Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nowbible (danteck) NowBible Color, NKJV The Word of Promise--Audio/Video Bible Reader (4 GB)

Nowbible (danteck) NowBible Color, NKJV The Word of Promise--Audio/Video Bible Reader (4 GB)

The Word of Promise Audio Bible, featuring a star-studded cast, motion picture sound effects, and a captivating original music score, is now available on the world's most innovative Electronic/Audio Bible Reader, the NowBible Color. Now you can Read and Listen to The Word of Promise from the palm of your hand!

The Word of Promise, is a scripted dramatization and faithful rendering of the trusted New King James Version (NKJV) that presents the Bible in more than 90 hours of compelling dramatic audio theater. This world-class audio production immerses listeners in the dramatic reality of the Scriptures as never before with an original music score by composer Stefano Mainetti (Abba Pater), feature film quality sound effects, and compelling narration by Michael York and the work of over 600 actors.

Hear each beloved book of the Bible come alive with outstanding performances by a cast including Jim Caviezel (Jesus), Richard Dreyfuss (Moses), Gary Sinise (David), Jesse McCartney (young David and Daniel), Stacy Keach (Paul and Job), Ernie Hudson (Peter), Sean Astin (Elihu), Malcolm McDowell (Solomon), Joan Allen (Deborah), Lou Diamond Phillips (Mark), Luke Perry (Judas), Harry Hamlin (Nehemiah), Kimberly Williams-Paisley (Mary), Lou Gossett, Jr. (John), Jon Voight (Abraham), Marcia Gay Harden (Esther), Max von Sydow as Noah, and Martin Jarvis (voice of God).

Features
  • Serves as both an electronic bible and an audio bible, all in one compact device
  • Complete Old and New Testaments of the NKJV Bible with viewable text and synchronized audio narration
  • Text and Audio of The Word of Promise is broken down to the verse level
  • Listen to The Word of Promise through the built-in speaker or accessory earphones
  • New "Quick Jump" Navigation feature helps you find verses fast
  • "History" arrows, skip to previously viewed passages without losing your place
  • Smith’s and Easton’s Bible dictionaries
  • Electronic Concordance (search by keyword or phrase)
  • Bible Promises section for topical inspiration and guidance
  • "Bible in a Year" Reading plan for every day bible study
  • Bookmark, Highlight, or Record a note about your favorite verses
  • Words of Christ in Red
  • Repeat playback of Verse, Chapter, or Book
  • "Auto-Scroll" setting for manual reading
  • Cross Reference feature
  • Bible Quiz function to test your biblical knowledge
  • Large and Giant Print text modes
  • MP4 player supports MPEG video files and Widescreen format
  • MP3 player supports MP3/WMA sound files
  • Photo browsing function
  • U-disk function with free USB cable for file transporting and charging
  • Micro-SD Card slot supports up to 8 GB Micro SD card for additional storage of music, video, and photos (Card not included)
  • PDA functions with powerful personal information management software including:
    • Contacts
    • Calendar
    • Task
    • Memo
    • Sketch
    • Voice recorder
    • World clock
    • eBook reader (.txt files only)
    • Calculator
  • 3.2 inch TFT true color touch screen
  • Stylus included for optimal touch screen navigation
  • Improved button control for one hand navigation
  • New 4GB Memory edition features enhanced sound and video quality
  • Rechargeable lithium-ion battery that can be charged by PC or AC Outlet
  • Package includes NowBible Color, stylus, slip case, user manual, compact earphones, built-in speaker, USB Cable, and wall charger adapter.
  • 1 Year Manufacturer Warranty
  • Measures 2.6 x 4.5 x 0.6 inches (W x H x D)
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 1283%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for NowBible Color, NKJV The Word of Promise--Audio/Video Bible Reader (4 GB)
Review 1 for NowBible Color, NKJV The Word of Promise--Audio/Video Bible Reader (4 GB)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great Bible, other features lacking

