Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Publishers Love in the Balance - eBook

Bethany House Publishers Love in the Balance - eBook

Molly Lovelace dreams of being a society leader in 1878 Lockhart, Texas, but being smitten with handsome wrangler Bailey Garner doesn't seem the quickest route. If only he would settle down so he could support a family.

Bailey imagines doing great things for God, but his biggest issue is Molly. As long as he thought they'd be married, he excused their stolen kisses, but when she keeps refusing, he vows to earn her love. In town, he tries his hand at several different trades, but everywhere he turns he runs into the mysterious stranger Edward Pierrepont. No surprise that Molly's always making calf eyes at the wealthy adventurer.

Average Customer Rating:
4.485 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 out of 3394%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love in the Balance - eBook
Review 1 for Love in the Balance - eBook
This review is fromLove in the Balance.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Story of Redemption

Date:March 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am always impressed when an author can take a character that I truly did not like in one book, make them the main character in another book and bring me around to like them by the end of that story. I was not sure if it would be possible in Love in the Balance for Regina Jennings to make me care about what happened to Molly, because I really, really, really did not like her in book one of the series!
And I will admit that I really did not like her during the first portion of this book. I felt sorry for her and confused about choices that were being made between two people who obviously loved each other. I felt frustration with Molly and with a certain hero in the story…but liking Molly…nope…not going to happen!
Except that it did!
Another thing that impressed me with this story is that it had a big twist to it that I really didn’t see coming. This twist is something that I hadn’t encountered in any other books that I have read. It is pivotal to the story and brings about the events in the book that made me really start to care about what happens to Molly.
Love in the Balance illustrates the impact that the choices we make can have on us, as well as the impact of not truly trusting God to take care of things in our lives and instead trusting in our own devices. This is a great story of redemption.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love in the Balance - eBook
This review is fromLove in the Balance.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good Read!

Date:December 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
melz
Location:NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second novel by author, Regina Jennings, whose first novel is Sixty Acres and a Bride. This current book the author continues the story of Molly Lovelace and Bailey Garner, who appeared in the first novel. At first introduction, Molly seems like a very selfish and immature character however as the story progresses you’ll find that there is a lot more to Molly than meets the eye. Bailey has known Molly for many years and dreams of marrying her one day. Both characters go through struggles which force them to grow on their own and within their own relationship with each other.
Ms. Jennings tells a story that really can engulf the reader. Her character’s emotions and struggles really come alive for the reader. The themes that are so poignantly revealed throughout the characters’ lives are love, faith, and forgiveness. This is a great story full of characters that show that mistakes will be made in life but the love and grace of God is with us all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love in the Balance - eBook
This review is fromLove in the Balance.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful historical romance

Date:October 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marilyn
Location:Coral Springs, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the first book written by Regina Jennings "Sixty Acres and a Bride." Molly was introduced to us in that novel and I have to say I didn't think much of her in that first book. However, In "Love in the Balance" You really get to know her in a new light. (You don't have to read her first book to understand this one, but I would recommend reading it anyway, if you like Historical romance.)
With out giving to much away, this book has many unexpected turns and twist that keep you wondering what will happen next. I enjoyed the book in many ways. You see how people, who love the Lord, still have choices to make and consequences to face when the decision is made. How our decisions effect not only ourself but others as well. Yet, wether we make the best decision or not God is not finished with us and life is not over. We can still be used to do what God would have us.
You will fall in love with Bailey and Molly and probably be mad at both of them at times as well. Learn how sometimes our upbringing effects our outlook on life and people.
I really enjoyed the book and can't wait for her next one, I know it will be great too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love in the Balance - eBook
This review is fromLove in the Balance.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A COMPELLING STORY

Date:May 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
LOVE IN THE BALANCE by Regina Jennings is an exciting inspirational Historical Fiction set in 1879 Lockhart, Texas. Follow, Molly Lovelace,Bailey Garner and Edward Pierrepont on a journey of faith, and love. Filled with secrets,betrayal,healing,forgiveness and romance. Molly is swept off her feet when stranger Edward Pierrepont comes to town,but all is not what is appears. Bailey has loved Molly all his love it seems. With pressure from her parents Molly makes a decision that not only could destroy her life but damage her reputation as well. She must chose between the handsome stranger,who is a debonair Tycoon and her steadfast friend the handsome Cowboy,Bailey. A very compelling tale of how our decisions effects those around us as well as our future. Ms. Jennings is a wonderful storyteller who has engaging characters,her stories are filled with rich historical details as well as a intriguing plot. A must read! I would recommend this title to those readers who enjoy rich historical details,a bit of romance,lots of drama, with a bit of mystery along the way. Received for an honest review from the publisher.
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love in the Balance - eBook
This review is fromLove in the Balance.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the suspense!

