Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Outreach Inc To Save A Life Novel

Outreach Inc To Save A Life Novel

Jake and Roger grew up as best friends. But in high school Jake becomes a star athlete who has it all; popularity, a college scholarship, and the hottest girl on campus. It's an ideal life that comes at the exclusion of his childhood friend. Meanwhile, Roger grows tired of always being pushed aside, and makes a tragic move that spins Jake's world out of control.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for To Save A Life Novel
Review 1 for To Save A Life Novel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great books that gets you thinking

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
LaulaG
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great book! My sister got it for Christmas along with the movie. I have read the book once and seen the movie twice. The books adds a lot of detail that the movie doesn't have and sticks closely to the movie. I can't wait to read the second book. I highly recommend it to all teenagers and adults, but I do not recommend it for those under 13 because of some of the subjects it covers. This is a great book!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for To Save A Life Novel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Every teen & parent must read

Date:December 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter read this book then I read it. It's a must for parents and kids alike. I just bought one for a teen of a single parent trying to figure things out. This book is a great reminder of forgiveness, redemption and God's great love for us all!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for To Save A Life Novel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
nathan napier
I love love love this book, i read it within 1 1/2 days of getting it, it portrays a good message of what goes on in schools and even in youth groups today, yes this book is descriptive, but to me truth is best served raw. How can a book be called "To save a Life" if it ain't true to life? I love how Jake decided to die to his self and go after those who are outcasts, for that is what we should do. When he did that he saw changes happen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for To Save A Life Novel
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stephen Sapp
Good concept but must be very careful who you recommend this book to due to its consistent and detailed explanation of sexual temptation. I understand the idea of being authentic but any time a guy has to put a book down, a Christian book at that, due to mental images, I believe it is not a good nor appropriate thing. Christian books should not only be redemptive in its conclusion but should also be an oasis from the temptations of this world that youth are bombarded with everywhere. Be very careful to whom you recommend this book to.
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for To Save A Life Novel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Reagan
This book really hit home with me and how much more I could be doing to reach out to the people in my Highschool and making loving God and therefore others in everything I do my only priority in life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for To Save A Life Novel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Paula Smith
This book is outstanding and i believe all youth should see it. In fact i gave it to our youth pastor and intend to give them the dvd. Wonderful insight into lives of youth today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for To Save A Life Novel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Jake and Roger were once best friends. They did everything together. Roger even stepped in front of a car to save Jake. But when they got to high school, and Jake got better at basketball, things started to change. Jake started hanging out with the popular crowd. Before he knew it, he didn't have time for Roger at all. And now Roger is dead. None of Jake's new friends even know that he and Roger were once friends. They don't understand what this loss means. Jake wonders what's the point of it all? And if he had done things in his life differently, could he have saved Roger? As Jake searches for answers and tries to find meaning in life, his friends just don't get it. But Jake can't go back, even if it costs him his reputation. I'd wanted to see this movie, but it never came to a theater near me, not that any theater is near me...So I bought the book to tide me over. I'm totally glad I did. This book was powerful. It threw me into Jake's life, the life most every guy wishes he had: star athlete with a full ride scholarship to play for his dream school, the perfect girlfriend, fun best friends, and popularity. Then tragedy strikes and Jake starts to ask important questions. And he won't give up until he finds the answer. This book gets into faith in an honest and ugly way. Sometimes that's what we need to see. There are a lot of "Christians" out there making Christians look bad, loving themselves more than they love others. This book shows one guy struggling to do it the right way, no matter what anyone thinks. What an inspiring story. Now I want to see the movie more than ever! I highly recommend this to all high school and college students.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for To Save A Life Novel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michael Rose
Our beloved 15-year old daughter Elizabeth Hope Rose went home to be with Jesus on 02/19/10. The medical examiner hasn't been able to find a cause of death, but we know. God called her home so she she could be with Jesus - the one she loved more than anyone else in the world! He was her passion, her reason for living. Beth was not shy talking about Jesus (even with total strangers!), nor was she shy about encouraging other Christians to be bold in their faith. We love her and miss her amazing smile and great hugs. But, we know beyond a shadow of a doubt where Beth is. She is in Heaven with Jesus, and we will she her again, soon, and very soon! Thank you, Jesus! Thank you for Beth! For Mike Jr., and for Jodie! We look forward to meeting you face to face! Love, Mike & Loretta RosePS-Beth and I (dad) went to see To Save A Life together shortly before she passed into glory. She loved the movie and saw it twice! And, always wore her To Save A Life promo t-shirt!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for To Save A Life Novel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michael Rose
I read the book first then saw the movie. To Save A Life is one of the finest Christian stories out there (Fireproof being the other). It deals with real life teen issues: the cult of popularity, teen suicide, underage drinking, teen pregnancy, and self-injury or cutting while following the life of Jake Taylor, star athlete and prom king, through one crisis after another to personal transformation in Jesus Christ - the only answer to life's problems. This story can truly save a life! But don't take my word for it. Read the book and see the movie!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.