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
wildweedeater
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband bought me this for Christmas.
The good:It is a really nice dramatized version of the NKJV, and I like that you can also read along. You can also search by book, chapter & verse. It's a good carry along size for use while walking or working out.
We did a test download of a couple songs, a picture, and a short video. Those seemed to work well.
The not so good:
We could never get the concordance to work.
The touch screen was very picky. I tried to calibrate it several times & it still didn't always work.
The PDA is terrible. There is no place for an address unless you put it in the "notes" section. It froze up on the second contact I put in; we couldn't turn it off without resetting it.
Customer support has been outsourced; English is not the 1st language of the support staff & they are not available all of the time.
2 of the 4 GB are taken up by the Bible, so there is actually only 2GB of additional memory. The memory can be expanded.
Bottom line: We returned it, but not sure what else is out there to replace it, unless I want to buy a smart phone & pay a monthly fee. . . . Maybe my expectations were too high. It is a nice version & is probably fine if you mainly want to listen to the Bible. Probably also good for music.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NowBible Color, NKJV The Word of Promise--Audio/Video Bible Reader (4 GB)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product

Date:November 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
leslie
Location:trussville al
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service and products are amazing!!! This product is portable and has a great sound.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NowBible Color, NKJV The Word of Promise--Audio/Video Bible Reader (4 GB)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All in ONE package=handy

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
glad4grace
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I waited to purchase one of these for a long time, as I'm old fashioned in the way of appreciating reading from my Bible with highlighter and journal in hand. This does it all--makes notes, highlight, text is very easy on the eyes, and I plug my mini mp3 speaker in if I need more volume...only if listening from another room, otherwise the built-in speaker is amazingly great sound. f
If I ever lost my NowBible, I would purchase another. It's that valuable to me. I like that I can eat dinner, while being hands free to read/listen. God Bless you all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NowBible Color, NKJV The Word of Promise--Audio/Video Bible Reader (4 GB)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Value

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jim Langley
Location:Farmington, ME
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mp3 player meets all expectations and more. It is the perfect Bible tool. I'm still discovering all its functions, most of which I'll probably never use. All I wanted was a great mp3 player with the Word of Promise (NKJV) on it. I juggled all the options: IPOD, Cowen, Sanza Clip Zip, buying the MP3 cd's, joining Audible. I found that this was the best value for my money. Jesus' words are in red, which can be turned off if you can't read red. The font/print size can be enlarged. The recording is excellent as is the audio. It comes with 2 styluses. (sp?) Extremely easy to use. I walk a mile a day, and I needed something smaller than my Kindle Fire (which also has the Word of Promise on it) to walk with. My wife is now getting my old iriver mp3 with the NIV dramatized version on it. It's a nice change switching between them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NowBible Color, NKJV The Word of Promise--Audio/Video Bible Reader (4 GB)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible has great features

Date:May 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sandra Dewberry
Location:Maple Heights, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is really a blessing for Bible lovers, for those who love to read the Word of God and those who have busy schedules. It is wonderful for daily Bible Study and to read the entire Bible in a year or even several times a year. You can easily squeeze some time in a busy day for reading this Bible. I love the highlights and bookmark sections. I even have my favorite pictures and music downloaded. I have also purchased the NLT and KJV NowBible's and given away some as gifts.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NowBible Color, NKJV The Word of Promise--Audio/Video Bible Reader (4 GB)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product offers many feautres.

