Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Home for Lydia, A - eBook

Harvest House Publishers Home for Lydia, A - eBook

Aaron Troyer simply wants to farm like his father and grandfather before him. But instead he finds himself overseeing the family's small group of guest cabins nestled along the banks of Pebble Creek. That also means he must work with the cabins' housekeeper, Lydia Fisher.

Lydia is the most outspoken Amish woman Aaron has ever met, and she has strong opinions about how the guest cabins are to be run. She also desperately needs this job. Though sparks fly between boss and employee at first, when the cabins are robbed, nothing is more important to Aaron than making sure Lydia is safe.

Average Customer Rating:
4.759 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
28 out of 2997%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Home for Lydia, A - eBook
Review 1 for Home for Lydia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pebble Creek Amish Series Continues!

Date:October 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linn
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Home for Lydia is a wonderful read. Vannetta Chapman, author, continues the lives of those in Pebble Creek while incorporating a new story including Lydia Fisher and Aaron Troyer. Aaron Troyer comes to Pebble Creek at the beckoning of his family to assist with cabins that his family owns. He quickly meets the cabins' housekeeper, Lydia Fisher. Lydia is an outspoken Amish woman and she is determined to keep her job at the cabins. The two must find a way to work together to determine who is sabotaging the cabins!
A Home for Lydia is as equally as wonderful as the first book in the Pebble Creek series, A Promise for Miriam. Vannetta Chapman truly has a way of developing the characters of the books where they fit right into your heart, and you just want to know more and more about them.
I recommend this book with all five stars as well as the 1st book in the series, A Promise for Miriam.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Home for Lydia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Jump into Amish life and struggles

Date:July 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Home for Lydia, the second book in the Pebble Creek Amish series by Vannetta Chapman, continues the story begun in A Promise for Miriam. Lydia Fisher works at the Plain cabins, a rundown Amish resort owned by widow Elizabeth Troyer. Elizabeth’s nephew Aaron Troyer has come from Indiana to Wisconsin to help the family and manage the cabins. He would rather be farming, but plunges in full force to revamp the enterprise and attract customers in order to provide them an income.
Gabe Miller, whom we got to know in the first book, befriends the newcomer and gets others to assist in the renovation project. Stubborn Lydia isn’t sure she wants things to change or have a strange man giving her orders. Yet she finds herself surprisingly attracted to her new boss. Knowing he plans to return home as soon as he can, she tries to protect her heart and avoid growing close to him. Of course, Aaron feels drawn to her too and wants to protect her.
Lydia’s sister Clara, with whom she has had struggles, becomes involved helping at the cabins too. Add an ill father and family financial problems, and Lydia has more than enough to deal with. Thefts in the area threaten the Amish cabins, and both Aaron and Lydia work to catch the intruders and help stop the crimes.
Will her life ever settle down? A Home for Lydia speaks to her dream for a place she can truly feel home—a place of her own. Will God bring this to pass, or will she have to sacrifice this hope?
If you haven’t read book one, don’t worry. Enough backstory is given as needed in the novel so you can easily follow this story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Home for Lydia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet romance involving real to life characters

Date:April 5, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like Amish romances. They're sweet, but real. Vannetta Chapman has penned another excellent novel set in Amish country. A Home for Lydia, her second book in The Pebble Creek Amish Series, is easily read as a stand-alone.
I find that Ms. Chapman allowed her characters to be real. While sweet and godly, they also have problems with temper and selfishness, as all humans do at times. I like real characters and will gladly read about their issues rather than about people who are perfect, with whom I cannot relate.
If you enjoy Amish romance, you will open A Home for Lydia and forget there's a world outside Pebble Creek.
***I received this book from the author/publisher for purposes of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Home for Lydia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:March 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
amishfan1
Location:N.C.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vannetta Chapman has done it again.She has wrote another great book.You will fall in love with the characters of the Pebble Creek series.I loved the first book in the series,and she continued to keep me interested and looking forward to more in a A Home for Lydia.If you like Amish book,you will love Vannetta Chapman's books.She keeps you captivated and always looking forward to the next book.You just don't want the book to end,even though you want to find out how it all turns out.I am looking forward to the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Home for Lydia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish romance with a touch of mystery and danger!

