Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summerside Press A Merry Little Christmas, Song of the Season Series #1

Summerside Press A Merry Little Christmas, Song of the Season Series #1

Franny Martin is an Oklahoma farm girl who's preparing to spend the holidays alone... again. She has spent all of her adult life keeping the family farm going after her parents' death, and she struggles to make ends meet. Franny has no money to speak of, but she is clever and spirited. Her love for music drives her dream to sell the farm and move to the city.

Then Charlie Landau shows up one day, all wealth and polish, and offers to buy Franny's farm. Charlie has been trying to prove himself and meet the expectations of his wealthy father after falling short on one business venture after another. He is determined to make his latest endeavor work - running a farm - that is, after taking a few lessons from Franny.

Average Customer Rating:
4.55 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Merry Little Christmas, Song of the Season Series #1
Review 1 for A Merry Little Christmas, Song of the Season Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A cozy holiday read

Date:March 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
debhgrty
Location:Plymouth MA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Merry Little Christmas is a “cozy holiday read about two people from different worlds.” I’m so happy that Anita allowed me to review this book. I found myself smiling on every page as I got acquainted with Frannie Martin and Charlie Landau.
Frannie Martin prepares to spend her holidays alone – again – on her Oklahoma farm. Then Charlie Landau sweeps in with an offer to buy it from her although all he has is wealth and polish – absolutely no farming experience – and a need to prove himself as worthwhile to his father. With Christmas songs crooning from the radio, Frannie teaches Charlie about country life with all its fun and foibles. Will the holidays that are quickly advancing on them break them apart or give them their dearest Christmas desires?
You’ll want several copies of A Merry Little Christmas – one to keep and several to give as Christmas gifts. You’ll be so pleased you did and so will be the recipients!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Merry Little Christmas, Song of the Season Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Christmas Story

Date:December 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay, I wanted to give this a rating of a three or four--I promise, I did. After all, it is your typical romance, and there is little doubt how it will end. It has the typical poor, independent woman and the rich, robust man, and they fall head over heels in love at first sight. It even takes place on a farm. And the author sprinkles some wonderful Christian principles in there as well. This is typical, so what would possess me to rate it so high?
Anna Higman is smart author. She has written a romance that is sweet and clean but tackles some difficult issues. Have you ever had a dream that others ridiculed and did not support? What about racism in the 1950's? And, of course, any time a book adds the elements of music and Christmas, it just doesn't get much better than that. And when you add in romantic, humorous dialogue, well, I just have to give a five-star rating!
"Have yourself a merry little Christmas, Make the yuletide gay, from now on our troubles will be miles away." Yes, God does transform people, and there are some miraculous things that occur in this book. You know they have to happen, but it is still neat to see God change people. And by the end of the book, this song does ring true. No spoilers--read it yourself!
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Merry Little Christmas, Song of the Season Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
inspiremichelle
Location:Loureauville, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Merry Little Christmas by Anita Higman ****
This is a great Christmas romance. Charlie Landau a wealthy city boy meets Franny Martin a poor country girl, when he shows up to purchase her farm. They discover a mutual love of music and so much more. Charlie fights to meet the demands of an overbearing father while, Franny fights for injustices. Franny is hired to teach Charlie how to become a farmer before leaving to chase her own dreams. They face obstacles and challenges with honor, dignity and love. When Charlie bought the farm he got more than he bargained for, just goes to show you opposites can be attracted to each other. The author Anita Higman did a great job bringing romance and humor together. She exposed the hurts that come with prejudice. I recommend this Christmas story to all who love romance and Christian fiction, a great love story for any time of the year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Merry Little Christmas, Song of the Season Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Warm and wonderful Christmas story

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katy
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Merry Little Christmas is a delightful and heart-warming book. The main characters are interesting, funny, and charming. This book is easy-to-read, but hard to put down. I liked the short chapters, so I could squeeze in a little reading between other holiday activities. But, I read the second half of the book in one sitting, as I was anxious to know how everything turned out. This book has much to offer--tragedy, romance, conflicts between family members, conflicts in the community, and conflicts in the characters themselves. This is my favorite Christmas story of the year!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Merry Little Christmas, Song of the Season Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Merry Little Christmas

