Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Grave Consequences: A Novel - eBook

David C. Cook Grave Consequences: A Novel - eBook

Cora Kensington faces life-changing challenges when her European tour with her wealthy family takes her through Austria, France, and Italy. As an unseen enemy stalks her, her heart is torn between a dashing Frenchman and a man who's been quietly claiming her affection. Whom will she choose? Will her decision put her loved ones in danger?
Average Customer Rating:
4.28 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
0
19 out of 2576%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Grave Consequences: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Grave Consequences: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not As Good As the First, But Still Good

Date:December 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unfortunately, this book was a bit of a disappointment. I read the first book in the series, and I wasn't overly impressed, but there was some action that at least captured my interest. This book lacked that somewhat, and I wish I could put my finger on it, but I can't.<br/><br/>Now don't get me wrong. As far as historical romances go, this was better than mediocre. It is a clean, inspirational, and moralistic. I'm glad to see the characters turning to God at various times for direction. Will and Cora are the main ones who rely on God as they seek Him concerning their future. <br/><br/>There is some mystery, intrigue, and some minor action. I can't say it was overly exciting, but it did add some interest to the story. For that, I was happy. The writing of the book is fine, and it is clear that the author has done some research so her book comes across as "period." <br/><br/>I guess my biggest complaint with the book is that it is practically the same story that has been told over and over again. The surprises are kept to a minimum, and the characters are rather stereotypical. <br/><br/>But in fairness to the author, the story is typical, but well-written. And it clean and Christian. It also gives a very positive message. All these things make this book worthy of a four star rating.<br/><br/>I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grave Consequences: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cora is on the Grand Tour of a lifetime. Traveling through France, Austria, and Italy with her new family; she is slowly discovering more about herself and who she is. Her heart is at risk of falling in love with a dashing Frenchman who bestows every attention upon her - but instead finds herself drawn to a man that is expressly off limits.
Every decision she makes will directly affect her future and family. Time is running out, as an unforeseen foe stealthy tracks their progress and threatens to cut the exciting trip short. Will the decisions she makes ultimately win her family's respect or drive them away? And which man will be worthy of having her by his side forever? How can she possibly know she's making the right choices for her life?
The story just gets better and better. Just when I thought I had it all figured out, something would happen that would completely throw me off track. I read through the early morning hours because I had to know where the adventure would lead. This novel was breathlessly captivating and beautiful in detail and style of writing by Bergren. Everything we dream about in one place was present: danger, intrigue, romance, and a peek into the past. A wonderful story and a must read for anyone who believes in love.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grave Consequences: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Grave Consequences picks up right where Glamorous Illusions left off. It seems like the reader is just turning the page to go to the next chapter instead of starting a new book. With the beginning of a new book, the setting is still France; however, the group has left Paris and travels to Provence. They also travel to Geneva, Vienna and Venice during this portion of their tour.
Cora seems wishy-washy in this installment. I didn’t like how she treated Will and what he had at stake if he pursued their relationship. I also found it hard to believe that she thinks after this tour of Europe among the rich and famous she is just going to go back to college, complete her teaching degree and get a teaching job. She has had a taste of the finest life has to offer and I think she is kidding herself that she will be able to just give it up and pick up her old life easily. A man like Wallace Kensington always has his own interests held first and is at home being in control. Can Cora stand up to him to get the life she wants? Is she really a part of the Kensington family or does she just share their name?
I enjoyed the first book in this series, but this second book seemed to drag. It easily could have been shortened by 50-75 pages and would have taken nothing away from the storyline. There were some suspenseful moments. I still enjoyed reading about all the different places visited and liked the author’s descriptive words, allowing me to imagine what these places might have looked like. The details depicted make me want to travel to some of these places. The third book in the series, Glittering Promises has just been released and will be reviewed here soon. I want to read the third book to see how the lives of these characters pan out. I hope in this last book in the series the plot moves faster and is less wordy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grave Consequences: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cora is on the Grand Tour of a lifetime. Traveling through France, Austria, and Italy with her new family; she is slowly discovering more about herself and who she is. Her heart is at risk of falling in love with a dashing Frenchman who bestows every attention upon her - but instead finds herself drawn to a man that is expressly off limits.
Every decision she makes will directly affect her future and family. Time is running out, as an unforeseen foe stealthy tracks their progress and threatens to cut the exciting trip short. Will the decisions she makes ultimately win her family's respect or drive them away? And which man will be worthy of having her by his side forever? How can she possibly know she's making the right choices for her life?
The story just gets better and better. Just when I thought I had it all figured out, something would happen that would completely throw me off track. I read through the early morning hours because I had to know where the adventure would lead. This novel was breathlessly captivating and beautiful in detail and style of writing by Bergren. Everything we dream about in one place was present: danger, intrigue, romance, and a peek into the past. A wonderful story and a must read for anyone who believes in love.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grave Consequences: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Second in Series Adds Depth

