Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summerside Press Queen of the Waves, American Tapestries Series #1

Summerside Press Queen of the Waves, American Tapestries Series #1

When pampered Jacqueline Abington secretly elopes with the family gardener, she asks another woman to take her place on the much anticipated maiden voyage of the Titanic. Tessa Yarborough hails from a poor corner of London but has been granted the opportunity of a lifetime--a ticket to sail to America aboard a famed vessel. But there's a catch: she must assume Jacqueline's...more When pampered Jacqueline Abington secretly elopes with the family gardener, she asks another woman to take her place on the much anticipated maiden voyage of the Titanic. Tessa Yarborough hails from a poor corner of London but has been granted the opportunity of a lifetime--a ticket to sail to America aboard a famed vessel. But there's a catch: she must assume Jacqueline's identity. For the first time in her life, Tessa stays in luxurious quarters, dresses in elegant gowns, and dines with prestigious people. Then a wealthy American man takes an interest in her, and Tessa struggles to keep up the ruse as she begins falling for him. When tragedy strikes, the game is up, and two women's lives are forever changed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Queen of the Waves, American Tapestries Series #1
Review 1 for Queen of the Waves, American Tapestries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Historical Romance

Date:December 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What could be better? Reading a book that takes place aboard the Titanic with a wonderful Christian message. And a little romance on the side! This is my kind of book, and I absolutely loved it! I have been fascinated with the Titanic for most of my life, and in light of the anniversary celebrated concerning this disaster just this year, this book could not be better-timed. There were times I was so drawn into this book that I forgot where I was (which isn't good when you have a room full of students).
I was touched by the pathos of the story and the inspiration of the characters. Tessa was absolutely captivating, and Jaquie certainly needed a "come-to-Jesus" meeting throughout most of the book. I don't think she always lived in reality. I loved seeing each character develop and be changed by the Lord, and there were even some things I hadn't considered about the sinking of this famous ship. I really don't want to give it away, so I won't say any more about that.
The Christian message was woven into this story in expert fashion. I can only hope that this author will choose to write a sequel because I would absolutely love to see what the characters did next. Although the book has an obvious conclusion, there were still a few loose ends to tie up. I am happy to report that profanity and sex scenes did not exist within this book, so it is a clean romance. And the Christian message was appropriate and not overdone.
So if you just can't get enough of the Titanic, this is the book for you!
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Queen of the Waves, American Tapestries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Queen of the Waves: Titanic - eBook

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeannie
Location:Brampton, ON
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was great. Well written. Loved the story line. Even the hard part of the ship sinking and people drowning was beautifully done. My great grandpa, a carpenter, did the fancy wood work on the Titanic. I didn't want the book to end. I love reading Janice Thompson's books. Makes me laugh and cry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Queen of the Waves, American Tapestries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

From Tragedy To Triumph!

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High Society bred Jacqueline is tired of living a life build around her parents decisions. When her father insists upon an arranged business marriage with young Roland, she has other plans to elope with Peter the family gardener. Peter's younger sister, Tessa is living far from luxury, living as a servant girl, under the cruel watch of her Father, and fearful Mother. Tessa longs for beauty, love, and a better life. Her prayers seem to be answered when Jacquie and Peter come to her with a proposition to board the dream liner, Titanic to start a fresh life in America, and take the false identity of the wealthy Jacqueline's place instead, Tessa is tempted, and against her better judgement agrees to the ruse. Aboard, Tessa tries to act the part of a lady, but secretly terrified and alone amidst such new circumstances. But God knows the innocence of her heart and sends her a saving grace in Nathan. A perfect blend of romance, suspense, secrets, deceit, forgiveness, and above all the Saving Mercy of our own Christ Jesus, makes 'Queen of the Waves' a most unique novel! Captivating as the mighty Titanic herself. You'll be swept away to the very last page, praying against all odds that these precious character's souls will survive! The message of hope and a redeeming Father God will forever stand out in your memory!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Queen of the Waves, American Tapestries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well wrought