Date:March 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another enjoyable story from one of the top Amish Fiction authors.
One of the nicest things about this book was getting to check in with characters from A Promise For Miriam and getting to see how they are doing. Miriam and Gabe are now married and are building a family. Esther (formerly worked with Miriam at the Plain school) is also married and has a little one. Miriam's parents are still dispensing wisdom and dote on their granddaughter-by-marriage, Gracie. I won't spoil any surprises but the Kings and Yoder family have more happiness and heartache ahead in this story.
I have to admit that, at first, I didn't particularly like Aaron (the hero). He came across as an immature brat, but.... That didn't last, through the book he grows and matures under the responsibility of the cabins and with the help/advice of Gabe and Miriam's brother, David. Hard work and good friends help Aaron grow up in a most satisfying way.
Lydia reminded me much of myself, she doesn't like change, still lives at home in order to help her family, has a bit of a temper, tries to be responsible and gets impatient with those who aren't. She too, grows through the story and broadens her outlook. By the end of the book I was wishing that Lydia could be a friend.
This book is slightly darker than it's predecessor but it has to be with the touch of mystery. Who is breaking into houses/businesses to steal, and why? Is it the new neighbors next to the Plain Cabins, could it be Amish kids, or could it be their own family and friends? You are just going to have to read A Home For Lydia to find out!
A Home For Lydia, Amish romance with a touch of mystery and danger!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Home for Lydia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Story draws you in

Date:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
bandcheermom
Location:Mt. Zion,IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vannetta has once again written a story in which you can easily get hooked on once you begin reading.In A Home For Lydia I felt as if I was walking along side the characters and could feel their emotions.I also could easily visualize the scenery in which it was set.It was fun to see Miriams story continue in this book as well as see love blossom between Lydia and Aaron as they overcame various obstacles.Looking forward to book 3 in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Home for Lydia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best Amish fiction books out there!

Date:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindi
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When a family member dies his nephew comes to town to take care of things at the rental cabins that his uncle owned and managed. When he arrives he is overwhelmed with the amount of work that is needed to turn things around. Will this Amish community pull together to help a family who has lost a loved one, or will the rundown cabins need to be sold in order for this family to survive?
Not many authors are able to capture a reader with a story that grabs your attention from the beginning, or describe the characters to the point you feel you know them personally. Vannetta is one of those amazing authors who do both extremely well.
If you like Amish fiction, you will love this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Home for Lydia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Instant Hit!

