Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summerside Press Love Finds You in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin

Summerside Press Love Finds You in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin

When one of the newspaper reporters in the 1933 resort town of Lake Geneva quits his job, Meg Alden sees this as her opportunity to break into the "men-only" business. That is until the owner's son Jack Wallace is given the position! Will the man who acquires "her" job also steal her heart?
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love Finds You in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Review 1 for Love Finds You in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful Romance, Great Characters

Date:April 13, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you enjoy historicals and you love a good romance you will want to read this book.
Pamela has created a wonderful cast of characters. The two main characters, Jack and Meg, are very likeable. They have their flaws that make you want to shake them and say, "Just say what you're thinking." But if characters did that then we wouldn't have much of story, this is what builds tension and makes for a great plot.
You will want to fight with Meg as she tries to make a way for herself as a reporter. Back in 1933 women didn't have the respect we do now and Meg isn't allowed to write for newspaper she works for, but we, as the reader, know she's a better writer than the bosses son.
Things seem to go from bad to worse (as any good book should) and I had to keep reading to see how Meg and Jack could both get out of their messes and find their way to each other's hearts.
You'll have to read the book to see how they do that, I'm not giving anything away!
A copy of this book was given to me by Summerside Press in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Finds You in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another great book by Pamela S. Meyers

Date:April 8, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Many times in my life I have felt like Meg--trusting God seemed impossible. Would He really give me the desires of my heart? Could I really trust Him? Even when everyone else disappointed me, the answer to both questions was, and is, yes. When I'm following Him, His desires become my desires and He's always faithful and trustworthy.
Ms. Meyers book, Love Finds You in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, challenged me, but also left me with warm, fuzzy feelings about God's best. I enjoyed this novel on many levels.
***I received this book from the author/publisher for purposes of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Finds You in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A captivating historical romance

Date:March 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
EAHendryx
Location:Santa Clarita, Ca
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set in 1933 with the onset of the Great Depression and the imminent end to Prohibition, Love Finds You in Lake Geneva Wisconsin by Pamela S. Meyers is a fantastic look into the lives of Meg Alden and Jack Wallace.
Meg sees her position at the local news paper as a stepping stone to something greater. In a world where women haven't been welcomed into the reporting world, she's aspiring to a job she shouldn't have. Her boss, Mr. Zimmer, is adamant that women should stick to writing society news. When a reporting job in her office opens up, Meg is disappointed to see that Mr. Zimmer has hired someone from out of town to take the position rather than promote her.
Handsome and talented Jack Wallace enters the picture and Meg fights her disappointment that's quickly turning into a growing attraction to his lopsided grin and easygoing nature. Jack needs the experience of a small-town weekly (a newspaper that puts out weekly editions, not daily papers) but Meg may be a distraction he wasn't looking for.
I was immediately caught up in Megs story because I know how it feels to be called to something you're not sure you can attain. Meg desires a reporting job so badly but is constantly passed by because she is a woman. She also finds her trust in God waning when she can't see how her future will pan out - something I also can relate to.
As the novel came to a close I found myself extremely satisfied with how it all worked out. I wont spoil it here of course, but I'd highly encourage you to get your own copy of Love Finds You in Lake Geneva Wisconsin so you too can enjoy the rich description of Lake Geneva in all its 1930's charm.
_______________________
I received a free copy of this book for review purposes, but was under no obligation to read the book or post a review. I do so under my own motivation and the opinions I have expressed in this review are honest and entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Finds You in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

1933 comes alive

Date:March 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Connie C
Location:Wauwatosa, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This newly published book by Pamela S. Meyers winds historical tidbits throughout the story taking the reader back in time. The author's attention to the details of life in 1933 brings the book to life. Love Finds You in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin tells about the construction of the Riviera Ballroom, opened in May, 1933 on the shores of Lake Geneva. Ms. Meyers has done a great deal of historical research to get the facts accurate. Her heroine is Meg Alden, a would-be reporter in Lake Geneva, who finds that newspaper reporting is still a man's job in the 30s. Her hopes for a full-time reporter job in the local newspaper was stolen out from under her by Jack Wallace, a son of the owner of a Chicago newspaper. Despite his good looks, Meg has an aversion toward Jack for getting the job she hoped for. Yet, as time goes on, she feels herself pulled toward this polite charming man whose love of newspaper life rivals her own. Jack Wallace, new to the small town of Lake Geneva, is immediately drawn to the beautiful Meg Alden. He's willing to work closely with Meg on the publication of the local paper and is surprised when he finds Miss Alden unwilling to cooperate with his suggestions. Meg finds herself in a dilemma - torn between her distrust of men and her attraction toward Jack. They find themselves thrown together to solve a town mystery involving the naming of the new ballroom. The turmoil of their emotions keeps the reader involved to the end of the book. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this newly published historical novel. If you love to read a good book and learn some history at the same time, you will, too. I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, but I was under no obligation to read the book or post a positive review. The opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Finds You in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Historical Romance

