Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Judgment Stone, The Immortal Files Series #2 - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Judgment Stone, The Immortal Files Series #2 - eBook

When a group of ruthless immortals-known as The Clan-attack St. Catherine's monastery at the base of Mt. Sinai, they steal one of the world's holiest artifacts: a piece of stone from the Ten Commandments. Those who touch the Stone can see into the spiritual world: angels, demons, and the blue threads of light ascending to Heaven that signal the presence of believers who are connected to God.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Judgment Stone, The Immortal Files Series #2 - eBook
Review 1 for The Judgment Stone, The Immortal Files Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A worthy followup to Book 1

Date:July 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
mscourt
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mount Sinai is the initial setting of the story where the monastery is being attacked (again) for its treasures. A group of immortals called The Clan have broken in and stolen a piece of stone that was just uncovered by Ollie, the archaeologist. Jagger calls Owen for advice on what to do and Owen insists that they go after The Clan immediately. The stone the Clan stole has the ability to reveal the spiritual realm to anyone who touches it. The Clan is significantly worse than The Tribe (from Book 1). Unlike The Tribe who believes killing sinners will help them earn their way back into God’s good graces, the Clan has determined that redemption isn’t possible in God’s eyes, so they seek to grieve Him in as many ways as possible. How do they do that? They hurt as many of God’s children as they can. Jagger and Owen have teamed up again, but they can’t be everywhere at once.
Meanwhile the Tribe has been watching Jagger and his family. Since their leader Ben died and Naveah took over, she’s become obsessed with knowing what Beth (Jagger’s wife) told Ben that enabled him to finally die. She’s planning on kidnapping Beth and getting the secrets from her. With Jagger and Owen gone chasing The Clan, the Tribe finally makes their move, but Jagger’s family is not exactly defenseless.
This book is a great sequel to The 13th Stone. Actually, I think it’s even better. It’s grittier, the stakes have changed, there’s more than one opposing force, and it has angels (well, and demons too). There are things in the story that are sad and gruesome and that might steer some readers away, but I encourage you to read it because they are also things that happen daily in the world that grieve God. It’s messy and sad, but there is also triumph in our prayers. While Jagger is sometimes quite frustrating, he is the perfect protagonist for this series. He’s easing into his belief. It’s one thing to believe God exists; it’s another thing to believe that He cares.
(I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Judgment Stone, The Immortal Files Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Immortals Who Want Revenge Action Adventure Thril

Date:June 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robert Liparulo in his new book, "The Judgment Stone" Book Two in The Immortal Files series gives us another adventure with Jagger Baird
From the back cover: What if praying became a curse instead of a blessing?
Former Army Ranger Jagger Baird thought he had his hands full with the Tribe--the band of immortal vigilantes fighting to regain God's grace by killing those opposed to Him. But that was before he encountered the ruthless group of immortals called the Clan. The Clan is after a prize that would give them unimaginable power--a piece of the Ten Commandments known as the Judgment Stone.
Those who touch the Stone can see into the spiritual world: angelic warriors, treacherous demons, and the blue threads of light that signal the presence of believers in communion with God.
By following the blue beam radiating from those closest to God, the Clan plans to locate His most passionate followers and destroy them.
Jagger quickly realizes his high-tech gadgetry and training are no match for these merciless immortals. But how can he defeat an enemy who hunts believers through their prayers . . . and won't stop until they've annihilated all those close to Him?
In this high-action thriller, best-selling author Robert Liparulo examines the raging battle between good and evil on earth . . . and beyond.
The 13th Tribe is back and this time they are gunning for blood! Jacob, also called Israel, grandson of Abraham, had twelve sons who founded the twelve tribes of Israel. Mr. Liparulo has conceived a 13th tribe of men, women and children, 40 of them, that were cursed by God to wander the earth as immortals and never see the face of God. These would be the people who not only worshiped the golden calf but tasted the blood of the sacrifice. Somehow this punishment has driven them insane and they believe that if they punish sinners God will find favor with them and reverse His punishment, which, of course, is not going to happen. In the previous book Baird went up against The Tribe, now he faces The Clan and they are even more insane and hate filled. The Clan launch an attack on St. Catherine's Monastery and steal a fragment of the original Ten Commandments, The Judgment Stone. With this Stone The Clan can identify believers and destroy them as well as the angels who protect them. The battle continues and this time is even more deadly than the last! "The Judgment Stone" is a thriller, which simply means that everyone is in grave danger from, practically, the beginning. Mr. Liparulo has given us a really clever story with even better villains. "The Judgment Stone" is full of twists and turns that will keep you flipping pages to find out more. I do not recommend starting this book late at night as you will have to sacrifice sleep in order to finish it. This is an exciting book, extremely well paced and suspenseful. This series is just terrific. I never want it to end and I am so looking forward to the next book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from The Suspense Zone. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Judgment Stone, The Immortal Files Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Robert Liparulo has created a world that is really interesting here... overall the world is as we know it, except that there is a contingent of people that were present at the Golden Calf in the Old Testament when Moses came down from the mountain. They were punished with immortality and are now trying to do whatever it takes for God to forgive them so they can die. This is book #2 and you could read it alone, but I would certainly recommend reading it after book #1. Most of the characters in this book were present in book #1 except for a whole gang of bad guys that actually like being immortal and have no intention of asking God forgiveness for anything. They set out to wreck havoc on the world when the Judgement Stone is discovered. The stone reveals to anyone that holds it, what is going on in the spiritual world around you. To some this is good. To the bad guys... this is a ticket to find those close to God and destroy them. Jagger is out to take care of the bad guys while his wife and son are just trying to stay alive, and keep from getting kidnapped, and keep the priests alive... um, yep... it gets really good. I love Robert's writing style. He creates something amazing every time he writes. And he has done it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Judgment Stone, The Immortal Files Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An amazing must read for spirtual warfare fans!

