Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Impact Player: A Memoir of Bobby Richardson

Tyndale House Impact Player: A Memoir of Bobby Richardson

Go inside the clubhouse of one of the most prolific dynasties in baseball history with Bobby Richardson, an outspoken Christian who's still the only player from the losing team to be named the World Series MVP. Playing alongside Mickey Mantle, Roger Maris, and others, he was instrumental in the creation of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Impact Player: A Memoir of Bobby Richardson
Review 1 for Impact Player: A Memoir of Bobby Richardson
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story of a Christian Yankee baseball player

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
luvs to cook
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An impact player is one who makes other players feel great and successful off the field as well as on, provides comfort and support in difficult times and exhibits peace, humility, and love. This was Bobby Richardson! Shortly before his 12th birthday he accepted Christ's gift of salvation. He had a great family with fond memories of playing catch and attending baseball games with his father and even getting Stan Musial's autograph. Courted by the Yankees when he was in high school, he signed their contract upon graduation. Put unfortunately in a class B training program, he bombed because of inexperience on offense. He couldn't hit. He was homesick. He was too focused on baseball, not God. Finally when they moved him to the rookie league, he began hitting once more, made friends with a Christian player, and met a young lady, Betsy, whom he would later marry. He began winning games. His advisor told him baseball would give him a platform to reach people for God and he shouldn't give up. What great honor did he win although he was on the losing team? Who helped Bobby fine tune his hitting skills and impact his confidence? What coveted Yankee league mark did Bobbie reach? At one point Bobby made a leaping, one-handed catch that no other second baseman could make. What happened to the tight-knit infield group: Moose, Tony Kubek, Clete Boyer and Bobby? Why did Bobby feel the 1963 season was the most impressive season? What made the 1963 All Star Game in Cleveland a nightmare for Bobbie? What costly error did Bobby make in the game with the Cardinals that caused his team to lose? On Saturday, Sept 17, at the Bobby Richardson Day at Yankee Stadium when his team wasn't going to win the pennant, 21,000 came to the game including his wife Betsy, his children, his mother and mother-in-law. Who sang as part of the service and what did he sing? What was Bobbie presented with? At the end of his speech to the fans, what 5 words did he say? What new challenge was he offered? What did his sons do that made him very proud of them? What did he lose that he later rejoiced about? What words of encouragement did he give his friend Dick with brain cancer that should encourage all of us no matter what our circumstances? How supportive were these teammates? What close family did his family enjoy being with when the father became a Yankee player? What memories of Mickey Mantle did Bobby share? All this and more is in this great book. If you have a husband or brother or friend who loves baseball, this is a marvelous book to give them, especially if you want to give them a manly view of Christ in life today.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Impact Player: A Memoir of Bobby Richardson
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good Book.

Date:August 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
hannah97
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Impact Player is a good book even for those who are clueless when it comes to anything sports related… like me. I will definitely be telling my friends about this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Impact Player: A Memoir of Bobby Richardson
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Must Read for All Sports Fans

Date:June 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The book Impact Player is a must read for all baseball fans. To be honest, I am not fond of sports, including baseball, but I decided to give this book a try because I have enjoyed reading autobiographies of Christians in the past. Despite my lack of sports fondness and ignorance of baseball, I did find the book to be enjoyable. I really appreciated the pictures in the book as well as the descriptions of some of the key players that were mentioned in the book. The reason I liked the pictures is because it helped me give a face to the names that were mentioned in the book. This was extremely helpful for me because I know next to nothing about baseball. In fact, the only name I recognized was Mickey Mantle. I had never heard of Bobby Richardson until I read this book! Though I may not know anything about baseball, I did find this book to be a good testimony. The few times I have seen my dad watch sports, I have seen men behaving like two year olds having tantrums. I expected to read of such behavior when I picked this book up, but I realize now that Bobby Richardson was and is a good role model for youth. I appreciate it when I see or hear of a sports player who is a true Christian who is really living like one not only privately, but publicly too. I also found it wonderful how the author described about Mickey Mantle’s conversion to Christianity as well as the other player named Clive. I believe the author had a hand in the conversions by how he lived his life around them: by acting in a way that would give God glory. Lastly, I really liked how the book ended: Bobby Richardson gave all the thanks and glory to God. This is a refreshing read about a major player in baseball and I recommend that all sports fans, especially, children read this. In fact, I think that every library should include this book in their collection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Impact Player: A Memoir of Bobby Richardson
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Baseball Memoir

