Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Anomaly - eBook

Thomas Nelson Anomaly - eBook

Thalli is different than others in The State. She feels things. She asks questions. And in the State, this is not tolerated. The Ten scientists who survived the nuclear war that destroyed the world above believe that emotion was at the core of what went wrong-and they have genetically removed it from the citizens they have since created. Thalli has kept her malformation secret from those who have monitored her for most of her life, but when she receives an ancient piece of music to record as her community's assigned musician, she can no longer keep her emotions secreted away.
Average Customer Rating:
4.68 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 out of 25100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Anomaly - eBook
Review 1 for Anomaly - eBook
This review is fromAnomaly, Anomaly Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Light Romance

Date:November 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Happy Reader
Location:Columbia, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I loved the light romance, Thalli's sweet, innocent character, and the twist at the end of that made me scream, "I need the sequel ASAP!" I will not be satisfied until I hold a copy of Luminary is my shaking hands. (which, sadly, will be in 2014. It's only 4 months, right?) There really isn't anything in this book I can complain about. The characters were all really well-written. The religious aspect to it wasn't pushy at all. And there were no plot-holes! ~ The Maniacal Bookworm
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Anomaly - eBook
This review is fromAnomaly, Anomaly Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Teen Dystopian Novel

Date:September 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
AddLibrarian
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I’m really excited about Anomaly because, one, I’ve really enjoyed Krista’s other books, (which are contemporary re-imaginings of Bible stories. Transporting the story the story of Esther to a reality-dating show? Genius!) and two, it’s Christian Teen Dystopian fiction! Thalli’s voice grabbed me from the first sentence and never let go. You catch some of the wonder that she feels as she experiences new emotions for the first time and eventually comes to know the Designer. The plot twists were a little predictable, and Berk is a little too perfect, but I still can’t wait for Luminary! A great addition to the Inspirational YA canon, Anomaly is also a great example of the what new face of Christian Teen fiction looks like. Authors like Krista McGee are helping this genre find its feet and it’s exciting to see!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Anomaly - eBook
This review is fromAnomaly, Anomaly Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent - Great - to just Good

Date:September 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Evan
Location:Albuquerque, New Mexico
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As my review summary says, the book started out excellent, then it went to great, and finally ended with a status of good. Before I explain why, let me first say that I believe the author did a good job mixing science and religion into a fiction novel. I also appreciate Christian authors, which is why I devoted myself to such a long review and detailed score.
Now with that said, the book started out excellently. It caught my attention and I read about a third of the book in one sitting, very quick. I still imagine parts of the book as scenes in a movie, especially, the introduction of Rhen's sickness (just brilliantly done!) It was an excellent read.
However, as I reached the mid point of the book things changed. I don't know if the author was becoming frustrated with how fixed the story line was weaved or if she just ran out of ideas, but I found myself becoming disinterested (a very bad thing as a reader). Let me explain why. First, the surrounding scene does not change very much. The reader is literally left with no new room to imagine new scenery. If you like reading books about a prisoner in a cell or a fisherman abandoned on a boat then you will probably like this book (that might be an exaggeration, but it is very accurate to the scenes one will find in this book). Thus, I found myself dying for a change of scenery. Second, the author uses the same feature in her story over and over. For example, in describing the inner character traits of Thali she allows the story line to go in circles four times in a row to express the point. While the story line does progress, it does so ever so slow. I wonder if it could not have been achieved differently? This is perhaps what disconnected me to the story line the most as the story essentially came to a halt. Third, the author uses a simple story structure that led me to guess the ending of the story by the mid point of the book, and I was mostly correct. I honestly believe most readers guessed the ending by this point to because the author guided us in that direction by restricting the surrounding events to just two outcomes (slightly boring).
While the book started out excellent and went to great, by the end I found the book to be okay or just good. The main reason for this is due to Thali, the main character. At about by page 200 (which is two-thirds of the book) I found myself becoming so annoyed with Thali that I actually put down the book for a week! I felt that the author used the same character traits in Thali too often to the point that I started really hating her. She became way to predictable and too fake to actually like. Also, I believe the author pushed the "anomaly" issue on Thali a little too much in the book. Although, there was other factors involved for putting down the book, I do believe that the book's lack of story structure and character interest caused it.
I eventually did finish the book and was partially correct in my guessing the ending. However, perhaps the ending is the another issue that reviewers need to address. I will not try to give any spoilers, but the author relies to heavily on Science and smartness to drive her story. In addition, I believe this causes an imbalance between the level of science (setting) and the problem of conflict that drives the story. It really leaves the reader stressing the logic behind it with one sarcastic word, "Right......."
Overall, I had to give it 4 out of 5, although, I wanted to give it a three. The reason it gets four stars is that I do like the book and the story behind it. It is hard to drive Christian theology in a fiction story. The author did a great job with mixing both. She also did a great job with the twists in the story (but some were guessable). I believe if you are a female reader you will thoroughly enjoy this book better than I did (I am recommending it to my sister). I also believe that this book is more oriented for teens than young adults. I do look forward to her next book, because I believe we will have more room to know better the other characters like John and Rhen (in fact I was dying for more character interaction!) Thus, if you like novels about totalitarian governments and the suspense that comes with them then you will like this novel. But men beware: you need to be dedicated to reading it through!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Anomaly - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quickly drew me into the story

