Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House All for a Sister, All For a Song Series #3

Tyndale House All for a Sister, All For a Song Series #3

Growing up in Hollywood during the Roaring Twenties, Celeste DuFrane has it all---including a legacy in stardom. But after her mother passes away, she discovers that half of the DuFrane estate has been left to Dana Lundgren. Why would her mother leave such a sizable inheritance to the woman accused of killing Celeste's sister.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for All for a Sister, All For a Song Series #3
Review 1 for All for a Sister, All For a Song Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The power of hate and forgiveness are explored

Date:July 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All For a Sister
By Allison Pittman
Celeste DuFrane has lost her mother to cancer. At 20 she is now alone, but she has just found out that she a coheir to everything her parents left. And the woman she is to share everything with is the woman who killed her sister more than 20 years ago. But Dana Lundgren doesn't seem like a cold-blooded killer.
Celeste and Dana are bound by secrets that are over 20 years old. The question is will these secrets destroy them or bring them together? And why did the truth have to wait so long to be revealed?
When she was 12 years old Dana was accused of killing the Dufrane's baby daughter Mary. A crime for which she was never tried, but for which she lost 20 years of her life. The world as she knew it no longer existed. Every new experience is frightening in the very its very newness.
Celeste can't understand why the woman accused of killing her older sister would be given a share in her parents possessions. Dana too can't understand the reasoning behind this. But Marguerite DuFrane left behind a confession written almost from her deathbed and a lifetime of secrets begin to come to light.
It is amazing the power hate can have over one's life and the power money and prestige can hold. One woman's power and hate were the driving force that shaped the lives of those around her. I think of the books in this series I like this book the best. I like the glimpses of Celeste and Dana together and the growth of their characters as they live together and discover who they both truly are. I like the character of Werner Ostermann who sees Dana for who she was and who she can become. He understands her fears and is there to help her get past them.
I was provided with a copy of this book by the publisher Tyndale through The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for All for a Sister, All For a Song Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Set in the 1920s

Date:July 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindi
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A very interesting story that takes it's reader back to the 1920s. I had some difficulty with the switching between time periods and characters but, overall, it was a very good book.
My favorite character was Dana. It's surprising how strong of a person she was and had become. I would never want to be in her shoes or have to endure even a portion of what she did.
The twists in the storyline were unexpected and gave the novel more depth, which I enjoyed.
I received a copy of All for a Sister from bookfun.org in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for All for a Sister, All For a Song Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Secrets, Lies, and Redemption

Date:July 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pamela Jo
Location:Bucks County, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third book in a series which includes "All For a Song" and "All For a Story." The setting for "All For a Sister" is Hollywood during the 1920's.
There is a very deep theme to this novel. Years of lying and deception begin to unravel, revealing the many sins of one family. Those sins have left a tragic mark on the characters in this book.
Celeste DuFrane has led a charmed life. She wants to be an actress and is ready to realize her dream. The daughter of a wealthy mother and a father who worked in the film industry, Celeste is in a much envied position. She seems to have it all, until her mother dies. Celeste's world changes dramatically because of the death of her mother. Events unfold which Celeste is not prepared for. She discovers that her mother, Marguerite, has left a large inheritance to a woman named Dana Lundgren. Years ago, before Celeste was born, Marguerite accused Dana of killing her infant daughter, a crime for which Dana was imprisoned. Dana has been in jail for most of her life.
After leaving prison, Dana returns to the DuFrane estate. Celeste and Dana discover much about each other and much about the past. The sins of the past are fully realized after the written confession of Marguerite DuFrane is discovered. Now, Celeste and Dana face a future neither of them expected.
All For a Sister is a well written, interesting novel. The story moves quickly and holds the interest of the reader from cover to cover. If you enjoy mystery, suspense, and final redemption, you will want to read this book!
I received a copy of this book from the publisher, through The Book Club Network (bookfun.org) in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for All for a Sister, All For a Song Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good story encounters life's paradoxes...

Date:July 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(This is a book I'm going to have trouble giving a star rating to. I mean, do we really need those light-up yellow things to tell us whether a book is worth reading?)
Anyway, I've had my eye on Allison Pittman's books for a while, and I finally read All for a Sister.
What do I think? I think this is a dark story, with all seven deadly sins splayed upon the pages.
I think it is a raw story, and because of that you begin to care for the characters. Both Dana and Celeste have experienced damage at the hands of the world, in different ways. And both need a genuine friend, an opportunity for a brighter future.
Some people have objected to this book, protesting the content. My answer for all such protest is that no topic is ever wrong, the only wrong is in how you address it. Somebody said they only like "uplifting" books. Of course, we all should... but mustn't we be honest about the rock-bottom depths before anyone will believe our testimony about the heavenly heights?
I don't like fluff novels. A good book must bump up against actual life in the actual world, or else it is just lies.
This book repeatedly encounters life, and the author also pours in a cup or two of Grace.
That is far closer to true "Christian fiction" than a sugary and naive novel where nobody sins, nobody kills, nobody misuses their body or anyone else's, and nobody is converted by the straight-up mercy of God.
The frame of the book includes the death of an infant, a young woman sent to prison, sexual carousing that eats away at the heart of a family, and an unrelieved rage that destroys lives.
There is also confession and renewal, learning to see with God's eyes, and ceasing to identify yourself with your past history.
So if you're ready for a meaty novel set in the 1920's, with a complex storyline, then All for a Sister is the one.
And then if you get stuck on a 1920's kick, you can add Carla Stewart's The Hatmaker's Heart and Karen Halvorsen Schreck's Sing for Me.
(Ps. I intend to read Allison Pittman's Lilies in Moonlight next!)
Thank you to Fred and Nora St. Laurent of the Book Club Network for my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for All for a Sister, All For a Song Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unique and Stirring Novel

