Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Behold Your God: Studies on the Attributes of God - Woman's Workshop Series

Zondervan Behold Your God: Studies on the Attributes of God - Woman's Workshop Series

In this study of God's character and person, each lesson covers a truth about God's character: loving, supreme and sovereign, all-powerful, good, omniscient, all-wise, omnipresent, immutable, faithful, holy, just, and worthy to be praised. It prepares participants "to consistently lean on God," and "to know him"; it also encourages practical application of this knowledge to daily living. Women who are serious about Bible study--and the spiritual growth it can impel--will enjoy the Woman's Workshop series. You won't just sit passively and let your leader do all the work; instead, you'll complete one brief on-your-own "discovery session" each day and share your insights in the weekly group lesson. This approach demands commitment--but it also delivers results! No group? You can use this series on your own, too. Each study has built-in helps for leaders. From Zondervan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Behold Your God: Studies on the Attributes of God - Woman's Workshop Series
Review 1 for Behold Your God: Studies on the Attributes of God - Woman's Workshop Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just What I was Looking For

Date:April 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Saved by Grace
Location:Manassas, Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was asked to be a Mentor for a young woman in our church. She wanted to learn more about the attributes of God. I searched on Christianbook.com for something appropriate, and found this little book. I was particularly looking for a study that had more "meat" than commentary and that primarily had us searching scripture to discover for ourselves Who God is and what His attributes are. This book does that, along with being an easy book to use for any age woman (or, in this case, a teen).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Behold Your God: Studies on the Attributes of God - Woman's Workshop Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must for any one wanting to get to know God

Date:October 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
chalkindecker
Location:Central Valley, California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a great resource to anyone wanting to get to know God in a personal way. You will be taken through many books in the Bible and learn more about the creator of all.
This guide will help you to learn in a few weeks more about him and who we were created to be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Behold Your God: Studies on the Attributes of God - Woman's Workshop Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great study book.

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bev J
Location:Beaverton OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for a new Christian who lives in England. Having completed this study book a few years ago, I felt it would answer many of her questions about God.
She wrote and said it is just what she needed. I highly recommend this study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Behold Your God: Studies on the Attributes of God - Woman's Workshop Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good resource

Date:July 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
kgerb
I am using this book as a resource to guide me as I lead a women's study on the attributes of God. The rest of the group is not using the book, but I wanted it for my own benefit. The author has done a good job of compiling verses related to the attributes of God as well as providing a context for their application in daily life. A few times I didn't necessarily agree that her chosen verses were quite on target, but there were so many that were that it didn't make a difference for me. As always, you should listen to God first, not an author, when studying scripture, but she does a nice job of providing a framework from which to work. It was difficult to find the kind of book I was looking for, so I was thankful to find this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Behold Your God: Studies on the Attributes of God - Woman's Workshop Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very uplifting

Date:July 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ashley
Location:Boise, ID
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is excellent for those wanting to learn to trust God more. The author helps the reader see God more clearly from Scripture and learn to trust Him completely. Great study!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Behold Your God: Studies on the Attributes of God - Woman's Workshop Series
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good, but missing good group discussion questions

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:Alexandria, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This was the only study I could find in small group Bible study format on the character attributes of God. It is generally pretty good, but it is lacking personal application questions and questions to get group discussion going. There are a lot of questions with short answers that don't engender group discussion. After the first two chapters, each chapter has a section that focuses on several chapters/one story (such as Joseph in Genesis). I really enjoy those sections. It takes 1 to 2 hours to do the study because there are a lot of short scripture references to look up (one or two verses at a time).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Behold Your God: Studies on the Attributes of God - Woman's Workshop Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible study

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
florida mom
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our small group has completed 5 lessons. They are very good. There is a lot of looking up Scripture, but that's what a Bible study is for. The lines to respond are sometimes short, but you could easily write in the margins, or use a journal. Very good material, that all Christians need.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Behold Your God: Studies on the Attributes of God - Woman's Workshop Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Maryanne Wtulich
Location:PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for people who are brand new to Christianity or have been Christians for a long time. Only downfall is that is
it is written for women only, and that there is not enough answer space for each question....but it is a wonderful study and well liked by our group...which has men and women in it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Behold Your God: Studies on the Attributes of God - Woman's Workshop Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE this updated classic!

Date:June 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
csiouxaz
Location:AZ
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All new Christians should become familiar with the attributes of God from His Word! This is a great way to do it, individually or as a group -- especially for women!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Behold Your God: Studies on the Attributes of God - Woman's Workshop Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
kaybelle
Location:Lamesa,TX
Age:Over 65
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have not yet begun the study, but the book came at the expected time; the value is good...I also ordered a Bible from you after receiving this study. Your service is very good and prompt.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Behold Your God: Studies on the Attributes of God - Woman's Workshop Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deborah Lewis
This truly is a lifechanging Bible Study. If we can focus on God's incredible character, when life's trials come along we will not faint. I did this study in the midst of a HUGE trial in my life where my worries and fears became reality, yet this study helped me to put my focus on the Lord and learn to trust Him with everything. It taught me to praise Him in the midst of the storm. :)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Behold Your God: Studies on the Attributes of God - Woman's Workshop Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janet Heckathorne
Nothing will help your spiritual life as much as coming to understand the character of God - a lifelong process of course but this booklet will be a great help in that process.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Behold Your God: Studies on the Attributes of God - Woman's Workshop Series
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2009
In content, I agree with the other reviews. The subject is great and the author covers them well with interesting questions. However, the studies require a great deal of looking up many verses throughout the Bible which takes most students a lot of time, and the publisher has allowed extremely little space for writing answers which is frustrating. The "built-in helps for leaders" was 1.5 pages at the end, not helps for each lesson.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Behold Your God: Studies on the Attributes of God - Woman's Workshop Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Charleen Bower
As a small group leader, I have really enjoyed working with this book. The subject matter is pertinent to both mature and new Christians, and is a wonderful tool for growth no matter where along the journey each member may be. The author provides an even blend of scripture and relevant life application, so that each lesson holds the interest of those who join us while at the same time arousing the desire of those involved to know God more, and examine who He is in their lives. We have truly been able to take the awesome nature of our God, which most of us have already known, and see it in a larger and more tangible way. In addition, the questions are great conversation starters. As a matter of fact, we often only are able to get through a few questions because we have had such valuable discussion time. We have not only learned more about God, but have opened ourselves to each other in a way we never have before. I like this book so much that I have already purchased more of Myrna Alexanders resources so that we can continue to reap the benefit of the small group experience we have begun with this study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Behold Your God: Studies on the Attributes of God - Woman's Workshop Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jan Olmstead
I have participated in Bible Studies using this book on several occasions, both as a learner and as a learner/leader. In either capacity, I re-learn each time what a marvelous God we have. I'm reminded that He is trustworthy, and worthy of my praise. This is really a foundational study for any new believer, and a good reminder for seasoned saints!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Behold Your God: Studies on the Attributes of God - Woman's Workshop Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2003
Customer Avatar
Paula Rutherford
What a blessing this book is! It is definitely true that big things come in small packages, for this little book is packed with the truth of God's wondrous character. I love this study and highly recommend it to all the ladies I know. You will truly behold God and never be the same!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.