Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers Encyclopedia of Contemporary Christian Music--Book and CD-ROM

Hendrickson Publishers Encyclopedia of Contemporary Christian Music--Book and CD-ROM

This groundbreaking work covers both major and minor Christian music artists and those associated with Christian music from the '60s to the present day, highlighting their influences, their struggles, and their achievements. Powell treats each artist or group with a balanced, intriguing, and fresh look into their background and discography. Every entry summarizes critical response to the group, and provides band member lists, complete discographies, lists of awards, artist website addresses, and biographies of the artists. The fun, easy-to-read writing style provides fans with accessible information on their favorite artists, while also encouraging them to greater appreciation of the stylistic breadth and historical depth of the music they have come to love. The CD-ROM features a searchable version of the complete text for both Windows and Macintosh systems, as well as live links to artist-websites, album information, and music clips.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Encyclopedia of Contemporary Christian Music--Book and CD-ROM
Review 1 for Encyclopedia of Contemporary Christian Music--Book and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Danny L
Really useful reference book, but sometimes I would prefer if the author stuck purely to facts and not opinions - though I do find many of his views amusing. Quite a comprehensive work, but unfortunately a few years old - so some of the newer bands I enjoy are not listed (which is obvious I know - but just bare that in mind).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Encyclopedia of Contemporary Christian Music--Book and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2004
Customer Avatar
Steve
For any fan of Christian music this is a phenomenal resource. Find information on a performer or band that you haven't heard from in ages, learn more about your favorite groups or individual singer, or use it as a checklist for those larger-than-most music collections some of us have accrued over the years. Half the fun of this book is opening it up anywhere and finding something interesting about the industry. A list of music genres makes it easy to figure out what the writer means when coming across a strange musical style, and a complimentary CD-ROM version of the entire book makes it incredibly easy to find exactly what you are looking for.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Encyclopedia of Contemporary Christian Music--Book and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2002
Customer Avatar
Brent Wilcox
Everything You Could Want, And Then . . . Something More!First, this book does deliver everything that anybody could ever want in a reference book on Christian music. Every artist is included. There are complete discographies, personnel lists, bios, updates on "where are they now," summaries of album reviews, and lists of chart hits. For some that may be all they want or need. The something more is that the author also provides his own critical analysis of the music. This is easy to skip, if you dont care about it. But it isnt commentary by just anyone. Mark Allan Powell is one of the most prominent theologians of the late twentieth-century, a world-famous, prominent author and profound analyst of religion and culture. Still, he writes in such a humorous and friendly, easy-going style that youd never suspect its the same guy responsible for all those intellectual tomes for which he's won academic accolades(of course, hes also been a professional music critic for about thirty years now, writing about rock and roll as a hobby for newspapers and popular magazines). Powell presents his book as a gift to Christian music artists, industry, and fans--people who have made my life more pleasant and meaningful. What a gift it is! This is the first time that anyone of this stature has ever even noticed the little parallel universe of Christian rock, much less taken such care to document it or invested himself so personally in commenting on it. The comments are so incisive that, even if they were negative, the criticism would be welcome. Butgood news!he loves the music and consistently discovers what is best about every artist. The book isnt just informativeits positive, upbeat, inspiring, and a whole lot of fun!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Encyclopedia of Contemporary Christian Music--Book and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2002
Customer Avatar
Lester Long
For Any Christian Who Likes Rock and RollThis book is an absolute treasurean incredible achievement! Over 1900 entries containing everything that anyone could ever want to know about any artist even remotely connected with Christian music. There are full, entries on all of the big name Christian stars, appropriate listings of mainstream artists whose recordings have sometimes dealt explicitly with matters of faith, reminiscences and updates on long-forgotten Christian artists from years ago,and major articles on critics favoritesedgy artists who dont get a lot of attention in the official Christian music scene but who have made some of the best music the field has to offer. If youre a Christian music fanthis is the book youve been waiting for! But even more important! This book would make the best gift imaginable for someone you know who likes rock or pop music, but might be kind of skeptical about the whole Christian rock scene. The author has a delightfully disarming style and he doesn't come off as though he's trying to sell the music. He just helps you find which of the artists may be to your liking. The result, is that he kind of sneaks up on you. He obviously loves this music but he doesnt take it too seriously. He is witty, provocative, and never, ever forgets that rock and roll (even Christian rock and roll) is supposed to be fun. So,if you know some Christian who reads Rolling Stone but not CCM--buy this for them! They'll see Creed and U2 and read around a bit. They'll think Powell is funny and they'll read some more. Next thing you know . . . well, if ANYONE can turn them on to Jesus music, this is the person (and book) that will do it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Encyclopedia of Contemporary Christian Music--Book and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2002
Customer Avatar
John J. Tollefsen
