Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Diary of a Teenage Girl Series, Caitlin #1: Becoming Me

Multnomah Books Diary of a Teenage Girl Series, Caitlin #1: Becoming Me

Follow Caitlin O'Conner, a girl much like yourself, as she makes her way from New Year's to the first day of summer--surviving a challenging home life, changing friends, school pressures, an identity crisis and the uncertainties of "true love."

You'll cry with Caitlin as she experiences heartache, and cheer for her as she encounters a new reality in her life: God. See how rejection by one group can--incredibly--sometimes lead you to discover who you really are. 248 pages. Recommended for ages 14 and up.

Average Customer Rating:
4.947 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Diary of a Teenage Girl Series, Caitlin #1: Becoming Me
Review 1 for Diary of a Teenage Girl Series, Caitlin #1: Becoming Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Young woman . . .

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Alissa
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a book I highly recommend for anybody of any age. The content is so important for young woman of this day with the encouragement to stay pure for marriage and the consequences of actions. Please, if you know a young girl in High School get this book for her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Diary of a Teenage Girl Series, Caitlin #1: Becoming Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must-read for Teen Girls

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lehrerin
Location:Roxboro, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sixteen-year-old Caitlin O'Conner seems like your stereotypical "good-girl." But are appearances always true? Caitlin's experiences may surprise you. With separated parents, a a sudden 'in' with the popular crowd, invitations to unsupervised parties and dates with the most sought-after boys in school, Caitlin has a myriad of choices to make.
Chronicling a full semester of Caitlin's life, this book walks the reader through many decisions and their consequences facing teens today - including faith, trust, popularity, the value of money, purity, alcohol, and divorce. Honest but not graphic, this book forces the reader to question her own stance on these important issues.
Carlson describes Caitlin as a sincere, somewhat shallow, but basically typical teen from today. She gets good grades, has a solid friendship, and has the strong support of her family behind her, and yet she is seriously tempted by many things on which her footing was previously stable. Carlson shows how simple it is to allow our convictions to be swallowed up by our circumstances - and for that, this is a must-read for teen girls today.
I received a free copy of this book from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Diary of a Teenage Girl Series, Caitlin #1: Becoming Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book!

Date:October 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amy Lee Bell
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Becoming Me by Melody Carson follows the story of Caitlin, a teenage girl who has just decided to pick up a pen and diary and record the events of her life. Immediately, we are transported to a world of youth groups and high school, friendships and cliques. She struggles with each new relationship and many old ones, and in the midst of everything, she searches for the answer to her existence.
I haven’t finished a book that quickly in YEARS! It arrived in the mail on Wednesday. Even while juggling homeschooling, laundry, and dishes, I still managed to finish it on Thursday. The author has amazing insight into the mind of a teenage girl. So many of the topics and feelings she brought up seemed to come straight from my own teenage thoughts and experiences. It was great to revisit some of these feelings, looking back on them with a little bit of humor and a whole lot of contemplation. I kept wishing that the diary were a real one, instead of fictional. The story meant a great deal to me, and the characters seemed like living and breathing people. I yearned to be able to shoot Caitlin an email to see how she’s been doing lately.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Diary of a Teenage Girl Series, Caitlin #1: Becoming Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love it!

Date:April 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Maia
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love how its realistic, these things can happen and people can relate to it. Kept me turning pages! :D
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Diary of a Teenage Girl Series, Caitlin #1: Becoming Me
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for female teen reader

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
DyAnn
Location:NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased as a gift for our 16 year old. She loves it thus far but hasn't finished reading it yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Diary of a Teenage Girl Series, Caitlin #1: Becoming Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My neice raved about this book!

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tiffany Hutton
Age:25-34
Gender:female
My neice and I share a love of reading, so I was thrilled to surprise her with a new series. I read the first chapter just to get feel for the book prior to giving it to her and I wanted to read the rest. I saw her again within 5 days of giving it to her and she raved about how good it was. I plan to buy the next book in the series for her. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Diary of a Teenage Girl Series, Caitlin #1: Becoming Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2009
This book radicully changed my life. I have grown closer to God by reading these books. BUY THESE BOOKS!!!!!!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Diary of a Teenage Girl Series, Caitlin #1: Becoming Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Victoria
This series is amazing!! I recommend it to anyone! It's great and it really challenges you and I loved it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Diary of a Teenage Girl Series, Caitlin #1: Becoming Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Noname
Oh man. I didn't even finish this book, but I'm in love with it! I've finished the Chloe books, and I just love how both Chloe and Caitlin start out pretty bitter, but halfway though they're completly changed! Doesn't God rock? He can change anybody and these books really made me realize that. I was really sad when Clay died though. I can't help thinking about my Youth Pastor and what he means to us. I don't know what I would do if we lost him... But I still love these books. They have brought me closer to God. Thank you Melody Carlson!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Diary of a Teenage Girl Series, Caitlin #1: Becoming Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sondra
This book was AMAZING! I could really relate to Caitlin's life. I've faced many of the same temptations that she has, and gone on the journey that she took about finding out who I am and who God means for me to be. Reading this was almost like reading my own journal. I highly recommend it. It'll be hard to put down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Diary of a Teenage Girl Series, Caitlin #1: Becoming Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Tori
I love, loved this book. It was very good. I finished it in four days(partly because I stayed up almost all night reading it)and just fell in love with this series! I can't wait to get the rest of the books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Diary of a Teenage Girl Series, Caitlin #1: Becoming Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2004
Customer Avatar
Megan
I LOVED this book!!!! I could totally relate to Caitlin. I would definitely recomend this book, and I'm sure Melody Carlson's other books are just as good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Diary of a Teenage Girl Series, Caitlin #1: Becoming Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2003
Customer Avatar
Katie
I loved this book and the whole series!!!!! I am soooo much like Caitlin and I've gone through similar things (except w/my family), so I could really relate to her. It has also led to my very quick speed at going through my journals...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Diary of a Teenage Girl Series, Caitlin #1: Becoming Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2002
Customer Avatar
Samantha
Oh my gosh!! This is by far the best book I've ever read. I finished the whole thing in only a few days..(over a series of 2 days tho so I could sleep) I just could literally not put this book down. It really made me think about my own life because I could relate to basically everything in it. I can't wait to read the next ones!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Diary of a Teenage Girl Series, Caitlin #1: Becoming Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2002
Customer Avatar
Remy
I love these books!!!! They really make you think about where you are with Christ! Everyone needs to read this series!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Diary of a Teenage Girl Series, Caitlin #1: Becoming Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2001
Customer Avatar
Stacey
I loved the book from finish to end! I could relate to everything that went on in the story.. I could not put it down I read for days and each time I put it down I was eager to pick it up again! I recommend it to anyone, especially teens because it really gives insight to a teenager's life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Diary of a Teenage Girl Series, Caitlin #1: Becoming Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2001
Customer Avatar
KttyStrm
Wonderful Book!!! I stayed up for two nights to finish it, I couldn't put it down...Catlin, the main character, gave me things to think about in my own life. I started to think about the parts of my life I haven't given to my FATHER.I've requested my friends to read this book and I hope everyone out there reading this will too!!Love-n=Christ"Read a Book With Spiritual Meaning!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Diary of a Teenage Girl Series, Caitlin #1: Becoming Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2000
Customer Avatar
marissa
This book was so awesome! From the very first moment I started reading it I could not put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Diary of a Teenage Girl Series, Caitlin #1: Becoming Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2000
Customer Avatar
Julie K.
Wonderful! It really touches the heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.