Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers A Quilt For Jenna, Apple Dreams Series #1 -eBook

Harvest House Publishers A Quilt For Jenna, Apple Dreams Series #1 -eBook

Jerusha has spent months making the most beautiful quilt anyone in Apple Creek, Ohio, has ever seen, and she knows it's going to take first prize at the Quilt Fair in Dalton. The prize will be her ticket out of the Amish way of life-away from the memories of her dead daughter and her tormented husband. But on the way to the Fair, she gets caught in the Storm of The Century and Jerusha's driver crashes their car. While the driver goes for help, Jerusha is led by someone, or something, to the side of a lost little girl. By the time the storm clears, Jerusha finds there is a greater prize to be won than money and blue ribbons.
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Quilt For Jenna, Apple Dreams Series #1 -eBook
Review 1 for A Quilt For Jenna, Apple Dreams Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Thrilling Read!

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Quilt for Jenna is one of the best books in the Amish genre that I have read. I think why I found it so intriguing was because the author went back and forth from the past to the present in this story. Why is this different from what a lot of author’s do? The description of the events were so thorough and vivid that you were never lost to what was going on. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
This story has the Amish people and English people very involved in the lives of each other.
I truly enjoyed turning the pages to find out what was going on with Jerusha, Reuben and Bobby.
War is never pretty and we find this to be the case in this book. Will Reuben be able to put the horror behind him? Will Jerusha forgive him for his part that he played in the war? After all, Amish people do not participate in violence and war. How about Bobby? How did the war affect him?
We find the characters in this book have a love/hate relationship with God. Why would someone hate God with every fiber of their being? What possible reasons would they have for rejecting God?
Will Jerusha, Reuben, and Bobby be able to come to terms with their pasts? Can they survive their hurts, their unforgiveness, and put their trust in God? Will the miracles of God melt their hearts?
I gave this book 5 stars and wish I could give it more. Author Patrick E. Craig has made a fan out of me. I can not wait to read The Road Home, book two in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Quilt For Jenna, Apple Dreams Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I recommend this book

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I want to first say that I enjoyed the authors note at the beginning of the book. In it he explains why the location and time period were chosen for the story and how they helped him create his characters. I believe that explanation really aided in setting up the story itself to be more credible and enjoyable.
I gave this book 5/5 stars. I thought the plot flowed well from one scene to the next. The characters had intriguing personalities and helped the story be more interesting. I liked the setting and time period, as they became a real part of the story. Overall it was a quick moving and enjoyable story. I would recommend this book to all who like Amish fiction and those looking for an enjoyable Christian fiction book to read.
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Quilt For Jenna, Apple Dreams Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Much More Than Amish Fiction!

Date:April 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reuben and Jerusha are deeply in love but Reuben questions the Amish faith. He leaves the fold to enlist in the marines in the throes of World War II. Jerusha discovers upon Reuben's return that he is not the same man she knew before he left. His scars run deep, and Jerusha is concerned about his change in character and his sudden conviction to follow the Amish ordnung to the letter. Jerusha and Reuben marry, but the tragic loss of their only child tears them apart. Jerusha's way of handling her grief is to propel herself into her quilting. Her drive for perfection results in haughty pride over her masterpiece quilt. It becomes her escape route from the overwhelming grief she carries and anger toward God at the core of her being. Reuben bolts from his fears and guilt, and travels cross country to Colorado where he seeks a reprieve and an end to his anxieties. Both Reuben and Jerusha are battling their emotions in an unorthodox manner in an attempt to find relief from their captivity.
A Quilt for Jenna is much more than a story about the Amish culture. It is a multifaceted presentation of very strong characters in this novel. Insights into overpowering emotional burdens and beliefs, or lack thereof, are challenged and examined. Jerusha and Reuben Springer are portrayed in depth as their stories unfold and through the insurmountable challenges they encounter. Patrick Craig is gifted with the art of creating vivid pictorial settings, creating reality in this story of tragedy and triumph.
Disclaimer: I was given a copy of this book by Harvest House Publishers with the express purpose of my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Quilt For Jenna, Apple Dreams Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A story of hope

Date:April 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just when I was ready to take a break from the Amish genre, I couldn't help but pick up a copy of "A Quilt for Jenna". I was utterly intrigued by the premise for the story, so I dove right in, and discovered a wonderful novel indeed! The author has cleverly interwoven a story told from multiple perspectives, of Jerusha struggling with the loss of her child and now caught in a life threatening snow storm, to scenes from World War II and her husband Reuben's struggle to forgive himself. The result is a story that moves along at a fine pace, offering a fascinating backdrop to explore themes of loss and bitterness, grace and forgiveness. The book is well-written and filled with some beautiful moments between the characters. I also enjoyed the glimpse the author offers into the Amish community, showing the beauty of a group of people who draw together to serve the Lord, while also cautioning about the risk that the Amish face to become all about rules and legalism instead of freedom in Christ. Ultimately, A Quilt for Jenna is a story of hope, that God can take tragedy and loss, and by his grace turn it into something good. That is a message that we can all learn from!
I was quite thankful to learn that this novel is but the first in a 3-novel series, and that I will be able to return to the world of these characters in Apple Creek. I strongly recommend this novel, and award it 4 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher, Harvest House, for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Quilt For Jenna, Apple Dreams Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A different "Amish" story

