Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Books Forsaken Dreams, Escape to Paradise Series #1 - eBook

Barbour Books Forsaken Dreams, Escape to Paradise Series #1 - eBook

After witnessing the death and destruction caused by the Civil War, Colonel Blake Wallace is eager to leave his once precious Southern homeland for the pristine shores of Brazil and the prospect of a new utopian community. Widow Eliza Crawford seeks passage on Wallace's ship harboring a dirty secret-and a blossoming hope for a fresh start. But will dangers from the sea and from man keep them from the peace and love they long for?
Average Customer Rating:
4.675 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (80 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
77 out of 8096%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Forsaken Dreams, Escape to Paradise Series #1 - eBook
Review 1 for Forsaken Dreams, Escape to Paradise Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Real Page Turner

Date:March 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jean
Location:West Palm Beach, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book in two days because every time I got to the end of the chapter, I had to start the next one to learn the outcome of the suspenseful events. This was my first read by this author and I must say I enjoyed it. The setting for the story was predominantly on a ship headed to Brazil to begin a new life after the Civil War's devastating loss in the south and the destruction of Atlanta. The author offered the reader lots of drama, intrigue, action and romance with a variety of characters living on a ship, hoping to start a new community, similar to their beloved city of Atlanta, which they lost to the Unionists.
I highly recommend this book for an exciting read.
I received this book from the author through www.bookfun.org in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Forsaken Dreams, Escape to Paradise Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exciting Adventure on the High Seas

Date:January 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Katy
Location:Tennessee
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed the adventure of traveling the seas to the new land of Brazil in the first book of the Escape to Paradise Series. This fast-paced story held my attention from beginning to end. The crew of characters came alive and seemed to boldly walk off the pages and into my mind as the individuals sought new lives far from the tragedy and the secrets of the Civil War.
I much admired Eliza Crawford, the heroine, for her compassion and forgiving nature. She was a dear character, though learning to follow God’s leading was not her strong point and seemed to have cost her much heartache.
The hero, Colonel Blake Wallace, though often gallant, was not a man always to be admired, as his burning hatred of all things Northern tainted his mind and actions.
The secondary characters added much richness and depth to the story. I’m looking forward to reading the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Forsaken Dreams, Escape to Paradise Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
retiredlibrarian
Location:Alberta Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very good book. The author is very well studied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Forsaken Dreams, Escape to Paradise Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Escape to Paradise with MaryLu Tyndall!

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shannah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
From the very first page of this book, I was hooked. I have never read a book by MaryLu Tyndall, so I wasn't sure what to expect. Eliza Crawford is a very impulsive young lady. All the choices she's made in her life have been made with little thought and have brought her to where she is today. Blake Wallace is an ex-colonel who has decided to embark on a journey to Brazil. Everyone aboard the New Hope is trying to escape the aftermath of the Civil War and they are all hiding secrets. The cast of characters is captivating, but it's Eliza and Blake that capture my heart in this story.
The way the story is written can be a little confusing at times. The story jumps from one person to another, with little warning sometimes. If you aren't paying close attention to the story, you will get lost. However, the story was very interesting and at times I wanted to scream at the characters for their stubborn attitudes! Can everyone find the escape they so crave in Brazil?
The message was expertly weaved throughout the book. Eliza, who is already a Christian, shows grace and compassion in the midst of hatred and evil. However, she has to learn to trust the One who knows all things. When we surrender to God's will, forsaking our own, we can have true peace. It was fascinating to watch the change in Eliza throughout the story. I wish there would have been a little more development on Blake's part. His surrender to the Lord seemed kind of abrupt. Maybe he knew of the Lord before the war and had lost his faith after all he'd seen and done?
Overall, I found the story fascinating and will happily finish the Escape to Paradise series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Forsaken Dreams, Escape to Paradise Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sunny
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the revealing of the characters and the challenges of people that are prejudice and the way God can take any negative and turn it for good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Forsaken Dreams, Escape to Paradise Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Full of adventure, romance, strife & secrets.