Date:June 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed the first book in this series, but I thought that this book changed some adding depth to the characters and broadening the story. Few of us today realize the constraints that people and especially women lived their lives before WWI. All the members of the traveling party grow due to their experiences, as was the intention of the parents that sent them. The scenery and activities are beautiful and interesting, with enough action to keep the reader connected to the story. I thought this book was better than the first, and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys historical romantic fiction without the romance element hitting the unbelievable level.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grave Consequences: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Story

Date:May 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
deanna13
Location:Jonesboro, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grave Consequences by Lisa T. Bergren was a great story about the continuing travels of the Kensington’s and Morgan’s. It is still the summer of 1913 and the Kensington and Morgan siblings are continuing their Grand Tour in spite of the attempted kidnappings and other problems they faced during the first half of the tour. Cora’s journey of a lifetime is also giving her a chance to get to know herself, to realize what she truly believes about God, and to discover what she really wants out of life. Cora is also still trying to decide if it is Will or Pierre that she truly loves and this indecision seems to put a lot of plans in danger. As the group travels through Austria, France, and Italy, they realize that the man attempting to kidnap Cora is still following them. The two fathers have joined the group for the travels through Italy. It is in Italy that the kidnapper makes his final move which leads to a lot of suspense. It is somewhat of a surprise when the identify of the person who hired the kidnapper is revealed. I had a feeling that the person was involved but was still surprised at how and why he was involved.
Just as in the first book, the author again did an excellent job developing the characters and bringing them to life. The plot had several twists and turns and the suspense just kept building with each chapter. Just as I had everything all figured out, something else would happen and I was again left wondering. With Will now the bear of the group, the lectures about what they were seeing were more interesting for the group. As he was describing all the things they were seeing, I was seeing them in my mind right along with the group. The dialogue and interactions of all the characters were also very well developed. The author’s extensive research was evident throughout the book.
I recommend this book just as highly as I did the first in the series. Actually this book just might be a little more exciting, at least for Cora but that excitement is tempered with a good bit of fear. There also seems to be more interaction between Cora and Will which I really enjoyed.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from David C. Cook at Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grave Consequences: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worth reading if you enjoyed the first book

Date:May 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have enjoyed Lisa's books in the past, but when I read "Glamorous Illusions" (the first in this series) I was a little disappointed. Although I wasn't expecting to be "WOWED" in this book, I had liked the first one just enough to care about what happened in the second.
The thing that stands out the most in "Grave Consequences" would be the beautiful places their group visits. The plot borders on monotonous, but they do visit some spectacular destinations and it makes you want to travel. Like who wouldn't want a European tour, especially one in the days of flowing dresses and handsome men in suits.
Characterization is mediocre and the point of view skips from 'first person Cora' to 'third person Will'. Am I the only one who thought this was a little odd???
I would recommend this book only if you read the first one and liked it. I read it. I enjoyed it. I probably won't read it again, but don't let me stop you from doing so. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grave Consequences: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Scenic Writing

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Happy Reader
Location:Columbia, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"How much did we do in life that was the result of what others around us demanded? Rather than what God was calling us to do?"
Cora Kensington has it hard. Taken from her comfortable country home and parents, she's brought into a well-to-do family she didn't know she belonged to until recently. Lime-light didn't seem to suit her, but now she has a part to play in it, and she must learn to cope with it. As well as her biological father's wishes for her.
This is the second book in Lisa T. Bergren's Grand Tour series, and although I didn't read the first, I didn't have a difficult time in finding my way around this one. It wasn't exactly stand-alone, but it was understandable and made me want to pick up the first book of the series.
Ms. Bergren takes us on our own Grand Tour with her rich tapestry of writing and flowing descriptions of places most of us are likely never to travel. Full of gorgeous imagery, at times you can almost smell the places Cora and the others are visiting. Add a little romantic angst, (and who doesn't love that?!) a little intrigue, and a little suspense, and you have a wonderful book to spend your weekend with. Recommend!
**My thanks to David C Cook publishers for providing me with a copy in exchange for my honest review. These thoughts are my own, and I was not required they be positive.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grave Consequences: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointing Sequel