Date:March 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ISBN: 9780736951050
$13.99 Paperback
This is absolutely not your typical Amish novel. Pastor, musician, author Patrick E. Craig is definitely a gifted word-smith and has woven a story that tells the struggles of disillusioned Amish - man and woman. Of their struggles with their faith in God, their adherence to Amish community beliefs and requirements, and in the political landmines of the day.
The story is multilevel taking the reader from the quaint community of Amish believers in the 1940s, through the war years of World War II, and into the 1950s when the winter storm of the century threatens to bury the hopes of many.
Reuben is a young Amish man who simply believes that the constraints and requirements of their community are not Biblical and he can not see staying and trying to live up to them or by them. Jerusha is a young woman of faith in God and faith in the leadership of the Amish community. But the two of them are in love and yet can not come to terms with their differences.
Reuben enters the war as a soldier which is in absolute revolt to his Amish pacifist beliefs of non-violence. He experiences all the horror and terror that is upfront and close battle, blood shed, and death. Broken, he returns to his roots - the Amish community - and asks for forgiveness for his part in the war and to be reinstated in the community.
Eventually Reuben and Jerusha marry and have a child whose death at age four totally breaks both of them.
Their journey through all of this is creatively woven in the story by Patrick Craig as we meander back and forth through years giving bits and pieces but ultimately tying it all together beautifully.
You will enjoy this read because of the multilevel, multifaceted story which deals with the sweet romance, the internal struggles of individuals with their faith, and the personal battles to do that which is right. The World War II jungle battle scenes of Guadalcanal are not something you would normally find in a novel about the Amish and will truly make this an "Amish book that men will enjoy." I await Patrick Craig's next book in this series with great anticipation.
About the author: Patrick E. Craig is a lifelong writer and musician who left a successful songwriting and performance career in the music industry to follow Christ in 1984. He spent the next 26 years as a worship leader, seminar speaker, and pastor in churches, and at retreats, seminars and conferences all across the western United States. After ministering for a number of years in music and worship to a circuit of small churches, he is now concentrating on writing and publishing both fiction and non-fiction books.
DISCLOSURE: I was provided a complimentary copy of A Quilt for Jenna by Patrick E. Craig by Harvest House Publishers on behalf of the author in exchange for my honest review. Opinions expressed are solely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Quilt For Jenna, Apple Dreams Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a great book!

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
RobinV
Age:25-34
Gender:female
A Quilt for Jenna had me near tears. As the first Amish book I have ever read, this was truly a wonderful story, and has me excitedly awaiting the next book in the series.
The scene is set during a Thanksgiving blizzard in Ohio as we read a tale full of heartache, love, and forgiveness that takes place over a five day period. During the book the characters often think back to their past where we find out about the lives of Jerusha Springer and her husband Reuben- how they met, what they've gone through, and the outcome of their unique story. I loved how author Patrick Craig masterfully wove the past with the present keeping me up to speed with Jerusha and her current predicament along with those in Apple Creek. Very well done!
My favorite part of this book was the message. That God never promise life would be a piece of cake and nothing bad would happen, but with our heart trusting in Him when the hard times do come, He will see us through them. I loved the whole book, the whole story, but the last few chapters filled me with a holy awe toward God. He is so good to His children bring the very best out of all the bad.
Be sure to grab this book as soon as you can!
***Thank you Harvest House Publishers for the free book in exchange for my honest review.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Quilt For Jenna, Apple Dreams Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:March 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jane Moshell
Location:Alabama
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not completed reading this book yet, but so for it is an excellent story line and holds my attention. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Quilt For Jenna, Apple Dreams Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not your average Amish/quilting story