Date:May 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Frances Pope
Location:Warrenton, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a very well written book! It was a page Turner and keep you from putting the book down! Loved the story that kept you reading. It was hard to find a stopping point! Can't wait for book 3!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love in the Balance - eBook
This review is fromLove in the Balance.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful Story on so Many Levels

Date:April 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mixed Nutts
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We first met the ambitious Molly Lovelace in Regina Jennings‘ debut novel, Sixty Acres and a Bride as she attempted to romance the hero of that novel, Weston Garner. Fortunately for both Weston and Molly, the lovely and sweet Rosa entered his life and stole his heart. However, Molly’s story wasn’t complete, as readers received a bit of a teaser in Sixty Acres and a Bride regarding Molly’s future romance with a sweet talking cowboy, Weston’s cousin Bailey. In Jennings’ newest novel, Love in the Balance (published by Bethany House Publishers), readers are given to understand the driving forces behind Molly’s behavior in Sixty Acres, as well as learn to love her as she discovers, in many ways the hard way, the path God wants her on and how that path reconciles with her ambitions.
Bailey, finally released from his duties on his family farm, is desperate to gain employment and finally be in position to court and marry the lovely Molly. Molly, while desperately hoping Bailey can make good on his promises and desires, is continually pestered by her social-climbing parents who raised Molly to only accept a marriage proposal from someone wealthy and powerful. With Bailey scoring a zero on both of those descriptions, Molly is left with the decision to allow Bailey’s pursuit or accept another man’s invitation.
Edward Pierrepont stopped in the small Lockhart, Texas on his travels across America and his eyes immediately found Molly. Determined in his pursuit of her, he wooed her and more importantly, wooed her parents. With his fine manners, wealthy family, and handsome countenance, Edward is everything the Lovelaces hoped for their daughter. Molly, too, enjoyed Edward’s company, although her heart still called for Bailey. Who will she choose and where will that decision lead her?
Love in the Balance is a powerful story on so many levels. The overarching story of following one’s heart over one’s head is, of course, a standard among romantic fiction. But Regina Jennings has gone deeper. In this second novel, the reader confronts the ideas of grace and forgiveness, wisdom in physical relationships and the effects those relationships have in the future, splinters and logs in Christian circles, and of course, making one’s own decision instead of allowing others full control.
For readers who’ve read Sixty Acres and a Bride, I fully recommend that you give Molly a chance in Love in the Balance. Not only do I think you’ll come away with a greater understanding of this young woman, but also a deeper love for those around you. I give Love in the Balance 5 stars.
**I received a copy of Love in the Balance from Bethany House Publishers for free in return for an honest review. My thoughts are my own.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love in the Balance - eBook
This review is fromLove in the Balance.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Charming Old West Romance

Date:April 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Becky Wade
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love in the Balance stars Molly and Bailey (who we first met in Sixty Acres and a Bride). Molly is a smart, independent, and feisty working girl. Bailey's a former cowboy searching to find his way in the world. They were both raised in the same small Texas town. (I have to confess I have a soft spot in my heart for love stories that begin with childhood friendships.)
In an effective flip-flop of the way things usually progress in a romance novel, the hero and heroine are a happily dating couple on the first page. Things quickly unravel! Molly's head is turned by a wealthy suitor. Bailey struggles to find the calling that the Lord has placed on his life. Over the course of the story, the reader follows Molly and Bailey through their good and regrettable decisions both and waits eagerly to see whether they'll make it back together by the final page.
Regina's voice as an author beautifully suits the Old West setting. She's funny and you can tell, reading her books, that she's a southern girl herself. There's a down home flavor to her writing that brings to mind church picnics, quilts, and churning butter. Fans of Karen Witemeyer and Mary Connealy should definitely give Regina a try!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love in the Balance - eBook
This review is fromLove in the Balance.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Prodigal Daughter