Date:July 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: Allison Pittman's gift for creating plots with depth and intricacies is evident in "All for a Sister," her latest novel set in 1920s Hollywood. There are numerous layers and several viewpoints to command readers' attention for the course of the story. When I pick up a book by Pittman, I know that I am about to immerse myself in words that will take me on a unique journey that I will remember. Pittman's plots are not different versions of the same story we've read before, they are unique and stirring. Her latest three works are perfect examples. "All for a Song," "All for a Story," and "All for a Sister" are all set in the intriguing 1920s with some of the same secondary characters, but they are each stand-alone with fresh main characters facing very different conflicts. "All for a Sister" proved my favorite novel of the three with all of its complexities and relationship dynamics.
This was a novel that required my complete attention and engagement. The perspectives switch between Celeste DuFrane as child, Celeste as an adult, Dana Lundgren living in the present and retelling her past, and the written confession of Marguerite DuFrane reflecting on her life-altering decisions. Each change in viewpoint is clearly delineated for the reader, making the shifts much easier to follow. The central mystery of the plot revolves around the death of the Dufrane's youngest daughter, an event that sent Dana to prison for 20 years. It is clear from the beginning that there is much more to the alleged murder, and as we learn more about the past events, a tangle of sinfulness, hatred, and deceit emerge. Pittman deftly weaves the silken web to show the disastrous trap that sin creates. All hope is not lost, however, as faith and love gradually loosen the tangles.
I can always count on Allison Pittman to deliver a story with depth and pain with lives that are far from idyllic. It is refreshing to depart from the happy love stories and delve into something with heartbreak. Dana's story in particular is full of woe - a childhood spent in a dark and often cruel prison, not unlike a setting Charles Dickens would create. While Dana reflects on her painful past, which is an integral part of the plot, it is balanced with the healing and promise of her future. Despite her meekness, Dana outshined the beautiful and vivacious Celeste, and quickly found a home in my heart. Celeste and Dana could not be more disparate women - one lived a life of comfort, the other a life of want. Celeste adds a needed vibrancy to the plot and a different perspective of life in the Dufrane household. I began guessing how the two women's lives would entwine before starting the novel. Although the resolution was not a complete surprise, the journey was full of unexpected revelations and the beauty of hope.
I received a complimentary of this book from Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. through their book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for All for a Sister, All For a Song Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great Christian fiction novel

Date:July 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Donna
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Secrets, so many secrets, treachery, tragedy and deceit. As you read this book you will not want to put it down until you see how the story unfolds and the truth is discovered.
This is the only book in the series I have read and I love Allison Pittman's style of writing and the well developed characters. It is a very intriguing book that keeps you guessing.
Celeste DuFrane has all she could ever want and near at hand is her dream of becoming a movie star. Then she finds out that her mother has left half of their estate to Dana Lundgren who was accused of killing her baby sister. Why would her mother do this?
After the death of Mary, their infant daughter, Marguerite DuFrane sees that Dana is sent to prison where she is locked up for many years. Near death and guilt ridden Marguerite confesses her sins and secretes pertaining to the death of her baby and Dana.
What is Marguerite's secret that is revealed in her confession? Will there be a relationship between Celeste and Dana? How will they handle the truth?
I recommend this book.
I received a copy of this book from bookfun.org for my honest opinion and review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for All for a Sister, All For a Song Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Poignant and Real: I couldn't put it down

Date:July 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Josi
Location:Baker City, OR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this deeply layered novel a gradual revelation of truth changes everything for two young women whose lives in the early 1920’s could not have been more different; one grew up pampered, wealthy and free to pursue her dreams while the other was punished for a crime she was never convicted of and then forgotten in a broken penal system. The author’s use of frequent flashback and multiple points-of-view to tell this story had the potential to make it confusing and disjointed but instead succeeded in weaving several storylines hauntingly together.
And haunting is the word that comes to mind because this novel evokes such a strong sense of poignant reality. The family fractured by selfishness, lust and ambition is a family we’ve known. The sadness of a life wasted in bitterness and unforgiveness is something we’ve observed. The victim of injustice and corruption is someone we’ve grieved for. But just as we’ve experienced tragedy first-hand, we’ve also experienced hope, and author Allison Pittman brings to this book an equally well-developed sense of wonder and discovery, faith and forgiveness. “All for a Sister” is a story so well-written that you will feel you’re there and you won’t want to put it put down.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for All for a Sister, All For a Song Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The story grabs a hold of you and doesn't let go.