Date:February 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Santa Fe
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this is an excellent product which helps me with my continuing Bible study. I love the dramatizations as the Scriptures are read audibly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NowBible Color, NKJV The Word of Promise--Audio/Video Bible Reader (4 GB)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love "The Word of Promise" NowBible

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
TXBibleFan80
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Word of Promise NowBible does everything it is advertised to do. I enjoy the fact that I don't have the clutter or hassle of nearly 80 CD's which was the only previous way to enjoy listening the Word of Promise. Now all of the great audio from Caviezel and all of the excellent narrators fits in my pocket and goes with me everywhere.
I too read the review regarding text errors in The Word of Promise NowBible, so I contacted the publisher. They shared that the following 3 MINOR text errors are present in the original version:
1) Ephesians 4:26 incorrectly contains the word "not" in front of angry.
2) Galatians 3:15 contains a question mark in the word "covenant."
3) Matthew 12:32 misspells "it" as "bit will be forgiven him...."
It turns out that both the Ephesians and Matthew errors were actually present in the original Text files from Thomas Nelson, the publisher of the NKJV Word of Promise. The question mark error in Galatians was a matter of file conversion in the programming process, and was a slight error on the part of the NowBible engineers.
I have been assured that a software update will be made available by 3/1/12 on the NowBible website and that the original text files are being corrected by Nelson. In fact, these issues are so minor that I likely won't even bother updating since there is no other reason to. If you love listening to and studying the Word on the go, you will love this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NowBible Color, NKJV The Word of Promise--Audio/Video Bible Reader (4 GB)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not an accurate text bible

Date:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
sinterboy
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I contacted NowBible customer service in January 2011 to let them know I found multiple text mistakes in their NKJV WOP NowBible. Veronica, (NowBible) Danteck Customer Service Rep., told me they were aware of the mistakes and informed me that an update would be released in May 2011. It's now January 2012 and Danteck still hasn't made updates available. Danteck customer service did not respond to my additional voice messages or emails after May 2011, so I have no idea if they will ever release updates for this product. I would not recommend anyone purchase NKJV WOP NowBibles due to the many text errors. Danteck does not appear to ensure its products are error free before selling them – something everyone who purchases a Bible would expect!
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NowBible Color, NKJV The Word of Promise--Audio/Video Bible Reader (4 GB)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Awesome product for on the go persons!

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
John Richardson
Location:America's Hiways
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First I thank God for all who made this Gadget possible, from the concept idea to the actors and actresses who played the voice parts, Thank you!
Next, thank you for sending me the Nowbible so quickly.
Other than a few skips in the voice parts, I think it is a wonderful product for me. I being a Truck driver don't have set times to adequately read and comprehend it as it is intended.
What I do have is the over abundance of listening time to hear the word of God as I sit driving down America's hiways. The Word of Promise version is AWESOME! Get it and you won't be sorry!
Sinscerely,
John F. Richardson
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NowBible Color, NKJV The Word of Promise--Audio/Video Bible Reader (4 GB)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Help To Read The Bible Through In A Year

Date:May 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Magic Bus
Location:Kalamazoo, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use my NowBible Color, NKJV The Word of Promise along with my NKJV MacArthur Daily Bible. I purchased a connector wire from Radio Shack for less than $9.00 which connects my NowBible directly into my AUX In on my car radio. So whatever I cannot read on a daily basis in book form, I "pick up" using my NowBible either while driving or walking the dogs, waiting someplace, etc.. The bookmark feature on the NowBible makes it extremely easy to know exactly where you left off to begin again later. So finally, after years of starting on and off, I am meeting my personal goal of going through the entire Bible in a year. The audio quality is wonderful- and the device itself durable (I have dropped it a few times)- A+ Recommended highly!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NowBible Color, NKJV The Word of Promise--Audio/Video Bible Reader (4 GB)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The sound effects bring the words to life!

Date:March 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Girl Pilgrim
Location:Dublin, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A woman in our bible study group brought her nowbible to share with us. I was immediately hooked and ordered my own when I got home. I love everything about it but really enjoy the convience of having a bible in my purse. Now when I find myself waiting for a friend, a doctor's appointment or even the drive-through I can read or listen to scripture. The bookmark is great. I don't have to remember where I left off!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NowBible Color, NKJV The Word of Promise--Audio/Video Bible Reader (4 GB)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
finch
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great for finding verses, love the color screen.
love the sound. like hearing a movie.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.