Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Sparkly Green Earrings: Catching the Light at Every Turn

Tyndale House Sparkly Green Earrings: Catching the Light at Every Turn

Written in the familiar style of her blog, "Big Mama," Sparkly Green Earrings is Melanie Shankle's quirky memoir of motherhood. Hilarious and heartwarming from a mother who's still trying to figure it all out, her personal stories will cause you to laugh out loud and perhaps even weep. Her faith in God sparkles throughout her writings. Entertaining and uplifting!
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
16 out of 1889%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sparkly Green Earrings: Catching the Light at Every Turn
Review 1 for Sparkly Green Earrings: Catching the Light at Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Giggle on Every Page

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shai
Location:Norfolk, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sparkly Green Earrings is a tremendous book! The writing will make you seriously laugh out loud, cry and then laugh again. Melanie Shankle has an incredible way of making the everyday life of a mom extraordinary. This is a book I’d buy for every mom-to-be, new mom, and experienced mom from this time forward. It’s a joyful journey into motherhood. There were many times I had to read entire chapters to my husband because he wanted to know what was making me laugh so hard! She always brings her analogies back to the heart of God and makes each story applicable to every women longing to live for Jesus. I absolutely loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sparkly Green Earrings: Catching the Light at Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun easy read for Moms in the midst of chaos

Date:August 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sparkly Green Earrings is a wonderful memoir by Melanie Shankle, author of the Big Mama blog and a regular contributor to ThePioneerWoman.com. She is fun and witty as she recounts her experiences with getting pregnant and having her first child. She talks about the infant years, preschool, expectations of other parents, and how becoming a mom changed her. She has a wonderful sense of humor and is candid and honest about her journey as a mom.
Chapter titles include "I Wanted My Epidural in the First Trimester", "That Time I Didn't Sleep for Four Years" and "Potty Training:Bringing People to Their Knees Since Forever". She recalls incidents where she went crazy and to great expense creating a shoebox float for a yearly celebration for her daughter's preschool and it ended up being paled in comparison to other parents crazy creations. This is a great, fun, easy read that will have you laughing right along with her. I really enjoyed how honest she was and how much I could relate to her stories. As a mom, I really liked this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sparkly Green Earrings: Catching the Light at Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun read

Date:August 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
mduncan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was written much like a blog, but it was very good. It was a light, easy, fun read that had me laughing pretty much the whole way through. The book was very relatable. I loved this book and will be recommending it to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sparkly Green Earrings: Catching the Light at Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Charming Memoir

Date:August 3, 2013
I'm not a mother, and I don't know if or when I ever will be. However, Sparkly Green Earrings still resonated with me. Yes, it's a book about "motherhood," but it's so much more than that. It's really about relationships and friendships and trusting God when we don't know why things happen like they do. It's about growing up and growing out of our selfish tendencies so that we become more like Christ each and every day.
Melanie has a special gift for writing about her personal life experiences in a way that still strikes a chord with readers. I found my eyes misting over as she talked about her miscarriage, and then mere paragraphs later (not even the next chapter!) I was guffawing loudly enough for Hubs to roll over and ask what was wrong. (I have GOT to stop reading in bed after my husband has already fallen asleep!!!)
This is an incredibly charming book, one I am happy to recommend! [5 stars]
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sparkly Green Earrings: Catching the Light at Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hilarious book on raising a daughter

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
luvs to cook
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are feeling overwhelmed by life or need a lift, this book is for you. Melanie Shankle pokes fun at everything from using eight pregnancy tests to verify her pregnancy to a year later going to the dentist hoping she’d have a cavity so she could get some sleep while he was filling her tooth. When Caroline was two, Melanie sat on a swing with a little dried bird poop on it. When Caroline wanted to switch swings and she saw the swing Melanie had been on, she said in her loudest voice, “Mama! Did you poop in your swing?” And then there was the Thanksgiving Caroline had the stomach flu and managed to cover Melanie not once but about a dozen times. As you laugh through each situation and there were numerous, Melanie pointed to Jesus, the one who loves us unconditionally and doesn’t make mistakes. It truly is a fun book to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sparkly Green Earrings: Catching the Light at Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Funny, funny, funny!

