Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for New Hope Publishers The Moses Quilt - eBook

New Hope Publishers The Moses Quilt - eBook

As if facing major decisions about the love of her life and her future isn't enough, Mazie Hartford is also wrestling with a nagging question about her family's past. And the answer seems connected to her great-grandmother's Moses quilt. Can the patchwork pieces of a former slave's story stitch the pattern of her tomorrow? 240 pages, softcover from New Hope.
Average Customer Rating:
4.381 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 2195%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Moses Quilt - eBook
Review 1 for The Moses Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Moses Quilt, a contemporary novel that bridges racial and generational divides, gives a clear presentation of the gospel as readers are introduced to a confused and apprehensive Mazie Hartford. Mazie is facing major decisions about the love of her life and her future. Her great-grandmother comes to her rescue when she shows her the Moses quilt. As she learns that each patch represents a story of courage and freedom, Mazie finds the courage and freedom to make the right choices for her life.
My Review:
This novel is very slow paced in parts, but the end result is worth it! Edward and Mazie are an inter-racial couple, and I was frustrated that it wasn't made known from the beginning. It was alluded to, and hinted at, but Macias didn't come right out and say it till later in the book. Race is still somewhat of a controversial topic, and I think as a culture/society we should all be way past all that. Macias takes it all in stride and gives a realistic look at what it is like, even today, for couples that are different because of race, culture, etc.
The quilt bears mentioning, and I particularly enjoyed the way Macias presented this aspect of the story. I think it may be hard for some readers to be patient with the telling of the quilt story, but I enjoyed how Mimi told the story in snatches as her life fades away. Granted, I wasn't happy she was dying, but I appreciated the way that the story was told in fragments; piece by piece, bit by bit. The background history on Harriet Tubman was also fascinating, and overall, this book was wonderful!
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Moses Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Moses Quilt, a contemporary novel that bridges racial and generational divides, gives a clear presentation of the gospel as readers are introduced to a confused and apprehensive Mazie Hartford. Mazie is facing major decisions about the love of her life and her future. Her great-grandmother comes to her rescue when she shows her the Moses quilt. As she learns that each patch represents a story of courage and freedom, Mazie finds the courage and freedom to make the right choices for her life.
My Review:
This novel is very slow paced in parts, but the end result is worth it! Edward and Mazie are an inter-racial couple, and I was frustrated that it wasn't made known from the beginning. It was alluded to, and hinted at, but Macias didn't come right out and say it till later in the book. Race is still somewhat of a controversial topic, and I think as a culture/society we should all be way past all that. Macias takes it all in stride and gives a realistic look at what it is like, even today, for couples that are different because of race, culture, etc.
The quilt bears mentioning, and I particularly enjoyed the way Macias presented this aspect of the story. I think it may be hard for some readers to be patient with the telling of the quilt story, but I enjoyed how Mimi told the story in snatches as her life fades away. Granted, I wasn't happy she was dying, but I appreciated the way that the story was told in fragments; piece by piece, bit by bit. The background history on Harriet Tubman was also fascinating, and overall, this book was wonderful!
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Moses Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love Can Conquer All

Date:September 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Teresa M
Location:West Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4.5 Stars
In this moving novel Kathi Macias gives us more than just an entertaining story but a wonderful history lesson as well. With the help of a beautiful quilt we are told the story of the courageous Harriet Tubman.
Will this story play a role in helping Mazie decide if she should marry the handsome young man who has become dear to her heart? Will this story prove to her there is no obstacle love cannot conquer?
Mazie and Edward are two people in love that are from very different backgrounds and cultures. Mazie's ninety six year old great-grand mother lovingly known as Mimi was born in Alabama and has come to live with Mazie and her mother in California. Even though raised in the South amidst all the racial prejudices, Mimi doesn't have a problem with Mazie and Edward's courtship.
Mazie is hesitant about accepting Edward's proposal, Mimi thinks she knows the reason why and she wants to do something to help the couple before she passes away.
When Mimi tells Mazie to go to her old chest and get out the beautiful quilt she has put away she knows she is in for something special. Mimi tells her the quilt is called The Moses Quilt because each square tells a piece of the story of a brave woman who was the Moses of her people; Harriet Tubman. Mimi has a secret that she wants to share with Mazie and Edward but will she live long enough to do so?
This is the first book I have read by Ms. Macias and I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was good to be reminded of the sacrifices made by Mrs. Tubman to help her enslaved people. The storyline was very moving and it was brilliant how Ms. Macias wove the two stories together. Thank you Ms. Macias for this heartwarming story, I can't wait to read more of your work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Moses Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Macias' writing ability is brilliant

