Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Chosen Books Full Armor of God, The: Defending Your Life From Satan's Schemes - eBook

Chosen Books Full Armor of God, The: Defending Your Life From Satan's Schemes - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Full Armor of God, The: Defending Your Life From Satan's Schemes - eBook
Review 1 for Full Armor of God, The: Defending Your Life From Satan's Schemes - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2013
The Full Armor of God is an interesting read about spiritual warfare. Author, Larry Richards, basis for the book is the book of Ephesians. The book is broken into seven parts and includes an Appendix A and B. Part 1 discusses understanding spiritual forces while Parts 2 – 6 focus on the Armor of God. The book concludes with Part 7. Appendix A and B discuss Christian Counseling and a “Live Free Support Group” lesson plan.
This book gives practical advice regarding spiritual warfare. The author points out Satan’s schemes and what we can do to combat them. One example is given in Part 3 about a man who was given a job opportunity that he always wanted. However, the job required him and his family to move from California to Illinois. The couple was excited about the opportunity but something was holding them back. They became full of anxiety as the cold temperatures in Illinois would require them to purchase winter clothing for their three children. They felt the calling to Illinois but did not have the money for the new clothing. Larry explains how anxiety is one of Satan’s most common attacks. He further explains how to combat anxiety with the shield of faith. The book is full of other examples and guidance on how we can overcome the enemy if we only use the power given to us.
*This book was provided by Chosen Books for my honest review.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Full Armor of God, The: Defending Your Life From Satan's Schemes - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helped me alot

Date:April 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
missy
Location:Naples,ME
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been learning how to being my defenses up against evil and this books helps but i still have alot to learn.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Full Armor of God, The: Defending Your Life From Satan's Schemes - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Full of powerful truths

Date:April 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written in easy-to-read and accessible language, "The Full Armor of God" is a wonderfully practical book for any Christian seeking a balanced look at spiritual warfare. The author clearly unpacks the book of Ephesians, pulling out the truths that God reveals in this book about the nature of the world around us, and how God has given us the tools to effectively stand firm against the schemes of the evil one. I really appreciated that the author does not try to say that every problem we have in our lives is from a demonic attack, but instead recognizes a role for counselling and for other ways that God wants to free us from sin, heal us from trauma, etc. However, Larry Richards also points out that demons are working in the world around us to try to steer us away from God's promises and his perfect plan for our lives.
Reading this book is not going to leave you afraid of the spiritual realm. Instead, it will empower you with God's truth of who God has made you and called you to be, and allow you to stand firm in faith. Each section includes a very useful guide on how to apply the scripture-based principles to our own lives, and is useful not only for the individual reader but even in helping us pray for and with others.
I honestly think this is one of those books that everyone should read. I highly recommend it and award it 5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Chosen, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Full Armor of God, The: Defending Your Life From Satan's Schemes - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good information

Date:April 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I gave this book 4/5 stars. I have read many books on how and why a Christian should put on armor before facing the day filled with attacks by Satan. This particular book had some great tips on why but fell flat on most everything else. Now this is just my opinion, you may really enjoy the book and walk away with more than I did. I did like the ample amount of scripture references used and thought the author was very open when talking about his own life. That said, the book was just OK for me and not one I will read again.
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Full Armor of God, The: Defending Your Life From Satan's Schemes - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Understanding The Use Of The Armor Of God

Date:March 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Larry Richards in his new book, "The Full Armor Of God" published by Chosen Books helps us Defending Your Life from Satan's Schemes.
From the back cover: Stand Firm Against the Devil's Schemes
Whether you are aware of it or not, every Christian is locked in a struggle with the spiritual forces of this dark world. If our defenses are weak-or nonexistent-these enemies can, and will, slowly, subtly, lead you away from a life of righteousness.
In this tactical guide, bestselling author and trusted theologian Larry Richards offers an ironclad defense plan straight from the Bible. Using Paul's letter to the Ephesians as his infallible guide, Richards reveals how God provides protection from every attack of the enemy-and how you can put on the full armor of God today and every day.
Including practical, hands-on exercises, this is the essential biblical approach to standing your ground against the enemy's ploys.
Paul wrote in his letter to the Ephesians about the armor of God. There are five parts to God's armor, four of which are defensive in nature. In "The Full Armor Of God" Larry Richards, in separate sections for each armor part, goes into great detail of what that armor part is and how it should be effectively used. In each section Mr. Richards gives us four chapters that always starts with "satan's schemes". Before getting into the armor Mr. Richards devotes the opening part to "Understanding Spiritual Forces". Since it is important to God to provide us with His armor then it should be important to us to use His armor with wisdom and skill. Larry Richards has provided us this book to educate us in how we should be doing battle. Everyone should have a copy of this book. It is an excellent gift idea for family and friends. This is an excellent resource that will be referred back to over and over again.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Chosen Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this i accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Full Armor of God, The: Defending Your Life From Satan's Schemes - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very informative