Date:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Franny Martin has her mind on music most of the time while she is doing chores on her farm. The barn yard animals seem to like her singing. As she is singing to the pigs a man walks up behind her and scared the stuffin out of her. Which landed her in the mud. He did save her radio from the mud and she was grateful for that. She asked the nice looking man who he was and why he was there. He boldly told her his name was Charles Landau and he wanted to buy her farm and was willing to pay whatever she asked. She quickly told him he just bought a farm. The only problem was he knew nothing about farming or livestock. Nada! So after much deliberation she agreed to stay on as a hired farm hand and teach him about farming. He was to learn to be farmer in three weeks. Right! After that she was going to move to the city and work at her dream job at a radio station that is if anyone would hire her without any knowledge in this line of work.
She had many obstacles in her way of getting her dream job. Charlie was not very successful at farming after she left either. Maybe if they worked together in running the farm it would be profitable for both of them. That is if Charlie's father was not so bent on Charlie taking over the family business to the point of making threats.
I read this book in one sitting okay two sittings. I did not want to put it down.
It had all I love to read in a book intrigue, romance, Trust in God, family secrets, redemption, love of mankind and some very interesting characters.
The characters:
Franny has horrible memories of the day of her parent's deadly accident.
Charlie had also suffered the loss of his mother and the lack of his father's love.
Noma has spent her whole life dealing with prejudice because of her color.
Willie is Charlie's brother and has suffered even greater emotional abuse from his father.
Mr. Landau rules over his sons holding back any affection or love.
In my opinion each of the characters had a painful past causing the present life hard to endure at times. The difference in the characters was that some of them trusted in God's will and endured their lives with patience. Those that had hardened their hearts towards God tried to force their own will on others causing much pain themselves and others.
The author writes of a Christmas Gift that's not under a tree or wrapped up in pretty paper. It is the Gift of Love God gives to His children through the birth of His Son Jesus.
Disclosure
I received a free copy of this book from Summerside Press/Litfuse Group Tours for review. I was in no way compensated for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Merry Little Christmas, Song of the Season Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Can Love Conquer All?

Date:December 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a very thoughtful read. Two people coming together with very different backgrounds and many, many roadblocks.
This shows you that love and forgiveness can prevail. In a world of hate and unforgiveness love shines through.
Family relationships are hampered because of a controlling Father. Will Charlie and Willie be strong enough to break free and finally live their own lives? Will God intervene and perform a miracle?
I know readers of Christmas books will find some joy, delight and comfort in this wonderful read by author Anita Higman. She hit the nail on the head with this one. Don't miss out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Merry Little Christmas, Song of the Season Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet story

Date:December 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sandy N.
Location:Colorado
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this story. I was very caught up with the characters as they tried to find their way in life, and follow a dream to success. Sometimes that success has a different end. Just as you're caught up in the coziness of the tale, along comes a challenge that could break hearts and squash plans. Great story, and I'm certain you'll love it too. Anita Higman is a fantastic story teller.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Merry Little Christmas, Song of the Season Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Anything Can Happen At Christmastime

Date:December 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Trudi
Location:Bath, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After her parents died in an accident, Franny put the Oklahoma farm up for sale. For twelve years, she has leased the crop land and continued to tend her animals and dream of moving to the city to be closer to the music world she loves. She listens to Frank Sinatra and others croon Christmas carols on her small transistor radio while she feeds and chats with her hogs, with no idea that God’s plan to fulfill her dreams is about to happen. Charlie, a polished city dweller is just trying to please his rich and difficult father by learning the ropes and succeeding at a business before he’s allowed to join the family firm. He too dreams of music but that isn’t an acceptable career choice for a Landau heir. When he sees a tiny ad for a farm for sale, Charlie decides to pursue that, and shows up out of the blue on Franny’s farm just before Thanksgiving, 1961. What follows is a sweet story of love and two people learning that God’s plans may be different than one’s dreams, but they are also better!
Franny’s character has been shaped by godly parents and she’s learned to fight against the racism so much in evidence around her. Charlie grows as an individual as he tackles hard physical work and adversity and comes to understand that there are things in life more worth fighting for than his father’s attention and approval. Other’s lives are positively impacted by the strength these two people demonstrate as the story floats along like a smooth Sinatra melody to a happy ending.
There’s nothing quite like a cozy Christmas story but this one plumbed unexpected depths as the issue of racism was addressed head on, as well as the attitudes of the day toward clinical depression. You won’t regret choosing A Merry Little Christmas as part of your seasonal reading list.
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Merry Little Christmas, Song of the Season Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Story With Integrity