Date:November 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In my opinion, one of Janice Thompson's best!
I've always had a sort of love/hate relationship with Titanic books, but Queen of the Waves is definitely one that I love!
The plot was well put together and I thought that the characters were especially well-crafted, and likable from the start. There were things that Tessa struggled with, and it was easy to see why she had the reaction that she did because of the way she had been brought up, and I just really loved watching this story play out.
This book was easy to follow, and very engaging, I found that the pages went by faster than I realized and it was very easy to become absorbed into its pages.
Overall I enjoyed this well written tale from cover to cover, and I found the story very compelling, yet not too overdone. A book that I would happily recommend!
I received this book from the publisher through Litfuse in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Queen of the Waves, American Tapestries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful book and has the history of the Titanic

Date:November 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
admom
Location:Liberal, Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was excellent I loved the story line and the history about the Titanic just reading it made you feel you were there on the ship and the dedication to a person on the Titanic was good to as I live close to Branson and the museum
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Queen of the Waves, American Tapestries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Smiles and tears make for a satisfying read

Date:November 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ane Mulligan
Location:Suwanee, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Janice Thompson masterfully weaves gentle humor into the tragedy of the Titanic's fateful journey, making the smiles bigger and the tears heartfelt. Novel Rocket and I give Queen of the Waves a high recommendation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Queen of the Waves, American Tapestries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good story regarding healing and second chances.

Date:October 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a total Titanic buff and love to read stories about that fateful voyage. And yes, I've watched James Cameron film "Titanic" about ten times. That said, I enjoyed the premise of this story. The setting appealed to me as well as the plot. The spiritual arc was strong and there were good reasons why Peter sought to help his sister. Now granted, I was disappointed in him, so I hope in the future he resolves his issue. I also wished one of the main characters would have fallen for the man her father arranged for her. Ah, well, sometimes things have a way of going in a different direction and as a reader, you just accept that.
Regarding the romantic aspects of the story, they were heart-warming. I would have loved to have seen more romantic tension, but for whatever reason the story didn't play that out. I know it was a short voyage so not much could be done in such a short time. And we certainly didn't want to see the characters do what Rose and Jack had done in the film. At the same time there is something about staring at death that makes people desperate enough to change their minds about what really matters. The sinking was sad, of course, but it was not shown in a way that would traumatize the reader. The movie did that well enough. In some ways it wouldn't have seemed right to dwell on the negative in this book but rather focus on second chances.
Anyway, I enjoyed this story, though it didn't have quite the zing I'd hoped for. Part of that may be due to the many different points of view rather than the two main characters as is typically done in romantic novels. Nevertheless, it was an enjoyable read. The best part of the story was probably the healing that took place regarding the issue with fathers in several characters' hearts. In some ways I would have liked to see more of that aspect of the story because it was so rich and deeply felt.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Queen of the Waves, American Tapestries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Taste of Titanic History

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Trudi
Location:Bath, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
At first glance, the plot of Queen of the Waves appeared to fit a predictable scenario: wealthy Industrialist plans a business merger and arranges a marriage between his new partner Roland and his daughter Jacquie. But there the expected outline changes, as everyone involved has their own plan. Jacquie’s mother, herself in an arranged marriage, wants something better for her daughter, and secretly makes plans for her to travel on the Titanic to live with her grandmother in New York. Jacquie, who’s in love with Peter, the groundskeeper, plans that he will travel with her to America. But Peter, a loyal British subject, has no desire to move to America; he sees the trip as an escape for his sister Tessa, who is constantly abused by their drunken father. When the great ship sails, it’s Tessa who occupies the fabulous stateroom, in company with Iris, Jacquie’s maid, who longs to be recognized as a dress designer in the new world.
As the book began, I found it a little confusing, as the reader is introduced to a variety of people with no clear connection to each other. As the story developed, however, those background stories helped to set the stage for the main characters –those who boarded the Titanic and those on both sides of the ocean who loved them. Tension built as the story progressed, as the end of the Titanic is known, but not of the many personalities on board.
Although the story seemed to start slowly, that quickly passed, as I was caught up in the wealth of detail provided on the wonder that was Titanic, and what it was like to sail on her. I rejoiced with Tessa when she learned of a loving Heavenly Father, I shed tears as families were separated and women hastily hugged their husbands goodbye. I appreciated the ending, which was believable and if not quite “fairy tale”, was certainly satisfactory. Queen of the Waves fulfilled its purpose as part of the American Tapestry collection, as it was quite educational about the historic event and also provided hours of reading pleasure.
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my fair and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Queen of the Waves, American Tapestries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Unique take on Titanic story