Date:April 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katharina
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Last spring I read Sixty Acres and a Bride and absolutely loved it so I was eager to read the author’s second book. Both draw on Bible stories for inspiration but it took a while for me to figure out that Love in the Balance is based on the Parable of the Prodigal Son.
Since Sixty Acres is the story of Ruth I wondered if the author would continue the story and let us read her ideas of what happened to Ruth and Boaz, aka Rosa and Weston. That wasn’t the case. Instead the author drew from a different biblical story and gave the reader Molly Lovelace’s story.
Molly wasn’t always a very enjoyable heroine to read about, but her flaws are very human flaws and her mistakes are understandable. Somewhat. The reader is told more than shown the pressure her parents exert on her to marry well.
While there are several kisses, a honeymoon, and passionate thoughts, all those scenes are handled nicely and nothing is described in too much detail.
The way the characters matured and the struggles they faced were well written. I really liked getting to know some of the minor characters a bit better. I just read an interview with Regina Jennings on another blog and learned that the third book in the series will be about Anne Tillerton. Can’t wait!
Disclosure: I received this book for free from the publisher through NetGalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love in the Balance - eBook
This review is fromLove in the Balance.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Love in the Balance

Date:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
3.5 Stars
Molly needs to marry someone with money to help keep the family saw mill running but she is in love with Bailey who is just an average cowboy. Bailey knows he needs to find a job that he can support a wife but finding that job is none to easy. When Molly's dad starts to have health issues finding a husband becomes even more urgent. When a rich and handsome man enters her life she thinks maybe its time to forget Bailey and do what her family has been asking. Can she let her true love go and meet her obligation to her family?
We first meet Molly in Sixty Acres and a Bride when she tried to steal the male love interest affections. When I saw that she was going to be the main character in this book I was not sure if I would like it. The book was okay but I did not like it near as much as the first book.
What I liked: I liked how this book took people who had troubles and with God's help they found a better path but getting to that path was met with bad choices. With forgiveness and God's grace they found happiness once again. I really like Bailey and I think a lot of people could relate to him and his struggle to find his purpose in life. Even when things looked really gloomy he did not give up.
What I did not like: Honestly I did not really like Molly. I admit in the first book I ended with a negative opinion of her so it was hard to try and give her a clean slate. I really did not like her at all as the book began. As it progressed I tolerated her but even by the end I still was not that fond of her. Yes she changed her ways some but honestly Bailey could have done better. The book also seemed to have a slow start and took me a while to get into it.
Over all this book was okay. The story was interesting but my dislike for Molly just made it hard to really like this book. The author is a great writer though and I look forward to more books from her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love in the Balance - eBook
This review is fromLove in the Balance.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surprisingly deep and full of growth

Date:April 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In her sequel to "Sixty Acres and a Bride," Regina Jennings writes a thought-provoking novel of much greater depth than the publisher's description leads one to expect. Molly Lovelace is not a twittering, empty-headed flirt unable to decide which suitor she likes better, but nor is she a calculating gold-digger fighting to control her attraction to a penniless, handsome cowboy; no, she is a conflicted young woman who is trying to balance honoring her parents and following her heart. She knows precisely who she wants to marry, but when he doesn't come through, she follows her parents' wishes instead, which essentially leads to her ruin.
Make no mistake, Molly makes her own share of poor decisions. What she does to appease her family is not always right or wise and hurts others besides herself - she could choose a more honest route. However, she does not deserve the censure of the town for the results of her choice, let alone her own parents' scorn when she followed their wishes in the first place. In spite of their faults, Molly loves her parents and wishes to please them. On the other side of the scale, Bailey, the man she loves, has none of the characteristics her parents are looking for in a husband for their only daughter. How does one find the balance?
Bailey also has his share of problems that compound Molly's. For one, he takes and quits any number of jobs, never settling, while he knows Molly is waiting on him to have a real income before marriage. She does not require him to be rich, but as a woman who knows money and excels at accounting, she knows that a steady income is necessary. Because of his struggle with lust, Molly's reputation, which would otherwise have upheld against scrutiny, instead suffers fatally.
There was so much growth in the book - both main characters mature and learn from their mistakes, but without losing their personalities and changing unbelievably. While I was not always happy with their choices, I liked both of the characters, and I feel that Molly really got the short end of the stick a number of times - she was not solely responsible for her problems. Jennings did an excellent job with the characters and twists to the plot.
I received a free copy from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review, which I am not obligated to make positive. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love in the Balance - eBook
This review is fromLove in the Balance.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than a historical