Date:December 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Annette
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
*Review from A Well-Watered Garden blog*
Synopsis:
Franny lives alone on the family farm near Hesterville, Oklahoma. The year is 1961 and Franny is 33. She's continued to run the farm faithfully for over a decade after her parents died. Franny though is yearning to fulfill a dream she's had most of her life. Franny loves music, she often sings to the farm animals. Charlie Landau a handsome man in his mid-thirties is interested in buying Franny's farm. His goal is to live a life contrary to the life his dad would have him to live. Charlie's dad is a controlling, manipulative, emotionally awkward man. Charlie's dad is also very wealthy. Both Franny and Charlie have learned knowledge and wisdom from the choices they've made; but when the time comes will they have the tenacity to be able to follow through with doing the right thing.
Review:
Positive Points:
This is a story with integrity. In a media world of "everything goes". I loved reading a story where the characters cared about what matters most, and they lived it. They did not talk about doing good things, they did good things. They are characters of honesty and conviction.
On first sight, this is a light-hearted romantic Christmas story; but there are other themes that lie just beneath that emerge about 1/4 way through the book. The author continues to progress with a light-hearted story but all the while I realized I'm being taught a few things with a more serious nature.
The true spirit of Christmas is shown in this story.
Negative Point:
I'm not sure this is a negative point---The story begins quickly, jumps right in to the main theme and or focus of story. There is little to no build-up. I believe this was done on purpose by the author because this is a small in size book 7"x5" (254 pages). The story needed to move along faster.
Thank you to my friend Joni @ Buoyancy Public Relations for my free review copy in exchange for an honest review. She passed the book along to me, I chose to read and review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Merry Little Christmas, Song of the Season Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A STAND-OUT CHRISTMAS NOVEL

Date:November 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
THE SELF TAUGHT COOK
Location:DAVENPORT, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Franny Martin has lived alone on her family farm for the past twelve years when Charlie Landau arrives on the scene to buy her farm. Because Charlie has no farming experience, Franny stays around to teach him the basics. As the holiday season approaches, they both learn lessons about themselves and about love.
This is not your usual schmaltzy Christmas romance novel. While it is set on an Oklahoma farm, its 1961 setting is modern enough to set it apart from the pioneer and Amish novels prevalent in the bookstores today. By the same token, the references to the Civil Rights Movement gives it a historical context not found in a contemporary romance. For anyone who enjoys a good novel set in that time period, this novel should stand out.
3.5 stars
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Litfuse Publicity Group<http://www.litfusegroup.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Merry Little Christmas, Song of the Season Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Nostalgic Christmas Story

Date:November 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Merry Little Christmas is an enjoyable story to read during the holiday season. The characters are fun and entertaining, and the interaction between Franny and Charlie grabs you from their very first dance.
Besides the expected love story in your typical Christmas novel, there are several other stories that play out in the book. Cultural issues from the 1960s and complicated family dynamics add depth to the story and provide some interesting twists. Several musical references can make you feel nostalgic for traditional Christmas songs.
Some of the details of the story seem a little disjointed, and one of the major conflicts is resolved a little too quickly to be realistic. All in all, though, this is a fun and quick Christmas read.
(This book was provided free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Merry Little Christmas, Song of the Season Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sometimes love comes when you least expect it!