Date:March 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Donn Taylor
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this historical romance, Pamela S. Meyers shows herself to be an accomplished story teller and meticulous researcher. The novel contains believable and likeable characters and is well-paced from beginning to end. The author’s love of the Lake Geneva setting is evident, and her descriptions lead the reader into sharing her response to it. The motivations and actions of the characters ring true for the time and place setting of the story. All in all, an excellent example of what a historical romance can be when penned by a truly talented writer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Finds You in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Delightful Lake Geneva Journey

Date:March 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tammie
Location:Midwest
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I usually don't read romances, unless they are historical. And I’m so glad I read this one. It is set in 1933 in the resort town of Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. Meg Alden, a native of the city by the lake, has her heart set on being a newspaper reporter, but it is 1933 and most newspaper editors see a woman's job as writing for the society page.
But, Meg won’t give up on her dream and then to add to her distractions is the new reporter on the paper, Jack Wallace, whose job she coveted. Their story has many twists and turns which leave you wondering will these two ever get together?
The descriptions of the beautiful town of Lake Geneva and especially of the building of the Rivera are worth the read to anyone who is familiar with the area or you just want to remember or learn about an earlier era. Pamela has definitely done her research.
I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, but I was under no obligation to read the book or post a positive review. The opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Finds You in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's not easy being a 30s girl

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Terri
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meg wants to report more than society fluff for the Lake Geneva News-Tribune, but men rule the world and they don't want women reporters. Her hopes to gain a coveted news post is dashed when Jack, the son of the Chicago Beacon owner, comes aboard for an internship of sorts. Meg continues to ghost write for the News-Trib owner's son, who is not a writer but is being groomed to take over.
Meg and Jack are attracted to each other, but don't know how the other feels. So Meg plans to move to Los Angeles where she hopes to climb the reporter ladder, not realizing Jack doesn't want to return to Chicago. A new Christian, he becomes strong in his faith while Meg's faith languishes. And what about those glamorous girls who keep popping into Jack's life?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Finds You in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Gentle Romance Set in Another Era

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kennedy
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The year is 1933, the middle of the Great Depression, and Meg Alden is a young woman who works at the local newspaper, writing frivolous short pieces. It’s her dream to become a real reporter. Though Meg definitely has the writing ability, her employer refuses to give her more challenging assignments on principle: he doesn’t think such work is for a woman.
Meg is hopeful when a reporter’s job opens up, only to be disappointed by the appearance of Jack Wallace, a big-city reporter who takes the job to prove to his father he has the experience to take over the family-owned newspaper. Meg can’t help resenting the handsome, well-dressed man. Everything has come so easily to him, she thinks. But Meg will soon learn that Jack Wallace is far more than a spoiled rich boy.
Love Finds You in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, is a gentle romance, despite the clash of generations that causes the main conflict. Meg is a girl with spunk, whose lifelong faith is challenged by the disappointments she encounters. She has a tendency to blame God, without realizing that the circumstances she finds so distressing are actually leading her to a much better future.
Author Pamela S. Meyers knows her setting well, since she grew up in Lake Geneva, but she also adds texture to this novel with historic touches, including references to such subjects as Ginger Rogers, the Veterans’ Bonus March and marcel waves. Various local spots are casually mentioned, lunchrooms, streets, but special attention is given to the sumptuous Riviera Ballroom, opened in 1933, which still graces the lakeside today. It is here that the story culminates in the satisfying ending.
This romance reminded me of one of the musical comedies that were so popular in the ‘30’s, full of averted glances, near-kisses and misunderstandings between sweethearts. It has a sweetness that I thoroughly enjoyed, and a conclusion that was entirely worthy of a romantic RKO “The End.”
(I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, but I was under no obligation to read it or post a positive review. These are entirely my own honest opinions.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Finds You in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love spunky out of the box female protags

Date:February 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linda reads
Location:Midwest
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You have to love a female character who works, lives, or endeavors to live outside the box in her era. I so enjoyed the character that Ms. Meyers created, Meg Alden, and her desire to do something meaningful at a time when women rarely held jobs as journalists. But Ms. Meyers didn't stop there, she included a charismatic love interest. To the end, Ms. Meyers allowed her characters depth of emotion. And I thoroughly enjoyed the read. There's enough intrigue to keep the reader turning pages, and enough romance to keep butterflies in the stomach. Enjoy! I was given a preview copy of the book by the publisher to read and offer an objective review of the work. It wasn't difficult to be objective. Lovely read...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.