Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Whitaker House Publishers Within Heaven's Gates

Whitaker House Publishers Within Heaven's Gates

In this book, Rebecca Springer shares a personal vision and experience about the world of heaven. Within Heaven's Gates is an elaborate and detailed description of the involvement of the society of heaven. First published in 1898, this version contains a text updated for the modern reader. Quotations are from the KJV.
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Within Heaven's Gates
Review 1 for Within Heaven's Gates
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Magical River cleans you of last stains of sin

Date:April 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Austin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The book speaks of pleasant things but there were some very disturbing elements. In Ch.11 The Temple, Springer writes,"...a fountain of sparkling water played...it was the source of the magical River that flowed through the gardens of heaven and cleansed us of the last stains of death and sin." Doesn't the blood of Jesus cleanse us of all sin? Is His blood not sufficient? In Ch.8 Rebecca Meets Her Sister, Springer writes about how being in a lake made her spirit stronger and able to understand the mysteries of the world. Doesn't our strength come from the Lord and aren't mysteries revealed to us by Him? In Ch.13 a man is so overcome by what he did on earth that he feels too inadequate to receive all that heaven offers. He's content to remain in the "lowest scale of enjoyment and life." He even begs not to see the Lord. His only cure apparently is to go to the River to cleanse his mind. In Ch.14 Springer's brother-in-law Frank, who goes on frequent missions to earth, ministered to his dying brother for three days. Aren't angels the ones who minister to us and carry out God's word? The dead being among us sound too much like familiar spirits. Frank also mentions in this chapter how "bewildered and oppressed in spirit" Springer was before going into the River when she arrived in heaven. Is it really possible to be under oppression in heaven when oppression comes from the enemy? These are just some of the things that I found odd about this book's version of heaven.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Within Heaven's Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lossing a loved one

Date:December 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Revjimeohio
Location:Bellevue, Oh
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my wife recommended me to read this book for years and I finally finished it the night before she died. It was this book that gave me the strength and knowledge to let her go. Praise the Lord for giving Rebecca Springer these words of hope and comfort.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Within Heaven's Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bill
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was a comfort to me when my son went home to Heaven 5 years ago. Really gets you thinking what may be going on in Heaven right now. I hand these books out to people when they lose a loved one in hopes they too may be comforted.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Within Heaven's Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Want a deeper look at Heaven, this book is it!

Date:May 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandy F
Location:Stagecoach, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read "Close Encounters of the Godly Kind" by Jessie Duplantis to my husband just before he joined the Lord, and it gave him such peace. Later my friend told me about this book and after I read it - I was surprised and comforted by the depth of it. I not only have read it a few times, but hand it out to those who have lost a dear one to comfort them. Great Book, easy reading and you feel like you're right there with the writer.
Highly recommend these 2 books it to anyone who is going to join the Lord soon, and to those left behind.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Within Heaven's Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Batwing
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read this book several times. The descriptions of what the author sees and hears in heaven are beautiful. And if there are any "questionable" things such as a description of sunshine when there will be no sun, these are the visions of a human. The real thing can only be better!!!! Can hardly wait to get there!!!!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Within Heaven's Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful update in language of today!!

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robert Arthur
Location:Somerset, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome description and the description of the interactions and scenes are extraordinary!!! Highly recommended bought 4 at once to give away
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Within Heaven's Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book to remind us Heaven is a real place..