Date:June 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Normally, I don't read dystopian books (think Hunger Games). Our world is weird enough without imagining what it will be like in the future after a horrific war or tragedy. However, my daughter and I have thoroughly enjoyed Krista McGee's other books, so I decided to give this one a try. I am so glad I did.
Thalli is different. And different is not good in the State that is left after a nuclear holocaust. But she feels deeply. She tries to hide, but she can't. To avoid annihilation, she becomes a test subject. The story winds through her learning about the real Designer as she learns about love. This story scrapes away to the essense of what is important: God, love, freedom. The pages turn effortlessly...and the ending left me longing for the next installment. Engrossing read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Anomaly - eBook
This review is fromAnomaly, Anomaly Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Promising Beginning!

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Location:New York, NY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Dystopian young adult novels are an upcoming new trend. I have read several and have enjoyed each one for their individual uniqueness. Though different they share many common factors such as controlling government, crazy scientists, low morals, and technological advance. Anomaly did include such factors, but went further and dealt with topics of deep spirituality and physiological affects paired with technological advances.
I enjoyed the slow but not boring pace of the book. I was able to deeply intertwine my feelings in the characters lives. I thoroughly enjoyed the musical references. Through music we see how it brings out emotions in Thalli that are not supposed to exist. Music further helps her to recognize her creator and speak to him.
The book was not an edge of your seat action packed book, but was definitely not a dull one either. I enjoyed the journey many of the characters experienced in their quest to find God.
Loved the ending. Just when you think you know the ending- BAM! Look forward to reading the next book in the series.
I received a complimentary copy from BookSneeze in exchange for this independent and unbiased review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Anomaly - eBook
This review is fromAnomaly, Anomaly Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anomaly is captivating, intriguing, and absolutely awesome!
From the very first page I was entangled into Thalli's world. McGee writes in such a way that it's nearly impossible to set the book down. The State is an inventive creation and is distinct from the many dystopian novels out there. I can only imagine the amount of time McGee put into it, but I can say that every moment spent shines through beautifully.
Thalli's voice is strong, unique, and her curiosity and her stubbornness endeared her to me. Thalli is simply fun to read about! Her budding confusion surrounding her encounters with Berk were amusing to read. I adored their friendship. In my opinion, friendship is a key element in a successful romance, and McGee accomplishes just that.
To say the least, I'm just a tad excited for the next book, Luminary- which is too far off in the future! :-) I don't read a lot of Young Adult (YA) fiction, primarily because I'm wary of the selection. I'm overjoyed to find authors like McGee and Williamson, who provide us with wholesome YA fiction. If you enjoyed The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins or Captives by Jill Williamson you will definitely enjoy this one.
I received this book from the publisher, via Litfuse, in return for an honest review of my opinions, thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Anomaly - eBook
This review is fromAnomaly, Anomaly Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fascinating from start to finish!