Date:December 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a fabulous beginning to the Escape to Paradise series! It is also the first book that I have read by MaryLu Tyndall and I am very impressed. In this novel, we follow a group of Southerners as they sail away from the war-ravaged United States just after the Civil War's end. There are a host of interesting characters, which makes for much tension and quite a few back stories that can be explored throughout the whole series.
The heroine in Forsaken Dreams is widow Eliza Crawford, who harbors a bitter secret that threatens her each day of the voyage. I really liked Eliza and how she persevered through some very trying times. Her forgiveness for the way others treated her and her caring ways for them as she nursed people back to health spoke to her inner character. The author did a wonderful job creating a character that had likeable qualities, many of them, but still a stubborn self will that needed to learn to surrender to God.
The hero in Forsaken Dreams is Colonel Blake Wallace, a strong leader, who is extremely embittered toward Northerners and has extreme bouts of what we now call PTSD. His enmity is understandable, as he lost his whole family in the course of the war. The author crafted a brave and stalwart hero, who I couldn't help but like. But at the same time, his unwillingness to let go of the anger and learn to forgive frustrated me throughout the book. There were quite a few times that I wanted to shake the man! God had some work to do on him in this book!
I am so excited to read the next book in this series and am glad that I have it waiting for me on my shelf, so that I do not have to wait long! Highly recommend. (5 stars)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Forsaken Dreams, Escape to Paradise Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

adventure

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
joeym11
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Forsaken Dreams
By: MaryLu Tyndall
A great story of love and adventure. Forsaken Dreams is the first book in the series “ Escape to Paradise. The book starts off in 1866 the United States is trying to rebuild after the Civil War. This will not be easy to do.
Some southerners decide to depart and go to a new land. On the ship is widow Eliza Crawford. Her thinking is if she goes away on the New Hope she will be able to keep her pass life a secret. She plans on never getting close to anyone again but then she meets Colonial Blake Wallace. Will there be love again in their hearts? War has been tuff on Colonial can he forget his pass. Can they put their hope and faith in God and move on? A wonderful romance and adventure with some mystery. I love how MaryLu had the spiritual part in also. Look forward to the rest of the series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Forsaken Dreams, Escape to Paradise Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Different Spin on the Defeat of the South

Date:August 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dea Mundy
Location:Mitchell, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Forsaken Dreams was far different than I thought it would be. The story moves back and forth to portray the stories of the different people for various backgrounds who are aboard a ship bound for Brazil. They each desire to escape the South and its demise after the Civil War. During the long and hard voyage, many trials occurred that tested the faith of believers. Some of those who had previously turned their backs on God, found themselves turning back to Him. Forsaken Dreams shows what happens when bitterness and hatred take over and how much better a person’s life is when they learn to trust God for everything.
I received this book from bookfun.org in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Forsaken Dreams, Escape to Paradise Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Chock full of twists and turns. ( 3 1/2 stars.)

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Pros : In her latest, MaryLu Tyndall invites readers aboard a swashing journey that will simply transport them to another time and another place. There is no doubt about it, Forsaken Dreams thoroughly conveys this author's passion for all things related to navigating a ship. I say this even though I am discovering her writing for the first time. I had heard of her before, and after reading her latest book, I understood why many readers call Tyndall a favorite. She truly has a gift for bringing alive a voyage on sea as well as the crew on the boat. Forsaken Dreams embarks readers on a rollercoaster of an adventure that is similar to the storms the characters face in the story. There are highs and lows - dips and swells, and you continually find yourself surprised by what awaits on the other side. For some of us who are not too fond of many twists and turns in a story, the amount of plot twists may come across as a bit much, but make no mistake, the storms don't stop at sea level. They also rage within most of the characters, running away from their pasts, thirsty for a fresh beginning Brazil will offer them (or so they hope). Characterization-wise, Forsaken Dreams is peopled with rather interesting individuals that bring unique strengths and weaknesses to the group. Tyndall ponders on the themes of forgiveness and embracing God's will, through her characters, something that is sure to resonate with readers. I found it interesting how the author took a little known historical event that occurred after the Civil War and molded an inviting story out of it. I felt as though I were on the ship! And the expression of the emotions felt, the turmoil left by the war; those were definitely not shied away from. Though I wouldn't deem this a story that will sink readers emotionally. I don't know if it was just me, but I found myself laughing my head off at some of the events that took place during the trip.
Cons : Even though after finishing the story I thought it good, the beginning was a bit rough for me. There were moments I found frustrating because of the characters. I couldn't understand them. Eliza for one is presented as a woman with a rebellious side but with a generous heart but I found myself not being able to connect both of these traits with her personality. Her generosity is more highlighted. The colonel is an even stronger example. Even though I understood his reason for acting the way he was, I found his behavior impulsive and self-centered . Toward the end, the romance is a little more appealing but throughout the story, the relationship between Eliza and the Colonel goes back and forth like a pendulum, the characters were here-and-there, leaving me to wonder about this quickly blossomed romance. There was potential though, and in my opinion, the author could have explored that.
Several readers absolutely thought this one was great, so this review is just one reader’s opinion. I’d say, if you pay more attention to the plot and the adventure in a story, go for it. Needless to say, I was very glad to have finally read a book by MaryLu Tyndall. Now that I've had the privilege of reading her work, I can truly say I’m interested in reading more.
This is my honest review. With thanks to the author for sending me a copy of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Forsaken Dreams, Escape to Paradise Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Forsaken Dreams is a chance for New Beginnings

