Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. The Gospel According to John: Pillar New Testament Commentary [PNTC]

Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. The Gospel According to John: Pillar New Testament Commentary [PNTC]

As the inaugural volume in the Pillar New Testament Commentary series, D.A. Carson's The Gospel According to John set the tone for what would become of this now widely respected series. Carson's primary focus is on the flow of the text rather than an overly burdensome concentration on technical issues. However, where necessary those elements are brought in and thoroughly reviewed and the issues adjudicated with precision and great competency.

In doing so, Carson provides a basic map of contemporary Johannine scholarship, but also focuses on the theological contributions of the Gospel, especially it's evangelistic themes. A well-rounded and sober introduction dealing with issues such as authorship, authenticity, and other matters makes this an ideal volume on John's gospel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Gospel According to John: Pillar New Testament Commentary [PNTC]
Review 1 for The Gospel According to John: Pillar New Testament Commentary [PNTC]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent commentary

Date:March 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
S A McClain
Location:Tacoma area
Age:35-44
Gender:male
In preaching through the book of John, I've used many commentaries and have found Carson's to be the best work out there. I suggest one consult Morris (NICNT and Reflections on the Gospel of John), Ridderbos, and occasionally Beasley Murray (WBC) for other helpful works. Kostenberger's BEC work echo's most of the above and should really only be used if you are looking for a summary (though his footnotes can occasionally be helpful).
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Gospel According to John: Pillar New Testament Commentary [PNTC]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Product is Reliable and Solid Exegetically

Date:February 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor Ryan
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carson's commentary on the Gospel of John (Pillar New Testament) is excellent, and arguably one of the better commentary. Thoroughly evangelical, biblically solid and clear, understandable sentences. He processes the Greek fluently and translates effectively. One of the "staples" in the commentaries on John - well worth owning!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Gospel According to John: Pillar New Testament Commentary [PNTC]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Simon Kao
This is an excellent commentary on the important book of John written by a respected expositor that I have personally heard him preaching in three sermons recently in a winter conference.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Gospel According to John: Pillar New Testament Commentary [PNTC]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jeff Sisemoore
I am a layman, unschooled in Greek and Hebrew, who nevertheless enjoys reading commentaries on a fairly regular basis as part of my person growth in the Word. This commentary is the best I have ever read, with so much meat to savor it is a delight to read. I add my review to the others to let you know that although the author is obviously a scholar, he also knows how to write clearly, in plain language that anyone can understand. This book is special in my humble opinion.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Gospel According to John: Pillar New Testament Commentary [PNTC]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rev. Doyle Peyton
Carson is always scholarly and evangelically trustworthy although at times a bit of a show off. He comes from the John Gill school of commentary. Spurgeon told his preacher boys if their goal was to simply fill time, Gill was their model. Gill would tell you several things a passage didn't mean, most of which you never thought of, and then told you what he felt it meant. If you are a preacher looking for good shank meat for your flock you'll find more bone, gristle, and sinew with Carson, but, you won't lack good scholarship. He does the leg work for you.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Gospel According to John: Pillar New Testament Commentary [PNTC]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
David Marshall
This has to be the best of the current evangelical commentaries on John's Gospel. The only other commentary in the ballpark is that of Leon Morris, which is also very good. Dr. Carson deals with technical issues, but never loses sight of the central task of explaining what John wrote and what he meant. There are inspiring devotional comments throughout the commentary. This is believing scholarship of the first rank.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Gospel According to John: Pillar New Testament Commentary [PNTC]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2004
Customer Avatar
John Tew
I don't give a 5 rating. If I did this would be the one. It doesn't get much better than this Commentary. I don't agree with every thing Carson says (I even disagree with myself on occasion) but he sure makes me see past the words into the heart of Jesus. Thats what a good commentary on John should do.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Gospel According to John: Pillar New Testament Commentary [PNTC]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2003
Customer Avatar
Ron
One of the best commetaries to date on any book, and probably the second best on John (the only better one being Schnackenburg's 3 volume set which is currently OOP). Carson deals with the difficult passages quite well, showing every option open and then making the case for the reading he thinks is most persuasive. He delves into the Old Testament background of each passage much better than nearly every other commentary I have worked with in John. Truly a gem and the cornerstone of my Johannine library.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Gospel According to John: Pillar New Testament Commentary [PNTC]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2002
Customer Avatar
Chris
This is an exceptional commentary. Carson has a way with words and a way of bringing the text to life. A must for anyone studying the gospel according to John the apostle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Gospel According to John: Pillar New Testament Commentary [PNTC]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2002
Customer Avatar
Berdj Tchilinguirian
I have consulted several commentaries in my study of the fourth gospel. I have found D.A. Carsen's commentary to be the most thorough. He approaches every major concern thoughtfully and fairly. I would recommend this commentary for just about any type of study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Gospel According to John: Pillar New Testament Commentary [PNTC]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2000
In my opinion, this is the finest commentary available on John's gospel! Carson's careful scholarship along with a pastoral warmth and experiential and practical application combine to make this the most helpful work on John that I have found. If you are concerned about interaction with modern critical views, no need to worry! This one covers all the bases and is a model of what a commentary should be. If you don't have the money, sell something and get this commentary!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.