Date:July 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Minutes into the first few pages of "Anomaly", I knew I was in for trouble...that there was no way I'd be putting this book down any time soon! Krista McGee has created a fascinating futuristic world, a post-nuclear war age where science rules the day, and feelings and spirituality have been genetically removed from human DNA. I loved the idea of Thalli, a character who doesn't fit the mold but instead questions why things are the way they are, and feels things on a deep level. She is a wonderfully unique character with her love of music, her emotions and creativity, the way she discovers a Designer at work around her, and I simply couldn't read enough about her! Indeed, Krista has created a winning combination of characters as a whole, and has given them life such that readers will soon feel like they are friends. The story is full of twists and turns that kept me racing through the pages as I sought to discover what was real and what was not.
Yet the novel has also caused me to think about the nature of life on a deeper level, about what truly makes us human, and about our own efforts as a society to scrub God out of the equation and create our own morality and rules and meaning in our life. "Anomaly" shows the danger of stepping into God's shoes, and it does so in a wonderfully entertaining manner.
I, for one, am highly anticipating the next addition to Krista McGee's clever series. I highly recommend this wonderful addition to the world of dystopian fiction, and award it 5 out of 5 stars.
A review copy was received from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Anomaly - eBook
This review is fromAnomaly, Anomaly Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous Novel!

Date:July 24, 2013
I jumped on board for this blog tour because I'm a huge fan of Krista McGee's previous books. But then I got nervous about reading the book. It's a huge departure from her other novels—genre-wise at least—and my exposure to dystopian YA is limited to The Hunger Games trilogy (which I loved, but stil!) Silly, I know. Well, thank goodness, I got over myself because Anomaly was fantastic!
The book starts off with Thalli counting down the last few minutes of her life. What a hook! At that point, I knew I wasn't going to be able to put the book down. Krista is an incredibly talented author. She managed to create an entire world in the future, develop characters that I adored, and tell a story with so many twists and turns I was never sure what was going to happen next. And the best part was that it all seemed so believable. Futuristic novels are usually hard for me to buy into because they seem so ridiculous, but I totally believed the reasons why this whole world was living like they were. I also loved how she creatively wove in threads of God's character throughout the book—even though only one character even acknowledges God at the beginning.
I think it's only fair to warn you that this book ends with a bit of a cliff-hanger. I HAVE to know what happens next, and I can't believe I have to wait several months for the next book! I guess, I'll be learning a little lesson about patience in the meantime. :) Anomaly is a fabulous book and I highly recommend it! [5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson and Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Anomaly - eBook
This review is fromAnomaly, Anomaly Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great futuristic novel for teens

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this novel of the future, nuclear war has occurred. The land, the water, and the air are all contaminated. People live underground in a society directed by The Scientists. They develop genetically engineered young people who are raised in a communal setting. Some are designed to be logical thinkers. Some become scientists. Others are workers. And when a person is no longer needed, he is annihilated.
Thalli was designed to be a musician. Her purpose is to stimulate the others in her pod so they will do their jobs better. But at seventeen, Thalli knew she was different from the others. She questioned while the others merely accepted. She felt when others showed no feelings. She was an anomaly. And that was why she was going to be annihilated.
I really liked this novel for young people. It had everything a futuristic novel should have. There is the post nuclear war future with a living environment controlled by scientists – one of whom gets inside people's brains. There is lots of futuristic equipment. There is the desire for a meaningful and emotion filled life. There is word of a Designer when all belief in God has been erased. There is the possibility of love as Thalli's friend, now scientist in training, Berk tries to help her live.
I especially liked the twisting of perception, going from reality to a simulated reality without the subject knowing. Like Thalli, I began wondering if the current scene was real or a created reality. And the twist at the end, speaking of created reality, was great.
This is a great novel for teens. There is a great presentation of the gospel and faith in Jesus. Teens who would like a thoughtful futuristic novel will like this one.
I received a complimentary egalley from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Anomaly - eBook
This review is fromAnomaly, Anomaly Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Drama!