Date:August 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Forsaken Dreams
Escape to Paradise Book 1
By MaryLu Tyndall
A group of disenchanted Southerns decide to leave their ravaged lands and lives behind for the promise of a new life in Brazil. But everyone who boards the New Hope is not whom they claim to be, and some secrets are best left hidden.
There are two main characters in the first book of the Escape to Paradise series. Colonel Blake Wallace is a wanted man because of his service for the South, Brazil is his chance at life, if he can escape his pain. Eliza Crawford is the widow of a Northern general, and it is a secret that she is closely guarding least she be denied the chance to start over in Brazil.
Not that Forsaken Dream is a copy in anyway, but there is something about it that reminds me of Gone with the Wind and Janette Oke and T. Davis Bunn's Song of Acadia series. The struggle to rebuild lives destroyed. The search for something more.
Forsaken Dreams is a story of betrayal and mercy. A story of mistakes and second chances. Who among us has not sought a second chance, at least once in our lifetime?
I look forward to book 2 in the Escape to Paradise series Elusive Hope and the further adventures of these brave hurting people as they attempt to create a new life for themselves in Brazil.
I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher Barbour Books and BookFun.org in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Forsaken Dreams, Escape to Paradise Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lizzy
Location:Vernon, BC
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A budding romance that was doomed to fail from the start?
Have you ever wished you could leave everything behind? Have you ever wished you could start over? Build a new life? A life, where no one knows your past, your secrets, or your regrets? Colonel Blake Wallace , Eliza Crawford, as well as a whole ship full of passengers are trying to do just that…
Colonel Blake Wallace has gone through so much more than any of us could imagine. He lived through the death of all those he loved and held dear. All he wants now is to escape both the memories of their deaths and the unforgettable images from the war. He decides it is time to leave his home, a home now taken over by the North, a home so far gone from the beauty it once was. His plan includes creating a new colony in a land of hope; Brazil. Blake not only is escaping from haunting memories; he is wanted for “war crimes” by the Union. With his life in danger, this is his last chance to fully live his life, but can he let go of the past enough to really live?
Eliza Crawford has more secrets than anyone can imagine. Just like any of us, she tells little white lies to disguise the truth, but will those lies come back to bite her? She has grown up a pampered Southern Belle, and has known luxury her whole life. She threw that away for “true love,” only now she wonders if it really was. Her late husband was a general in the Northern army, and man she left her life for, and gave her allegiance to, only to find that he was not who she thought he was. She now has become an outcast from her Southern roots as well as being discarded by her Northern ties. The only way for her to be accepted is to once again leave life behind with a hope for the future, but has she chosen the right ‘hope’? Has she found a place to truly call home?
MaryLu Tyndall has done it again. She takes a scene, a page from the history books, and gives it life. She adds colorful characters, flowing waters, a ship sailing the ocean, and a mysterious land. Readers can’t help but be drawn into this vivid journey. With a wide diversity of characters it is hard not to relate to one, if not all of the passengers embarking on this grand adventure in hopes of a new future. When you think the book is finished, there is one more twist, one more heart wrenching experience that one can’t help but feel drawn into.
There are people that you can’t help but dislike, but at the same time you are almost drawn to them as well. You can somehow relate to them, feel their pain, and want them to grow in their faith to fully become the people they should be. Normally there are the antagonists and the heroes in a novel. MaryLu has created a world in which the antagonists can have a new future too, if they only decide to start fresh on new soil with a changed heart.
Will Blake and Eliza move past the secrets that seem to build up between them?
Can the other passengers find a way to work together and become the colony Colonel Blake had desired for them to be?
Can God’s love triumph in the lives of this colony?
The only way you can find the answers to these questions is to pick up the book and read. I could not put it down, and I will bet you won’t be able to either. 5 out of 5!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Forsaken Dreams, Escape to Paradise Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a well written novel

