Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books The Veritas Conflict

Multnomah Books The Veritas Conflict

Claire Rivers races to the mailbox to receive a letter of acceptance to Harvard University while a heavenly battle rages. In this fast-paced, suspenseful novel, the ageless war for the hearts and minds of students on our college campuses is revealed. Conflict between unseen evil and angelic forces reflects their battle for victorious living amidst confused messages. When Claire and her roommate encounter attacks on their faith, a deeper mystery - involving Harvard's Christian heritage, the pull of money, and a dark plan for societal corruption - unfolds around them. Will they succumb to temptation and destruction? What has become of Harvard's founding motto: Veritas, Christo et Ecclesiae - "Truth for Christ and the Church?" Can Claire - with other praying students and their parents - counteract the forces of humanism and relativism...and what will it cost them to do so?
Average Customer Rating:
4.947 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Veritas Conflict
Review 1 for The Veritas Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an excellent book!!

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debra1776
Location:Fullerton, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read this book twice! Great insight into what is going on all around us in the spiritual realm. The charactors and situations are realistic. Suspense is my favorite genre and Veritas has it!! I hope Ms. Feldhahn is planning to write more like this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Veritas Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exellent

Date:November 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's been years ago since I read this book. Now I see it again at CBD and I want to tell that I enjoyed the book a lot. When I started reading it I hardly could stop for the night. Exellent book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Veritas Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra Gilbert
This is an exceptional story. It was bought as a gift for my future daughter-in-law so I haven't read the entire book. From what I've read, the story is a true to life account of how our decisions reflect our thinking and how our thinking is influenced by spiritual activity we do not see. This story also teaches the power of prayer. As Christians we have been given a purpose for living that will continue even after we are gone from this life. God is Faithful and is not a debtor to any man.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Veritas Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Judy Howard
I read this a long time ago & always wanted it for my own library as I think Shaunti Feldhahn is a really good author. This book deals with good & evil the how our angels are involved in our lives. You won't put this one down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Veritas Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jessica
I cannot explain how this book has deepened my relationship with the Lord! It has really hit home the importance of continued daily prayer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Veritas Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Aleks Stewart
Love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Veritas Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2005
Customer Avatar
Sarah
I may not be any where near going to college--in my last year of middle school--but I love reading, and lately, I've felt a strong urge to read Christian books. There are a few other books dealing with the Christian lifestyle that I have read, but The Veritas Conflict is by far the most effective one I have read thus far. I want to have a more intimate relationship with the Lord and to help other people find their way to Him. When I think about referring The Veritas Conflict to a fellow Christian, or someone whom wants to know God, I get excited.This book has done so much, to encourage me and to finally give me a better way to explain something to someone else when they ask a question about Him and/or His ways (those that aren't really understanding, and are confused, like Bethany). The author does such an amazing job of clearing things up, and Id be sure that if the Holy Spirit was working on someone wanting to know God, then maybe reading this book could be the key to finally coming to Him. This book is so touching, so true, and just wonderful. I would strongly encourage others to read this book, Christian or not. Especially if theyre seeking a way to get to know Him.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Veritas Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2003
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Superior suspense, and characters with plenty of dimension make this novel a great read! I've been criticized elsewhere for saying that the angel and demon characters weaken the book, but unfortunately, their personalities and actions are too cardboard, and what's worse, our seeing things from their perspective gives away a little too much of the mystery, and hurts the suspense. But Feldhahn is a terrific writer, and it's still a great book. Can't wait for her next one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Veritas Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2002
Customer Avatar
Elise
This was an excellent book!!! I read it right before I entered College this summer and WoW!! It really put me on guard. Every college student should read this book. Parents get this book for your kids before they leave for College. ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL book. I couldn't put it down
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Veritas Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2002
Customer Avatar
Lisa
This was a GREAT book. A must read for all! It reminds you that each day is a battle and the importance of prayer and fellowship with God. I found myslf so unable to put it down and spending more time in prayer. I hope Shaunti Feldhahn continues to write such insightful books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Veritas Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2002
Customer Avatar
Linda LaRock
My husband & I are reading this out loud to each other. Wow! This is a must-read for high schoolers heading to college, and their relatives. Since the author graduated from Harvard, you can be assured you're getting a pretty accurate picture of the pressures and challenges students face. She covers many topics in the life of the main character, such as cheating, drinking, sexual temptations and abortion, homosexuality, and we're not finished yet! You see the challenges believers face in secular classrooms regarding their faith and beliefs. Like Peretti, you see how Satan really does want to destroy unbelievers, and the faith of believers. The love of the Heavenly Father comes through over & over again. Don't wait to read this. Even as an adult you will learn a lot about how to defend and share your faith with others.Recommend this to your high school youth groups.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Veritas Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2002
Customer Avatar
ColleenO
[I wanted to rate it a 10+++++] I can honestly say this was the most awe inspiring, easy-to-read (and understand), eye awakening fiction book I have read in years. Even though it is a fiction, Shaunti was able to apply biblical truths interwoven with her characters that hit home so deep it is a life changing experience. It has encouraged me to spend more time in the word and in prayer. Having homeschooled my children (long, long ago, they are all graduated from college now) I knew many of the truths she adds into her fiction on how the enemy has taken over the public school forum for his kingdom. You won't be wasting your time with this book. I encourage you to read it and hold on to your seats. Your life will never be the same.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Veritas Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2001
Customer Avatar
Michael Littlefield
This book shows how far America has declined in morality over the years. I think that Christians and non-Christians should read this book in order to get a better understanding about what Christianity is all about. The discussion over Ephesians 5 was very interesting (you will have to read the book in order to find out what the discussion was about and what was said). I also found it disturbing that there are "churches" that allow the true enemy (Satan) into their midst. I was also disturbed at what the public education system teaches, tolerance and yet are intolerant to Christianity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Veritas Conflict
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2001
Customer Avatar
Keith
Good book...quite interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Veritas Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2001
Customer Avatar
Pattie
I thoroughly enjoyed this book! It was hard to put down. It made me laugh, made me cry, and made me think. I wish I'd had this book when I was a graduate student at a secular university; it would've opened my eyes to what was going on both inside and outside the classroom. (Interesting note: This summary lists Claire's name as "Shibbol" but in the copy of the novel I have, it's "Rivers." Hmm...)Anyway, it's a great summer read and I give it the full 5 stars!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Veritas Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2001
Customer Avatar
Karen Sexton
I found the Veritas conflict to be entertaining and encouraging reading. It is a book that deals with the problem people of faith have to come to terms with in our "faith hostile" environment. How do I defend my faith in love and without judgement. Two things will linger in my mind after reading this book, one, God has a special call on the life of every believer who wants to take a stand for Him--not right or wrong, but Him, and I should never forget where the real battle is--the spiritual realm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Veritas Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2001
Customer Avatar
Teresa
Occasionally, you find a book that not only entertains you, but also makes you think - this is one of those books. Written in the style of Frank Peretti, this is an excellent book that you can't put down, and you can't forget once it's finished. Tops my list for a summer must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Veritas Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2001
Customer Avatar
Debbie B.
Couldn't put this book down. Along the lines of This Present Darkness, it was definitely a reminder of the spiritual warfare being waged all around. It also reminded me of the supreme privilege and importance of prayer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Veritas Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2001
Customer Avatar
Kathy D.
Awesome book! Everyone who defends their faith in a academic setting should read this book. The characters are believable. The earthly and the heavenly battles are clearly laid out - demonstrating the importance of prayer and study in order to be "ready to give an answer" for the faith you have. If you like Peretti you will like this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.