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nicki
Location:Missouri, Mo
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anomaly by Krista Mcgee had me hooked within the first few chapters! It has an amazing plot with plenty of heart stopping drama. The book takes place into the future decades after the nuclear war... that left the world inhabitable for any life. But deep underground a handful of scientists known as The Ten built a secret compound that was meant to keep life going after the end of the world as we knew it. The only catch was the scientists have genetically engineered humans to be free from emotions in the hopes that war won’t threaten their lives again. They believed emotions was the root of destruction. But Thalli was born with the ability to feel emotions and a sense of curiosity she can barely contain. She has survived so far thanks to her ability to hide those differences. But Thalli’s secret is discovered when she is overwhelmed by the emotion in an ancient piece of music.
She is quickly scheduled for annihilation, but her childhood friend, Berk, convinces The Ten to postpone her death and study her instead trying to save her life. While in the scientists’ Pod, Thalli and Berk form a dangerous alliance, one strictly forbidden by the constant surveillance in the pods. If the ten found out that Berk, the young scientist soon to be one of the ten, was lying to save an anomaly instead of his loyalty to the State, the punishment would be his life as well as Thalli's.
While she is trying to stay alive she hears rumors of someone called the Designer—someone even more powerful than The Ten. What’s more, the parts of her that have always been an anomaly could in fact be part of the scientists much larger plan for her then she could have ever imagined. And the parts of her that she has always guarded could be the answer she’s been looking for all along.
Thalli's situations were written so well the emotions she felt and experienced leaped off the pages and made me feel the same way as if I were right there beside her! I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who loves nonstop adventure that leaves you breathless! I can not wait for the next book in the series to come out! Though I have to say that the genres of fantasy/scifi and the genre of Christian fiction in this book did not mix well. For the kind of plot this book was about it sounded like opposites. It felt forced and just did not quiet go together.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. The opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Anomaly - eBook
This review is fromAnomaly, Anomaly Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book for YA Readers

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Becky Doughty
Location:Southern California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anomaly is a YA dystopian, post-nuclear war survival story. Yes, I hear your sigh. Another one?
But guess what. This book was GREAT! The plot was well-developed, the characters believable, the concept possible, if not probable. And there was a twist at the end that left you wanting to know MORE! This absorbing read for YA enthusiasts has a strong Christian worldview that doesn’t overpower or come across as preachy. Krista does a wonderful job of being inside Thalli’s head as she blossoms into the creative, emotionally charged human The Designer meant her to be.
I was really intrigued by the secondary world Krista develops in this story, and how compromised standards were intentionally presented as attractive options. I can’t say more without a spoiler alert, but isn’t that how sin is often presented? A subtle shifting of lines, quiet agreements, compromise.
I highly recommend this to YA readers, and I look forward to reading the next book when it comes out.
NOTE: I was given a copy of this book for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Anomaly - eBook
This review is fromAnomaly, Anomaly Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surprisingly Good