Date:February 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
homeschoolmom24
Location:Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About the Book:
A Home for Lydia, the second book in a new romantic series from popular author Vannetta Chapman, centers again on the Plain community of Pebble Creek and the kind, caring people there. As they face challenges to their community from the English world, they come together to reach out to their non-Amish neighbors while still preserving their cherished Plain ways.
Aaron Troyer simply wants to farm like his father and grandfather before him. But instead he finds himself overseeing the family’s small group of guest cabins nestled along the banks of Pebble Creek. That also means he must work with the cabins’ housekeeper, Lydia Fisher.
Lydia is the most outspoken Amish woman Aaron has ever met, and she has strong opinions about how the guest cabins are to be run. She also desperately needs this job. Though sparks fly between boss and employee at first, when the cabins are robbed, nothing is more important to Aaron than making sure Lydia is safe.Together they work to make the vacation property profitable, but can they find out the identity of the culprit before more damage is done? And is Lydia’s dream of a home of her own more than just a wish and a prayer?
About the Author:
Vannetta Chapman has published more than 100 articles in Christian family magazines. She discovered her love for the Amish while researching her grandfather’s birthplace in Albion, Pennsylvania. Vannetta is a multi-award-winning member of Romance Writers of America. She was a teacher for 15 years and currently resides in the Texas Hill country. Her first two inspirational novels—A Simple Amish Christmas and Falling to Pieces—were Christian Book Distributors bestsellers.
My Review:
Vannetta Chapman does a really good job as an author. She is able to pull you in immediately and cause you to fall in love with the characters from her books. What was so strange to me in the latest novel A Home for Lydia I found myself more interested in what was going on with Miriam than with Lydia which is the title character. Miriam is gave some news that wasn't really what she was expecting about her mother.She reminded me a lot of myself. That is the good thing about Vannetta's books though she makes you feel like she is writing about you.
This story begins with Lydia getting the cabins ready for the Englisch tourists. Following that, Aaron Troyer arrives several weeks later to see to the cabins left to him following his uncle's death. As Aaron gets off the bus to find the cabins he runs into Gabe Miller and his family and decides to hitch a ride with them. Not long after that actually a few minutes later he meets our main character, Lydia. I don't think that he was very impressed and decides he may need to stay longer than he first anticipated.
Now while the story seems to be heating up between Lydia and Aaron I'm still wondering how Miriam is doing. This is the second book in the Pebble Creek Amish Series. The third book in the series is set to release this summer. So fans of Ms.Vannetta won't have to wait long to catch up on all of their favorite characters. There are also discussion questions in the back of the book and the first chapter to book three in the series. Vannetta decided to give one of my readers a copy of her book A Home for Lydia so you can read it for yourself and fall in love with the town of Pebble Creek. Just enter below... And Good Luck!
a Rafflecopter giveaway
**Disclosure** This book was provided to me for free from the author for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Home for Lydia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Today I found this book in my mailbox, sent as a surprise from the publisher whom I review for. I am half-way though "The Cross in the Shadow of the Crescent" (excellent book on Islam) from them, and never expected this surprise book. A Home for Lydia.
I have always been interested in the true stories of Amish people, and their simple lives, ever since I read "The Simple People," a large, hard bound book from my Great Grandmother full of pictures of Amish homes and people at work in fields and in the kitchen.
I have long wondered and received no solid answer yet as to whether the Amish are a cult or not. I believe from what I have read that the Amish are a cult, follow a false religion.
The Amish speak of God, about trusting him and accepting his will. They read Scripture and study it, but Mormons also speak of God and Scripture, as do Witnesses, and they are cults.
More study on this will be necessary for me.
Some of the descriptions of places in this book were lovely... Pebble Creek with the white herons who stalk its banks and the starry skies over Wisconsin.
Lydia longs to be married and have a home and babies of her own.
As one of my unmarried friends reminded me yesterday, this is a good desire *when understood rightly*. When we understand it wrongly is when we begin to think a man is the fulfillment of Our Dreams, and exists to be that. Talk about being hit over the head when I found out that a man is created to do God's Work and a wife to help him fulfill God's Dominion Mandate and Great Commission! And yes, this is romantic. As R. C. Sproul Jr says, nothing is more romantic than a man sharing his vision with his wife. Now, back to the review.
Lydia is beginning to wonder if this dream will ever come true, and she spends her days as care taker of tourist cabins by Pebble Creek. Her kind elderly boss dies and Lydia is left without an employer, continuing to care for the cabins that tourists never fill.
Along comes young Amish man, Aaron Troyer, who is here to find out what these cabins his uncle owned looked like.
The problem with this book was romance.
When Lydia first sees him he is angry, the night he arrives, angry at the state of the falling down cabins. The next morning Lydia arrives for work and sees him leaving the cabin he slept in, and her heart gives a tripping beat.
He meanwhile is thinking that she is a woman, not a girl, because she "no longer had a girl's body."
This attraction grows, and is very troubling to me. Love Biblically is not pounding hearts and faint blushes creeping up your neck as you see the other's gaze upon you.
They argue about the state of the bushes around the cabins, Lydia wants them to stay because birds nest in them, Aaron wants them trimmed. These arguments might be considered a sign of "spunky" people, but in marriage being combative will cause heartache.
They grow increasing conscious of each other's every physical movement throughout the book, making me very uncomfortable, and I was saddened by this. I wish Lydia and Aaron had treated one another as Brother and Sister in all Purity, working and waiting and *possibly* keeping an eye on the other with thoughts of marriage.
That would have made this story so much more glorious, to read of a courting couple with no "tension" between them, no kisses, no hearts pumping beyond their normal rate.
{The scene between the married couple, when he promises to drink extra coffee that night was extremely out of place. I could not even read some of this book aloud to my blushing family.}
I wish this book had none of the romance in it! Novels with romance rarely help foster thoughts of purity. Different things bother different people, and I stay away from what I know will bother me. All things are permissible, but not all things are beneficial.
I would LOVE to read a book about an Amish maid with all the homey details of her country life and a story of her conversion to Christ, possibly amidst persecution from her family.
I received this book as a surprise from Harvest House Publishing. Stay Tuned, readers. I hope to review their books "Men Counseling Men" "Mom's Raising Sons to be Men" and "A Look at Life From a Deer-Stand" soon.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Home for Lydia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Amish Story