Date:March 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
LETHER
Location:Chesapeake, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author enforces what some of us already however; he presents in detail what can be found in the book of Ephesians. Protecting ourselves against spiritual warfare is an ongoing battle and arming ourselves with the proper protective gear is essential to winning this battle and having eternal life. The armor of God is the only effective weapon when standing against evil forces. As we read in this book, Satan has made his presence known since the beginning of time starting with Adam and Eve. He continues today, operating behind the scenes creating spiritual warfare within our hearts. Satan’s attacks can easily alter our thinking, manipulating us if given the opportunity. The author mentioned how evil spirits can make us feel miserable, useless and unproductive. Chapter four states we are God’s work and will reveal himself through us in a way that will never be seen through someone else. His intentions are for us to have a fulfilling and meaningful life, contrary to what Satan makes us believe. This book teaches us how to arm ourselves and not fall prey to such attacks. But in order to do this we have to be fully armored. The individual pieces of armor and the protection it provides is well covered in this book. This book provides a great source of information and helps us to better understand the book of Ephesians. Thank you Chosen Books for allowing me to share my opinion. Also for giving me the opportunity to select a great book and providing copy free of charge.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Full Armor of God, The: Defending Your Life From Satan's Schemes - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great resource

Date:March 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tucked inside the book of Ephesians is a suggestion that, as Christians, we need to put on the armor of God daily if we expect to stand firm against the devil. But how do we do that effectively?
Larry Richards, in his book “The Full Armor of God”, demonstrates how to put on each article in the armor and gives practical exercises to help you battle the spiritual ploys of the enemy. This is a very comprehensive book on putting on the spiritual armor of God. Based on the Scripture, this useful guidebook is a wonderful reference for any Bible study on Ephesians and the Armor of God.
Chapter 8 “Putting on the Helmet of Salvation” is one of my favorite chapters in the book. The prayers for confessions, renunciations and declarations will be something I use again and again. Much of what Richards relates can be turned to over and over as an encouragement and a help when dealing with attacks of the enemy.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Chosen Books, as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Full Armor of God, The: Defending Your Life From Satan's Schemes - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Informative

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karen1356
Location:NYC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Larry Richard's The Full Armor of God claims to be a handbook that offers an ironclad defense plan against the spiritual forces of this dark world by wearing the full armor of God as detailed in the Bible.
The book is broken into seven parts and two appendices. The first and last parts seek to help us understand spiritual forces and presents a conclusion while the parts in between seek to demonstrate each part of the armor of God and its function. Appendix A deals with Biblical Demonology whereas Appendix B offers the "Live Free Support Group" Lesson Plans.
Whereas, I can not agree with the author's Trinitarian theology, I appreciate his desire to shine light on the subject of fending off demons, identifying possible open doors to demons, as well as casting them out.
The author goes into detail describing the function of each component of the armor against demonic attack in correlation with its original usage in the Roman army. He also goes into depth describing our role in weakening our defense against the enemy as well as the enemy's actual schemes. Examples to illustrate his points are clearly laid out making it easy for the reader to understand the material.
Each part included exercises for the reader such as prayer, Bible memorization, and journaling. While these are useful, there are some other practices that seemed too much like contemplative prayer which is actually antithetical to this book's purpose since it opens door to the demonic.
The appendices are very useful in identifying the need for casting out demons as well as facilitating the process in a group setting. Bible memorization is a key component in appendix B which was especially encouraging.
Whereas I do not agree with the author's theology, I appreciate his boldness in taking on such a hard topic and providing additional resources for the reader.
I received this book for free from Bethany House for this review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Full Armor of God, The: Defending Your Life From Satan's Schemes - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book!

Date:March 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
oilerslover
Location:Edmonton, AB
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As Christians we sometimes forget there is spiritual warfare between God and Satan going on around us. It is vital we understand the message of Ephesians because Paul reveals the strategies of Satan and the armor God has provided us. Ephesians instructs us on how to break free, and remain free, from the influence of evil spirits that are eager to infiltrate the lives of believers.
The first part of the book helps us understand spiritual forces. The author compares the first century view of the spirit world with that of today. Paul would find that most people in the world today have no idea the impact the spirit world has on their lives – good and bad. Very few people take demons seriously.
In the next part of the book, the author examines each piece of armor in the sequence Paul presented them. He explains the schemes of Satan, examines the relevant piece of armor, then shows us how this truth in Ephesians is put into practice.
The author includes exercises at the end of each section to help the reader personally apply the information. For example, at the end of the study on the breastplate, the reader is given an exercise in self examination. Detailed suggestions follow explaining what to do with what God has revealed.
Richards has also included “Live Free Support Group” lesson plans so several can study this book together. Additional lesson plans are available on his blog.
I was very impressed with this book! I've never seen the schemes of Satan directly associated with the pieces of armor. That was very enlightening.
Every Christian should be aware of Satan's efforts to make our life empty and unfulfilled. We need to understand the role of demons too. Using the armor in Ephesians will lead to more freedom and joy than we have ever experienced before.
This is an excellent book. I highly recommend it for everybody who is struggling with Satan in their lives. It's time we put on our armor and took a stand against Satan!
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher, Chosen Books for the purpose of this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Full Armor of God, The: Defending Your Life From Satan's Schemes - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommended

