Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Forgotten Trinity, The - eBook

Bethany House Forgotten Trinity, The - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Forgotten Trinity, The - eBook
Review 1 for Forgotten Trinity, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Forgotten Trinity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Clear Defense of the Doctrine of the Trinity

Date:May 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
The Seeking Disciple
Location:Lexington, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The holy Trinity is a doctrine that has been attacked by many over the centuries. After all, the Bible teaches that there is but one God (Deut. 6:4; 1 Cor. 8:4; Eph. 4:6). Both Jews and Muslims have long attacked the Christian for holding to tritheism or polytheism. Both Jews and Muslims claim that they alone are truly monotheists and Christians are not since they claim that the Father is God, the Son is God, and the Holy Spirit is God. Clearly Christians then worship three gods and not one God.
This, however, is not true and Dr. James White shows us that the doctrine of the Trinity (while not easy to grasp with the limits of the human mind) is biblical true. The Bible does teach one God yet the Bible affirms that three persons make up the one true God. These three persons are fully involved in the Bible and they are seen especially in the redemptive work of Christ. Dr. White clearly shows the biblical defense for the Trinity and he also shows how errors have evolved about the doctrine.
This book is very helpful for studying the doctrine of the Trinity or even God Himself (John 17:3). I urge all disciples of Jesus to read it and pray through it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Forgotten Trinity, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Forgotten Trinity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Praise the Father, Son and Holy Ghost!

Date:September 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
simon94
Location:The Netherlands
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading this masterpiece! I'm really thankful for James White for the great job that he has done in this work. So filled with biblical truth, that Jesus Christ is indeed God Almighty, the Father and the Spirit likewise. Absolutely loved it! Would recommend it to everyone who wants to understand the Trinity.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Forgotten Trinity, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Forgotten Trinity.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Essentials of the Trinity

Date:November 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Burnett
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dr James R. White has provided Christians a good beginner-to-introductory text for understanding, appreciating, and loving the centrality of the doctrine of the Holy Trinity of divine persons. Though not intended to be an exhaustive study of all the exegetical and historical issues involved, The Forgotten Trinity nevertheless provides the reader with a good grasp of the central issues concerning the being of God, the work, claims and person of Christ, the deity and personality of the Holy Spirit, and the historical/exegetical disputes in Church history and today surrounding the divine godhead. Also provided -- at the reader's pleasure -- are longer expositions of several particularly vital issues in the end-notes. Though The Forgotten Trinity could certainly be expanded to include more discussion about proposed counterarguments against White's arguments, overall this book is a thoroughly recommendable text for every layman and elder.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Forgotten Trinity, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Forgotten Trinity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must for every Christian!

Date:November 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Poppy
Location:Madison, WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great reminder and explanation of what we learned as children! If you were not brought up as a Christian, you will learn how to defend the Trinity when telling others about your new life in Christ.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Forgotten Trinity, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Forgotten Trinity.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not exactly what I was expecting

