Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Rosemary Cottage, Hope Beach Series #2 -eBook

Thomas Nelson Rosemary Cottage, Hope Beach Series #2 -eBook

Amy came to the charming Rosemary Cottage to grieve, to heal, maybe even find love. But there’s a deadly undertow of secrets around Hope Island…. she needs to mourn her brother, Ben, due to a surfing accident...but was it an accident? Amy has reason to wonder. She’s even thinking of moving her midwife practice to the Outer Banks community. It’s always been a refuge for her and her family.

Coast Guard officer Curtis Ireland has lost a sibling too. His sister, Gina, was run down by a boat, leaving him to raise her infant daughter. Yet he can’t help being drawn to Hope Beach’s new midwife, Amy. He even agrees to help her investigate what happened to both Ben and Gina. Can two grieving people with secrets find healing on beautiful Hope Island? Or will their quest for truth set them at odds with each other…and with those who will go to any length to keep hidden things hidden?

Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
42 out of 4495%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rosemary Cottage, Hope Beach Series #2 -eBook
Review 1 for Rosemary Cottage, Hope Beach Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A face-paced story with twists, turns, and Romance

Date:June 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shannah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just can't get over how masterful a story teller Colleen Coble is. I've not read one of her books I didn't thoroughly enjoy. This book is no exception! I was hooked from page one! The story moved at just the right pace. Lots of action, mystery, and the right amount of romance.
The emotions the characters felt were realistic. I could feel Amy's grief, joy, contentment, and conflict as she struggled to keep her emotions in check. Her character is one I can certainly relate to. Curtis' character drew me in from the start. His caring, protective nature is admirable. Their romance, while at times I wanted to smack them both, was sweet.
The lesson in this story was two-fold. God wants us to be real. It's so easy to put on a facade, to pretend to be someone we aren't or feel something we don't, but that's not what God wants. The other lesson is about judgement. We are in no way, shape, or form in a position to judge others, yet we do it on a daily basis. That's not God's will either!
Overall, this is a face-paced story with plenty of twists, turns, and romance for anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rosemary Cottage, Hope Beach Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amy Lang doesn’t believe her brother’s death was an accident. She has come to Hope Island to find out the truth. She has spent many happy summers on the island with her brother Ben. She can’t believe he would have had an accident while surfing. He was too good a surfer for that to happen. She also is a midwife and sees the need on the island for her services, so she decides to move there permanently. As she begins her search into her brother’s death, she gets reacquainted with Curtis Ireland. His sister, Gina, was Ben’s girlfriend. Gina was killed in a boating accident about two weeks before Ben was killed. Amy convinces Curtis that both deaths deserve another look and what they uncover makes them suspicious about the deaths being accidents. What were Ben and Gina to each other? What were they involved in? Did Amy really know her brother as well as she thinks she did? Did Gina really make a change for the better after becoming a Christian and giving birth to Raine?
Curtis and Amy develop a friendship that begins to blossom into something deeper. First, they must resolve the issue of their siblings relationship with each other and if their deaths were connected to on another. Curtis and Amy staunchly defend their siblings in public, but privately begin to doubt how well they really knew their siblings. Throw in an attempted death, a politician on the move up the career ladder and a couple of unexpected rescues and readers have a very interesting story.
This novel has lots of suspense, action and surprises that will keep readers hooked until the end. The only thing I didn’t like was the search for the kidnap victim took too long and seemed to drag the story down a little. I also didn’t like how the two main characters would have an argument then contact each other to help with their investigation immediately thereafter and they would both agree to the outing. I didn’t think that was too realistic. Other than that, this was a good solid read and left me wanting to read more books in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rosemary Cottage, Hope Beach Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rosemary Cottage on Hope Beach Island is exactly the place Amy Lange needs to grieve her brother Ben, who was out catching a wave one morning and just vanished. Amy wonders if foul play is involved, because somehow she doesn't believe that is was an accident. She is a practicing midwife, and has always been encouraged to go where the need was greatest. She sincerely feels that the need is great on the remote island where women have to cross on ferry to get to a doctor. So when Amy discovers something that makes her decision to stay on the island permanently more than just a great idea, she snatches up the chance to not only stay for her midwifery, but so she can also investigate Ben's death.
Curtis Ireland is a Coast Guard, and he is raising his niece, Raine, after his sister Gina's death. Gina was run down by a boat and killed, so there is no mystery surrounding her death. But when Amy shows up and starts planting seeds of doubt, he can't help but begin to wonder if their sibling's deaths are somehow connected. Will the evidence they find prove that the death of Ben and Gina was no accident? Or was it just a game all along?
I have to admit, this book held my interest from the first page. It's been a while since I've so greatly anticipated the release of a book in a series, but Coble does such a good job of writing romantic mysteries I couldn't help myself!! I was completely surprised by a couple twists in the story; so I can't gloat this time that I saw it coming. I read so much that I can usually guess where the story is going, but Coble does us a solid with clean romance, mystery, suspense, and of course, the beautiful scenery of the island that will forever remain a place we want to visit.
This book was provided by the publishers for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rosemary Cottage, Hope Beach Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Full of romance, suspense and action!

