Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realms Love Stays True, Homeward Journeys Series #1 -eBook

Realms Love Stays True, Homeward Journeys Series #1 -eBook

Three strong women from the South forge ahead to new territories to establish a new life and find happiness through their staunch faith. Related not only by blood but also by courage, they prove that love knows no boundaries, and when all else is gone, love will be there.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love Stays True, Homeward Journeys Series #1 -eBook
Review 1 for Love Stays True, Homeward Journeys Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is April of 1885 and the War Between the States is over. Manfred and Edwin Whiteman are exchanged as prisoners as war for Union soldiers, and are now heading to their hometown of Bayou Sara, Louisiana. But the journey promises to be long, hard, and arduous, and that's only if nothing goes wrong along the way. Manfred wants to return the kindness shown by strangers as they go homeward, and is willing to be delayed a day or two in order to honor his promise. But when keeping his word means being waylaid by thieves and being thrown in jail, will he ever get home to his girl?
Sallie Dyer is awaiting word of her dearest Manfred. She doesn't even know if he's alive, because mail has been unreliable and with a war on, no more can be expected. She is determined to wait his return no matter how long it takes, even though her father is equally determined to let other suitors vie for her hand. When three of Manfred's brothers return, that still leaves Manfred and Edwin missing. Are they buried in some unmarked grave far, far away from home? Or are they, even now, returning home to them?
It was fun to see Edwin grow from an angry, taciturn young man into a mature, responsible man that his family could be proud of. I know Manfred and Sallie's story was the main focus of the story, but the side stories of their families and friends really stood out to me. Ultimately, all their experiences in the war change their lives forever, and they all learn lessons about life, love and what it means to come back as a country, as family, and as a community. I was very impressed by Rogers's sweet and poignant portrayal of what times were like after the Civil War; the people, their strength, but most of all their faith in the same God that allowed a country to be divided. This was the best post Civil War novel I have ever read.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Stays True, Homeward Journeys Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Faith endures during hard times

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Paula Osborne
Location:Ga
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love Stays True by Martha Rogers
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Series The Homeward Journey-book #1 "Love Stays True" by Martha Rogers
Can Sallie and Manfred overcome the distance that the war has put between them and find Love?
This question looms as we read the story...Sallie waiting day after day not knowing if Manfred is alive or dead.
Manfred along with his brother Edwin are in a prisoner of war camp being treated worse then animals, the only good spot in their dismal days with meager food is one soldier has a moment of kindness and returns their Bibles to those that had them. I believe that the faith of these men helped them to get through unspeakable conditions in war times.
The war finally ends after many long years and many lives gone, many disabled.
Manfred and Edwin start their long journey home by foot and it is amazing to read of the many kind and helpful folks they find along the way. It had been a trying time for all yet they would offer food and lodging thus restoring the mens faith in their fellow men. Both young men wanted to repay kindness and helped along the way. Hearts that could have been bitter filled with love....
On the homefront families had been torn apart, homes lost, fear at every corner as folks tried to live their lives and rebuild what once they had. Sallie stays true to her feelings for Manfred and though she hears little from him, believes he will return and she will wait for that day.
Martha told a wonderful story about life after the Civil war of folks waiting at home and of the soldiers returning.
I was given this book by The Booketeria to read and review...I have enjoyed reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Stays True, Homeward Journeys Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A journey toward love, away from pain and horror

