Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Cross Design, silver

Tyndale House Cross Design, silver

Plain and simple, and totally unexpected--this small, plain text, NLT metal cover Bible is about giving teens something totally unique without directly saying it's for them. This Bible has the hippest exterior ever! With a metallic matte finish on the outside and the complete NLT translation on the inside, the Bible will be a favorite among students of all ages. Style-conscious teens will find this lightweight, compact edition of the Scriptures irresistible. Due to the metal cover, these Bibles cannot be imprinted.
Average Customer Rating:
4.474 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cross Design, silver
Review 1 for Cross Design, silver
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

1996 NLT and 2004 NLT VASTLY different!

Date:August 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
tucker
Location:Kansas City
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I like the metal Bible. My review of the product is related to something much more substantial than the cool binding.
Another reviewer mentioned that this Bible contains the 1996 version of the NLT, not the 2004 revised version. That reviewer stated something to the effect that it doesn't really matter, because there is not much difference between the two.
That reviewer is wrong.
The 1996 version of the NLT is VASTLY INFERIOR to its 2004 revision. The sloppiness of the 1996 version is precisely what prompted the 2004 revision. Do some research online, and you will see the veracity of this.
The New Living Translation (NLT) is copyright ©1996, 2004, 2007, 2011 by Tyndale House Foundation. The latter two dates have more to do with product *style* than with textual revision.
Nowhere in product descriptions have I found any attempt to inform the purchaser that the (vastly inferior) 1996 and the (vastly improved) 2004 (+) editions *are not the same texts*.
Since the 2004 revisions were quite significant in terms of restoring the integrity of the text, I find it disappointing that customers are nowhere given this information. If they want to buy the inferior edition, then let them - but I think they deserve to be given enough product information to make a truly informed choice.
Not all NLT editions are created equally.
DO NOT purchase a 1996 edition of this metal Bible, or any other NLT Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cross Design, silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love the cover.

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:Bronx, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bible. My husband got it for me for Christmas and I fell in love with it. It looks so cool. Everyone is always asking me where did I get it. I recommend this bible to anyone-- from young to old.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cross Design, silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It has served me well.

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Devon Haglund
Location:Bend, OR
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this Bible as a Christmas present a few years ago. I has held up pretty well. The size is very convenient and fits well in my backpack. The cover is just the right size that I can fit a pen and a few pages of paper for notes inside. The NLT translation is very easy to understand. My only complaint would be that the plastic securing the magnet keeping the Bible shut is starting to tear. Other than this, great Bible!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cross Design, silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I got them for my sons and they love them

Date:December 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
bicklelady
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sons wanted someting different and the metel bible cover was different so I bought those. I love them and now my hubby wants one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cross Design, silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the cover is wonderful

Date:November 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
mollydrew
Location:LAX,Ca.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The metal cover is great, no more curled corners from being in a backpack or left in the car. I bought the silver, pink, and camo, 2 girls 1 boy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cross Design, silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christine Viera
This is the second Bible I bought for my son, who is now 8. His last Bible was too "babyish" for him, and so for Easter he chose this. It's cool enough to satisfy his idea of a big kid, and is my favorite version of the Bible. He wants to look through it, it's a full Bible which he can use with Royal Rangers, and just to study on his own. I think this would be great for kids his age, all the way through to college age. Great concept, and great design. Love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cross Design, silver
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Monty
Great, durable, only complaint is that the words of Christ are not in red, that would be a nice improvement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cross Design, silver
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bobbi Lloyd
This is a Chrismas present for my grandson but when I laid my eyes on it in the box I was in awe it was so beautiful. I havve gone through this one as a teen sponsor I wanted to see what was in it and if if was ok for a teen. I think he is going to love it, I know I do. You get a A++++++++++++++ on this Bible
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cross Design, silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lynne Govers
This is an excellent product for traveling. Lightweight, small, clean. This is also a present for my 36 yr old daughter who is frequently on the move.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cross Design, silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tim Streeter
This was purchased to replace my travel bible. The built in case keeps it well protected in my travel bag. While the print type is small, it is an improvement on my last travel bible. All in all, a great bible at a super price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cross Design, silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Guenther
Smaller than we anticipated, but the Bible is great, and my son loves it! You can't go wrong with the NLT, and kids love metal...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cross Design, silver
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ksue
Super Bible! Only complaint are the stickers on the spine and back of book. Difficult to remove and left a sticky coating on the bible spine. I haven't tried to remove the back one yet - any suggestions?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cross Design, silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pat Hepperle
This is really a nice Bible and will be very useful for my teenage granddaughter who wants to carry a Bible in her backpack to school. She loved it as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cross Design, silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
S. Reed
Got this for my 9 year old son, he is actually reading in it! Really good for young kids because it gets dropped and thrown around A LOT!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Cross Design, silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Charlene
Wonderful bible! This bible is extremely durable! I do want everyone to know that the NLT version is the 2004 version and not 1994, but there is not much difference between them. The text is small but still readable. When closed the metal case has enough room for a small pen,pencil, or even highlighter. This bible would be the perfect gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Cross Design, silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melodey Rennie
excellent for those not wishing to look religious while seeking the Truth but the lettering is extremely small.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Cross Design, silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Arlene Sollars
My son loved it!!! He is fourteen years old and needed a Bible that was just right for him. It was a success.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Cross Design, silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Maryfrances Smeal
I purchased one for each of my teen grandsons. They are absolutely beautiful, and I know the boys will enjoy them..The metal cases make them so "cool." Thanks so much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Cross Design, silver
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2005
Customer Avatar
Madalyn Tanner
This is such an awesome thing. I was looking for a compact Bible that I could throw in my bag so I have one on me all the time, and this was the one! Its so durable and yet, the inside is Perfect! I end up reading this one more than a bigger bible! A Must Buy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.