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are some amazing authors that are releasing some incredible novels and Robert Liparulo is definitely one of them. In his latest series, The Immortal Files, he began with his novel The 13th Tribe. You will need to read this one before attempting the sequel, Judgment Stone. You need the background that you discover in the first novel to make sense of where the action picks up in the second novel.
The premise of this novel begins with the story of the Israelite's that upon waiting for Moses to come down from his meeting with God on Mt. Sinai were found worshiping a golden calf thinking that Moses had abandoned them. Those who refused to destroy their idol worship of the golden calf were destroyed from the original 12 tribes. This is where the 13th tribe originated in the first novel. The 13th tribe of men, women and children, 40 of them, were cursed by God to wander the earth as immortals for their sin and never see the face of God. These would be the people who not only worshiped the golden calf but tasted the blood of the sacrifice.
Now these immortals have split up and gone their separate ways. For some like Owen, he is trying to work out his salvation with God by doing all the good he can in the world. Others like the Clan are running with the darker side and are wrecking havoc on Earth becoming an enemy to God and everyone who is on His side. There are others like we met at the conclusion of the 13th Tribe, that want to give up their immortal life and find a way back into God's grace again but don't know how to get there. They believe that only one person can help them and that is Jagger Baird's wife, Beth. She shared the salvation story with one of the immortals before he died and he seemed a peace where he would end up in his eternity with God.
Only now, The Clan has discovered a tool that may help them with their endeavor to rid the world of God and all who believe in Him, and usher in the enemy to destroy and rule the world in complete darkness. This is where the Judgment Stone is being sought after. The Judgment Stone is a piece of the Ten Commandments created by God. He who possesses the stone can see into the unseen world of angels and demons. Once you can do that, you can target your enemy in an entirely new way. You can see those who are believers and destroy them as well as their angelic warriors away from the world. Striking back at the monastery where the Judgment Stone has been hidden, the Clan will stop at nothing to make sure they possess this valuable artifact. This is where Jagger will realize that despite all his military training and high-tech gadgetry he is completely defenseless against those who hunts believers through their prayers and with Jagger's family being believers, they will strike where at the very heart of his life.
I received The Judgment Stone by Robert Liparulo compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. I received no monetary compensation for a favorable review. The best thing I enjoy about Robert's series is his ability to tap into the latest in military gadgets like Unmanned Ground Combat Units and exoskeltons that offer the military an edge up on the enemy. I found myself toggling back and forth between this novel to see just how these devices worked and was surprised at just how in the dark I was at where we are at using high tech gadgets in our military. I am impressed by his research into this which greatly enhances this series. Not only do you have Immortals walking the earth that are almost impossible to kill but now some of them are using these high tech gadgets and weapons. Truly scary and unbelievable but make this an exciting page turner til the end. For those of you that love futuristic military combined with spiritual warfare, you will LOVE this entire series. I'd rate this one a perfect 5 out of 5 stars. Now I can't wait for next novel in this series to see how it will all play out in the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Judgment Stone, The Immortal Files Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast-paced Adventure