Date:June 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the memoir of Bobby Richardson, a Yankees baseball player. The book covers his boyhood, baseball career and life after baseball.
I thought the book was interesting, though there are a lot of game stats that made the book drag a bit for me. Bobby shares many stories of his time with the Yankees, and baseball fans will love the tales of famous players like Mickey Mantle and Yogi Berra. Bobby's testimony is a major part of the story, and he tells of sharing the Gospel with fellow players, churches, etc. The photos chronicling Bobby's life are a bonus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Impact Player: A Memoir of Bobby Richardson
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Baseball Trivia

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Baseball fans will love it. He and his contributors did a really good job of writing a fact-filled, effective book, and inserted many great anecdotes. I was interested in a lot of his experiences and the history of the Yankees. I recognized a lot of the names, probably because I grew up in upstate N.Y. If I was more of a baseball fan, I’d have been able to focus more, and get through all the stats, plays and positions on the ball field. I skimmed them. The stories about his teammates were great, and I liked the positive, personal look into his life and his marriage. Richardson’s personal witness was included, and some facts about Mickey Mantle that I didn’t know. As a whole, it was interesting and uplifting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Impact Player: A Memoir of Bobby Richardson
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

impact player

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
jessica
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love reading books about christian athletes. i myself am an athlete.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Impact Player: A Memoir of Bobby Richardson
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A true All-Star in the game of life!

Date:November 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
David Gough
Location:Alexandria, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bobby Richardson's major league baseball career spanned twelve seasons. From 1959 through 1966 he was a fixture at second base on the perennial championship teams of the New York Yankees. Six times he was named an American League All-Star. As respected a ballplayer as he was, his consistent walk with Jesus Christ is even more impressive. In a day before it became fashionable for Christian athletes to publicly share their faith, Bobby was an unashamed believer. His "clean living" and influence upon teammates and players on other clubs marked him as a role model for younger players. He was instrumental in the founding of Baseball Chapel, which now has a presence on every major and minor league team. Retiring at the height of his career at age 31, he went on to coach at the college level as well as speak on numerous occasions at churches and other Christian gatherings, including the Billy Graham Crusade. Never self-promoting, Richardson humbly shares his perspective of the role he played in leading his former teammate Mickey Mantle to Christ at a time when the superstar was critically ill. He also provides a transparent and self-effacing regret over his inability to be a better husband and father during his playing days and immediately afterward. He recognizes the Lord's hand upon his life and is quick to give God glory in all things. More than four decades ago, Bobby told his story in a small volume entitled "The Bobby Richardson Story." The recent volume has been long overdue. For baseball fans who love to hear former players tell stories of their playing days, this is an enjoyable read. For Yankee fans and those who closely followed Richardson's playing career, it is an absolute must. "Impact Player" bears a positive Christian stamp. Without being "preachy," the message of God's grace through Christ comes through loud and clear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Impact Player: A Memoir of Bobby Richardson
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impact Player

Date:August 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
lauren
Impact Player: Living a Lasting Legacy On and Off the Field is a memoir written by Bobby Richardson which tells about his time playing baseball with the Yankees during a famous time in history. Although I can admit I don’t really follow baseball, I am even familiar with the players Mickey Mantle and Yogi Berra who Bobby Richardson played alongside. More than just a book about baseball, it looks at the faith of Bobby Richardson and his strong beliefs and example he was for those he played with during his career.
I also liked learning about the accomplishments of Bobby Richardson after he completed his time in professional baseball. He had a large family, coached baseball at the University of South Carolina, and even ran for Congress. My sister attended Liberty University, so I thought it was interesting to learn about the time he spent coaching there in the 1980s. He had many great years playing baseball, and the book gave him the opportunity to share many stories. I liked how he never seemed to “preach” at his teammates, but rather he served as an example and chose to become friends with others despite the fact he may not have agreed with their lifestyles. He even mentions in the book that he thinks the best way he could be a Christian witness was through his friendship with his teammates.
I can’t wait to give this book to my dad to read, since I’m sure he will enjoy reading about the experiences of the Yankee clubhouse during the 1955-1964 seasons.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.