Date:April 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
cowgirl
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyone in Lockhart, Texas has expectations. Molly Lovelace's parents expect her to pick a suitable husband and settle down. Molly expects wrangler Bailey Garner to pick a more stable job. And Bailey expects Molly to accept him as he is.
It's a bumpy beginning for the folks of Lockhart in 1879. But the opening scene of the book, which takes places in church during the Sunday service, literally made me laugh out loud.
I had a lot of fun becoming a part of Lockhart. Jennings paints a vivid picture of the Texas town and its cast of characters that absorbed me into the story. I loved going to work each day with Molly at the courthouse.
I don't read a lot of historical novels but the characters in this book are identifiable with us today. Molly in particular has a lot of room for spiritual growth. Her actions aren't always the most likeable. But neither are mine. I appreciated the authenticity of Molly's character. The journey to defining love is exciting and real. Jennings has written a story that subtly reminds us the importance of acceptance.
I chatted with Regina recently about the characters spiritual journey.
Me: All of the characters seemed to have expectations of one another in the book. And often they let one another down. Did this figure into how you wanted the spiritual plot to play out.
Regina: You know, a character doesn't grow or mature without trouble. Often we don't turn to God until everyone else has let us down. I wanted the growth to be realistic, and for that to happen they had to be desperate.
I received a copy of "Love in the Balance" from Litfuse Publicity in exchange for an honest review. The opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love in the Balance - eBook
This review is fromLove in the Balance.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Love in the Balance

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Digging4Pearls
Location:Shippensburg, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Molly Lovelace is in love with a penniless wrangler, only her well-to-do parents don't approve of their match. She longs for a life without concerns, but unfortunately Bailey Garner isn't the man to fill that role, despite her affection for him.
When an interesting, wealthy stranger stirs her interest, will she follow after wealth and prestige or find predilection in the simple, home-spun love of a good man?
Love in the Balance is not your typical 'formula' romance novel. It is a tale of love, loss, poor choices, mercy, redemption and second chances.
This book was provided free for review by Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love in the Balance - eBook
This review is fromLove in the Balance.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compelling storyline and characters

Date:April 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Writer Jen
Location:Ferndale, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this novel and felt it had very effective and believable character development. Often in Christian historical fiction titles the storyline is very predictable and tame, but I felt the true-to-life experiences of these characters really drew me into the story. The book gives a very effective picture of small-town Texas in 1879, and I enjoyed the fact that the author was not afraid to address true human emotions that are felt by Christians and non-Christians alike. It was easy to sympathize with both Molly and Bailey, and to consider how I would react in similar situations. I look forward to reading Regina's next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love in the Balance - eBook
This review is fromLove in the Balance.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Changed my Mind

Date:March 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Happy Reader
Location:Columbia, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'll be truthful here. When I first started this book, I didn't care for Molly Lovelace at all. She was a self-absorbed, self-centered twit without regard to anyone but her own selfish desires. After reading further on, I learned to love Molly ~ even with all her issues because not all is as it seems. Raised in a home where she's groomed to marry for money or 'the family business will go under,' Molly is forced to make some very adult decisions ~ and they come with disastrous consequences.
But, like the story of the Prodigal Son, sometimes we learn the most from the mistakes we've made and we're better because of them. Such is the intricate story woven into this book.
Although fiction, this book packs a punch, and teaches some very valuable lessons for everyone. From parents that have their own selfish desires rather than the good of their children at heart, church people who are quick to judge without knowing the entire story ~ or without enough sense to realize that all are sinners who must be saved by grace, to people who learn that owning up to their mistakes is always the best course of action, this book is a winner.
Highly recommend.
**My thanks to Bethany House for providing me a copy in exchange for my honest review. I am not required they be positive. These thoughts are my own.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love in the Balance - eBook
This review is fromLove in the Balance.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great second chances story