Date:April 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Teddy G
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have to say that I was disappointed in this sequel to Glamorous Illusions. When I read the first book, I was able to enjoy the story with the caveat that I wanted more - I wanted Cora to search harder for what this new life adventure meant for her and her relationship with God. If possible, this book had even less of that - it was really about Cora deciding which suitor she wanted to accept. There was a little bit in there of how this Tour had changed her life and changed who she was, but it didn't seem to be for the better, except that it made her richer and made her lief easier. Her continuous doubts over whether to choose Will or Pierre felt very shallow. It took her maid, Anna, talking about how working for the Kensingtons changed her own life, for Cora to even really evaluate whether she could make something good of the changes that had been forced upon her. And as much as Will fell in love with Cora for her intelligence and lack of airs, it didn't take long for her to become at ease with the grand dresses and to become more interested in Will instead of the lessons and education he was presenting on the tour.
Overall, I did not enjoy this book, even as much as the first. I can only give it 2 stars. It felt drawn out, and even the descriptions of the cities and sites were languorous. Too much shallow pursuit, and too little internal soul-searching or depth of relationship made this book a rough read. I will probably still read book 3 to see how it finishes, and I will continue to read Ms. Bergren's other works, as I have found them to be much more enjoyable, but this one was not a favorite.
I received a copy of this e-book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Grave Consequences: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I’ve been anxiously awaiting this book, because I so much enjoyed Glamorous Illusions—the previous book in this series. I couldn’t wait to see how Cora’s life would continue; for which young man she’d choose how the relationship would develop with her long lost brothers and sisters…
Lisa Bergren is a great author—she has a marvelous way with words. In this novel the words also flowed from the pages, but for some reason this second book in the Grand Tour Series didn’t capture my attention as much as the first book did. I think I’ve picked up the book about 5 times to put it down again after a couple of pages. Although I’m still a great Lisa T. Bergren fan, this book is not among my favorites and it’s not likely I will pick up the third and last book in this series.
*Thanks to the publisher for providing me with a review copy through NetGalley.*
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Grave Consequences: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Grave Consequences

Date:April 1, 2013
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The novel Grave Consequences by Lisa T. Bergren begins with Cora Diehl learning that her father is not her birthfather. She is the daughter of Wallace Kensington, a wealthy copper baron. She soon joins her half siblings and their wealthy friends on a grand tour of Europe.
This is where the mystery begins. An attempted kidnapping of Cora takes place in Paris. The Kensington children along with their friends and tour guides continue on the grand tour having to constantly look over their shoulders for the men who are after them.
You will remain on the edge of you seat as you read this book greatly anticipating the ending!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Grave Consequences: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved travelling!

Date:March 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
BeckieI
Location:GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This 2nd book in the Grand Tour Series was even better than the first! I couldn't put it down. And when I had to, I was wondering what was happening to the characters!
Lisa Bergren wrote this story so well that I truly felt like I was travelling right along with Cora Kensington & her half siblings!
Can't wait for the next book in the series! Write fast!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Grave Consequences: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grave Consequences

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ah! Another complete home run from my twitter friend and amazing author Lisa Bergren!
I fell in love with this series through Glamorous Illusions and fell even more in love with Grave Consequences. Both are amazing books with incredible characters and a very interesting story line.
First, I must say that I love how Lisa can make us like BOTH of the main guys in the book. It took me back to River of Time and the whole Rodolpho and Marcello craziness... I knew I wanted Gabi with Marcello but Rodolpho sure was a great option too! I felt the same about Pierre and Will through this book.
Cora faces so much in these books as her whole life is turned upside down. I thought the ending of this book shows her strength to move forward and her ability to follow God's leading in her life even if she is unsure of her role in her new circumstances.
I appreciated the many twists and turns of this story and how Lisa gets all the characters exactly where she wants them to be by the end of the story.
Yet, you know the story isn't over because there is so much more to learn about the lives of the characters in the book!
I am really enjoying following these young adults through Europe, especially when we will call France home for a year or so very soon!
Thanks, Lisa, for another amazing book! Bring on Book 3!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Grave Consequences: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Did Not Disappoint!

