Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Fearfully and Wonderfully Made - eBook

Zondervan Fearfully and Wonderfully Made - eBook

In Fearfully and Wonderfully Made, renowned surgeon Dr. Paul Brand and best-selling writer Philip Yancey explore the human body. Join them in a remarkable journey through inner space - a spellbinding world of cells, systems, and chemistry that bears the impress of a still deeper, unseen reality. This Gold Medallion Award winning book uncovers eternal statements that God has made in the very structure of our bodies, presenting captivating insights into the body of Christ.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fearfully and Wonderfully Made - eBook
Review 1 for Fearfully and Wonderfully Made - eBook
This review is fromFearfully & Wonderfully Made.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Doug
Location:Onekama
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very well written. Buying three more copies to hand out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fearfully and Wonderfully Made - eBook
This review is fromFearfully & Wonderfully Made.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good insights and biology made interesting

Date:September 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fearfully & Wonderfully Made" is a Christian devotional-type book. Dr. Brand talks about how the various parts of the body (cells, skeleton, skin, etc.) work and then draws from this insights about us as the "body of Christ." I really appreciated his insights and how he made biology very interesting. Although everyone can enjoy this book, I was also thinking that home-schooled teens might enjoy reading this before studying biology as it'll make the textbooks a lot more understandable. I'd highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fearfully and Wonderfully Made - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Paul Brand is my new hero

Date:March 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cannot help but compare Dr. Paul Brand and Philip Yancy with "Mountains upon Mountains" writer Tracey Kidder and Dr. Paul Farmer. I wish Dr. Brand were still alive. While both doctors are/were completely committed to their patients, Dr. Brand's commitment rose out of his commitment to Christ, and it shows. His compassion for humanity and for the church shines in Yancy's writing. I can imagine his meeting with God: "Well done, good and faithful servant." I was particularly touched by his story of inventing shoes for the man whose feet were continually damaged by normal footwear due to his leprosy. The entire book is full of such stories, coupled with a bit of instruction on the working of the human body, and how such workings are metaphors for the body of Christ. I loved this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fearfully and Wonderfully Made - eBook
This review is fromFearfully & Wonderfully Made.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall a good book

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dean
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I picked this book up because my daughter was reading it. I really enjoyed how Paul Brand described the various functions of the body, going into details that I have never heard before. He had a great way of interweaving this into a description of the body of Christ, which I felt in most cases was interesting and enlightening. The problem I had with the book was in the chapter on bones. When you have two authors it is not possible to know whose ideas you are reading. I got the impression I was hearing from Philip Yancey. Comments like "When the human race was young on a planet of unbelievable expanse and few people, the law "Be fruitful and multiple" was obviously appropriate. But we have obeyed that one command so well that all life is now endangered. We need to place new emphasis on our responsibility for the soil and wildlife and perhaps slow down on our multiplying." Then a couple of paragraphs later he writes, "These issues do not call for sweeping revisions of creeds and beliefs, but they do evince a need for some members of the church to reflect, study the Bible, and pray, and then lead the way in reinterpreting the will of God for their own generation." Does the will of God change? Is the earth now more important than children? God knew the situation the world would be in at this point, so why didn't He say, "Be fruitful and multiply until the earth is full, then quit." The problem is not overpopulation, but sin. Children are a gift from God. "Psalms 127:3-5, "Behold, children are a gift of the Lord; The fruit of the womb is a reward. Like arrows in the hand of a warrior, So are the children of one's youth. How blessed is the man whose quiver is full of them;. . . NASB
I feel the book still may have too many of Philip Yancey's prejudices and past hurts weaved throughout it as he alluded to in his preface when he writes, "I have written honestly about my early struggles, due in large part to lengthy exposure to toxic churches".
Overall the book is worth reading, but like any book written by a human author, you need to align it with the Word of God.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fearfully and Wonderfully Made - eBook
This review is fromFearfully & Wonderfully Made.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Presbyterian Pril
Location:Mission Viejo, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This title is probably the most inspirational and well-received of Philip Yancey's books. He collaborated with a renowned physician to study the human body from a spiritual aspect combined with the physical. The reader has no doubt that God created man in His own image. This book is continually checked out of our church library as reader interest is high.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fearfully and Wonderfully Made - eBook
This review is fromFearfully & Wonderfully Made.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
laurylyn
I loved this book, and it's sequel, In His Image! Reading it renewed my faith in God and how wonderful and creative our Abba Father is! The one example I can remember the best is that it takes 19 individual and sequential steps, for our bodies to clot blood after an injury! That's a lot of different processes to happen and in order, otherwise a cut on the finger could have terrible consequences. Scientists and medical professionals have a close up look at God's creation to learn of Him better, and now we can have that up-close look to get a more accurate perspective of our Creator and Savior! Thank you Dr Brand and Mr. Yancey for collaborating on a wonderful set of books to lead us back to the Lover of our Souls!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fearfully and Wonderfully Made - eBook
This review is fromFearfully & Wonderfully Made.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
kent snoeyink
As a Christian teacher of Science in a public school this book helps me keep my perspective and it renews my awe for our Creator. Everyone should read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fearfully and Wonderfully Made - eBook
This review is fromFearfully & Wonderfully Made.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ralph Rolfe
It is a classic on the analogy of the amazing human body created by our Lord and the spiritual Body of Christ which is the Church. I would encourage anyone who wants to be amazed at the intricate details of the human body and how they relate to the Body of Christ to get this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fearfully and Wonderfully Made - eBook
This review is fromFearfully & Wonderfully Made.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2000
Customer Avatar
John Sears
This is one of the ten most important books for believers. It contains insights that have powerfully helped me minister to and counsel with others. Buy several (paired with "In His Image" by the same author) and give them as gifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.