Date:March 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'd have to say the best part of the book was at the very end, though I enjoyed reading the whole thing. But the ending was sigh-worthy. Plus, it had a lot of spiritual depth to it. I've not read any historical novels where the man pointed out to some of the critics that it was easier to blame the woman, when often the man was at fault as well. I loved Bailey's honesty and how he shared that just because his sins were hidden didn't mean they weren't as bad. Then, of course, there is the sin of pride, and we all know how ugly that one can be.
I had a love-hate relationship with Molly's parents. I won't say a word about Edward beyond the fact that he was a heartless snake. Okay, I didn't like him either. I won't even elaborate on the reasons I didn't care for him, but would rather let the readers discover that for themselves.
Anyway, many of us have made poor choices to please others only to discover that we should have listened to our hearts, and prayed about our motivations, rather than caving into the pressure around us. I loved the way this book addressed second chances and how despite our flaws and the stupid things we do, Jesus still wants to have a relationship with us. Bailey's love made me think of that. Only Bailey had manly desires that were refreshingly shown. When it came to the spiritual analogy, Bailey's love expressed God's love for us.
Maybe I am over-spiritualizing things a bit, but when I read about the smile on Bailey's face, I thought about how the Lord is waiting for us like a man waits expectantly for his bride. It made tears fill my eyes. And the cleansing of the past (in the river) and new starts that happen when we confess our sins... well, they are removed as far as the east is from the west. That was a beautiful illustration.
Throughout most of the book I felt Molly's pain, and her shame, but I also sensed the healing and maturity that took place in both of their lives. The Lord worked in their hearts during those difficult times. That's was beautifully shown over time and through the progression of their characters arcs. Nicely done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love in the Balance - eBook
This review is fromLove in the Balance.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable Redemption-Themed Historical

Date:March 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julia Reffner
Location:Fairport, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
One unusual thing about Jennings’s Love in the Balance is that it begins with a hero and heroine who have already been romantically entangled. Molly Lovelace’s parents are high society and she struggles with the approval of her parents and finding her own way in the world. When she meets a man who seems mysterious and exciting, not to mention financially stable Molly is swept off her feet. When her father is injured, Molly feels an even stronger pull to help keep her family afloat. Bailey has seen the dangers of following his feelings, yet he can’t seem to shake the memory of Molly and what they shared from his mind. These longings sometimes seem to contrast with the calling he feels towards full-time ministry.
There is a strong redemption thread running through this novel. Molly’s faith as the story begins is shallow and easily shaken. The novel begins with a strong repentance theme shown through Bailey’s character as he gives his feelings toward Molly to the Lord and asks forgiveness for failing to keep a pure heart. This emphasis on purity in relationships is a theme that I would love to see tackled more often in Christian fiction. As the reader cheers for Bailey, Molly is beginning to see her need for surrender and looking to the Lord as she makes decisions. Even her sins are used in the hands of a mighty God to bring her to this point of surrender. At times it is hard to accept the hardness of Molly’s heart and her slowness in changing, perhaps because we see these same qualities in ourselves. I enjoyed Regina Jenning’s second novel and look forward to her next volume.
Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from the author and publisher in exchange for a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love in the Balance - eBook
This review is fromLove in the Balance.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful Story of Redemption

Date:March 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love in the Balance is a tale of star-crossed love...a tale where it seems the hero and heroine can absolutely never get together. There are so many rich layers, that it created a story that kept calling me back. There was nothing simple or easy about the journey or the resolution. And the twists kept me longing to return to the pages -- that's not easy to do with a book that is pretty much straight historical romance.
The characters started a wee bit flat, but became richer and more complex as the story developed. While it's the second in the series, it stands completely on its own. A very good thing, since I hadn't read the first book (though I want to.). The hero is a lay preacher of sorts, and a couple scenes with a couple that had experienced a miscarriage were very touching. As someone who's lived that journey, I appreciated the sensitive treatment of an unseen pain.
A book that lovers of historical romance will enjoy...and maybe find themselves challenged by the spiritual journey and questions that fill the pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Love in the Balance - eBook
This review is fromLove in the Balance.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beauty for Ashes