Date:January 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really enjoying this Hope Beach series. Tidewater Inn was a great book, but I absolutely loved reading Rosemary Cottage. There are so many twists and turns. I figured some things out, but must admit that the author really shocked me at the end. This book was interesting all of the way through.
The premise of the story is that Amy Lang and Curtis Ireland have both lost siblings in the past year. And both of their deaths were ruled accidental. But Amy thinks there was something suspicious about her brother’s death and heads to their family vacation home on the island to try to figure out what happened. As she and Curtis spend time together, they learn that there may be much more to both of their siblings than they ever knew. Add in Curtis’ sweet little baby niece and some danger and you end up with a very convincing story full of action, suspense and romance.
This is a very well-written story with characters that I felt that I could really connect with. I always love reading a book series that folds in characters from the previous books seamlessly and that is what the author has done with Rosemary Cottage. I am looking forward to the next in the series.
I received a complimentary copy from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rosemary Cottage, Hope Beach Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fine But Not As Good As the First

Date:January 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was amazed to discover that I had read the first book in this series and rated it five stars. I began to recall some of the events as I read through this follow-up book, but I just did not find the first book in the series memorable. And after reading last year's review, I discovered that as nice a story as this book is, it falls short of the other's book's success.
Don't get me wrong. The second half of this book is action-packed and chock full of mystery and intrigue. There is no profanity and no sex scenes. Christian principles are emphasized, and it is clear that the primary characters are true Christians. The characterizations are well-orchestrated, and I felt somewhat connected with several of them. The mystery writing is pretty exceptional, and although the end is basically assured, the ride is pretty rocky at times.
My complaint is twofold. First of all, I would have loved for there to be a stronger Christian message like there was in the first book. I was concerned that the author may have been watering down her message to attract more readers. I appreciate the Christian principles, but I prefer a much more substantial message.
My other criticism is that this book follows the same formula that the first book in the series did. While the method works, I don't understand why it takes half of the book to get the story going. In my opinion, Colleen Coble is a better author than this. I still prefer her historical novels, but I would love to see the passion from those novels placed into her contemporary series.
If you have not read the first book in the series, not to worry. This book is definitely a stand-alone. I can recommend it for a quick read and a romantic suspense book that is guaranteed clean.
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rosemary Cottage, Hope Beach Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great series

Date:September 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
wallabyjay
Location:NSW Australia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love all of Colleen Coble's books, and this book did not disappoint. I had to go back and look at the first book in this series "Tidewater Inn" to remember the story line as it was a while since I had read it. I couldn't put this book down until I had finished it and since I was on holidays I had the luxury of being able to read it quickly. I couldn't work out the mystery until near the very end, it had me stumped. There is romance also. I loved this book and look forward to the next one in the series. I hope it is not too long for it to come out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rosemary Cottage, Hope Beach Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book excellent - CBDReader below par

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mimi
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Did not like reading book on CBD reader. Very frustrating. Kindle and iBook app much superior
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rosemary Cottage, Hope Beach Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancy Baker
Location:New York
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was very exciting and could hardly put it down
She is a very good author
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rosemary Cottage, Hope Beach Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Could not put it down!