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kristy
Location:Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked this book up based on its title. What girl doesn’t like jewelry? I was a bit surprised and disappointed when I found out that it was a “mom” book. Don’t we have enough of those? Let’s get our bling on. However, let me just say that anyone, mom or not, will love this book. Reading it will be time well spent. It is about a real person, admitting to some real things, trying her best every day. And it’s FUNNY. I never laugh out loud while reading a book, but with this book, almost every other page was a LOL kind of moment. You will want to read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sparkly Green Earrings: Catching the Light at Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Funny

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melanie Shankle, author of the Big Mama blog, wrote this book about motherhood. It's an easy read and full of crazy tales about her family. I thought this book was a lot of fun to read. I haven't read the author's blog, but I'll have to check it out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sparkly Green Earrings: Catching the Light at Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book to read before having children.

Date:July 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kris
Location:Fairfax, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish I had read this book before I had children - Melanie made me laugh at so many things I encountered when my children were young. From before the stick turned positive, through birth and new mommy exhaustion, potty training and preschool and finally elementary school, the author makes you laugh! The only chapter I didn't enjoy was the one where she justified only having one child since I didn't feel that was necessary. I hope she has another book for the teen years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sparkly Green Earrings: Catching the Light at Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Laugh-out-loud funny from beginning to end!

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
aklinslow
Location:Anchorage, AK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ohhhhh, there are no words! This is just the funniest book I have ever read. Literally from the "Preface" all the way to the "Acknowledgements", "Sparkly Green Earrings" is laugh-out-loud funny! Melanie Shankle is one talented writer who has incredible comedic timing, and her parenthetical statements are case in point. :)
Although I'm not a mother, all of my friends are young mothers and I've gone through the pregnancies, labors and child-rearing with them, and Ms. Shankle just captures it all perfectly. Impressively enough, she also has the ability to bring you to tears with the harsher realities of motherhood, like miscarriages, yet even there she's found the humor (and isn't that the key to survival?). Ms. Shankle also brings it all back to God and our relationship with Him, as parenting a child is such a good picture of His relationship, care and love for us.
All in all, the best recommendation I can give is the fact that as soon as I finished the book, I ran out and bought copies for my dearest sisters and friends. I guarantee you will NOT regret reading this book! Its my favorite of the summer so far!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sparkly Green Earrings: Catching the Light at Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A collection of stories, not a cohesive story

Date:July 15, 2013
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The book reads like lots of blog posts, which makes sense since the author is known for her blog (which I have never read). Some of the stories are down-right funny, but others are just nice. I appreciate her "keeping it real" but thought there might be more substance than there was to the book. She also should've led with why she chose the book title and brought things full circle. Instead, I felt the title and subtitle were more an after thought and that the book itself didn't really relate, which made me sad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sparkly Green Earrings: Catching the Light at Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Oh the joys of motherhood...

Date:June 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shelli W
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sparkly Green Earrings...so, I wasn't sure what to expect. I had read a few blog posts by Melanie and definitely enjoy her sense of humor on The Twitter, but a full length book? Well, I was definitely not disappointed. There were a few times I laughed SO hard there were tears (which of course makes for an attractive snorting, sniffling, giggle-fit...). This would be a great read while sitting by the pool/lake/ocean/bathtub. :)
I would have given the book a full 5 stars, but it did feel like a bunch of blog posts put together into a book. Miss Melanie, I DO hope you write another book soon and I look forward to reading it. Just a little more flow instead of feeling like the end of a blog post at each segment within a chapter. I enjoyed reading more about this family and will definitely continue to laugh and enjoy the humor on The Twitter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sparkly Green Earrings: Catching the Light at Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Uncharted Motherhood