Date:October 17, 2012
Earlier this year a ton of new books set on or around the Titanic came out to commemorate the 100th anniversary of its sinking. I read as many as I could get my hands on and was fascinated by each story and the way they represented that period in history. So I was excited to see another "Titanic book" come out this month.
Janice Thompson is a fairly new-to-me author, and I was surprised by how different this was than the romantic comedies I read earlier this year. Queen of the Waves has more depth and emotion than I was expecting and I was pleasantly surprised! While the book started off a little slow and left me wondering how all these very (!) unique characters were going to fit together, when it took off, it was at a rapid pace and things just fell in place!
The time aboard the Titanic was my favorite part of the whole book. It's such a tragic story, and Janice really showcased some of the more personable tidbits about passengers aboard the ship. As Iris and Tessa met many of the other passengers, it just added to my enjoyment of the book.
Overall, I enjoyed this sweet, coming-of-age story and look forward to more from Janice Thompson in the future. [3.5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Summerside Press and Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Queen of the Waves, American Tapestries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Never Wanted It To End

Date:October 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven been looking forward to reading this book ever since the Author started posting pictures of the of the museums she was visiting to research this book. I feel in love with all of the posts by Janice Thompson and could not wait for this book to come out. She did not disappoint!
The story sort of reminded me of the Prince and the Pauper...not quite it would have to be the Princess.
The rich girl...Jacqueline Abingdon sets out to deceive her family, a world wide set of events are about to happen. She is so enamored with Peter Bowen, she will do anything to be his wife.
Peter has a sister that he wants to help...her father is a cruel sick man. He takes everything that goes wrong out on his daughter Tessa.
When Jacquie's Mother sets out to deceive her husband who has arranged a marriage for their daughter. She contacts her Mother in New York, and again the seeds of fate are set. What her Mother doesn't know is that Jacquie is about to deceive her Fiance, Father, and Mother.
Jacquie convinces Tessa to be her and teaches her to be an Heiress, she even has her Ladies Maid Iris in on the plot. What none of them knows is that the ship Tessa and Iris will be traveling on is the Titanic.
Of course we all know what happens on that voyage, but you almost forget and hope not. Impossible to change history, but what a fun ride we have, of course there is a lot of heartache...as we know. Now that we know these people personally it is even harder.
Don't miss this excellent fast read. I could not put it down, and finished in less than a day. Enjoy!!
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Tours and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Queen of the Waves, American Tapestries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Queen of the Waves

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2012 is the 100th anniversary of the sinking of the Titanic. A sad story, it is true, but there are stories to be told--real or imaged. Queen of the Waves is a story that contains both fictional and real characters from history. A story that, in my opinion, shouldn’t go unread.
When I started reading the book I noticed a prince and the pauper theme beginning to emerge. Tessa Bowen, the daughter of a pig farmer who has experienced real hardships and abuse from her father and I wanted to throttle him for the way he treated her. Jacquie Abingdon, the daughter of a successful business man, has been included in an arranged marriage to a man she doesn’t like as part of their businesses merging. Her mother wants to send Jacquie to visit her grandmother in New York, but Jacquie wants to marry Peter Bowen, their gardener and Tessa’s brother.
Peter Bowen, loves his sister and wants to help her to escape from the farm and her father.
A plan begins to form...a plan where Tessa takes Jacquie’s place on the Titanic.
I enjoyed the story, the sights and smells, sounds, and people came to life under the the pen of Janice Thompson. A sad story, its true, but there are friendships formed, lives and souls saved, and lessons learned. If you choose to pick up this book I think you will be glad you did.
**Queen of the Waves by Janice Thompson was provided for me free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Queen of the Waves, American Tapestries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fall in love onboard the Titanic all over again!