Date:November 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Martin farm, Oklahoma, 1961
Franny's mother always said that if humans ever landed on the moon, the first thing they'd need was music. It was the one essential that made a place inhabitable - you know, to get through all those dark and lonely - not to mention unmarried and dateless - nights.
Franny sighed and turned up the dial on her transistor radio. Frank Sinatra's version of "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas" wooed its way over the airwaves like a slow kiss under the mistletoe. She swayed and sange along as she dumped the last of the slop into the troughs of her forty rambunctious hogs. Then she climbed up on the fence for a little swine soiree.
"You know, I can't wait to see who Dick Clark features next on American Bandstand, but now that I'm thirty-three, I guess I should be watching The Lawrence Welk Show. Right?" The hogs grunted their replies, but it wasn't anything worth repeating. "Honestly, you guys can be such boars." She chuckled to herself at her bad pun.
As the last musical ribbons of "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas" tied up like a bow, Franny hopped down on the other side of the pig fence, picked up her radio and slop bucket, and heaved a sigh. Christmas was coming, and it looked like she was going to spend the holidays alone. Again.
With that piteous little thought bobby-pinned to her mind, she turned around and came face-to-face with a man. A stranger! She let out a yelp loud enough to startle the man and arouse the poor hogs into a frothing frenzy. The bucket and radio went flying as Franny went slip-sliding onto the muddy ground." (pg 9-10).
In the latest Christmas novel from Anita Higman, A Merry Little Christmas takes us back to the 1960's, on Franny's farm where she runs into quite literally a man who wishes to purchase the family farm she has had up for sale for the last 12 years. Funny how things like that just fall into place. Now that Charlie Landau and her have meet quite informally, she can finally find time to pursue the life long dream of a career in music in the big city. All she needed was a way out and Charlie fell right on in. It seems as if Charlie has been looking for a way to prove himself worthy to take part in his father's business, but after many unsuccessful attempts thus far, Charlie is hoping that taking over a farm and making a profit might be just the thing his father needs to see he is more than capable.
Set in the midst of the civil unrest with racial tensions running high, the book overlaps between a transition of ownership and jobs between Fanny and Charlie and thrusts them both into dealing with the unfair treatment of Noma Jefferson, an eldery women with the face as richly hued coffee who had shown Franny the kindness worthy of the Good Samaritan, when she finds herself having one of the worst days ever. Will Franny and Charlie be able to see past their own difference of money and be able to see the simpler side of life that money can never buy, perhaps Noma Jefferson really is an angel in disguise set upon the world to restore the hearts of the good people in Charlie and Franny, but of course, you'll never know unless you read this Christmas novel yourself.
I received A Merry Little Christmas by Anita Higman compliments of Litfuse Publicity and Summerside Press for my honest review and love a great story like this one. It brings to light so many different emotions and how each of the characters interacts with one another makes this one memorable long after you finish reading it. It's almost like you witnessed these events yourself. Anita does an exceptional job at transporting the reader right back into the heart of Oklahoma in the 1960's through the music and references to items like record players, transistor radios, and even the old time diner experience is rich and vividly described. It's things like these that truly enhance the experience for the reader and make them all the more real. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and think it's a must read for your Christmas season.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Merry Little Christmas, Song of the Season Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Christmas Read~

Date:October 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carrie Shindorf
Location:Cosby, Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was in the mountains of Colorado last week as I was reading this book with snow on the ground. What did I think about this book? Well let me count the ways.
First of all~ Christmas and romance just cast a magical spell over me. I could not help but fall in love with Franny from the first page. She is all alone and struggling after her parents death to keep her little farm up and running. Yet ~ she feels like she is missing out on her God-given desire to follow her dream of music. Charlie just happens to come along just at the right time to give her an opportunity to leave all the milking~ chores and nitty gritty dirt and grime behind.
But did Charlie have to be so dog- gone adorable?
What I really loved about this book is that I found out I was reading a very modern version of " Charles Dickens~ The Scrooge" without even knowing it until the end of the book. Anita Higman captured my heart from the very first line~ I loved this book!
I rate this book a 5 + ~ everyone on your Christmas list needs a copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Merry Little Christmas, Song of the Season Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Holiday Read

Date:October 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Digging4Pearls
Location:Shippensburg, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What better way to prepare for the Christmas season than to snuggle down with a good Christmas novel while listening to music of the holiday. A Merry Little Christmas by Anita Higman is a sweet tale set in Oklahoma in 1961. It explores the world of Franny Martin, a pig farmer in her 30's with no prospects of marriage. She has a love of music and her farm. Set in an era of racial tension, Franny is unafraid to express her thoughts on the ugliness of the situation.
Charlie Landau has been raised in wealth by a distant father with whom he can never seem to find favor. He offers to buy Franny's farm. They discover a mutual love of music as he learns how to take care for the pigs.
Anita Higman created a tale of hope and love when you least expect it. It is sure to enrich your Christmas holiday.
This book was provided free for review by that author and Summerside Press.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Merry Little Christmas, Song of the Season Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Story is a Delightful Read!