Date:July 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seventeen-year-old Thalli has been scheduled for annihilation. She is the Musician for her pod, her group of peers, and she feels emotions, something the post-apocalyptic society she lives in has attempted to remove through genetic engineering. Berk, her childhood friend, is now a Scientist and persuades his colleagues to save her for study. She is given a reprieve, but as the experiments start, she soon starts to wonder what is real and what is not.
Krista McGee’s last three books were contemporary YA chick-lit romances, stories of young women finding God and finding love in the hot-house of reality television (so perhaps they were actually fantasy?). Anomaly is YA Christian sci-fi, which is both a dramatic departure from her earlier books, and a small but growing niche in Christian fiction. That was a surprise: not only that an author with a following in YA romance would move into such a different genre, but that she’d do it so well. This is good. Really good. Read-in-one-sitting good.
Anomaly has similarities to many other sci-fi classics I read as a teenager or as an adult (most of which I can’t remember the names of but The Giver, TV shows such as Jeremiah, and movies like Logan’s Run do spring to mind). Anomaly paid homage to some of these classics with its post-apocalyptic emotionless society living deep in the mountains of Colorado, a society that assigns children into roles at birth and terminates those who don’t fit in. It has a definite Christian take on that future society, from John as the remnant to the concept of a Designer.
It wasn’t perfect: I do have some questions, like why a small science-driven society that genetically engineers people to serve a specific purpose saw the need for a Musician, and how John’s son has such different values and beliefs to those of his parents. But these are small niggles. The sequel (Luminary) is due out in January 2014, and I’ll be looking forward to it.
Recommended for those who enjoyed books like The Giver and The Hunger Games. Thanks to Thomas Nelson and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Anomaly - eBook
This review is fromAnomaly, Anomaly Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Can't Wait for #2!

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Teddy G
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Within the State, productivity is paramount. To this end, emotions, curiosity, and relationships are not only frowned upon, but they have been mostly eradicated through DNA manipulation of the generations. However, Thalli is considered an Anomaly; created to be her pod's musician, she pours all of her illicit emotions into her music. The creators of the State, the Ten Scientists, watch Thalli closely, and when it becomes obvious through her reactions to an ancient piece of music that she cannot function within the confines of the State's rules, they schedule her for annihilation. Removed from her Pod, with only her childhood friend Berk, now a promising Scientist, fighting for her survival, Thalli meets John who speaks to her about the Designer. What is Thalli to believe now? Is there more to life than the Scientists allow? Is there a purpose to her "malformation"? Is there any hope for her to escape death? Does she even want to, or is death really only the beginning?
I was very excited to get this book for review - I really enjoyed Krista McGee's first trilogy, First Date, Starring Me, and Right Where I Belong. This book did not disappoint. Although a departure from the author's initial genre, delving into dystopia, her characters are just as well developed, and her fictionally generated world draws the reader in, making it easy to imagine living in a world where the earth's surface has been eradicated and the only remaining civilization is contained underground. Eerily possible, too, is a world where the Scientists controlling such a world have erased any emotion or connection to God. Yet, even there, there is a remnant of God's faithful, a sole believer who has survived to teach others of His existence. This portion of the story really drew me in - as Thalli not only had to learn of a God she never heard of, but also concepts like love and marriage that were foreign to her.
Although the levels of manipulation within the story toed the line of implausible, the story was still well done, and I enjoyed it very much. I was excited to see that it's the first in a trilogy, but heavily disappointed to see that #2 isn't due out until next summer!
I give this book 4 stars, and I can't wait to see where Ms. McGee takes this story!
I received a copy of this book from Thomas Nelson publishers, as part of their BookSneeze program, in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Anomaly - eBook
This review is fromAnomaly, Anomaly Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Refreshing Sci-Fi book