Date:October 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A wave of fear washed over Jacquie afresh as she tried to absorb the news.
Father dangled the cigar between his fingers. "I'm delighted about Roland's offer, as you can imagine. I do hope you will be as well. This has been a thoughtful undertaking."
"B-but..." She couldn't seem to manage anything else. The lump in her throat wouldn't allow it.
"He's a good man, and a kind one. I can't deny that the arrangement is advantageous for us all, but I do believe you will settle happily. He will treat you well and give you a good life. And you will never want for anything. Of this, we can be quite sure." Another puff of the cigar followed on her father's end and then a nod. "Roland has a large home in New York and has just purchased the Willingham estate here in Richmond near the Thames."
"Well, that sounds lovely." Jacquie's mother folded her hands in her lap and sat up a bit straighter.
"Yes." Father grinned. "And what a stroke of luck, marrying a man in the automobile industry. Not only will you have an enviable home, but you will also own the best vehicles in the country."
Jacquie swallowed hard as she thought about how to respond. Of course her father found this news to be delightful. He would. But she could not - would not - marry a man she had no feelings for, especially when her heart remained affixed to another. She forced a smile and fought to quiet her racing heart, fearing it might somehow give her away.
As Jacquie's mother quickly whisked her away to her room to begin making wedding plans as her mother's voice lowered to a whisper as she opened the hatbox and pressed several newspaper clippings into Jacquie's hands. " A new ocean liner is leaving Southhampton in five weeks, headed for New York. Arrangements can be made for you to be onboard when she sails, but we must hurry." She pressed the now empty hatbox onto the shelf.
"W-what? You're sending me to America?" Jacquie shook her head as she started down at the newspaper clippings. A photograph of the RMS Titanic stared back at her. "What are you saying, Mother? Have you and Father planned this as some sort of honeymoon gift?"
Mama shook her head. "I've known for weeks that your father was, well...working on a plan with Mr. Palmer, but I'm not talking about sending you two off on a honeymoon. Not at all. Listen to me. I know the pain of a forced union firsthand. My own father, God rest his soul, made sure I was advantageously matched as well." Her expression hardened. "My daughter will not be painted into that same corner. I would soon die that allow it, trust me." (pg 21).
Her mother learned that Jacquie had fallen in love with their gardener, Peter Bowen, but felt she must leave England on the Titanic and stay in New York with her grandmother. Perhaps there she could find the love she was truly searching for. But how could she leave behind the only man she had ever loved? One thing for sure, she knew she could not go through with her father's plans to marry Roland Palmer.
In the latest novel from Janice Thompson in the American Tapestries series, Queen of the Waves, takes the readers back into a historical fictional romance of 1912 as Jacquie Abingdon attempts to runaway aboard the Titanic to escape the arranged marriage to Roland Palmer without her father's knowledge. When she tells Peter of her plan to include taking him on the trip, he turns down the offer telling her that his family depends on his income to support them. He can't leave them. He does offer Jacquie another option, to send his sister Tessa, who is the same age as Jacquie in her place to escape the abuse from their drunken father. Jacquie agrees and they spend the next two weeks preparing Tessa to take her place onboard the Titanic and provide a way for her to escape as well. How can Tessa Bowen attempt to act like a lady of society when all she has ever known is the life of being a pig farmer's daughter?
The two women make arrangements to meet on the dock to make the switch in boarding passes and tickets and Tessa will go by the name of Jacquie Abingdon and head to New York. Jacquie will send a letter to her grandmother in New York explaining that she could not leave because she wanted to marry Peter, someone her parents would never allow her to marry due to his social status. She knew her grandmother would take Tessa in and would send along her lady's maid, Iris to help Tessa as needed. Little did Jacquie know what would later happen and how all their lives would change forever in ways none of them could ever prepare for.
I received Queen of the Waves compliments of Summerside Press and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I've been a huge fan of the Titanic when it first came to the big screen and it really interested me to know more about the lives of so many who boarded the fateful ship that day in hopes of a new life in America only to have so many never make it. When the opportunity came up to review this novel, I knew I would instantly want to read it and in the process LOVE the characters that Janice Thompson breathed to life in the pages of her novel. You feel the emotional anguish between Tessa and Jacquie's choices to make their lives their own through choices neither of them felt they could make. In a twist of fate, one would find love and the other pain beyond belief but in the end, healing would come to them all. I rate this novel a 5 out of 5 stars. For those of you that love romantic novels about the Titanic, then this one is a MUST READ for you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Queen of the Waves, American Tapestries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Romance, Adventure and Disaster - Great Read!