Date:July 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tag lines say that this is Fiction/Christian/Romance, but do not let that deter you from reading Forsaken Dreams, because it is so much more. Full of drama suspense from the first line where the Parson threatens everyone with imminent demise, to the last page as they head into the jungle. Yes, there are enough questions left unanswered that even if it did not say that this was book One in Escape to Paradise the reader will know without a doubt there will be at least a second book. Very intense reading as MaryLu spins a tale that at times seems almost paranormal, but only a vague hint, and not enough to discourage the most discriminating reader. There is a vast cast of characters who each play a very important part in the story, but a fantastic job of keeping each one in its place makes for delightful reading. Intrigue, together with all types of misfortunes which appear to discourage this little band of voyagers headed into adventures they could only dream of helps to keep the story rolling at a very fast pace. The lessons they learn as they strive to pull together are universal, and things and people are not always what they seem.
Thank you to Fred and Nora at The Book Club Network and the publishers for the free book which was given for the purpose of writing an honest review. The opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Forsaken Dreams, Escape to Paradise Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome New Series

Date:June 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mommiebethers
Location:Milwaukee, Wi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Forsaken Dreams is the first book for MaryLu Tyndall's I have had the pleasure of reviewing. Forsaken Dreams is a look at life in America after the Civil War. MaryLu Tyndall writes of the struggles and hardships caused by the war and also about the faith some had that was so strong, even the hardships of leaving behind everything for a new life could stand up to. Everyone aboard this ship are looking for a new life. The passengers are a mix of different people: black and white, rich and poor, male and female. Everyone of them is trying to leave behind their old lives, old secrets, and old wounds. On this journey, strange tragedies strike the crew and passengers. During these incidents some secrets come out about one of the passengers and they decide they are being "punished" because she is with them.
Forsaken Dreams is an awesome story that I could not put down. From start to finish I found myself submerged in this story. The characters are well written and I found myself being able to relate to at least a few of them. MaryLu Tyndall writes with authority about the Civil War, sailing, pirates, and all the places our characters are from and going to. As I read this story I felt like I was there watching the story happen. Forsaken Dreams has a little bit of everything: suspense, romance, heartbreak, and faith. I truly enjoyed this story and cannot wait for the next book in this series. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Historical Fiction, you will not be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Forsaken Dreams, Escape to Paradise Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A really good book!!

Date:June 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debra Dawn
Location:Middleton, Idaho
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Forsaken Dreams is a really good book. If you like action, adventure, and romance, this book is for you. The characters were awesome, although there were a few I wanted to smack. That is true of any book though, some characters you love and others you just want to smack. This book hooked me from the beginning, and I highly recommend it. I can't wait for book #2 Elusive Hope to come out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Forsaken Dreams, Escape to Paradise Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Full of intrigue and romance :)

Date:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
sarahjmcb
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Forsaken Dreams is an awesome read! It follows the story of a group of southerners traveling to Brazil on the ship NewHope after the Civil War has ended. Their homes being destroyed and ruled over by the Union army, they take off in search of a new hope and a new land to call home. Their journey is filled with strange and scary illnesses, storms, attacks, and betrayal. And there were so many times I wanted to shout at one character or another, What are you doing?! No, don't do that! Tell him the truth! Tell her what's going on! Ahh!! With two main characters and so many supporting ones, there was always a clash of minds and sometimes more than that. This book is intriguing, exciting, romantic, and suspenseful from the very first sentence to the very last! I can't wait to read book two in the Escape to Paradise series!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Forsaken Dreams, Escape to Paradise Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic book! When is book 2 coming out?

Date:June 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie Wilder
Location:Salinas, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Fantastic book! When is book 2 coming out?
I received a free copy of this book from bookfun.org for my honest opinion.
This is the first book I have read by MaryLu Tyndall. Her writing style paints a beautiful and clear picture in my mind. I look forward finding and reading everything else she has written.
This book is filled with incredibly well developed characters. Each of them has a past connected with the Civil War. Many of those pasts are slowly revealed throughout the book. Though some are left as mysteries. Hopefully they will be explored in later books in the series.
The problem for me now will be waiting for her to write book 2 and get it released.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Forsaken Dreams, Escape to Paradise Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Forsaken Dreams Review

