baroness is my second read by Susan May Warren and it's no surprise to me why this author is renowned in Christian Fiction (award-winning and best-selling).
Warren has a fine style of writing. In fact, hers might one of the best you'll find in Christian Fiction. The plot in Baroness is well developed as are also the characters.
However, these same characters were frustrating MANY times throughout the story. 2 prodigal young women, very naive at the beginning, making the same mistakes over and over again when it came to men (particularly).
A lot things repeat themselves in the story. But thank God, the ending is better than the beginning, despite the fact that one of the main characters does not truly find a happy-ever-after
On the good side though, Warren paints a beautiful and touching picture of the love of God and in the end, you cannot help but cheer for these women as they long to -- and slowly find their way in Him.
A good story indeed. I'm definitely looking forward to Duchess and other books by Susan May Warren... well done!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Baroness, Daughters of Fortune Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's a Flapper Homerun

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Glenda Fowlow
Age:35-44
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Others have described the plot well, so I will share what I learned from this novel. Although the inspirational message was subtle, it was there and I found it to be one that penetrated my thinking after the story was complete. Remember where you came from and who you are. Do what is right. God loves me even when I don't like myself.
Two items caught my attention: how the two heroines constantly made wrong choices because they didn't realize they were of great worth and the variety of male characters in this book created layers of complexity.
Loved it. Can't wait for Baroness!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Baroness, Daughters of Fortune Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautifully Written Historical Novel

Date:August 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will admit that when I began this book, I did not really think I would like it. It was historical fiction, but the 1920's did not really interest me. At least, the characters in this book did not interest me. Why would I want to read about flappers in Paris who seemed to care so little for God that they got themselves into all sorts of trouble?
I was wrong. About one third of the way into the book, I had a change of heart. I was interested in Rosie and Lilly, and it was neat to see the stories go back and forth between these two young women. They both did things that amazed me, and they had big-time hardships. And it was clear that this was a time period about which I needed to learn a lot more.
Susan May Warren has written a different type of Christian fiction than I have ever read before. I would call her writing style very realistic and full of raw emotion at times. I was pleased to not have the "happily ever after" ending that so many Christian romances seem to suggest in their stories. Bad things did happen. And not all the main characters even came to trust in God.
The position of God was truly unique in the concept of this book. Even in stories where the Christian message is woven into the fabric of the story, God plays a significant, front-and-center role. God essentially takes a "back seat" in this story, but His influence permeates the stories of Lilly and Rosie.
I was quite pleased when I realized how much research the author must have conducted to write about airplanes and newspapers in such great detail. She truly has a grasp of the time period, and her characters are three-dimensional. In fact, I would say they sometimes jump off the page!
My only concern is that Susan May Warren will not write a sequel. I feel like I must know what happens to the characters. The story ended with my wanting more--much more. I have grown to love the characters, and I will await anything further from the author!
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated in any way, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Baroness, Daughters of Fortune Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating Read

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Baroness will grab you from the first page forward. It has it all and will leave you wanting more. This book is Lilly's story, and Rosie's .....and we begin in Romantic Paris. French fashion, hair dos, booze, gardens, and aeroplanes!
A Parisian air plane ride unlocks a passion in Lilly, that she takes back to the States. While Rosie wants to unlock her love of acting. Both will get chances to do what they want, but at what cost?
You will keep turning the pages as you try to figure out what is coming next? Some is so sad and others are sweet.
I for one can't wait for the next book!! Enjoy this totally captivating read!
I received this book from the Publisher Sumerside, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Baroness, Daughters of Fortune Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Warren Hits Another Home Run

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reba J. Hoffman
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was an amazing portrayal of courage and finding freedom to live the dream within. Warren's character depth is unbelievable and her story world instantly placed me in the 1920's. Truly amazing piece of work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Baroness, Daughters of Fortune Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely loved this story! It moved me to tears.