Date:October 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janice Thompson in her new book, “Queen of the Waves” Book One in the An American Tapestry series published by Summerside Press takes us into the life of Tessa Bowen and the luxury liner, Titanic.
From the back cover: Two families on opposite sides of the globe are shaken by the rise and fall of the Titanic, “Queen of the Ocean.”
When pampered Jacqueline Abingdon makes secrete plans to elope with the family gardener, she concocts a scheme for another woman to take her place on the much anticipated maiden voyage of the Titanic. From a poor corner of England, Tessa Bowen has been granted the opportunity of a lifetime–a ticket to sail to America aboard a famed vessel. But there’s a catch: she must assume another woman’s identity. For the first time in her life, Tessa stays in expensive quarters, dresses in luxurious gowns, and dines with prestigious people. Then a wealthy young American man takes an interest in her, and Tessa must struggle to keep up the ruse even as she finds herself falling for him. When tragedy strikes, the game is up, and Tessa’s life is forever changed.
Any story about the Titanic’s maiden voyage is going to be highly emotional due to the tragedy involved. This great ship is going to sink and most of the passengers and crew will be lost. That is history. Now Ms. Thompson has given us a story that belongs up there with the terrific movies that have come before including the version from James Cameron. These are wonderful characters that live and breathe on the pages and you don’t want to see anyone die. You want to get to the end but you don’t want to really find out who is going to make and who won’t. Be forewarned this book will tear at your heartstrings but it will be all worth it. Danger, thrills and romance “Queen of the Waves” has it all. This book does not disappoint in any area. I enjoyed it and I am sure you will also.
Win a Kindle Fire from Janice Thompson! RSVP for American Tapestries Facebook Party {10/18}
Celebrate with Janice by entering to win a Kindle Fire!
One fortunate winner will receive:
A Kindle Fire
Where the Trail Ends by Melanie Dobson
Queen of the Waves by Janice Thompson
Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on October 17th. Winner will be announced at the American Tapestries Author Chat Facebook Party on 10/18. Connect with authors Janice Thompson and Melanie Dobson for an evening of book chat, trivia and fun! There will also be gift certificates, books, and a Book Club Prize Pack to be won (10 copies for your book club or small group)!
So grab your copy of Queen of the Waves and Where the Trail Ends and join Janice Thompson and Melanie Dobson on the evening of the October 18th for a chance to connect with the authors and make some new friends. (If you haven’t read the books – don’t let that stop you from coming!)
Don’t miss a moment of the fun, RSVP today. Tell your friends via FACEBOOK or TWITTER and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 18th!
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Queen of the Waves, American Tapestries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read!!!