Date:February 20, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When his uncle dies, Aaron Troyer travels from his farm to Wisconsin to oversee the management of his uncle’s cabins. He is the most arrogant man Lydia Fisher has seen, yet he is her employer since she worked for his uncle to manage the cabins. Sparks fly between them as he calls the cabins uncared for. But he can’t return home until he helps is widowed aunt and tries to make the tourist cabins workable and attractive. When danger comes into the picture Aaron’s main priority is to keep Lydia safe. Lydia wants a home of her own and imagines it could be with Aaron. But is she just wishing? Chapman writes her characters and settings as if know them. From the first page, Chapman captures the interest of her reader.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Home for Lydia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable Read

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lora
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lydia Fisher, a young Amish woman, helps take care of the camping cabins near Pebble Creek. When her new boss, Aaron, arrives full of criticism and wearing a chip on his shoulder, Lydia has to bite her tongue to retain her job. The more she gets to know him though, the more she likes him.
Aaron grudgingly accepts the responsibility of running his late uncle’s cabins, increasing business so his aunt and cousins will have an income. The Amish community welcomes his new ideas and expansion of the business. He even begins to acknowledge his growing attraction for Lydia.
Then, a series of burglaries threatens it all.
Vannetta has once again crafted an enjoyable read. And if you’re wondering what happened to Gabe and Miriam and their daughter Grace from A Promise for Miriam, you’ll find out in this story. The chapters from Grace’s perspective were my favorites.
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Home for Lydia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Characters

Date:February 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Home for Lydia is the second book in Vannetta Chapman's Pebble Creek Amish Series and is a great follow-up to A Promise for Miriam. As always, Vannetta's characters seem so real, and I felt like I was visiting with old friends as I read the book. Lydia, Aaron, Miriam, Gabe and others were captivating, but I think nine-year-old Grace may have been my favorite. Her observations and insights from a child's viewpont added so much to the story.
One of the things that makes these stories work so well for me is the multiple perspectives Vannetta writes from. There are definitely "main characters" in the story, but as I read I got to see the happenings through the eyes of several characters and cared about how each individual was impacted by the events. I found myself on the verge of tears in a few places where the characters' emotions affected my own. And even though I read that Pebble Creek is a fictional location, this story definitely made me want to visit such a place.
Any fan of great Amish fiction should enjoy A Home for Lydia. I'm already looking forward to A Wedding for Julia due to come out soon, I hope!
Thanks to Harvest House Publishers for providing a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Home for Lydia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beauty disturbed

Date:February 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vannetta Chapman begins this tale of the Amish in Pebble Creek community with Lydia, a beautiful young Amish woman who is single, fearful of being an "old maid," burdened with the responsibility of supporting her family (parents and siblings), and taking care of a run-down set of tourist cabins. She is weary and sitting on the steps of one of these cabins when a young man arrives and looks at the scene with obvious disgust, shock, and frustration. He accosts Lydia when he finds out she is an employee of his deceased uncle and wants to know why she has allowed things to get in such bad shape.
Lydia's feisty personality is really ignited by Aaron Troyer's confrontation. But Aaron is now her "boss" and he moves with swift action to bring to "rights" the cabins and to make them into a profitable enterprise. Aaron is the nephew of the deceased uncle, and as extended family, they feel it their place and responsibility to help the uncle's widow and children have a means of support.
The setting for the story is along Pebble Creek and the cabins are nestled close to Pebble Creek where there is an abundance of beautiful wild animals, birds, and plants. It is a serene, peaceful place where tourists can come and experience the plain life in simplicity and peace. But alas, all is not at peace there.
A Home for Lydia is book 2 in the Pebble Creek series and we again meet our friends Miriam, Gabe, and Grace from A Promise for Miriam, book 1. Grace is the adorable little daughter of Gabe and her character continues to charm and warm your heart.
In A Home for Lydia we again see the strength of the Amish in strong families and strong community. When the family or community is threatened by illness, disaster, poverty, ruination, or weather destruction they come together in support of each other bringing healing of heart, soul, and purse. When crime or meanness invades their community, they deal with it with love and concern and try to help the offenders and those who have been offended.
Vannetta Chapman has again done a beautiful job of developing each of the characters where they seem real, believable, and true to the role they are crafted to play in the story. The story line moves well, is easy to follow, and a pleasure to read. I look forward to reading book 3 in the Pebble Creek series due to be released in the summer of 2013.
DISCLOSURE: I received a complimentary copy of A Home For Lydia from the author, Vannetta Chapman, in exchange for my honest review. Opinions expressed are solely my own. No compensation was given for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Home for Lydia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this book as much as the first one!