Date:October 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joy Bjrk
Location:V-Haninge, SWEDEN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a great comfort to my after my parents' passing. I have shared this book with many who have suffered loss of family members as well...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Within Heaven's Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Judy Rogers
Amazing and lifechanging. It opens the eyes of our hearts to what the Kingdom lifestyle is like that Jesus brought with Him to earth. The reality that eternity is a continuation of the life we have begun here is very clear. It's a glimps at what the scripture means when it says, "eye has not seen, nor ear heard, what God has in store for those who love Him"! I have ordered several for distribution.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Within Heaven's Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carrie Ann Hardy
I have used this book for years, not only for myself, but especially as gifts to those who have had a death or serious illness. It is wonderful and gives us all hope.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Within Heaven's Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carol Justice
This book is, without doubt, the most inspiring book I have ever read about Heaven. I believe sincerely the author did have this experience because my husband, my mother, and my grandmother saw Heaven before they died. The first time I read this book it made me feel so much closer to my husband who had just entered Heaven shortly before. I envisioned him experiencing what I was reading. The last FIVE times I have read the book, I have experienced an overwhelming love for my Savior, Jesus Christ. I am so thankful my friend gave me this book - I have since given many away to those grieving for their Christian loved ones with whom they are temporarily separated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Within Heaven's Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marilyn Lapoint
It was first sent to us at the death of my father in law. It is the most beautiful and comforting description of our heavenly home I have ever read. It agrees with the Bible. It is a small book and an easy read. I like to have some on hand to send to others in need of comfort.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Within Heaven's Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
WANDA LANGDON
I read this book back in the mid-70's and the words and descriptions stayed with me. My daughter Cindy along with two other precious close friends were killed in a school choir accident on November 1, 1990. I kept thinking "if I could find a copy of that book it would give me that 'window' to look through into heaven and see where she is." One of her friends from school sent this copy of 'Within the Gates' to me in the spring of 1991. Then on Labor Day weekend in 1991 I found the actual book that was published in 1898 (in perfect condition) at a street sale in Chesaning, Michigan at a tent where they were only selling books. Right away my eyes were looking at that book (there were literally hundreds of books) it has a very distinct cover. I know without a doubt that God gave me the book. First from her friend from Olivet College who sent me the condensed version,'Within the Gates'. then the original print book- 'intra muros'. I consider both copies as a miracle gift from God. I still take it out at different times and read portions of it. I recommend this book to every one who holds that hope of heaven. Look in the window of heaven. our precious ones are there with Jesus our Lord and Savior. We will all be there together one day. Keep walking with the Lord. Don't give up! Praise God who made a way for us!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Within Heaven's Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Rosen
I had gotten this book from a friend a few years ago and loved it. I bought several copies to hand out as we have had two deaths in the family. Very comforting book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Within Heaven's Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Ann Divito
I was surprized to receive them so quickly & in excellent shape. Thank You Very Much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Within Heaven's Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Robin Shoults
Loved this book! It gave me a whole new perspective of heaven and life after death. I highly recommend reading it. I also think it would be of great comfort for those who have lost loved ones and are still dealing with grief.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Within Heaven's Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jan Long
Though this book was written so long ago, it was hard to put down once I started it. In my 30 years of being a Christian and studying, I believe it to represent the realities of heaven in a way we on earth can understand and look forward to. Reading it inspired me to live more thoughtfully, because the reality is that heaven is eternal, while this earthly life is temporary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Within Heaven's Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
tanya meiners
I was given this book to read after my dad went to be with Jesus and it totally changed my mentality!! I wanted dad back and now I look forward to when I can go to Heaven to be with my Jesus and loved one's forever! I give this book to everyone I know that has had a Christian loved one pass. And because of it have seen their loved ones still here give their live to Jesus. Yes, there are somethings that are not Biblical...but God didn't give us the entire picture of Heaven in the bible and Rebecca even states that she does the best she can with the language that we have. This book was originally named "Intra Muros" and was written before 1910, although I'm not exactly sure of it's original print date. Buy several copies and share with others!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Within Heaven's Gates
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Melanie Westbrook
Within Heavens Gates gave me a sense of peaceafter my husband's death in February. I havesince shared this with other widows and oneswho have lost loved ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Within Heaven's Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Emily Jantzi
While no one knows all the details of heaven this is a wonderful glimpse of the heavenly experience. This book has changed the way I live my life. It stresses over and over how life on earth is closely connected to life in heaven. The talents and skills we learn here will also be used in heaven. In death we do take certain things with us such as skills, talents, character, interests, friendships and family connections. I wonder at times what my tasks will be in eternity. How temporary our earthly life is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Within Heaven's Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Donna Adams
This book was very good and will be carried around with me. I just lost a daughter this year and she did give her life to the Lord so I know she is in Heaven. The Father told us that we are to have mansions and they are many. He gave us a description of Heaven which would be hard for all of us to imagine. This is probably the closest for most of us. Our goal is to make known that we as believers in Christ are witnesses to all so they will also believe and go to Heaven. Who are we to say that Rebecca Springer did not have this vision while she was ill.I love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>