The strength of Mark Allan Powells Encyclopedia of Christian Contemporary Music is its humorous opinions (bad music about God by white people) and is thoroughness (Eric Clapton). These are also its weaknesses. Those who want a scholarly resource to use in this area of church history will be somewhat disappointed by the flippant opinionated approach. Those who want to understand the field and not be put to sleep while doing so will be appreciative of the authors witty style. While far from perfect, Powell has found a way to launch an important work despite skeptical publishers. Lets hope subsequent iterations turn it into a more serious multi-volume hardback series that is the definitive resource for Christian contemporary Music.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Encyclopedia of Contemporary Christian Music--Book and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2002
Customer Avatar
Phil
When I first heard about this book, my first thought was "it's about time". I pre-ordered my copy a month in advance, and anxiously awaited its arrival. Since the title of the book clearly states "encyclopedia", I took that to mean a presentation of facts. I was hoping for a book that would give me artist history, a discography, song titles, and possibly web sites. The promised "searchable" CD rom that was included led me to believe that I would be able to easily search for song titles, release dates, etc. I was hoping this would be a much needed resource for our worship team.Unfortunately, this is not the case. At first glance, I was pleasantly surprised at the depth and scope of the artists presented. However, upon further reading I was very disappointed at the authors comments and opinions that make reading the histories difficult. The discographies include only minimal information, with no song listings; except for what the author feels is "noteworthy". For groups, the band lineup is often difficult to decipher. And the CD, although it does feature selected music clips and websites, is basically just the text on CD.Mark Allan Powell has shown that he has an enormous knowledge of Contemporary Christian Music, and it's a shame he couldn't have put that to better use. Please retitle the book "Mark A Powell's opinion on CCM" which would be a more accurate description. That being said, this is a must have for any CCM fans until something better and more user-friendly comes along. If you are looking for reading material on a much overlooked subject, buy this book. If you are looking for resource material, you may want to wait.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Encyclopedia of Contemporary Christian Music--Book and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2002
Customer Avatar
Carol
Unlike the previous reviewer, I loved the author's comments and opinions. I don't necessarily agree with all of them, but I don't think you can really love music without having opinions. The opinions are what make this encyclopedia stand apart from most dry, boring encyclopedias. This one is a pleasure to read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Encyclopedia of Contemporary Christian Music--Book and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2002
Customer Avatar
Music fan
This book is impressive in both scope and detail. I was surprised to find information about a few of my favorite artists whom I felt were too little known to have been included. I was also delighted to discover a few artists with whom I was not previously familiar with, but will certainly check out. In fact, the only flaw I find with the book is the author's proclivity to share his opinions about the value of the work of each of the included artists. Some bias is expected and can be entertaining; but, to my mind, the author should have exercised a little more restraint in voicing his opinions. This book can only have been improved had the author limited his own opinions and allowed the lyrics and music clips of the respective albums to speak for the creativity of the work. I say this even though, given his comments below, the author and I share some of the same favorite authors and artists (e.g., Buechner, Nouwen, Lewis, Heard, Keaggy). The upside is that this bias is not too big of a problem so long as the discerning reader refuses to put too much stock in the author's judgments. With that said, I recommend this tome as a work of true value to the genre of CCM. Its contribution is unlikely to be surpassed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Encyclopedia of Contemporary Christian Music--Book and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2002
Customer Avatar
Mark
I am a long-time Christian music fan and I think this book/cd-rom is great. The book has so much information and the cd-rom makes it really easy to surf the web, checking out all the artist's websites.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Encyclopedia of Contemporary Christian Music--Book and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2002
Customer Avatar
Steve
I sat down with this, thinking I would flip through, look at a few articles about my favorite artists, and then go running. Two hours later I was still flipping and could barely tear myself away. The more I read the more I want to read. This guy has a great appreciation for the music and for the message behind the music, and I would really recommend this book to anyone.Plus, the cd-rom means that I can search for everything written about anyone. Links to their websites help me really keep up-to-date on summer tours, new albums, etc. This book is a treasure mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Encyclopedia of Contemporary Christian Music--Book and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2002
Customer Avatar
Matt
This book is amazing. This guy knows everything about everybody. Plus, he has opinions on everybody that are hysterical; even if you didn't love Christian music you'd love reading this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Encyclopedia of Contemporary Christian Music--Book and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2002
Customer Avatar
Clara
Wow! Every fan of Christian Music must have this book. This book will tell you everything you ever wanted to know (and more) about just about every Christian artist you can think of. There are even entries on people like U-2 and Bruce Cochburn. This guy has done a ton of research and he's fun to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.