Date:August 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindi
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do I describe this book? Wow!! I was glued to the pages from the very beginning and just couldn't put it down. The author has a talent in bringing her characters to life by giving them so much personality.
I felt so many emotions while reading this story, it gave me goose bumps. It's quite obvious early on that Kathi Macias did her homework. If she would have been my history teacher I would have learned so much more. Macias' writing skills are brilliant.
I'm eager to read the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Moses Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Increasing your Faith through History

Date:July 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susan Osborn
Location:Fullerton, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This heartwarming story features a woman, Mazie Hartford, searching for answers that will help her bridge the racial barriers that separate her from the love of her life. Her great-grandmother, Mimi, takes her on a storytelling journey through an heirloom quilt, featuring the life of Harriet Tumban. Harriet was considered the Moses of her time, and she was credited with rescuing hundreds of slaves through the Underground Railroad. Will Mazie find the answers she is searching for through these two women of faith? This is also a personal call for the readers to look at their own prejudices and to walk in faith and courage in their everyday lives. This is an excellent read for those searching for answers and seeking to increase their own faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Moses Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!

Date:April 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Livie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I was hooked. I was just as anxious as the characters to hear the grandmother's story. I wholeheartedly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Moses Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A sweet and touching story

Date:May 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
sherrijinga
Location:Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kathi Macias tackles tough topics very well. She doesn’t shy away from things that are controversial in nature. The Moses Quilt centers around Mazie and Edward, who are in an inter-racial relationship. Edward has proposed to Mazie but she can’t decide what to do. We are left wondering why the decision is so hard for her to make, since she loves him very much. Her elderly great-grandmother, who grew up in the Deep South during the height of the racial inequalities, tells the story of a family quilt and sheds light on the motives behind Mazie’s indecision. Although I felt like the internal conflict was a bit outdated for this century, I loved the characters and the love they shared with each other. This was a sweet and touching story. I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Moses Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Crosses racial and generational barriers

Date:April 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patti Shene
Location:Southeastern Colorado
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is neither about Moses of the Bible or the craft of quilting. Rather, this story centers around a deep love between young Maize Hartford and her great grandmother, Mimi, who lives with Maize and her mom in California.
With the help of a quilt Mimi purchased years ago in Alabama, she peels away, layer by layer, the story of Harriet Tubman’s inspiring life. The faith and courage displayed by the historical figure, known as the Moses of her people, impacts Maize’s outlook on her own personal situation.
Maize has dated a man of a different race for two years, but her fear of the problems they may face in a permanent relationship prevent her from taking the next step in a commitment to Edward. When the telling of Harriet’s story is unexpectedly interrupted, it drives Maize and Edward to seek out its conclusion. What they discover will affect their relationship for the rest of their lives.
Award-winning author Kathi Macias has crafted a wonderful novel that crosses racial and generational barriers. The theme that we are all interconnected in some manner is through our ancestry is brought to light. Her realistic characters and their conflicts encourage readers to examine their own beliefs, values, and opinions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Moses Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Harriet Tubman's Life via The Moses Quilt

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
dliesner
Location:Racine, WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved learning about Harriet Tubman, a heroine to all women, through little stories of some of the quilt blocks in the Moses Quilt. Mazie and Edward’s story was not as easily understood until the end.
The prologue’s impression that Mazie was unable to make a commitment to Edward because of racial prejudice didn’t make sense to me because Mazie indicated she truly loved Edward, and she couldn’t figure out herself what caused her hesitation to accept her marriage proposal. I searched for clues in the flashbacks of her childhood time with Mimi, and re-read Mazie’s mother and great-grandmother’s conversations for hints of a family secret. Finally I realized that Mimi knew the quilt would not reveal the secret but lead Mazie to it.
Mazie’s curse was not in having racial prejudice but in fear of the reverse racial ramifications, and acceptance of her ancestry to slave owners. The revelation at the end did resolve issues and make sense of Mazie’s struggles, finally liberating Edward to resolve some unrealized racial issues as well. Eventually all the characters learn that although people and events of our past make us who we are, they do not have to control who we will be.
I received a free copy of this book/Ebook/Product to review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. The opinions I have expressed are my own
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Moses Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the moses quilt

