Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Shepherd Press Shepherding a Child's Heart, Revised and Updated

Shepherd Press Shepherding a Child's Heart, Revised and Updated

Many parenting books are based on hit-or-miss theories steeped in secular thinking. This one draws from Pastor Tripp's seasoned experience as a father-and from God's Holy Word. Grounded in the Bible's divine plan for parenting, this guide defines your goals as a parent and provides the Scriptural methods for accomplishing them.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (85 reviews)
5 stars
65
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
15
22 out of 2588%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shepherding a Child's Heart, Revised and Updated
Review 1 for Shepherding a Child's Heart, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good until discipline section

Date:March 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
RVA Jason
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The book was a good read, providing an approach that deals with the heart. As parents, we need to deal with the heart of the issue not just the symptom behavior. This approach is the correct one, focusing on the child's sin. He lays out steps to constantly point our children in the direction of God and restoring their relationship with Him.
However, he lost me with the level/quantity of spanking. I agree with his method of how spanking should go Spanking should be explained, a tool to correct the child, and never done in anger. I could not imagine spanking my child every time she does not do exactly as i ask the first time at 1-2 years old. Also, he mentioned spanking as early as a young crawler (6 months old?). This seems way too early to me.
Also the stressing of spanking as a discipline being a Biblical mandate is interesting since he deviates from this once the child is older in favor of more effective discipline methods. It is also important to remember that we are not to there to break the spirit of the child. This would be the case with my sweet and sensitive child.
Overall, I believe this is a good book. I am just not going to subscribe to his discipline philosophy regarding spanking as being the only option for discipline as a small child.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shepherding a Child's Heart, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Book that declares a Godward Heart & Orientation

Date:December 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I believe that from what I have gleaned thus far from this book that it definitely speaks to the voids that many Christians have instinctively sensed in their hearts and lives.
Oh how much better so many of us would have been if we'd embraced and witnessed such Godly wisdom from infancy. I am so grateful for the voice of this Author on behalf of all who shall receive––and to the one who mentioned this book to me because she instinctively knew exactly what the Lord was communicating in my life, by doing so affirmatively and graciously.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shepherding a Child's Heart, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is positively different!

Date:April 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
mother2four
Location:NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read a lot of parenting books but none like this one. I felt both conviction and hope. Tedd Tripp helped me to see my role as a parent in a whole new light. My children and I are so blessed to have found this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shepherding a Child's Heart, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My son is proof -- it works!

Date:March 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ps Norman
Location:Melbourne, AU
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
17 years ago, we had the privilege of having Tedd and his wife, Margy, visiting us at a time when we hit a brick wall in handling our first child. They taught us how to "discipline in love". We read the book and practiced it; good results followed immediately.
My son is 18. We couldn't be happier. He is a happy young man with lovely character and excellent moral discernment.
Now, I am a young adult pastor. I highly recommend this book to all parents.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shepherding a Child's Heart, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read for Every Parent

Date:March 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
christina
Location:Atlanta, Ga
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has changed my life and challenged my way of thinking. The book has showed me deeper truths about the heart of children - how to best guide and relate to them. The book has a lot of wisdom about the use of biblical authority. It points out that discipline is for the sake of correction, not punishment. And how we as authority figures are not to focus merely on correcting bad behavior, but on engaging the child's heart for their spiritual well-being. After all, the goal is not raising well behaved children but Christ-seeking disciples. Tripp shares how confronting sin and encountering grace will transform the heart of our children.
I will be straightforward and say the book does advocate corporeal punishment (spankings). But Mr Tripp does so in a very biblical framework. Proverbs repeatedly mentions using "the rod" - and let's not forget, parents did not use timeouts/ groundings in ages past, so the idea should not shock us; rather, this is a new shift in thinking that reflects our modern way of thinking. But Tripp is very wise in the boundaries he advocates surrounding such measures: never doing it in wrath, never losing control, communicating love, and reconciling with the child after the act (not giving them the cold treatment).
I would highly recommend this book to anyone. Even if you don't agree with corporeal punishment, this is not the focus of the book, so there is plenty of wisdom to be gleaned from it relevant to all parents. I cannot say enough good things about it!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shepherding a Child's Heart, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Some scary directives hidden behind good intention

Date:January 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
jdkoch22
Location:Columbus, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The man thinks it is suitable to use corporal punishment (spanking, hand slapping, etc) against 8 month old babies. I understand the desire to train children to obey and to discipline them based on their heart issues. Tripp makes that clear at the beginning, and I appreciate that. However, could you imagine Jesus using corporal punishment against a child? Ever?
As parents we are to model to our children God's desire to be in relationship with us. This relationship is based on love and respect, not fear of punishment, but trust in his love because he first loved us and PUNISHED himself for our sake.
Discipline means teaching, guiding, leading. The verses in proverbs that are so often used to show that we ought to hit our children could be better translated. Please take time to research meanings for the Hebrew words translated "rod" (staff used to protect the sheep from wolves) and "child" (actually the word used probably means young man).
Don't just take Tripp's word for it.
While Tripp does a great job of laying out his intentions of training up children to love the Lord, and to discipline them by getting to the heart of the issues at hand in the child's life.... I encourage you to research the validity of HOW Tripp says we MUST discipline, as if he speaks for God himself that spanking and insisting on immediate obedience is the only way. God does not deal with us how Tripp says we must deal with our small children (and BABIES).
Still can't get over his description of how to discipline (hit) a disobedient 8 month old (in the first edition of this book). I don't think an 8 month old is able to disobey!
-21points
8of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shepherding a Child's Heart, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
two kids
Location:fort saint john, B.C.
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have found the book very helpful in raising my kids. I am finding it a personal growth challange as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shepherding a Child's Heart, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has had a very profound impact