Date:July 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tammy Sotela
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have enjoyed all of Colleen Coble's books and this one is no exception. I could not read it fast enough! It is a wonderful mixture of romance, suspense and family drama. Can't wait for the next book!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rosemary Cottage, Hope Beach Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet romance with dramatic suspense

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hope Island. Just the name draws me to want to come and spend time there in quietness. But, all is not as it seems. We were first introduced to the community of Hope Beach in Tidewater Inn, but if you haven't read that one yet, you can always pick it up and read later. Although we do meet the same people, the story is not a continuation. Colleen weaves a sweet romance in with dramatic suspense in her talented writing, and once started, this book is difficult to leave.
As in any small town, but perhaps more so in a rather isolated town, everyone knows each other, or thinks they do, and what they do not know, they assume. And often, rumors become what we take as reality because we have heard them so frequently.
Aside from being a great novel written in Colleen's unique style, this novel has deeper levels. How well do I really know my family? Amy thought she knew Ben, but did she? Curtis felt the secrets he was keeping was honoring his sister, but do we keep secrets because we are trying to shield ourselves? How far would we go to get something we want?
Definitely a novel suspense readers will enjoy.
I received this free book from Amy and Chris at Litfuse Publicity Group and Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for an honest review. A positive critique was not required. The opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rosemary Cottage, Hope Beach Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lots of Intrigue!

Date:August 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
alidanelle
Location:GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rosemary Cottage
by Colleen Coble
The second book of the Hope Beach series begins with immediate intrigue. A young mother is murdered by someone she knows and the death is declared accidental. Several months later upon the arrival of Amy, questions begin to surface and clues come to light about the murdered woman and Amy's brother. As Amy and Curtis, the murdered woman's brother, reconnect, they have to learn to trust each other with very important information. They also have to decided if they will trust their heart and the gift God has given them.
I enjoyed Rosemary Cottage from page one and was surprised at the twists at the end. This is not a cookie cutter suspense novel that is easy to figure out who did what, but draws the reader in and keeps the questions coming until the very end. I would recommend this book to anyone and have already passed it on to my mom and mother-in-law who both read it very quickly.
http://www.thomasnelson.com/rosemary-cottage.html
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rosemary Cottage, Hope Beach Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mystery on Hope Beach

Date:August 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're looking for a good Christian story filled with suspense, action, and romance, Colleen Coble's Rosemary Cottage is a great choice. The setting is inviting, the characters are well-developed, and the suspense grabs you from the very beginning.
This story illustrates one of the main reasons I read Christian fiction almost exclusively. The love story is an important element in the book. You observe the relationship growing between the characters, but it is presented in a way that is God-honoring; no steamy, inappropriate actions or thoughts are needed to tell their story.
The mystery is well played, up to the very end of the story. I had some of the pieces figured out, but I have to admit that parts of the final resolution caught me completely by surprise.
Rosemary Cottage offers a return to Hope Beach, the setting for the first book in this series, Tidewater Inn. Although the inn and some of the characters from that story show up here, you will have no problem following the story of Rosemary Cottage as a standalone. (Of course, I would recommend you go back and read the first book as well.)
Thanks to the BookSneeze blogging program for providing a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Rosemary Cottage, Hope Beach Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great by Colleen!!!

Date:July 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larik
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rosemary Cottage
By Colleen Coble
"You are afraid to be judged and yet you judge what everyone else will think"
I think this quote hits the heart of this story. Amy was ready to judge everyone while keeping her brother on a pedestal. I have a brother too and in my opinion he is one of a kind. But we are human and like Coleen said we need to be real, no one is perfect we all make mistakes and wrong turns. We need to accept that not just in ourselves or our precious siblings but also in people around us and help them without judging.
I loved the mystery of this book, all turns and twist had my head spinning--amazing!!!
I love natural remedies, i never believed in drugs they deal with symptoms not with the root of a problem. Midwives do a wonderful job and Im glad Texas is all for them..
I wanted to kick Curtis a couple of times though. Some of the things he said, or just the way he said them, in all those arguments, made me want to yell at him to buck up and act his 30-some age not a 13-year-old kid..
Twisty mystery! Lovely characters! Grand lesson about judging! And of course sweet-true-love romance!!!
Enjoy! And count your coffee cups...lol I did.. There is a tip at the end about how to make one that is really good for you.
Disclaimer: I got a free copy of this book from a publisher, through NetGalley, in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Rosemary Cottage, Hope Beach Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Hope Beach Novel