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I adored Heiress, and as a result it made my top fiction list for 2011. But I absolutely loved Baroness, so you know it will make my 2012 top fiction list. In my opinion, this story was fantastic because it was so insightful regarding the human heart. The themes were deep, and the characters were so three dimensional, that I couldn't help getting choked up a few times. I cared about the characters and the hard lessons they learned. Who doesn't want to believe that real love can change a person for the good? We're all attracted to danger at some point, and I loved how the author showed why these young women felt unfulfilled and rebellious. It was because of unmet needs in childhood, which wasn't something that they could be protected from no matter how much their parents loved them. Life hurts, and wounded people run from emotional pain. That was brilliantly shown in this book.
The themes in this novel of both physical and spiritual adoption was beautiful, and the lesson about love and commitment going hand in hand was touching as well. There is no worse feeling than deep regret, and when I read stories with this theme, emotion tugs at my heartstrings every time. Forgiving one's self is one of the hardest lessons to learn. So is tasting real love, suffering as the result of poor choices, having the past rear up to bite you when you least expect it, and ultimately watching it destroy innocent people in the end. But when a person sacrifices their own life for someone else's because of a deep, abiding love for them, it always moves me to tears.
There was something very Christ-like about Guthrie that I couldn't help being moved by, and I believe there a little bit of Rosie in all of us; yet because of His deep and unrelenting love, Christ died for us anyway. I loved how this story illuminates universal truths about people, and I appreciated how the author wove a thread of faith through the entire story, and did it so seamlessly. It really pulled everything together. Not to mention that every detail in this story made me feel like I was living in the Roaring 20s... from the clothing, the clubs, and the culture, to the way people interacted with each other. Did I mention the pulse-pounding kisses? Prepare to get breathless a few times and forget that you're reading fiction. I love stories that make me feel like I'm somewhere else.
Real life doesn't always have a happy ending, and the conclusion of this story was bittersweet, but that was what made the last few chapters so emotional for me. Healing takes time. The pacing of this story felt like real life. God is with us even when we don't see Him or feel His presence. I love that Rosie is still learning how to deal with her deep scars from childhood, and how you can see that God is pursuing her despite her determination to run from the pain. It gives me chills just thinking about the potential the author has for this character to learn some important lessons in the future. Bottom line, I love historical fiction, and truth be told, Susan May Warren is a master at crafting it. I can't wait for the next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Baroness, Daughters of Fortune Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast-paced plot, touching characters

Date:May 1, 2012
I knew when I started this book that I was a fan of Susan May Warren. After reading Baroness, though, I'm a bigger fan than before! The second book in the Daughters of Fortune series, Baroness tells the story of Lily and Rose, high-society cousins rebelling against everything they are supposed to be. Their family fortune assures them of every material thing they could ever want, but they each want to strike out on their own and gain something even more valuable—independence. Lily turns to flying, wing-walking, and the circus. Rose turns to one lover after another, finally escaping to the world of baseball. When they have what they think they want, they begin to realize that they still need each other.
So much more than a story about flappers, Baroness introduces readers to another side of the Roaring Twenties. Warren takes readers on a journey across Europe and the US—from Paris to New York to the wild west—on one adventure after another. By page three I was so hooked that I didn't want to stop reading—even for sleep or work! In addition to the fast-paced plot, I was impressed with the author's ability to make me care about the characters—even when I initially thought them annoying or spoiled. An interesting cast of supporting characters—from mobsters to pilots to flappers to baseball stars—allowed the readers to really see a variety of lifestyles. It's obvious that Warren did her research as I felt like I could be living in the 20s!
I can't wait to read the conclusion to this thrilling series! [5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Summerside Press and LitFuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Baroness, Daughters of Fortune Series #2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

no redeeming factors in this book

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The time is the “Roaring Twenties.” Lilly and Rosie, cousins and young daughters of wealthy American families, are in Paris, seeing a bit of the world before marriage. Their lives have been planned for them – an arranged marriage then carrying on the family fortune and responsibility.
But that is not what the women want. Lilly wants to go back to the family ranch in Montana, not run the newspaper empire her mother runs. And Rosie pines for the lights of the increasingly popular silver screen.
The novel follows the decisions they make, often desperate to get away from their family and preplanned lives. Most of their decisions are poorly made, heartache and anguish following.
I have read several of Warren's novels and of them all, I liked this one the least. There is nothing lighthearted here. The decisions Rosie makes are heartbreaking. The trouble she gets herself into is deadly. Lilly likewise makes decisions that feed her sense of adventure but nearly get her killed. All the while, the families are in the background, ready to rescue the women from their erring ways.
There is a little bit of Christianity in the novel (a tent revival scene), but none of the characters came across as Christians nor did they find support for their troubles in their faith. I am assuming there will be a sequel as Lilly seems to be making a little progress toward a fruitful life but Rosie is as troubled and mixed up as she was at the beginning.
I did not find this a rewarding novel on its own. There is no uplifting aspect of faith. There is no “recognizing the error of my ways” followed by right decisions. It seems like the cousins fight against the best actions right to the end. I hope a sequel does redeem this book.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Baroness, Daughters of Fortune Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Money can't buy you happiness or love!