Date:February 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy
Location:Greensburg, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must say that I was just as thrilled with A Home for Lydia as I was with A Promise for Miriam. Vannetta Chapman never ceases to keep the reader engaged in this book. Just as I was a part of the community in Miriam, I think I became more of a member with the second book in the Pebble Creek Series, A Home for Lydia. Lydia and Aaron are now a part of the series that I will look forward to seeing in the next book. Can't wait until it becomes available.
The reader is caught up in the mystery in Lydia as you begin to try to figure out the "who dun it" in this book. Just when you think you have it figured out, you realize Vannetta just had you going for awhile.
This is one series that I hope continues past #3 because just like real-life, families move, new ones are added, the younger ones grow up, and the characters quickly become a part of your family from one book to the next.
Super job Vannetta, keep up the wonderful work that you are doing as a writer. I will never tire of your stories. I think it is because they are so realistic in their surroundings as you bring out the parts of the country/places in them and readers can associate with those places. I love it when I read about a place in the books, and I can visualize it because I have been there or know of it from reading about it before reading the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Home for Lydia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Finding Where You Belong

Date:February 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this book, and loved that it continued from where we left off in the first book A Promise For Miriam. Now you do not need to read the first book to enjoy this one, but you will miss out on a great book.
We begin this story when a young Amish Farmer, Aaron Troyer, has been sent to Wisconsin to help out his Uncle's Widow and family. His Uncle ran a business of offering nightly lodging in cottages.
When he arrives at the Pebble Creek Cottages, he is devastated at the mess he is going to have to fix some how. His Uncle's one employee, Lydia Fisher, is there to meet him. He takes his disappointment out on her. Now how could one young Amish Woman have fixed all that needed to be done here?
We rejoin the family of Miriam, Gabe and Hannah, who have now been joined by baby Rachael. What fun to be able to spend time with them again, and not just to say hello...we continue with their lives and trails!
This story has some romance, some family health issues, and a mystery thrown in. We find that at some point Amish and English have the same tough teenage years!
Come and enjoy your time In Pebble Creek WI, you won't be disappointed!
I received this book through First Wild Card Blog Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Home for Lydia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just As Good As The First Book In The Series

Date:February 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lynne Young
Location:Bristol, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed reading this book. It is book 2 in the Pebble Creek Amish Series but can easily be read by itself.
Even though Lydia and Aaron were the main characters in this book I felt Grace, Miriam and Gabe's 9 year old daughter was the stand out in this book. She is so smart for her age and has a God given artistic talent that helps Aaron to solve a mystery. Lydia however just wishes Aaron would go away and leave things the way they were before he came - until she starts to see that he really does have what's best for his late Uncle's cabins in mind - not to mention her heart. Lydia and Aaron have a long way to go before matters of the heart can even be discussed but they are getting there - slowly.
This is an easy read with a twist in the middle you won't see coming that makes you keep turning pages. I cannot wait for the next book in this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Home for Lydia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Chapman Delivers Again With This Sweet Story