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
CharityUAusten
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hooray! This second book in the Grand Tour series by Bergren did most certainly not disappoint in the least! It was absolutely riveting…I couldn’t stop reading. The story moves along quickly and smoothly through several fascinating European locations, following the travels and yes, drama, of Cora and her companions. It’s full of well-thought-out plot twists and turns that you most certainly will not suspect. Between those enthralling locations (can I go?! Please?!), gripping suspense (you won’t be able to put it down either…), and unexpected surprises, this book come together as a must-have for any Bergren fan. Just make sure you read “Glamorous Illusions,” book one, first…it’s crucial to understanding this one. Be warned – it doesn’t end with everything neatly wrapped up! There’s still a dose of mystery (and we have to wait HOW LONG for “Glittering Promises”?!). Overall, it was an amazing book and I did love it.
**Litfuse Publicity Group supplied me with this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to post a positive review, nor was I paid in any way other than the book.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Grave Consequences: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Too long...not as good as book 1

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I enjoyed Glamorous Illusions (book 1 in Bergren's Grand Tour series) and was looking forward to continuing Cora and the Kensington's story in Grave Consequences.
I didn't find the continuation as exciting as I'd hoped; in fact, I was bored in several parts. I love descriptive passages and historical lessons, but they seemed to drag on and on in this book. I wanted to skim and hurry up to better parts. I really didn't care to hear about another glass of bubbly champagne with strawberries (yeah, another thing that didn't impress me) or the dry history of this town or that monument. As I said in my review for Glamorous Illusions, I had a hard time believing spoiled, rich, young socialites in days gone by were as rapt in their attention to their tour guides as the characters in these books have been.
The entire book wasn't all boring - exciting events certainly took place, like diving off castle walls, a bullfight gone awry, mountain climbing, and evading the bad guys in Venice.
However, wading through 400+ pages full of extras made reading this one a bit of a chore for me. Will I read book 3? Hm...not sure. Just like book 1, Cora arrives at a decision in the last few pages, but the reader doesn't know what the outcome will be until the next book. Do I want to know the outcome? Maybe, but I really don't want to read pages and pages of 'stuff' to get to the main things: which life will Cora ultimately choose? Will her father always manipulate? What happens to Will?
If you have time, you might enjoy this loong book. I, however, was a bit disappointed and bogged down by the extras.
*I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was given, and all thoughts are 100% mine.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Grave Consequences: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

And the journey continues!

Date:March 16, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first book in the Grand Tour series made my "best of" list for 2012, so I was really looking forward to reading Grave Consequences to see how the story continued. I was excited to pick up where Book 1 left off (so you'll definitely want/need to read them in order) and continue on their Grand Tour. One of the best parts of this book to me was the journey through France, Switzerland, Austria, and Italy. Lisa's descriptions of these incredible places have definitely given me a bit of travel fever! Now if only I could figure out how to travel back in time 100 years to see it as Cora did!
Cora really began to come into her own in this book. It felt like she was more comfortable with herself and with her new siblings and their friends. A few times, I saw that she was really struggling with what her life would be like after the Grand Tour was over and she returned home. The love triangle that she finds herself in was definitely interesting. I really liked one of the two guys (though the other one is a great guy too), but I'm not sure that she's going to choose him in the end.
Grave Consequences was full of suspense and intrigue as the traveling party is still being followed and harassed by strange men. As bad things continued to happen, I loved seeing how the different characters responded. It made for an interesting adventure!
The only drawback is that we'll have to wait until this fall to read the conclusion to this incredible series. I can't wait to find out who Cora falls in love with and how their story ends (or begins :)! [5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from David C. Cook & Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Grave Consequences: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't Put Down Historical Fiction

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
ShooflyMama
Location:SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't wait for this second book to come out, and as usual Lisa did not disappoint. This book picked up where Grand Illusions left off, and I had no problems picking up the story line.
I enjoyed watching the relationships grow and change between Cora and her siblings as well as the other members of the Tour. Without giving anything away I can say that I felt that both Cora and Will had to do some serious soul searching in this book. I learned much about the history of Europe as the group traveled around, and the intrigue and suspense had me unable to put the book down several times. Just when I thought I knew what was going to happen there was another twist and the plotline took another turn. Each of the characters matured during this part of the journey as well.
I now can't wait for the final book in this series to come out. Lisa has done extensive research and the story lines as well as the historical and geographical content are all done wonderfully. I highly recommend this book.
*I received this book for free for my review. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Grave Consequences: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of Bergren's Best!