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rene
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Excellent book! Easy to read. Richards explains each of the five pieces of armor as they were used by Roman infantrymen and by analogy how each can be used to protect us from Satan's schemes. He gives examples of these schemes and specific ways we can respond to Satan's attacks. The final past of the book discusses the sword of the Spirit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Full Armor of God, The: Defending Your Life From Satan's Schemes - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book for a Wide Variety of Christian Readers

Date:March 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Josi
Location:Baker City, OR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“The Full Armor of God” is a thorough and well-written examination of Paul’s letter to the Ephesians- and by extension to the church today- and it should appeal to a broad audience. Author Larry Richards unveils different strategies that Satan uses to hinder, hurt, oppress, and distract Christians in their walk of faith. He compares the first century view of spiritual forces-particularly the awareness of the demonic- with the modern view (or should we say lack of view?). He explains the critical difference between demonic possession (which he says is very rare) and being demonized (or influenced by demons), and he gives a solid Biblical basis for understanding how anger, bitterness, un-forgiveness and/or trauma can make us vulnerable to demonic influence. Richards gives a detailed list of lies that many Christians believe, which are “designed to make us feel weak and helpless…intended to fill our lives with guilt and misery…intended to rob us…” To counter these lies, Richards expounds on the depth of what Paul intended his readers to understand when he depicted the spiritual armor of God.
Here’s why I believe “The Full Armor of God” is recommended reading for Christians of all backgrounds: Many of us need to experience true freedom- yes, we’re saved- but we still find ourselves dealing with negative, defeating thoughts, beliefs, and lifestyles. Richards, I believe, is writing first to this group. However, others of us know true freedom but we are seeking to deepen our understanding of spiritual realities and our knowledge of God’s Word. I believe Richards offers a great deal to these readers as well. Indeed, in some respects I felt that he was essentially teaching basic doctrines, with an emphasis on understanding spiritual warfare. A final group of people I believe would benefit from this book are Christian counselors or teachers, who deal daily with people seeking help with personal struggles. Richards makes a strong case for how often sin and evil is overlooked as a root cause of people’s emotional or psychological struggles.
The Full Armor of God avoids being a dry, academic read. It is engaging, encouraging, and contains a great guide to leading small groups that are focused on helping Christians experience true freedom in Christ.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Chosen Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Full Armor of God, The: Defending Your Life From Satan's Schemes - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

understand the devil's schemes and your armor

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We Christians forget there is an invisible war between God and Satan going on around us. Richards says it is vital we understand the message of Ephesians as in it Paul reveals the strategies of Satan and the armor God has provided. “Ephesians is Paul's 'freedom workshop,' instructing how to break free, and remain free, from the influence of evil spirits that are eager to infiltrate believers' lives.” (22)
The first part of the book is dedicated to understanding spiritual forces. Richards compares the first century view of the spirit world with that of today. Paul would find that most Americans have no idea the impact the spirit world has on their lives – good and bad. Few now take demons seriously.
In the next part of the book, Richards examines each piece of armor in the sequence Paul presented them. He explains the applicable schemes of Satan, examines the relevant piece of armor, then show how this truth in Ephesians is put into practice.
Richards includes a section for Christian counselors at the end of his book. He examines the role of Christian counseling in dealing with demonization and healing the hurt from evil.
This book contains much of what Richards teaches in his Freedom Workshops. He includes exercises at the end of each section to help the reader personally apply the information. For example, at the end of the study on the breastplate, the reader is given an exercise in self examination. Detailed suggestions follow explaining what to do with what God has revealed.
Richards has also included “Live Free Support Group” lesson plans so several can study this book together. Additional lesson plans are available on his blog.
I was impressed with this study. I've never seen the schemes of Satan directly correlated with the pieces of armor. That was very enlightening. Richards is a scholar and uses his knowledge of Greek to fully explain the armor, as well as clear up a misconception or two.
Every Christian should be aware of the efforts of Satan to make our life empty and unfulfilled. We need to understand the role of demons too. Richards is convinced that using the armor in Ephesians will lead to more freedom and joy than we have ever experienced before.
Richards should know. He writes, “I am now eighty years old, and I can say that God has been faithful every step of the way.” (62)
This is an excellent work. I highly recommend it for laypeople, clergy, and especially those doing Christian counseling.
It's time we put on our armor and took a stand against the devil.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.