Date:March 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love in the Balance by Regina Jennings is the second book in the Ladies of Caldwell County series. The first was Sixty Acres and A Bride although it isn’t necessary to read this book first, because they both do well as stand-alones. Molly Lovelace and Bailey Garner take the stage in Love in the Balance. You may also recognize many of the secondary characters, and be able to get caught up with them.
I enjoyed getting to know Molly and Bailey better. In Sixty Acres and A Bride Molly wasn't very likeable because she behaved childishly and selfishly. As I read the first chapters of Love in the Balance and saw the expectations placed on her I understood her better. As she gave into the pressures put on her by her family, she made decisions that put her into a bad situation. A situation that she would regret and only God’s forgiveness, love and grace can heal. As she gives her hurt and pain to God and starts following His ways, Molly begins to change.
Bailey struggles with being the person God made him to be. He wants to please his Savior, but he keeps finding himself falling short of the mark. He loves Molly and knows that the only way her parents will allow them to marry is if he can find a job were he can support her in the ways she is accustomed to.
I felt compassion for these characters as I continued to read their story. The circumstances that they went through made them to feel unloved, used, and heartbroken. But just like us, Molly and Bailey discovered, that when we turn to God with a contrite spirit He is able to give beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning, and the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness.
*Although I liked this book, I would caution that if you have a teen that is interested in reading Love in the Balance; please read it yourself first, because there are some issues that are discussed that you may not want your teen to be exposed to yet.
**Love in the Balance by Regina Jennings was provided for me free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Love in the Balance - eBook
This review is fromLove in the Balance.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love in the Balance

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Location:New York, NY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Love in the Balance is a tale of tough decisions. Molly has dreamed of a life where’d she have everything, and marry handsome Bailey as well. The problem is she can only have one or the other. Much to her parent’s delight, stranger Edward sweeps into town and Molly off her feet. Edward may just be the answer to her needs, but what about Bailey?
I’ll have to admit I had my judgments about this book. I was already predicting the end without even having read it. Regina sure did surprise me! She crafted a story plot like none other I’ve ever read. When presented with the option of rich guy or poor guy each author chooses the poor guy, but with the right amount of twists she kept you in the dark well into the book. The author also included a strong voice in Christian fiction. The author did not sugar coat anything and it was beautiful to see the many spiritual struggles the characters faced and how the Lord worked everything out for their good in the end.
One setback for me was that I never really bonded with Molly. Her many heartbreaking situations should have crushed me, but I wasn’t that moved. It was as if I did not know her well enough to sympathize much with her. I was more concerned what would become of the hero in this book, Bailey then the main character. Bailey was definitely a lovable character. He was portrayed as a young man that wants to do what is right but faces many temptations. I admired his deep relationship with the Lord. It was of great benefit to see a young man so devoted to his God.
Having read both of the author’s books, I enjoyed my return visit to Lockhart, Texas and cannot wait to see what’s next. I would give Love in the Balance a 4 out of 5.
I received this book for free, from Litfuse Publicity, in exchange for this independent and unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Love in the Balance - eBook
This review is fromLove in the Balance.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love and Laughter

Date:March 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
The IE Mommy
Location:Beaumont, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have all heard the saying “the couple that prays together, stays together.” I also say “the couple that laughs together, lasts forever!” If you can make me laugh, you instantly have a friend in me! In Love in the Balance, Molly and Bailey cracked me up continuously. They are so playful and funny I instantly thought they were destined to spend forever together.
But wait…along comes Edward who is the complete opposite of Bailey and the complete package! He has everything that Bailey lacks: money, class, fancy upbringing and security. He’s not bad to look at either! Molly faces the dilemma of choosing between two men. Personally, I’m not feeling too sorry for her at this point!
Will Molly choose the man she grew up with and has always loved or the newcomer with an exciting life that promises money, adventure and security! When she’s forced to make a decision, she must think clearly because most decisions made in haste are not made well! Only by putting God back in the decision will she find Love in the Balance!
Jenning’s writing is simply delightful and I did not expect to laugh so much in a romance novel. Jenning’s found a fan in me with Love in the Balance!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>