Date:June 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ninja4Him1
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
In the beginning of his book he said that his goal for writing it would be so that we have a deeper love for the truth of our Triune God. But he didn't fulfill that goal in his book. He drags it out a lot and uses a lot of Greek text to defend the Trinity. I don't know Greek so that makes it harder for me to read his book. It seems as if he wrote this book to defend the Trinity against the Muslims. However, the beginning of his book is really good and has some really valuable knowledge. It might be worth buying just because of the first three chapters and to skim through the rest of the book. Or if you hardly know anything of what the Trinity is, this would be a good book. However, I recommend reading your Bible, especially the gospel of John, it has a lot more to say about the Trinity through the revelation of the Holy Spirit.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Forgotten Trinity, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Forgotten Trinity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Steve
There are libraries full of books on the Trinity and there are many more comprehensive than this. However, this book helped me to know more about God and develop a deeper relationship with Him in knowing more about his nature, his attributes, his truth, his purpose and his deep love for me. The explanation of the prologue in John was great and the discussion/notes on "monogenes/only-begotten" was very helpful since I had struggled with this from my days of memorizing John 3.16 in the KJV. The author many times goes back to the Greek text and shows its meaning in the context of the culture and times of the early church. This is so helpful. The book is also somewhat an apologetic in that it touches upon some of the improper interpretations of God, especially the relationship between the Father and the Son, Jesus Christ. This book does a good job of discussing the coequality and coeternality of the three persons of the Trinity. I wish the book had a dictionary of some of the "churchy" terms like modalism, subordination, person, docetism, dualism, etc. but there are other sources for these.Individuals in our Bible study class have purchased this book and we are using it as our primary reading material in study of the Trinity. Coupled with other books like Wayne Grudem's Systematic Theology, Baker Publishing's Evangelical Dictionary of Theology, Justo Gonzalez's The Story of Christianity, historical Christian creeds, and several good commentaries, it has allowed us to know more about God and the persons of the Father, Jesus Christ the Son, and the Holy Spirit. This book is a great starting place for the lay person or the Christian who has been given opinions of who/what the Trinity is but sees some inconsistencies, has some skepticism and has questions. I highly recommend this book for us people. Enjoy.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Forgotten Trinity, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Forgotten Trinity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dejan
I finally understand the Trinity after reading this book. I realized how wacky my understanding of it actually was when I first opened these pages. Yet now I see the beauty of the Triune God in a way that I never did before. This book made me weep, the God of Scripture is beautiful. Truly, White's refutation of cultist misrepresentations of God is highily valuable for those who know the common arguments against the truth of the Trinity. The Trinity is the HIGHEST truth that God has revealed about his nature. If you don't believe in the Trinity, get this book and may God open your heart and eyes to the truth. Truly, the Trinity is irrefutable Scripturaly and intellectually, it is the onlyway to account for plurality and uniformity.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Forgotten Trinity, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Forgotten Trinity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Wayne
In 'The Forgotten Trinity' Dr. White lays out the truth of the Trinity in an easy and organized way, while exposing some of the doctrinal errors of the Watchtower Society and LDS. The footnotes are very helpful as well. I wholeheartedly recommend this resource.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Forgotten Trinity, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Forgotten Trinity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jeremy Gardiner
Easily the best piece of meat i've ever chewed on. So in depth. I finally understand the Trinity!!! BUY IT!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Forgotten Trinity, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Forgotten Trinity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
Rick
The goal of this book is to review the basics of Trinitarianism in order foster a greater appreciation of this important and foundational doctrine. He wants to help Christians to know, understand, and love the Trinity. As he states in the beginning, this is not an exhaustive defense of every argument regarding the Trinity. His presentation is clear, well organized and well documented. He opens up the significance of the Greek text without being overly technical; if do you understand Greek, his comments are all the more enjoyable. It was packed with valuable insights and so interesting that I had to read every footnote as well!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Forgotten Trinity, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Forgotten Trinity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2002
I enjoy the books by Dr. James White of Alpha & Omega Ministries of Phoenix, Arizona. He gives strong evidence for the historic Christian faith in light of Mormons, JW's, and other cultic groups.Dr. White helps to better understand the biblical doctrine of the Trinity in this book. It is his firm belief that the Trinity is often neglected as an important doctrine of the faith and therefore, many Christians fail to truly understand the glory and greatness of God.This book is not purely a book against morals or other false concepts of God. It is simply a wonderful and fresh look at various texts concerning the Trinitarian nature of God. Your faith will be encouraged as you stand in awe of the greatness of our God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Forgotten Trinity, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Forgotten Trinity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2000
Customer Avatar
A reader in California
In an era when doctrinal truths seem to have taken a back seat in the Christian church, James White makes a great case as to why Christians should take the time to understand the fundamental and historical teaching of the Christian Godhead. Anyone who is dealing with JWs, Mormons, or modalists needs to read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.