Date:May 29, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. I did not want to put it down. This book throws you right into the action from the first sentence.
Now, if you enjoy a sweet romance this book might not be for you. But I like sweet romances but I also like action packed adventure and I found it in this book.
The Judgment Stone is the second book in a series. The first book is The 13th Tribe. If you start with this book you won't be lost but trust me, you'll want to go back and read the first. I have not read the first but it is on my list to read this summer.
What I liked about this book was the visual it gives of what happens when we pray, what we don't see. Jagger (the main character) touched the Judgement Stone (a piece of the first ten commandments that Moses threw down when the Israelites made the golden calf) and when the stone is touched you can see into the Heavenly realm. He saw angels surrounding those who were praying and when people prayed it was like lights flowed out of them up into the atmosphere.
What a powerful visual for us as we hit our knees in prayer and a reminder that our prayers do matter and God is listening.
Make no mistake, seeing into the Heavenly realm means seeing things that aren't so pleasant either, such as demons, which are as real as angels even though we don't like to talk about it.
If you are looking for a page turning, get-all-worked-up kind of book, then this book is for you. Men and women alike will caught up in this fast-paced story.
A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Judgment Stone, The Immortal Files Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you ever seen a sequel to a movie that was either better or worse than the original? Before you read The Judgment Stone, please read its predecessor The 13th Tribe because the story is more enjoyable if you understand the previous events and more. You could still enjoy this novel as there are intermittent references to the original, but so much will be missed by bypassing The 13th Tribe.
As soon as you open the book, the action takes off as if it never ended; there is another attack at the monastery. However, there is more going on in the spiritual realm that is now being seen by some of the characters. Jagger has built a panic room for Beth and Tyler to run to when there is trouble erupting so that he can focus on combating those who seek to destroy. Spiritual warfare is told about in the Bible and now a recently discovered artifact may help others see the unseen simply by touching it. Jagger is still wrestling with his faith, his immortality and the many questions and doubts he battles.
Now there is a group bent on causing deeper pain than the Tribe, and Owen and Jag are chasing them. Beth and Tyler are at the monastery preparing for a funeral of three monks killed in a previous attack, but they are not alone. On top of that, one group has possession of The Judgment Stone and plans on using it for evil purposes. Jag has a splinter that fell off the pain stone that helps him see into the spiritual realm and there is someone he attempts to speak to as he has questions. On top of that, when touching the stone, blue vertical lights are seen everywhere with some brighter than others. Where do these lights come from? Where do the lights end?
Flying over many continents in hopes of stopping the carnage and the group responsible for it, Own and Jag need help beyond human capability. Beth and Tyler need protection, assurance and hope. Where do they turn to get what each of them needs? There is also the burning bush, Mount Sinai, a tattoo that identifies one of the groups, the spiritual realm being seen with spiritual sight and man seeing beyond just the horizontal realm of the physical world. Add these components together and you’re reading a high-wired suspense-filled thriller!
There is so much in this novel that reminds me of praying, choosing to believe or not, and a love that is sacrificial and lived out daily. I hope the author plans on more books in this series as the action, adventure, archeological sites and biblical references keep the mind of the reader active. However, beware there are mysteries you may not see until the author reveals them, adding more intrigue with heart pumping suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Judgment Stone, The Immortal Files Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Judgement Stone doesn't disappoint!

Date:May 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Judgment Stone
By Robert Liparulo
The Judgment Stone is the second book in The Immortal Files and it is just as heart-pounding as book 1 The 13th Tribe. Jagger Baird is still head of security for a dig in Egypt, though now he knows who and what he is.
The Tribe, now under Nevaeh, is interested in Beth and how she changed Ben allowing him to die. But while they keep St. Catherine's under surveillance they observe a new threat to the monastery that they can't understand.
After the attack (that killed several of the monks) Gheronda reveals the attackers id to Jagger. The Clan, whom Gheronda viewed as worse than the Tribe, had attacked them for a shard of stone!
What the significance is is unknown to the monks so they call Owen, who has tracked the Clan over the years. The dig that Jagger is at has unearthed a portion of the Judgment Stone - a piece of the first Ten Commandments. Touching this stone will allow one to see into the Spiritual world and the Clan plans to use the stone to destroy those who follow God.
Owen and Jagger set off to get back what Owen refers to as the God Stone before the Clan corrupts it by using it for evil. The Tribe makes its move while Jagger is gone. What follows is a battle that is Spiritual. When the evil that is the Clan is confronted the battle must be fought through faith and prayer.
The Judgment Stone is a Spiritual journey, a journey to discover the power of faith and a journey to find redemption. If you read The 13th Tribe you won't want to miss The Judgment Stone!
I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher through the BookSneeze program in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Judgment Stone, The Immortal Files Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great continuation from The 13th Tribe

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
SamG
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Judgment Stone is the second book to Robert Liparulo's Immortal series. Jagger Baird is back again on an adventure to stop the Clan from using the Judgment Stone for Evil. This stone is a fragment from the original ten commandments tablets God gave Moses on Mount Sinai.
The story starts out immediately with action and adventure and never lets up until the very end. Although there are slower parts to the story, the build-up to the next action sequence is not far away. The clan was mentioned in the first book and it is nice to have better character development in this second book. Also knowing Owen true identity from the first book gives new insight into his character development for the second book, which was also nice to read.
Note: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.