Date:July 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
PamS
Location:GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anomaly
by Krista McGee
Anomaly is the first in a trilogy of what happens after a nuclear war across the earth. Thalli is raised underground knowing only about the bad things that happened on the earth and that the State will take care of them. Everything is logical, there is no emotion, but for Thalli, she questions many things and learns to hide her curiosity. When Asta, a fellow member of Pod C, falls sick and is taken away, Thalli is devastated. Then a few years later, her best friend Berk is taken away to be a Scientist, and will not be allowed contact again. Thalli's hidden emotions finally appear when she is asked to play a piece of music that survived the nuclear fallout and is touched by the answers within the music. As Thalli lays on the floor in tears, she is declared an anomaly and sentenced to annihilation. Thalli learns of a Designer and her world is opened up and filled with love and hope. If only Thalli can convince the Scientists to allow love back in their lives again.
I enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone that likes a sci-fi style writing. I was most impressed with the author's ability to bring God and Jesus into the front of the storyline rather than keeping it in the background like many such books. I look forward to reading the next two books in this series.
http://www.thomasnelson.com/anomaly.html
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Anomaly - eBook
This review is fromAnomaly, Anomaly Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A futuristic look at the world after nuclear war!

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are only a handful of humans remaining after the Nuclear War decimated what used to be the world as we know it. Only for those of us left, we don't have any memory of that world. All we have are the lessons we study about the world that once was. We are segregated by generations and in my Pod C, there are only about thirty of us. Each of us has a talent that only we alone possess. For me, Thalli, I am a musician. I can read and create music as though that was all I was born to do. For my roommates they have their own special skills, cooking, inventing, designing and even logical thinking. We are kept away from the other Pods B and A, as they are another generation ahead of us. We have no parents and we don't even consider those of us dwelling in this Pod as friends really. We just go about our days like we're supposed to only for me, I am considered an anomaly, because I think. I ask too many questions. I wonder why more than I just accept things like my Pod mates. My only ally is Beck who is a wonderful scientist and who sense there is more to me than I am supposed to be.
Whenever illness comes, we are removed and never seen again. They call it annihilation and we cease to be. Thanks to a group of scientists known as The Ten, we are able to live and find ways to grow food beneath the ground. We can't go above because the air is toxic and we would simply die. So for now, we continue to work on finding a way to survive in this existence, but if they learn that I am not all I am supposed to be, it will be my turn for annihilation. Only scientists are allowed to ask questions and to wonder why. I am simply to create music. However when I am asked to play an old piece of music left behind by the world before us, I can't hide the emotions that the song brings out in me. Now I am moved to isolation and the experiments begin to see if I possess anything that can be useful before I am annihilated.
But will the world I believe is my home turn out instead to be a virtual one? A simulation so real that all of my senses are engaged and I can not longer differentiate from what is real and what is not? What is my true calling in this life? Is there hope for something more than simply what I was created to be? How much longer will I be allowed to live before I am no longer a viable option?
In the novel Anomaly by author Krista McGee, Thalli is a young girl who begins to wonder if there is something more than what she has been lead to believe her whole life. She knows nothing of parents, love or God other than what she is reading about through her history lessons on her learning pad. This calls into question what would happen if just a handful of humans remained on the earth after a horrible nuclear war. How would they survive? What would they do to maintain law and order in their society? This is just that premise that Krista breathes to life in this dystopain fiction that sounds like a futuristic version of Lord of the Flies. I absolutely LOVED all the shifting of realities and soon found myself questioning what is real or isn't in this wonderful science fiction young adult novel. For anyone who loves this type of genre, you will not be the slightest bit disappointed.
I received Anomaly by Krista McGee compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I received no monetary compensation for a favorable review. Knowing how quickly we are creating our own virtual reality's in video games, this one really took me by surprised and wondered just how far along are we really. This really does create a sense of what if, when you read this one and makes us question just how beneficial is technology in the future. How will this world survive if we found ourselves in the situation Krista created in this novel. This is definitely a novel that makes you wonder how you would handle creating a lasting remnant if given the chance. How much freedom would you allow people to have? I rate this one a 4.5 out of 5 stars and there's even some discussion questions included for book groups or small group study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Anomaly - eBook
This review is fromAnomaly, Anomaly Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Courage, Conviction, and Conformity=GREAT YA READ!