Date:March 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Litchfield, Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is definitely a 5 star book for me! I had heard some many great things about Kathi Macias's books and was not disappointed when I read this book. You might even be surprise at some of the things you learn about Harriet Tubman.
Mazie Hartford is in love with Edward Clayton and he is in love with her. Edward has asked Mazie to marry him but there is a problem, is Mazie ready to enter an interracial marriage? Mimi, who is Mazie great-grandmother, has a quilt that is called the Moses quilt,because it tells the life of Harriet Tubman and she uses this quilt to help Mazie make the right choice as her own health is failing.This is a quick read and you will want to keep reading to found out what Mimi tells Mazie and Edward. After reading this book I am ready to read others by Kathi Macias.
I received this book from www.bookfun.org to read and post my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Moses Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Looking for a good book? Read The Moses Quilt!

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Location:IA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Moses Quilt is compelling. It weaves together two stories: the story of Harriet Tubman and a modern-day tale. The main character is Mazie Hartford, a young woman who is struggling to find her way in life. Faced with her own prejudices, Mazie feels torn about entering a biracial marriage. All the while, she is confronted with questions about her family's Southern past.
Mazie’s great-grandmother (Mimi) has moved from Alabama to California to live with Mazie and her mother. Since Mimi is in fragile health, Mazie is her primary caregiver. The 93 year old woman is the key to helping Mazie find truth and guidance. Mimi helps her great-granddaughter thanks to the help of the Moses quilt. Mimi explains how each patch represents a story of courage and freedom from the life of Harriet Tubman and how those lessons apply to us today. As a result, Mazie must face whether she can find courage to overcome her own personal fears and prejudices.
The Moses Quilt not only offers a fascinating story of history, romance, and intrigue, but it also causes readers to consider how Harriet Tubman’s story can influence our their lives. As a long-time admirer of Kathi’s writing, I can tell you that her latest release will not disappoint you. The Moses Quilt is a page turner and a great book to read cozy at home on a winter afternoon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Moses Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Moses Quilt

Date:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a fascinating quick read, once I started I had to finish it. The family relationships here are wonderful.
Mazie Hartford lives with her Mom, Lilly, and her Great-Grandmother Mimi. She is in a long term relationship with Edward Clayton, he actually wants to move toward marriage. His family adores Mazie, and hers loves Edward...her 93 year old Great-Grandmother actually lights up in his presence. So what is Mazie's problem?
Mimi knowing that at 93 her time on earth is getting short, has decided to give Mazie a quilt. It is not just any quilt, there is a historical story behind it, and it is called the Moses Quilt. Mimi begins to tell the story of the quilt to Mazie, it is about Harriet Tubman, the Moses to her people.
Hearing the story of each of blocks is so interesting, I loved it. Edward then is asked to join and becomes enthralled in the stories.
Will the quilt help Mazie to make up her mind, let go of whatever it is that is keeping her from marrying this Godly man? Or will the answers they find in the quilt end up driving them apart.
Kathi Macias has done it again, written a captivating story. Don't miss this...enjoy!
I received this book through Christian Speaker Services, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Moses Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Moses Quilt