Date:June 16, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a parenting memoir, so the story follows the basic "We had a baby. Now what do we do with it?"plot line. Shankle is brutally honest about her adventures in parenting a.k.a comedy of errors. There are plenty of vignettes from babyhood on: covering preschool "gifted" programs to potty training under pressure to nearly "missing the window" for an epidural. Since the book follows her daughter pre-birth through age eight, Shankel also delves into the later troubles of girl scouts, clothing arguments, and finally watching her daughter wear her first pair of earrings, sparkly green ones.
While at many times I found myself disagreeing with Shankle's parenting choices, this isn't a how-to manual. This is a scrapbook of the journey from adulthood to motherhood down a very bumpy, uncharted road. And in being frank about the white bread sandwiches and the nightmare birthday parties, Shankle makes the valuable point that no parent, adult, child, or person is perfect. All you can do is your best, and let God figure out everything else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sparkly Green Earrings: Catching the Light at Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Definitely worth reading

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
reli
Location:WI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Laugh out loud hilarious! I do not have any children yet, but this book talked about the joys and trials of motherhood in a fun way that makes even the disasters seem memorable. It inspires me to see the joys in every moment and to laugh rather than cry when things seem to all be going wrong. Very good writing style. I want a sequel covering the teenage years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sparkly Green Earrings: Catching the Light at Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Funny, Eye-opening, and Encouraging

Date:June 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Though I couldn't relate with too much and didn't agree with all of the author's parenting choices, I did find some profit in this book. Sometimes her sarcasm seemed slightly mean, though I'm sure she only meant to be funny, and I got a few laughs/smiles from the stories. It also made me appreciate the complexities and strength mothers must have if they are to be good mothers (even if it's slightly scary). It also ended on a positive, sweet note, which is good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sparkly Green Earrings: Catching the Light at Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Melanie Tells Motherhood Just the Way It Is

Date:June 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sparkly Green Earrings by Melanie Shankle is her memoir of motherhood thus far. Within its 27 chapters, Melanie takes us from the decision to have a child to her daughter’s eighth birthday. She covers sleepless nights, preschool challenges, sandbox socialization, and why road trips are worth the effort. As I laughed and, sometimes, empathized, my way through each chapter, I often had to agree, “Yes—that’s just the way it is.”
If you’re preparing for motherhood or deep in the trenches of child rearing, you’ll find comfort in Melanie’s stories, knowing others have been through it, too. Sparkly Green Earrings will help you see the humor, hope, and joy. And, if you’ve already grown through the early years, this book will bring back treasured memories as you giggle with another mother who has been there and done that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sparkly Green Earrings: Catching the Light at Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Guilt and Joy of Motherhood

Date:July 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
georgettegirl
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Usually, I don't read memoirs but this got such good ratings, I thought I would try it. It is a funny and surprisingly touching look at the journey of motherhood. The author writes about her miscarriage, surviving the infant stage, struggling with toddlerhood, and learning to let go as her daughter gets older. I agree with her when she describes motherhood as a "delicate dance of guilt and joy." She weaves in the lessons that she learns about God as she is raising this little blessing that God has given to her. She has a funny sense of humor which made the book go by quickly (I especially enjoyed her chapter about her elderly neighbor---very funny!).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sparkly Green Earrings: Catching the Light at Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

1star book

Date:May 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Peggs
Location:Beaumont, Tx
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Never read the blog, but book is very poorly written.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sparkly Green Earrings: Catching the Light at Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hysterical - Couldn't Stop Reading

Date:May 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
AlyciaMorales
Location:New Mexico
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Warning: Do not drink anything while reading this book. You'll be reading, and all of a sudden, in the middle of a paragraph, you'll bust out laughing.
I loved reading Sparkly Green Earrings. Melanie Shankle brings humor and nuggets of simple wisdom into the topic of motherhood. Her writing is honest and real. If she and I lived next door to one another, we'd be best friends (and so would our husbands). Oh how much to have in common!
I highly recommend this memoir. By the time you finish reading, you'll be saying, "Oh. So I'm NOT the only one." And it'll be a book you'll pick up again and again just to remind yourself that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.