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amy Lange has so many wonderful memories of her and her brother, Ben at Rosemary Cottage and their long hours playing on the beach. But this year Ben isn't with her at Rosemary Cottage but his memory is here. Ben lost his life in a surfing accident. Amy was looking for closure in her brother's death. She may even move her midwife practice to Hope Island.
Amy can't help but wonder if his death was really caused by an accident.
Curtis Ireland has also lost a sibling, his sister, Gina was was killed in a boating accident. She left something very valuable to Curtis's care, Raine, Gina's daughter. Curtis will do anything to protect his niece from intruders. That is until he meets Amy Lange and then his world is turned upside down. But is that a good thing or a bad thing?
This is a nail biting, chills running up your spine, suspenseful story. Your brain will be working overtime to find the secrets that will solve THE mystery. Aside from all the suspense is an on and off romance between Amy and Ben, with littIe Raine in the middle.
I get really into the books I'm reading and forget sometimes that the characters can't hear me giving them some well needed advice.
This author never seems to let me down when I read one of her books and I have read several of them. All winners, in my opinion.
I highly recommend not only this book but this series and especially this author.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson/Litfuse Publicity Group for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. This review is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Rosemary Cottage, Hope Beach Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Like it, but some things do not mesh

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
In her second installment of her Hope Beach novels, Colleen Coble writes another suspenseful mystery. Amy Lang, a registered midwife, is investigating her brother's suspicious death, as an anonymous email implies that it was no accident. Curtis Ireland has mixed feelings when she shows up - he has always admired her, but her scumbag brother was the father of his niece, and he hasn't gotten around to telling her family yet, since he does not want a custody battle, given that his recently deceased sister left year-old Raine in his care. However, the truth must come out, and Amy and Curtis spend a lot of time together as they discover that the deaths of their siblings seem more and more related.
I like Amy a lot - she is in a profession of which conventional medicine does not wholly approve, and she believes in the delicious healthiness of dairy fats like butter and cream. In addition, she is generally calm and a keeper of the peace; she doesn't like conflict, but she is not crippled by it - she can deal with it effectively. I do not really understand Amy's idea that she constantly hides her true self - she hides her medical issues, but that is a private matter and shouldn't define her; her actions and reactions typically reflect her thoughts, though occasionally she tempers her them so not to cause any more unnecessary upset. So is she hiding herself, or does she have wisdom to know when to sit down and not rock the boat? The personality that I see (having been privy to her thoughts) lines up with the personality the other characters see, so I guess I'm not sure what the author is getting at.
The plot is twisty but easy enough to follow, and the reasons behind the murders and kidnapping fit the perpetrators; and while I was on the right track, I did not actually figure out the mastermind behind the murders. Some things never were explained, though, so I am not sure if they are supposed to be red herrings or what; the drugs in the garden and Dara the Mysterious Man-hungry Modeling Campaigner seem significant for some time, but as events come to a head, they drop out of the plot entirely as the book rushes to an incredibly quick close. Also, the relationship between Amy and Curtis didn't ring completely true for me; they are constantly exploding at each other and then the next time act like nothing happened. Sometimes they are miffed for a few seconds after meeting again, but next thing they are as chummy as ever, at least until one disparages the memory of the others sibling once again, at which point they mentally and/or verbally explode. It happens a lot.
While the main characters seem to be strong Christians, there is not much of a Christian message or lesson to be learned. Other books by Coble do have stronger messages than this one, which I prefer. It was a nice continuation of the series, but "Tidewater Inn" (the first in the series) and some of her other novels are better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Rosemary Cottage, Hope Beach Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
Location:Mesquite, Tx
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love this series so far. I never want to stop reading. I catch myself staying up untill 2:00am not knowing how late it is. Everyone needs to read this series. Thanks for a great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Rosemary Cottage, Hope Beach Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
BettyD
Location:Fort Myers, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a fan of Colleen Coble, and this new series doesn't disappoint! The second book is as good as the first one, with romance and intrigue. A great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Rosemary Cottage, Hope Beach Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Summer Read