Date:February 21, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Moses Quilt is a novel with two story lines. The first is a contemporary love story. It is about the love of a woman for a man and the love of a grandmother for her granddaughter and great-granddaughter. Mimi is the grandmother we all wish we had. She is 93 and her health is beginning to fade. Before she goes to be with Jesus she feels it is her last mission in life to give her precious Moses quilt to her great-granddaughter Maize. Mimi wants Maize to know the story behind the quilt so that it can continue to be passed on to next generations.
The story behind the quilt is the second tale in this book. Through Mimi’s narration we learn about the life of Harriet Tubman. Nothing is left out. We are taken on her journey from her humble roots to the horrific treatment she receives. Throughout her story we are reminded of her passionate desire to be free and to help her people be free.
I loved how Kathi Macias wove these two storylines together. The hope of one spilled over into the other. The Moses Quilt has a different feel than Kathi’s other books, but her compassion for people and their plight once again shines through. This is a perfect read for Black History month. It reminds us exactly how far we have come and at the same time reminds us there is still a ways to go. I would not only recommend it for adults interested in the subject matter, but I think it would be a fabulous read for your teenager.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Moses Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Love the story told through quilt squares

Date:February 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I did like the book, but have mixed feelings about it. Starting with the negative: the book was a bit slow paced, and inter-racial relationships aren't all that controversial. Maybe I am just naive, but I have seen tremendous progress in race relations in the 50+ years of my life. Of course it is still an issue, but it seemed odd to me that she would be seriously dating someone if she was as afraid to commit to marriage simply due to race. I was also puzzled over why the quilt was hidden away and kept secret for so many years.
On the positive: all of the characters were likeable and Mimi was precious. The story of Harriet Tubman was fascinating and covered much more than I remember learning in history class many years ago. I especially loved the way the quilt was used, one square at a time, to tell the story of this courageous woman who clung to her faith and her desire for the slaves to be set free. Her determination to overcome many barriers, and to risk her own life and freedom to help others, is a story that should be told and retold to our children and future generations. The book is worth it for the history alone.
I'm only giving it a 3 because I did tend to lose interest in the the love story, but a high 3. I received this book free from Christian Speakers Services in exchange for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Moses Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Learnd something

Date:February 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:o fallon, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed reading The Moses Quilt even though I expected something quite different. The history of Harriet Tubman is presented in an intriguing way and you want to know why this is so important to Mazie’s grandmother.
If you want surprise endings, and to know more about Harriet Tubman this book is for you.
If you are looking for a book about quilts, this isn’t it. Though the Moses Quilt is an important piece of the story as a quilter I would have liked to know more about the other squares that were in it. There is a small square on the cover and the quilt must be beautiful—much like the story of Mazie Hartford.
Macias has a way with piecing plot and storytelling in an intricate way that makes a reader search his or her own heart while reading The Moses Quilt.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Moses Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Macias is great storyteller

Date:February 20, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This contemporary novel moves slowly because there is so much historical narrative. Throughout the book Mazie's great-grandmother, Mimi, tells Mazie and her boyfriend, Edward a story about Harrient Tumban who escapes slavery and helps with the Underground Railroad. Only near the end does Macias reveal the fact that Edward is black, although most readers will already think so. So much of the book is about Harriet Tumban, it borders on a biography. I enjoy more dialogue than narrative, which caused the book to go slowly for me. Mazie admittedly loves Edward but won't accept his marriage proposal. What motivates Mimi's intent to tell the story of Harriet Tumban? Macias tackles racial prejudices and does a good job, her characters are realistic, and her settings along America's northwest shoreline are great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Moses Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inter-racial marriage and Harriet Tubman

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kathi Macias's book, The Moses Quilt, is not a fast-moving story line, but it's warm and inviting. It's as if you know the characters personally, and wonder yourself what is hindering Mazie from making a commitment to Edward. What is her hesitation? Edward is such a kind, patient man, willing to marry, but continues to wait for Mazie's answer to his marriage proposal.
Mimi, Mazie's great-grandmother was such a delight. Though ailing, she doesn't complain much except maybe for the cold California weather, as she lived most of her life in hot, steamy Alabama.
Thinking to encourage Mazie, Mimi began to draw out the stories of the Moses quilt, one quilt block at a time, that were created around the life of Harriet Tubman. I was only aware of Harriet's involvement in the Underground Railroad. You are in for a grand surprise if you've not read more of her life! However, Mimi passes away before the stories are completed. Now what is Mazie to do?
We find her and Edward on a trip back to Alabama to learn about the quilt's ending. What they find took them by complete surprise, as well as me. Will it help Mazie to commit or will it divide their relationship?
This book is a great personal and historical fiction that will intrigue you in many ways. Kathi tackles the tough issues of slavery, freedom and inter-racial marriage, which make for an interesting and educational read. God's hand is in all the circumstances, and each person senses His presence in their personal needs.
I was given a complimentary copy of this book from the author in exchange for posting the author's interview and/or book review on this blog.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Moses Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Slow, frustrating, but love Mimi and the quilt!