Date:February 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wman4JC
Location:miami, fl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My review
Minor Spoilers
Nobody writes Amish fiction like Vannetta Chapman and in Lydia’s story the reader once again witnesses two worlds colliding, the Amish and the Englisch, in Pebble Creek, Wisconsin. Lydia’s employer, Ervin, has just passed away, there has been a recent flooding to the land that has caused much needed repairs to the cabins she cleans, and her father is suffering from an ailment that has forced him to stop working making Lydia the main breadwinner in the family. She hasn’t had any customers lately and if this trend continues, she’ll be out of the job very soon.
Enter Aaron Troyer who is frustrated, eager to get back to his farming land, and resentful of having the responsibility of checking on his late uncle’s family and business to assess the situation and see how he can help. He makes no pretenses about wanting to be there and the scowl on his face is a big indicator that he has no intention on staying. How soon can he get back to Indiana?
As soon as these two meet, everything changes but it’s obvious that they don’t get along. Will they be able to see past their own problems and differences to improve the cabins and come up with a plan to run this business in a successful manner? Then word spreads about robberies occurring in the area, will everything they work for be taken from them?
What a sweet story with lots of humor and warmth!! When Lydia and Aaron first meet she immediately wishes justice upon him by hoping he’ll fall through a rotted stair railing and for her horse to nip him (bite him) since he refuses to carry fruit snacks with him and the horse is accustomed to these treats being constantly available. Amish folks are simple and faithful, but they have thoughts like anyone else and it was unique to find Lydia with such a feisty personality!
Other characters in the story that make the plot an even lovelier treat are from the first book in the series, A Promise for Miriam. The reader gets to experience Miriam, Gabe, Grace and Rachel being a family while moving past their grief and finally healing.
Grace was hands down my favorite character in Lydia’s story :) She has a gift for seeing the beauty in everything and drawing it realistically from her perspective. She doesn’t get along with her new school teacher, Ms. Bena, very well, but she makes every effort and I found her to be a brilliant student. She’s always observing, always learning, and always expressing herself in creative ways. She enjoys the 3 D’s best: Drawing, Doodling, and Daydreaming. Grace had me smiling throughout the story.
Chapman successfully creates a setting that the reader can easily fall in love with, a community of simple Amish folks that stick together through hardships, characters that find a common ground in adversity and learn to rebuild even in hopeless situations, trusting God even when your loved one is suffering, and most of all forgiveness even in the worst betrayals. It was precious seeing how one girl’s drawing humbles Aaron in his darkest moment turning his heart to maturity instead of allowing his selfish nature to brew. Even though this story was not a five star rating from me, it reminded me of what is truly important about finding out where your home is and trusting God in the journey there. Lydia’s story is touching, humorous, romantic, and filled with characters that are easy to love and easy to admire. Even though this book is part of a series, it can be a read alone as well (includes a glossary and discussion questions).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Home for Lydia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wunderbaar - A Home for Lydia

Date:February 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
BethArenburg
Location:Atlanta, JGA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you loved "A Promise for Miriam" (first book in the Pebble Creek Series), then you will certainly love this book. This book talks of everyday life and relationships. Lydia has alot on her plate, she has a job and she is caring for aging/sick parents (as most of us do) and worries if and when she ever gets married, who will take care of them. I have enjoyed this book and getting caught up on what Miriam, Gabe, Grace and Miriam's parents are doing. I love how the Amish stick together through good times and bad times, like the robbery at the cabins and the birth of babies. It seems like this is something that is lost in this day and age. I really enjoyed this book and cant wait for the 3rd book to come out in July "A Wedding for Julia".
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Home for Lydia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Romance/Mystery-a delightful combination!

Date:February 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bitsymc
Location:Red Lion, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Home for Lydia is another great book written by Vannetta Chapman. Vannetta has a way of drawing you into her stories. Aaron & Lydia, Miriam & Gabe feel like real people with real problems who seek answers from the One who can help. You will absolutely fall in love with little Grace. This book has romance & mystery which makes for a delightful combination and a good read that is hard to put down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Home for Lydia, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Story "Full of Grace"

Date:February 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vannetta has a very special talent of describing her characters in a realistic way- in fact, within pages of beginning to read this book, I felt as though Lydia was a member of the family or at least a very good friend. The ability to make us become part of the story is evident throughout , being able to feel the challenges, stresses, worries, and joys that each character experiences.
The element of mystery kept me glued to the page. The plot had twists and turns that were totally unexpected. In fact, within a day of receiving the book, I was finished. Just couldn't put this book down!! The intertwining plans were extremely well connected. With the mystery, a romance ran side by side.
The Amish faith and lifestyle has been well researched. The basis of the Amish community is trust and faith and it comes through strongly . Although many serious problems take place, they are dealt with in a typical way of the Plain People. With prayer and humility. The reality is there!!
Definitely a five star book!! Not to be missed!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>