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rosemary Cottage is the second book in the Hope Beach series by Colleen Coble. Since I am a serious Colleen Coble book lover, I snatched this book quickly. There is something about her storytelling that I just absolutely love. She has such a gift for great story lines, interesting characters and plots that beg for you to try and figure out. This latest book did not let me down.
Amy Lange is coming back to Hope Island for two different reasons: she is grieving the death of her brother that was lost at sea in a surfing accident. She is not so sure it was an accident and intends to do her own investigating. The other reason, she wants to move her midwife practice to Hope Island and live in Rosemary Cottage which has been a haven for their family. There was also another death three weeks before Amy's brother. Curtis Ireland is a Coast Guard officer who lost his sister to a boating accident, that looks like it wasn't an accident. He is raising his sister's daughter, but that could change with the new information about these two accidents. Amy and Curtis agree to help each other to find out what really happened, but they will be very surprised with what they find the deeper they investigate. Will they find the truth or will the secrets stay hidden? Will they be attracted to each other thru this ordeal or will it drive a wedge between them? What will happen when they find out the truth, can they believe it? These are just some of the teasers I hope will entice you to pick up this book.
On thing I always count on with Colleen's books, I am always trying to figure it out till the very end. I thought I knew the culprit but I was totally shocked when I never saw the ending happening like it did.
She has such a way to writing that sucks you into the storyline which made for a good summer read and I highly recommend it.
Thanks to Thomas Nelson for sending me this free copy just for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Rosemary Cottage, Hope Beach Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good Beach Read

Date:July 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Happy Reader
Location:Columbia, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Another well written book by Colleen Coble. I always enjoy her books, but this one was a little more difficult for me to get into. The characters were drawn out and flawed, which is a good thing, but I had difficulty in connecting with the main character, Amy. There really were times when I kind of wanted to smack her for naivety (someone indicates her brother's death may not have been accidental and she automatically opens her house to a person she's never met before? And then, when she catches that person snooping, she believes the lie she's fed? Hmm. One eyebrow is raised.)and her bullheadedness which, in my opinion, bordered on total disregard for Curtis's & Edith's feelings.
Amy, a naturally optimistic person, has a hard time being transparent with Curtis - a man who becomes more than just a passing fancy for her. At the beginning, the romance felt stiff and pressured as it seemed they were always accusing the other's sibling of dubious deeds and neither were willing to believe that their own sibling wasn't perfect and having flaws. One thing that I very much enjoyed about this book, was the natural way Amy approached life. Using herbs and tinctures, etc, I found those parts extremely interesting and actually think a little more would have been awesome. I love stuff like that and was thrilled to see it take a major role in this book. If you like plot twists and turns, and don't like being able to figure out an entire ending, this book will deliver and I found myself doing the 'argh! I didn't see that one coming!' at the end.
This was a good book that I would recommend to lover's of Christian fiction. This book isn't overtly Christian, and some non-Christian fiction readers would find it enjoyable as well.
*My thanks to the publisher for providing me a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion. These thoughts are my own, and I was not required they be positive.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Rosemary Cottage, Hope Beach Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the latest from Colleen Coble!

Date:July 25, 2013
I'm a huge fan of Colleen Coble's romantic suspense novels, and Rosemary Cottage did not disappoint! I liked Amy and Curtis right away—even if they didn't like each other! Both of them were struggling to deal with the deaths of their siblings, which added a deeper dimension to both of them. There was so much chemistry between the two of them as well. It seemed that every time they talked, they alternated between intense attraction and heated arguments. Of course, their fierce loyalty to their respective siblings didn't help in the midst of those arguments!
My enjoyment of the novel was probably enhanced a little as I read about half of it during a power outage due to a thunderstorm. Nothing makes a suspense novel more suspenseful than reading it in a dark room, by flashlight, with a storm raging outside. Feel free to re-create this scenario when you read Rosemary Cottage! :)
If you enjoy suspense novels, you are sure to love Rosemary Cottage! I highly recommend! [4.5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson and Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.