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
RonieK
Location:Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GRAVE CONSEQUENCES, the second book in the Grand Tour series, is one of Lisa Bergren’s best novels to date. The adventure, danger, and intrigue that faces Cora Diehl Kensington honestly never let up. A time or two, it felt like a bit much, but the mastery with which Bergren wove this tale headed off my negative thoughts with compelling characters. I admit it—I was conflicted over who Cora should be with. Does that make me a bad person? She just did a fantastic job making both potential suitors equally attractive. If Cora had waved more, I would’ve fought Bergren over the ending. Alas, the story was spectacular and the characters to-die for—and they almost do! I strongly recommend GRAVE CONSEQUENCES—in fact, ANY Lisa T. Bergen novel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Grave Consequences: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grave Consequences (The Grand Tour series#2)

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lisa continues the story that began in Glamorous Illusions, literally picking up where she left off. I would definitely recommend reading the first book in the series before reading this one.
Danger continues to follow the Kensington's and the Morgan's as they continue their Grand Tour through France, Austria, and Italy; despite the risk of a kidnapping by the shadowy men who continue to follow them.
Cora, still struggling with the issue of which man, William or Pierre, to give her heart; also has to decide if she is going to follow her heart or her father's wishes. The consequences of her decision will be far reaching.
There were captivating moments like the various dances they attended wearing stunningly beautiful clothes. I think I gained ten pounds just from the thought of eating such delectable food, then there was the cliff jumping and even a nerve-wracking glacier climb (my heart was in my throat during both of these scenes). These moments, the danger and adventure, kept the story flowing even through the final pages.
Also, I loved that Cora and William took their joys and fears to God, praying over decisions that needed to be made, for protection, for each of the other Kensington and Morgan children, as well as, for the people hired to guard and protect them.
I have never physically been to Europe, but as I continue to read The Grand Tour series, I am traveling with the characters to places I can only dream and read about. I love how the descriptions make me feel that I am there right beside the characters, seeing and experiencing the same things they are.
Now I only have one problem... I have to wait until October 2013 to read Glittering Promises (book 3 in the Grand Tour series).
**Grave Consequences (the Grand Tour series #2) by Lisa T. Bergren was provided for me free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Grave Consequences: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Romance, History, and Suspense

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Location:New York, NY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Grave Consequences, the second book to the The Grand Tour Series, is a story of finding your identity in a world were your mold is set and finding your place in life.
As the party journeys into the grandest and historically rich places, France, Austria, and Italy, danger continues to trail behind them. Not only are they in physical danger, but Cora's heart is as well. She must choose between her heart's desires and her fathers wishes. Cora is faced with many decisions and each choice has the potential of bearing grave consequences.
Following directly after the previous book, Glamorous Illusions, it allowed the reader to pick up the pieces and enjoy the new adventures. The historical depth was a huge bonus to the story. As we traveled throughout the European continent it was as if we ourselves were touring and seeing these grandeur sights aswell. The mysterious enemy that appeared throughout their journeys provided for a tremendous suspenseful edge.
Written in Cora's perspective allowed for the reader to see her many internal struggles. Her many inner conflicts in her once in a life time fairy tale world added the necessary depth to make Cora all the more realistic. Provided that Cora lived all her life on a farm she seemed to adapt rather quickly to the society life which she knew nothing of before. Her many escapades provided laughs, sighs of frustration, tears and cheers.
This novel had a nice balance of romance, history, and suspense. I would have definitely loved for more spiritual topics. The character did a lot of things in her own strength and would have avoided a lot of heartache had she called to God in the first place.
Though I would recommend this books for its exceptional writing style I would however, not recommend it if you have yet to read the first book to the series. I look forward to reading the last installment to the series and extending my European tour with the beloved characters. I give Grave Consequences a 4 out of 5.
I received this complimentary copy for free from Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my independent and unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>