Date:October 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Scott Casteel
Location:Port Saint Lucie, Fl
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Put simply, this book had affected my approach to child training and Biblical discipline more than any other book I’ve ever read on the subject. The Biblical truths and approaches are timeless and foundational to any family at any point of the growth process.
The surprise is that I learned more about pastoring a church from these pages as well. You can take the same approach of dealing with the heart concerning shepherding a congregation.
I have purchased a dozen of these books and have made them available through the church library. If we had the resources we would have purchased a copy for every family.
I wish I had read this book when it came out and my children were babies 
I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Shepherding a Child's Heart, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
momtolilman
Location:Missouri
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book had really challenged me and has given me great insight to a different way of parenting. I will read this book again and again on my journey of parenting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Shepherding a Child's Heart, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
okie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to read with great insight into disciplining a child while preserving self esteem
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Shepherding a Child's Heart, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful resource for Christian Parents

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
dctaylo3
Location:Spivey's Corner, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful resource for all Christian parents. Dr. Tripp does a great job pointing us to the real purpose of parenting: shepherding our children to follow Christ.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Shepherding a Child's Heart, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tameron Blanding
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book for biblical parenting! My husband and I shared new ideas and he outlined a lot of things he really appreciated about this book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Shepherding a Child's Heart, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an exceptional parenting book!

Date:December 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
bidusunshine
Location:Innisfail, Alberta Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am thankful for this book and how God has changed my heart through it. It has become a permanent reference guide for our family. It is scripturally sound and the GOSPEL is clearly the foundation on which this book has been written. There are many parenting books full of opinion and "modern techniques" -I believe this book has been written out of biblical truth and because of this, it stands out from the rest. I hope that many read it and benefit from the wisdom that it holds. If not for the clear direction in parenting, but the well being of our children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Shepherding a Child's Heart, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great for small group

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
seamstress2
Location:Lancaster,NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for small group of moms with children ranging from newborn to young teens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Shepherding a Child's Heart, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent and sound

Date:October 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Josh P
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Supurb book on the proper way to discipline. There are some negative reviews about the book, but those reviewers seem to have passed over the idea that discipline always involves love. I also have spanked my 8 month old, training her not to pull my moustache, and after only 3 sessions she understood, and has never pulled it again. Of course, they were very gentle spankings (and always on the back of the hand), but hard enough to get her to cry and understand that she did something wrong. As my children grow, the spankings get harder, and move to the backside.
None of my 7 children run around in fear of my spanking them, and they know that I love them.
It's important to realize that when a child feels loved by the parent, even overdoing the spanking will be forgiven.
I think many reviewers only saw the emphasis on spanking, and overlooked the emphasis on love.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Shepherding a Child's Heart, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Biblically strong

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
joey
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read this book 3 times on my own and now I am using it for a ladies Bible study. It is not only applicable for the parent, but for the grandparent and any person working with youth. Tedd Tripp brings the process of raising children back to basics...a matter of the heart. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Shepherding a Child's Heart, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Biblically sound

Date:September 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bmom2ten
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
As the mother of 10 living children and 2 in heaven I have to say that I have found the counsel of this book to be unwise. There are many who would say 'take the meat and leave the bones'. That is not Biblical. The Word of God tells us that the leaven of false teaching leavens the whole lump. While some pages contained sound advice for particular circumstances, the whole of the book contained an overall attitude of ruling children by fear of punishment. I was deeply saddened by the advice in the earlier versions of the book to take a baby's diaper off to spank his bare bottom. That is cruelty in the extreme. The idea that spanking is the only form of discipline that brings a child back into a right relationship with God and family is just plain wrong. That's like saying that God uses the same form of discipline for all His children. If that were true I suppose we'd all be swallowed by a great fish when we disobeyed as was Jonah. :-) The author condemns parents for using other methods such as 'time outs'. There are definitely times when we all benefit from a time of being still and reflecting on the wrong we have done. Once we come to the realization of our wrong led by the convicting power of Holy Spirit, we are free to repent and call out to God for forgiveness. Then we are forgiven by God's grace. We get to skip the 'being swallowed by a great fish' incident. :-) All joking aside, I feel that this book contains so many errors that its good points are overshadowed. Parents, especially young and inexperienced parents, should skip this book.
+3points
20of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Shepherding a Child's Heart, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Helen Kiroro
Location:Bristol, United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was desperate to know more on how to relate with my kids especially when it comes to discipline without ruining the relationship i have with them. After reading the reviews from others on this page, i decided to go for it and i do not regret it one bit. I have ordered four more for friends in church.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Shepherding a Child's Heart, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well above my expectations

Date:July 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
TaraDawn
Location:Moncton NB
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was from a lady that I greatly respect that I first heard of this book,and was very excited to read it for myself.But from the very first chapter it was clear that the Lord in His goodness had directed me to the wise instruction that can be found in it's pages.I found confidence,hope and an encouragement that has deepened my faith.My three young sons and I are thankful to Christianbook.com for providing such great material!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Shepherding a Child's Heart, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Advice, Excellent Work!

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
MommyOfTwo
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this book and it is like having a personal reference/friend that I go to when I have parenting questions. We have a 2 1/2 year old and an 11 months old. When I bought this book, my husband and I needed guidance on how to implement effective discipline in a loving manner, and this book gave us exactly that and more. I wish that we bought this book before our 2 1/2 year old turned one because this would have helped us prevent some discipline issues. One very important thing I learned from this book is to consciously guide/shepherd my children instead of waiting to correct them when they make mistakes. This book also affirms that my husband and I are on the right track in our parenting style. Thank you for writing this book. Excellent work!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.