Date:October 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
After 100 years we are still captivated by the Titanic, so much has been uncovered yet still so much is left hidden. The author took the many unknown facts about Titanic and made a gripping story of the power of love, forgiveness, mercy, and new beginnings. Though many books have been written about the subject, Janice was able to make Queen of the Waves unique.
When a pig farmer and aristocrat switch lives you know nothing good is going to come out of that, or will there? Janice has a way of keeping you very much in suspense. The continuos descriptions of the magnificent ship, allowed one to feel as if you themselves are aboard the floating palace. You could very well picture the grand stair case and the glass domed ceiling "looking like a pinch from a falling star, equal in brightness and beauty."The different dresses, hats, varying in style, color, and material were very well imaginable. Even the food could be pictured, the oxtails, oysters and the well cooked beef. Leaving you hungry for food and more of the book.
Though the Titanic, is a favorite era of mine, that is not what solely made this book great. Not even the the well described scenes, people, or happenings made this book stand apart. The focus on the redemption that Christ offers was made this book from just another Titanic story to a great read. Janice wrote with such conviction. Not like most books, Queen of the Waves did not have just one spiritual message but several that the reader could glean from. Feeding you spiritually, historically intellectually and making you laugh out loud, Queen of the Waves is a must read, getting 5 out of 5 stars.
I received this book for free, from Litfuse, in exchange for this honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Queen of the Waves, American Tapestries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

THE VOYAGE OF A LIFETIME. . .

Date:October 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
THE SELF TAUGHT COOK
Location:DAVENPORT, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The maiden voyage of the Titanic was the opportunity of a lifetime. For many, it was a voyage to a new home, a new life, a new beginning. When Jacqueline Abingdon sees that her father has made marriage plans for her without her consent, the ship becomes the main part of her escape plan. For Tessa Bowen, her part in Jacqueline's plan will give her a new start in life, if she can carry off her part of the masquerade. But everyone's destiny is changed in unforeseen ways when the voyage comes to a tragic end.
There has always been a fascination with Titanic. An untold number of books have been written on the subject, movies have been made, and museums and memorials have been erected in her honor. One hundred years later, we still can't get enough on the subject, and I admit to being one of the worst Titanic-philes around. I love a good book, fiction or non-fiction, connected with the subject, so you can imagine my excitement when this book, the first in Summerside's American Tapestries series, arrived. I'm happy to say that I was not disappointed. This novel does a good job of telling the personal interest side of the story. The characters are well-developed, causing the reader to care about the outcome of each one. The author has maintained the accuracy of the historical aspects of the story. This was a compelling read, with no violence, sexual situations, or strong language. I look forward to reading the future installments in this historical romance series.
4 stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Queen of the Waves, American Tapestries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Epic!

Date:September 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don’t believe I have read a novel set aboard the Titanic…and if I have I know I haven’t read one written in such a dramatic fashion.
There were twists and turns to this novel, deception and fear, faith and despair that kept emotions at riveting heights. The voice behind this story was engaging at the core and the character’s struggles constantly kept the story moving forward.
The first hundred or so pages I wondered what was bringing these multitude of characters from so many walks of life together on one ship, but read far enough and you’ll find that each one has a careful place to play in the story.
For anyone with any knowledge of American/British history, it was hard to read the scenes aboard the Titanic, knowing that the ship was not long for the high seas. The final scenes as the ship was going down were difficult to read, hoping that the characters I’d spent over three hundred pages with were among those going to make it.
I thought that the offerings of this novel were epic, well written and tasteful. I had a sense of being on the ship with the characters, a sense of being there as the ship went down. All in all a very enjoyable read.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers through Litfuse for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Queen of the Waves, American Tapestries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding...Captivating!

Date:September 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christina
Location:TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book captivates you from the first chapter! The story was gripping as it led you from one charater to another and weaved a love story throughout. I enjoyed the historical elements as well. The ending suprised you, but doesn't leave you disappointed! Highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.