Date:July 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wman4JC
Location:miami, fl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My rating is 4.5 Stars
On front cover: QUESTION. FEEL. BELIEVE.
My Review
This is the definition for the word anomaly: deviation or departure from the normal or common order, form, or rule. I really like that definition and it fits Thalli so well. Thalli lives in a world that is underground….she has no knowledge of what Earth is like, she has never seen the ocean, and taking turns to see the moon is a rare privilege. She is 17 years old and the underground, called the State, is run by scientists. There are 10 scientists and they in turn are training the next generation of genetically engineered human beings to take over when the time is right. There are no more families, no more children, no dust or sickness, and everything is controlled, measured, or rationed according to each population. There is no more emotions, no more belief system, and no more love. There are different pods separated by age group/generation and each person in these sections has been engineered to master one thing. Thalli is a musician; there is also a dietician, historian, mathematician, horticulturist, etc. She loves music and can play any instrument. She expresses herself through music and analyzes her feelings for others through music.
One night Thalli’s pod, Pod C, is schedule to view the moon, but something goes wrong and they must be rescheduled. Thalli gets suspicious because nothing ever gets rescheduled, things in her world never go wrong. That’s about to change.
At some point Thalli is sent to the music room to play a piece she’s never seen before. While she is playing she loses herself in the music and she is caught sobbing uncontrollably, that is when it’s decided she will be annihilated. Scientists believe that if anything not engineered shows up within the State, that this could be contagious or cause disorder. Also, once someone no longer serves a purpose for the greater good of the State, they are annihilated. The characters in the plot define anomaly as rushing through lessons, curiosity, arguing, having emotions.
Will Thalli survive what these scientists have in store for her? Will she discover the truth in time? As the scientists realize mistakes that have been made along the way, will Thalli be able to help them find answers?
Thalli herself is kind of childish at first, but there is such an innocence about her and she has an amazing heart for being a genetically engineered person with brilliant potential. Then she meets John and he teaches her about the real Designer and opens her mind to impossibilities beyond what she has been taught or trained to believe.
The main lesson I got from this story is how society trains us to believe untrue concepts that we buy into. Yes, we need authority and to respect order, but we also have to remember that as believers we are not of this world. We’re here to fulfill God’s purpose for our lives not to fit in or be like everyone else. Our minds, our bodies, and our purpose are not supposed to be conformed to what the world dictates, that’s not where our identity originates from and it’s not where our destiny is. This is a powerful reminder throughout the book.
I absolutely loved reading this book, but as a reader I also want to point out that nothing in the plot is what it seems. It’s easy to read, chapters are short, and it can be read in one or two sittings, but things definitely get intense and the story grabs your heart through Thalli’s journey. It’s truly amazing what she endures, how she is constantly tested, and how callous/uninvolved the scientists treat her as they study her with every response (there is no relationship with these doctors and their patients, only acceptance and duty). Her innocence remains, but her growth and discernment steadily increase with her intelligence throughout the story. That to me was more interesting than all the technology, all the logic, and all that goes wrong with the scientists’ calculations.
The movie this book reminded me of was The Island with Scarlett Johansson and Ewan McGregor. There really isn’t any violence in the story, but Thalli’s mind gets played with a lot (sometimes that can be worse than violence, but nothing graphic or disorderly happens in the book). I absolutely loved Berk and was amazed at the risks and sacrifices he makes to protect Thalli. My main question for him was, “Did you get ANY sleep in this story?” I also liked Rhen, she reminded me of a female Spock from Star Trek. I truly look forward to the sequel, Luminary, coming early 2014! Check out this link for other releases coming up next year from Thomas Nelson: http://relzreviewz.com/coming-in-early-2014-from-thomas-nelson-part-2/
I want to thank Booksneeze and Thomas Nelson for the free review copy provided. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Anomaly - eBook
This review is fromAnomaly, Anomaly Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a great book!!!