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patti Jo
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Merry Little Christmas by Author Anita Higman is a delightful book set in the early 1960s, and features two main characters from totally different backgrounds. I enjoyed reading the story of how the Lord works things out for good---even in a not-so-good situation. Anita Higman does a very good job transporting the reader back to the early 60s era, and the characters were very believable. The ending was especially satisfying and enjoyable, and I highly recommend this book! Five Stars!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Merry Little Christmas, Song of the Season Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Sweet Romance Set Around Chritmas Time

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anita Higman in her new book “A Merry Little Christmas” Book One in the Songs Of The Season series published by Summerside Press takes us into the lives of Franny Martin and Charlie Landau.
From the back cover: A cozy holiday read about two people from different worlds.
Franny Martin is an Oklahoma farm girl who’s preparing to spend the holidays alone…again. Then Charlie Landau shows up one day, all wealth and polish, and offers to buy Franny’s farm. Franny has no money to speak of, but she is clever and spirited, and she’s more than happy to sell the farm and move to the city.
As Sinatra croons from the radio and Christmas descends upon her charming farm, Franny teaches Charlie the curious and sometimes comical ways of country life. In the process, they unearth some discoveries of the heart—that sometimes love comes when you’re least ready for it. Will the holidays send them on their separate ways or bring their most impossible dreams within reach?
The Bible tells us that “iron sharpens iron”. In this case the irons are Franny and Charlie. All Franny knows is farm life, all Charlie knows is city life and once these two get together they start to sharpen each other in new and unexpected ways. ”A Merry Little Christmas” is a story of love redemption and hope all set around Christmas time. Anita Higman knows how to write convincing characters that we fall in love with and want to succeed. “A Merry Little Christmas” is a really nice, warm love story similar to what we used to read way back when. This book is a keeper. I recommend that you put it somewhere you can find it easily again next year when you’ll want to read it again. I liked this book. Well done.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Merry Little Christmas, Song of the Season Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Merry Little Christmas

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Experience a time in the early 1960's in Oklahoma. Once you being you won't be able to leave this sweet story. Fanny Martin is quite a spunky girl, who has had a wonderful Childhood, until her parents were both killed in a storm. Enter Charlie Martin, who comes from a wealthy family, quite without a lot of love.
We travel through this story, which reads like a movie, with the words creating pictures in our minds. Charlie buys Fanny's farm, and Frannie stays and helps for three weeks. Can't you just picture this city slicker birthing pigs??
I loved how Frannie stood up for the persecuted people of color. We meet a wonderful Godly woman named Noma who stops and helps her out of a mud puddle! We find sparks flying between Charlie and Frannie, but such different backgrounds!
A lot of this story is wrapped up in a few pages at the end...more like TV. I did like this book, and read it in an afternoon.
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Merry Little Christmas, Song of the Season Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Christmas story

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
lee reviews
Location:Texas
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I very much enjoyed reading this wonderful story about Christmas and how these characters come together from diverse backgrounds and having what appears to be very different agendas and dreams. The story has many touching moments and surprises. The Christmas season also makes for a great backdrop for the story since it is the time of year when we all want to see people come together in love and happiness. The author has done wonderful job crafting this story. I would recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Merry Little Christmas, Song of the Season Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Have yourself a Merry Little Christmas

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My review:
Imagine it, your thirty three years old, living on the family farm in the middle of Oklahoma, raising hogs, and wondering if Mr. Right will ever come along. Wondering if you will ever follow your dream and the music and become a Deejay? That was where Franny Martin was, in the middle of Oklahoma, singing along with her radio, when a dreamy young man seemed to drop out of the sky and into her life. Not just any young man, a rich young man, who offers to buy her farm, what she doesn't count on it, is the fact that the purchase of her farm will cost her more than the family farm, she will loose her heart to this young man also.
I enjoyed this book, loved the music references. Franny was a girl way ahead of her time, for her area, but she was passionate about everything she believed in. The things hard to read in this book was the prejudice that abounded in the area she lived and in the city also. It was hard to read the story of the loss of Franny's parents and their handyman. Over all I would rate this book with four stars, a quick holiday read. 254 pages US $14.99 4 stars. Summerside Press
This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Merry Little Christmas, Song of the Season Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pleasant Christmas Read

Date:October 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ms. Higman's unique and refreshing voice drew me into A Merry Little Christmas on page one. I've never read a book quite like this one.
I won't bother to summarize since the product overview is right on. I enjoyed the spunk of the characters and will remember this story for a long time. That's saying a lot since I usually read a couple of books a week.
I received this book for the purpose of reviewing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.