Date:July 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kate
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been eying this series for a little bit now, I must admit. The covers are gorgeous! How could it have not caught my eye. The only reason I hadn't picked up one of the books is that I hadn't read much from the 1920's. Thankfully that has all changed and I have just fallen in love with this era! So, when I saw an opportunity to read this book, I jumped at the chance.
I hadn't read anything by Allison before this, but I will say, that her writing style hooks you right from the start and draws you in. I'm looking forward to going back and reading her previous stories in the All For series. Thankfully, each of these books can be read out of order.
All for a Sister was an interesting story that led you down a path to discover what the DuFrane family was truly like and the secrets that had been hidden for years. I loved how each point of view was told in a different way. We are introduced to Celeste, a young girl who had had everything handed to her and she is a might spoiled, but as you read through her life in this story, you can't help but feel bad for her and the life she really lived under all the glitz. Her life was far from perfect. And you got to watch her grow-up as the story progressed, literally and emotionally.
Unlike Celeste's character, when we are introduced to Dana and until the end, her story is presented like that of a screen play. We are set up for the scene. I loved how her story unfolded, bit by bit and with the little bit of extra description to her life at the beginning of her chapters. You ache for Dana and the life she is forced to live, but I couldn't help be love how she never looses herself despite the circumstances. She holds tight. Yes, she is a bit fearful from the changes in the world around her, but she is a sweet girl.
Finally we see the rest of the story, the holes that we can't figure out in Dana's and Celeste's stories, through Celeste's mom, Marguerite, by that of her will. What a character she is. At first, I felt sorry for her and her loss, but as her character unfolds and you witness her merciless actions, any pity that is felt disappears. The complexity to Marguerite was phenomenal, so when all was exposed, you could feel what Dana and Celeste felt when they to discovered the secrets that had been hidden.
All for a Sister kept me turning pages. Each chapter brought something new, whether it was a question or an answer, I had to keep reading.
I enjoyed all of these characters. They each played such an important role in the story. The attention to detail was another wonderful bonus to this story that really helped this story pop off of the page. And as I said before, the writing was fantastic. This story offered many twists and turns. When you thought you had it figured out, you were thrown another curve. It kept me glued to the pages.
Thank you to Tyndale Blog Network, I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for All for a Sister, All For a Song Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I liked it, but didn't love it

Date:July 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Peaches
Location:Colorado
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am on the fence with this book. . .I liked it (a lot), but I
wouldn't say I loved it. The characters are excellent and the story is intriguing, but there was just something missing and I can't put my finger on it. I will say I appreciated the forgiveness aspect of the book and the fact that Allison brought Christ's love so clearly into the picture.
The story is told from three views: Marguerite DeFrane, Celeste, and Dana. Marguerite accuses young Dana of murdering her daughter and is sent to prison for an indefinite time. Marguerite's heart break after the loss of her daughter and soon she becomes bitter and vengeful and she will not think twice about bringing pain to Dana and Dana's mother.
Poor Dana is confused about being sent away and has no one to turn to. Her mother visits for a little while, but then stops coming altogether. . . As Dana sits in prison she begins to find God 's love and learns of His precious forgiveness. And finally after years of waiting, waiting for some kind of answer, she is told Marguerite DuFrane left her a sizable inheritance, but she wonders why. . .
Pretty Celeste arrives after her little sister was killed and she brings joy and happiness to her mother and father, but there's someone in the family that does not share the same enthusiasm and often doesn't want anything to do with Celeste.
Questions begin to surface and Marguerite Dufrane's written confession begins to put the pieces of the puzzle together. But will everyone be happy with the answers or will it only go downhill as each chapter of the confession is read?
I was given a free copy of this book from Tyndale Publishers for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. No other compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for All for a Sister, All For a Song Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Roaring Twenties

Date:June 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
cici
Age:25-34
Gender:female
All for a Sister by Allison Pittman is by far the most intriguing themed story I have read in a long time. I tend to stick to modern novels and I rarely read stories from earlier decades. Fortunatley, I gave Pittman's story a chance and I now am going to devour her other stories because there is so much more than just a story about people in the twenties. It is about the troubles her characters are dealing with and the ways that one decision can change noth only one life, but many lives and for so long. The in-depth, compassionate ways that these characters come to realize they are more than their decisions is why I have become a new fan of Allison Pittman. Everything about the stories, the situations, and the time make for a wonderful read. This is the story of two sisters, Celeste and Dana, and the advantages or harms of decisions made without their say during the 1920's which in my opinion make the story even more entertaining because it is the only way a reader can get to know this magical time in our history. This is a must read, I highly recommend this novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.