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Roaring Twenties is not all its cracked up to be, especially when you're Rosie Worth or Lilly Hoyt. While Rosie is the seemingly wild child, wanting to experience the painted faces and short bob's fashionable to the flappers, her cousin Lilly just wants to head back to the ranch she left behind in Montana and creating a haven for buffaloes.
Both Rosie and Lilly are the daughters of wealthy families and thus the need to be looked after, especially when their carefree ways take them on paths that their mothers don't desire for them. For Rosie, she falls head in heels in love with a man named Dashielle Parks, whom her mother warns isn't the man for her and isn't the marrying type. When she vows to prove her mother wrong, she soon learns that Dash isn't looking for marriage but merely a good time.
Lilly on the other hand finally finds something of an adventure in Paris when she finds herself separated following a celebrity funeral for Sarah Bernhardt. Knowing where she is likely to find her cousin Rosie, she is befriended by a handsome gentleman, named Rennie Dupre' who promises to show her the sights of Paris. None of them is quite so grand as when seen from an airplane flown by Rennie, but does he have his sights set on more than just Lilly's heart or is it Lilly's wealth that he is ultimately after?
In the latest novel following Heiress by Susan May Warren, Baroness catches up with the Daughters of Fortune series and follows the chaotic lifestyles of two young girls on the heels of trying to find something in life that makes them happy besides money. As both girls struggle to pull away from their parents strong-handed ways of finding what is best for them during this time in history, however, neither set of parents ask what the girls want, thinking they are simply to young to understand their emotions.
They do what any wealthy parents would, and threaten them not to see either of their men and whisk them back to New York, thinking that will solve this problem. It doesn't. Rosie and Lilly have a lot to learn in this coming-of-age story of two socialites trying to find their happiness and searching for love and self worth in the process. Susan gives the readers such viable characters to relate to and their journey will leave you breathless by the ending page. Thankfully there will be a sequel to pick up where this cliffhanger will leave you.
I received this book compliments of Litfuse Publicity for my honest review and LOVED it just as much as Heiress. It can be read as a stand alone but if you're looking for the back story of their moms, you'll need to pick up the first book. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and can't wait to pick up another Daughter of Fortune novel in the very near future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Baroness, Daughters of Fortune Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

What a drama!

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
That was the only thought running through my head on the close of that last page. And the drama isn’t ending any time soon!
“Baroness” picks up on the heels that “Heiress” left off. Though not a specific requirement that the reader have read book one before two, you’ll appreciate characters and their situations greater if you have.
Only Susan May Warren can take 361 pages and PACK it jam-full of angst, character depth, emotional turmoil and span several years and *not* give the reader whiplash.
The two story lines between Rosie and Lilly start together, diverge in the middle and eventually come back together. What happens in between is not for the faint of heart reader. There were moments when Lilly wing-walked that my heart literally dropped out of my chest.
Rosie’s story pierced my soul and I felt deeply for the struggles she walked through, trying to discover herself and since the third book is still about her journey, I’m eager to know what will happen with this lost woman.
Cover to cover, the historical is a great novel. Never slows down, keeps a consistent pace the entire book through and like I said at the top…what a drama! Not a slick soap opera drama, just the story of life. And how God takes our drama and uses it to mold, shape and guide us. I can’t wait to find out what happens to Rosie!
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers through Litfuse for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Baroness, Daughters of Fortune Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ashley
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How to describe Baroness...breathtaking is the first word that comes to mind. Complex, relatable characters, intricate story lines and a fast paced plot full of surprises, plus spiritual insights. I would give it more than 5 stars if I could. I could not put this book down. I have read all of Susan May Warren's books. She's my absolute favorite author and, I have to say, she just keeps getting better. This book is so well written, it just draws you in, you feel like you're right there experiencing everything with the characters. There's not one dull moment in this story. This is an incredible book that you won't regret reading.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.