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Location:Central California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a little tired of Amish fiction so I opened A Quilt for Jenna with just a bit of trepidation.
I was immediately captivated by Jerusha's pain and her need to quilt and flee her life and her grief. I loved the book! Another reviewer said, “Amish + Quilts = reader’s delight!”
I concur.
Jerusha and Reuben fell in love but Reuben wasn’t an Amish man in good standing with the community. Then he went off to fight in World War II. He came home a changed man, determined to live by the Ordung, and return to his Amish roots. He and Jerusha marry and are happy.
A few years later, Jerush and Reuben lose their only child, Jenna. Neither Reuben nor Jerusha can find their way back to the other. Reuben blames himself forJenna’s death. So does Jerusha. Reuben has left their Amish community. Jerusha has stitched a wonderful quilt that is to be her ticket out of Apple Creek.
On Thanksgiving weekend 1950, a horrific storm blew through Ohio, capturing Jerusha and her quilt in its fury. A little girl in the back seat of another car is abandoned and left to die. The two find each other and take refuge from the storm.
Patrick Craig is equally as good at both the male and female points of view. The battle scenes at Guadalcanal are as painstakingly crafted as Jerusha's quilting scenes.
I liked how the backstory of what happened during World War II was interwoven with the 1950's events.
Mr. Craig accomplished what I thought was impossible: weaving a compelling Amish/quilting story into a wonderful tale of love, loss, and redemption.
I'll definitely read the next one in the Apple Creek Dreams series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Quilt For Jenna, Apple Dreams Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow!

Date:February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
oregonheidi
Location:Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story-line of this book is fascinating. Patrick E Craig has cleverly braided a peaceful 1950s Amish community, a daner-filled World War II battle and a storm of the century to create a love story both compelling and believeable. Extensive research made the scenes real to me. A good read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Quilt For Jenna, Apple Dreams Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thoroughly enjoyed this book!

Date:February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookreader
Location:Oregon
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this book! It was engaging, thought-provoking and a refreshingly unpredictable read! I can't wait for the sequels to the series! Nice job Mr. Craig!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Quilt For Jenna, Apple Dreams Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Different Amish Story

Date:February 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A very different Amish story where one of the main characters went off to fight in WWII. Very against the Amish Faith!
The other main Character is Jerusha, and she is at a point in her life where she feels God has let her down, and she will do nothing to praise him. She has just finished the best quilt she has ever made, and she made it perfect, not the usual with at least one flaw, so one does not show pride. She is taking this quilt to the fair, then selling it, and taking the money and leaving the Amish!
Reuben Springer is Jerusha's husband, but has left, and very despondent. He has survived going to war, made things right with the Amish, and married. Now he feels all is lost.
What will happen to ever bring these poor souls back together, if it is even possible. Both are dealing with there loss of God in their lives.
What is unknown to all is an abrupt climate change. Possible storm of the Century?? Will they even survive, and will they turn to God in their fears?
I received this book through First Wild Card Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Quilt For Jenna, Apple Dreams Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Quilt for Jenna by P. Craig

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book I have read by Patrick Craig and I enjoyed it very much. He adds military service of one of the Amish youth to the story and this is the first Amish fiction I have read with this angle. There is great sadness for Jerusha and Reuben when they lose their young daughter, Jenna. God has a plan for their lives though, that even they can never anticipate. A great and terrible snowstorm comes and Jenna is stranded. She is not the only one who is stranded and in need of being found though. I highly recommend you read this book to discover what happens to change life for Jerusha and Reuben. I am looking forward to the second and third installments of this series also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Quilt For Jenna, Apple Dreams Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
4½ stars
Jerusha Springer is known for her excellent quilting skills in her Amish community. Her grandmother teached her how to quilt and often reminded her not to be proud of her work.
About a year ago Jerusha has lost her little girl, Jenna. Shortly after that her husband, Reuben, disappeared and nobody knows where he went. She became bitter and is drowned in hate towards God. She decides to make a beautiful silk quilt, with which she hopes to win the first prize at a fair – and that would be her way out of the Amish community. A local Englisher, Henry, is going to drive her to the fair, but they end up in a horrible blizzard. The car hits a stray cow, gets into a ditch, and can’t get out. Henry leaves Jerusha in the car and goes out for help, but something happens to Henry and help doesn’t come…
While Jerusha is waiting in the car she’s thinking back to conversations she had with her grandmother when she was growing up – how she promised to never leave the Amish faith. This is the beginning of a spiritual battle.
When help doesn’t come and Jerusha is ready to give up, she finds someone who gives her determination to carry on. They must get out of the terrible weather, before hypothermia sets in. Will she find a warm shelter in time?
This book also tells the story of Jerusha’s husband Reuben – from his best friend Bobby’s point of view. Reuben left Jerusha after their daughter died. Now that Jerusha is missing, Bobby feels that he must find her. While searching for her, he has also a lot of time to think. He remembers how he became friends with Reuben – how Reuben wasn’t sure about the Amish faith – how they served as Marines and fought against the Japanese in 1942 – how much Reuben was changed after the war – and what made him decide to leave Jerusha.
The author really surprised me with this book! It was so different from what I had expected it to be – and that is meant as a compliment!
After reading the blurb I had no idea the story would go into this direction and I was pleasantly surprised! This is an emotional story of loss and redemption. Be sure to have the tissues ready! Nicely done, Patrick!
*Thanks to the publisher who provided me with a review copy through NetGalley.*
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.