Date:June 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
MomFlewSouth
Location:Tampa, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Forsaken Dreams” by M.L. (MaryLu) Tyndall is part of a brand new series called “Escape to Paradise” written of the times after the Civil War in the United States. It speaks of the struggles and hardships caused by the war but also speaks of the difficulty adjusting to the hatred, anger and hurt both sides of the conflict had to overcome. It also addresses a faith so strong, even the hardships of relocation can endure.
MaryLu Tydall was very descriptive of the life and times of those starting brand new, with details only hard investigation could discover. Job well done! My only regret is now I have to wait for the next novel in the series. I recommend this book to anyone looking to read of the adventures of our forefathers!
Thank you MaryLu Tyndall and bookfun.org for asking me to read and comment about this book. I gladly give my honest opinion here.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Forsaken Dreams, Escape to Paradise Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Descriptive writing with a touch of spiritual

Date:June 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Farmchick Shannon
Location:Virginia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eliza Crawford is a traitor to her country. Against her family's wishes, she had the audacity to marry a Yankee Officer. Now the war is over, her husband is dead and she is reaping the consequences. The embittered South has a group of misfits launching out to a new world - Brazil.
Colonel Blake Wallace is the man leading this expedition and he has carefully selected each person on the team. Each one must pull their weight and offer something of value if they are going to survive and successfully start a new colony without being under the regulations of the dominating Yankees.
Struggling with hatred and bitterness against the North for killing his brother and wrecking his life, Blake finds himself drawn to the young widow. That is, until he finds out that she is a traitor to the Cause...
My Thoughts ~
Emotions, turmoil and danger abound in this latest book by MaryLu Tyndall. Set during a time when two separate countries are trying to unite, personal feelings and bitterness are set a flame in every heart.
With her descriptive writing and touch of Spiritual elements, MaryLu brings this story to life. Her love and research of the era just after the Civil War is apparent as you read this book. Her characters are intriguing, but most of all, the story is pleasant to read.
I really enjoyed this new book and I'm already looking forward to the next one in the series. There are several characters who intrigued me and I hope MaryLu gets the opportunity to tell their stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Forsaken Dreams, Escape to Paradise Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Story of Sea and forgiveness...

Date:June 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Paula Osborne
Location:Ga
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Forsaken Dreams by M.L. Tyndall
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
MaryLu Tyndall has a new series Escape to Paradise, Book #1 is "Forsaken Dreams"
This author is passionate about the sea and all that surrounds it and you can certainly tell by the way she writes. You won't be dissappointed when you pick up this book to read.
A group of misfits some might call them, an army officer who still has dreams of the terrible war times where his brother died at a young age.
Colonel Blake Wallace has hand-picked several to join him on a journey to Brazil where he is told the land is like Milk and honey told about in the Bible.
Eliza Crawford was an army nurse and has seen many things a young genteel lady should never have seen, she wants, NO- Needs to, leave the south where she was raised and start a new life...
James is a Dr who cannot stand blood and leans more to being a preacher because his love of God is first and foremost.
Hayden is a con man who is searching for his father though no one knows this secret. He exudes charm to all.
A group of 19 souls will inhabit the ship along with the crew and many have secrets..some will come out and cause much havoc.
The ship is plagued with catastrophies it seems from the very beginning, items misplaced or stolen, storms that make a tornado seem tame. But..are their dreams forsaken? can this group live together long enough to survive and reach their destination?
They must struggle with the challenge to keep going when it seems all is lost and they should return before they lose their very own soul.
I became lost in the emotions that swirled just like the ocean waters as I read from page to page praying they would be able to persevere.
I received this book from The Bookclub network and author MaryLu Tyndall, thanks for my opportunity to read and give a review. I am anxious to read the next book and see how the characters go forth with their lives after reaching Brazil.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Forsaken Dreams, Escape to Paradise Series #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great story!!!!

Date:June 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:Long Beach, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Forsaken Dreams" by M.L. Tyndall is a book based on Eliza Crawford, who was looking for a new world for a fresh start. After the North and South war, many families on both sides were affected, people lost everything they had before the war. Many men on both sides died in the war. Blake, who organizes the southerns to travel to a new world....Brazil. As they journey to their new destination, trouble abounds everywhere around them. Danger at sea and enemies within that try to prevent them to their destination.
Many are desperate to escape from pain and the past. This story teaches to let go of bitterness, hatred, and how to forgive. I received the book from "The Book Club Network" to review. I normally do not read this period of Historical fiction. But, I can truly say this book was well written and kept my attention throughout the whole novel. It gave me a sense of what people went through during this period of time. Also, their desperation for a new beginning after the war. I am looking forward to book 2. I recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.