Date:February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
GBCPastorsWife
Location:Knoxville, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is very slow-moving book. It starts with Mazie unable to give her boyfriend, Edward, an answer to his proposal. This was frustrating for me as on the second page it says, "Still, how could she give him an answer when she was sure about how the unknowns of her past might impact their future?" There is one big problem with that statement. At that point, according to everything I read in the book, there should have been no "unknowns" that she could know about that would give her pause in answering him. I went into this book "cold" (I was offered 3 books to review with nothing but titles and author's names), so I didn't know it was about inter-racial relationships before I started it. That made it frustrating because the author is lauded for taking on possibly controversial topics, but won't just come out and say that they are an inter-racial couple. You have to deduce that for yourself. I guessed fairly early on, but it was later in the book before it was finally confirmed. Mazie's mom and grandmother, Mimi, both love Edward and want them to get together, and HIS family is for it, too. It ended up leaving me irritated with Mazie. She obviously didn't have too much of an issue with his race or she wouldn't have been dating him in the first place. I just wanted to shake her and snap her out of whatever her problem was! Edward spends the book trying to love her and woo her, and trying not to admit that Mazie could have some prejudices down deep keeping her from accepting him, but at the end, he ends up having to over come HIS issues before they can move forward.
Mimi was the saving grace of this book. She was a jewel and I fell in love with her immediately! I grew up in the south and around quilting, so the portions of the book with Mimi, the quilt and Harriet Tubman's story I loved. The rest was just slow, sometimes boring and the rest of the time just frustrating! Mimi and the history of the quilt makes this book 3 stars.
I was given a free copy of this book by New Hope Publishers to read and review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Moses Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

History the way it should be told!!!

Date:February 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
ASC Photos and Designs
Location:NM
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved learning more about Harriet Tubman. For a long time I have admired her and I loved learning more about her in this way. I am not a lover of history. Actually it was my least favorite subject in school, but Kathi writes in a way that make history come alive. The rest of the story was good also though the Harriet Tubman parts where, in my opinion, sometimes too far apart. I think I would have liked Mazie's story more if I could have related to her more, but sadly I could not. This is a wonderful book, at times frustrating at sometimes beautiful. In the end Kathi wrapped up with the message that I so desired to come out in the story. The past does not define you unless you let it, your ancestors are not you. Lean on God for He sent His Son so that the past no longer matters. Let Him set you free.
I compliment Kathi on her writing and making history as exciting, inspiring, and interesting as it should be written. I must also compliment (I think) New Hope publishing. The format of the book is something I've never seen before and I LOVE it! The page numbers location is fabulous, the chapter your on is written at the top of every page instead of the name of the author, and the page decoration is lovely.
My songs for The Moses Quilt are: "I Know Where I've Been" by Queen Latifah, "So Small" by Carrie Underwood, "How Great Is The Love" by Meredith Andrews, and "Swing Low Sweet Chariot" by Susan Star
P.S.(For Mimi) "Where I Belong" by Building 429
Galatians 3:28
~ASC
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Moses Quilt - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Riveting Story!

Date:January 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I quickly fell in love with Mimi. She is a sweet 93 year old lady living with her granddaughter Lilly and her great-granddaughter Mazie. Mimi has a quilt she has kept stored away through the years. The quilt is called the “Moses” quilt. She knows her great-granddaughter Mazie is having a hard time making a commitment to marry Edward, so Mimi feels the time is right to tell Mazie the story behind the “Moses” quilt and why it came to be called that.
I found this book hard to put down because I simply could not wait for Mimi’s next installment of the story of the quilt. This book grabs you and holds you captive until the very end. It was quite an emotional ride.
I absolutely loved this book. I hope everyone gets the opportunity to read it.
Kathi Macias is quite the story teller and I have come to love her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>