Date:July 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor Joel
Location:Kamiah, ID
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a sucker for science fiction. When I chose to review Anomaly by Krista McGee published by Thomas Nelson Books, I didn’t know what I was getting into except it was a scientific, dystopian world type novel. Anomaly is the first book in a trilogy.
This book is very, very well written. It is written for a young adult/teenager reader in mind so you will find short sentences and short chapters (I’ll be honest , I like short chapters).
In this book we see a world that has been destroyed by nuclear war. 10 people survived and created an underground world.
Generations after the 10 people create an underground world, we find Thalli, a young girl who was taught to never feel anything. They tell her that she is an anomaly because she is beginning to feel things, experience things and they want to annihilate her because of it.
This book goes though many twists and turns and you never know what is real and what is in the mind of Thalli. You even find a little romance for all you romance fans out there.
I can’t go through everything without giving away the plot. It is a very good book, where the gospel is shown throughout in a very creative way.
I recommend it highly for any reader and for fiction fans, and especially for all who like science fiction. If you are a young adult/teenager who loves to read or you know a young person who likes to read, buy them this book. They will fall in love with it.
After reading it they will not wait to read book 2 and book 3.
I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review from booksneeze.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Anomaly - eBook
This review is fromAnomaly, Anomaly Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous!

Date:July 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't typically read books in this genre, though it's kind of funny that I've read two in the past month. I really enjoyed this story for a number of reasons. I think it's cool how the author used a dystopian and futuristic world to show the importance of what God created and how altering the divine order in our lives makes us a bunch of clones of each other. We all need a purpose for our lives and given the right conditions, we will all, at some point, long for something better. We all make choices that make us who we are. Without emotion and love, we have nothing. Since God is love, it all ties together. I found the way the author tied that all together quite fascinating. I would consider this a high concept novel, though the concept if firmly based in a Christian worldview.
I appreciated the deep point of view used by the author to show deception and how putting our hope in something that isn't real is kind of like falling in love with our sin. In the end it leaves us feeling emptier...worse than before. I saw Dr. Loudin as not just an antagonist, but also a "satan" figure in that his goal is not only to get the character to believe the deception, but he was willing to not only mess with her mind and her emotions, but destroy her soul to accomplish that. Very profound stuff. And the way the biblical truths were presented to the characters was emotionally moving. The insight and sense of a higher purpose because of the teaching they received from John touched my heart. The ending left me anticipating the next book. I can't wait to see what this author cooks up for book two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Anomaly - eBook
This review is fromAnomaly, Anomaly Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A New Idea at a Blooming Genre

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jaguar Hero
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over the past couple years, the dystopian genre has exploded among young adult books. I have read many of these books, and I have also gotten quite tired of too many similar story lines and characters. But while Anomaly by Krista McGee may have a few similar ideas (lack of emotions, a controlling government of scientists, an almost love triangle, first person POV from a female narrator), this book dives into another side of the dystopian ideals.
The character of Thalli was interesting. She had an almost child-like curiosity and naivety to her. However, instead of making it obnoxious to read, I felt it added. It showed how the society of the State projected their residents. Also, her adoration for music was intriguing. The descriptions were beautiful.
While there was not a whole lot of action or heart-pounding scenes, this book was anything but dull. It delved more into the psychological aspects of both what technology and the natural world can do to a person. I thought this was a great twist on the normal dystopian genre.
This book kept me guessing and was filled with a lot of surprises, even up to the end. Just when I thought I had figured everything out, it would change. And now, I eagerly await the next book in this soon-to-be stunning trilogy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Anomaly - eBook
This review is fromAnomaly, Anomaly Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down

Date:July 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linda Walters
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Intense, gripping; hard to put down book. 5 Star rating from me; with no hesitation. Its like a world filled with generations of Mr. Spock. Pure logic, no emotions or questions allowed, with each person having their specific area of expertise. Thalli's just so happens to be Music. There are several movies that come to mind with a similar theme, too bad I can't think of the names of them. But its not really that important; this writing was truly attention holding.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>