Date:September 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cher
Location:NW Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Though historic romance is not something I have read a lot of I did really enjoy reading this book. In fact, would love to read the next one in this series. I did learn a lot about what happened after the Civil War in the South, which is when this story is set.
The goal for Sallie and Manfred was that they make their way back to each other, physically, emotionally and spiritually as quickly as possible. Manfred and his broth Edwin were in prison at Point Lookout, Maryland. When the war ended they started making their way back to Louisiana. The trek that they took was prayed over by Manfred each step of the way. Good things and bad things happened, but Manfred leaned on God to be able to make the right choices and get home. Sallie had her share of bad things happen at their home so her family was living with the grandparents, not far from Manfred and Edwin's family. Sallie is afraid Manfred will not forgive her for what she did.
Sallie's family were not all convinced that Manfred and Edwin would be coming home. They had not heard from them for quite a while. Because of this decisions were being made for Sallie that she did not agree with, but she had to honor her father.
There was lots of places I had a ball reading, some of it sad, some happy. There were times I could have shed a tear with Sallie, and times when I could laugh with Manfred and Edwin on their trip home. Manfred's faith was really great to see in a man, he had no doubt they would get home and he would get to ask Sallie to marry him. And I felt really close to Sallie with all her fear and indecision, and joy and life.
I would recommend this book to any who love historical romance. It was a fun read, flowing very well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Stays True, Homeward Journeys Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is April of 1885 and the War Between the States is over. Manfred and Edwin Whiteman are exchanged as prisoners as war for Union soldiers, and are now heading to their hometown of Bayou Sara, Louisiana. But the journey promises to be long, hard, and arduous, and that's only if nothing goes wrong along the way. Manfred wants to return the kindness shown by strangers as they go homeward, and is willing to be delayed a day or two in order to honor his promise. But when keeping his word means being waylaid by thieves and being thrown in jail, will he ever get home to his girl?
Sallie Dyer is awaiting word of her dearest Manfred. She doesn't even know if he's alive, because mail has been unreliable and with a war on, no more can be expected. She is determined to wait his return no matter how long it takes, even though her father is equally determined to let other suitors vie for her hand. When three of Manfred's brothers return, that still leaves Manfred and Edwin missing. Are they buried in some unmarked grave far, far away from home? Or are they, even now, returning home to them?
It was fun to see Edwin grow from an angry, taciturn young man into a mature, responsible man that his family could be proud of. I know Manfred and Sallie's story was the main focus of the story, but the side stories of their families and friends really stood out to me. Ultimately, all their experiences in the war change their lives forever, and they all learn lessons about life, love and what it means to come back as a country, as family, and as a community. I was very impressed by Rogers's sweet and poignant portrayal of what times were like after the Civil War; the people, their strength, but most of all their faith in the same God that allowed a country to be divided. This was the best post Civil War novel I have ever read.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Stays True, Homeward Journeys Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Torn Apart By War

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have just finished this awesome book, and glad there is another to come! We meet real people in a real war, the Civil War. A war fought in our country, we meet it with real faces and trials.
Two young people who have been torn apart by the North and South...a fight that the principals of which neither agree, except for the right of States to control their own destiny, and not the Federal Government. Both are worried that the other has forgotten them. Manfred Whitman who is in a Northern prison when the book opens, and Sallie Dryer who is living with the reality of her actions during Northern occupation in Louisiana.
Manfred and his brother Edward were captured in the battle of Nashville, and have spent months without being able to notify their loved ones. When they are released, they can't wait to get home, but it is a long way from Point Lookout, Maryland to St Francisville, Louisiana. To begin with they are traveling on foot, can't even imagine. We journey with them to their unknown future. We meet some very interesting a wonderful people, also some very scary, but God really seems to have them in his hands.
Where Sallie faith seems to have wavered, so much happens to try and bring her back in the fold. Manfred on the other hand has held on to his God, and what happens to Edward and him on their way is so heart warming. Love it!! They happen into the right place at the right time.
Don't miss this one!!
I received this book through First Wildcard Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Stays True, Homeward Journeys Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

History, The Civil War and Romance

Date:July 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Martha Rogers in her new book, “Love Stays True” Book One in The Homeward Journey series published by Realms brings us into the lives of Sallie Dyer and Manfred Whiteman.
From the back cover: Can Sallie and Manfred overcome the distance that the war has put between them and find love?
In April 1865, the day following the surrender at Appomattox, Manfred McDaniel Whiteman and his brother, Edward, are released in an exchange of prisoners. They are given a few provisions, and they begin a long journey to their home in Bayou Sara, Louisiana.
At home Sallie Dyer is waiting word of her beloved Manfred. Though just a young girl when Manfred left, Sallie has grown into a caring young woman who is determined to wait for her love—despite her father’s worries that she is wasting her life on someone who may never come home.
On their journey Manfred and his brother encounter storms and thieves and are even thrown in jail. Will he make the journey home before someone else claims Sallie’s hand?
Ms. Rogers has given us real history not only in the events that happen after The Civil War but in the lives of Sallie and Manfred, who not only are real persons, but happen to be part of her genealogy. Manfred and his brother, Edward, were captured by the North and imprisoned at Point Lookout, Maryland. After the surrender at Appomattox they are released and begin their journey home, on foot, to Bayou Sara, Louisiana. Sallie has no idea that Manfred is alive even though she clings fervently to that hope so that he will return and marry her. There is real tension as neither Manfred nor Sallie know what will happen as the brothers make their way back home. Ms. Rogers has given us a book that deals with faith. The faith that can motivate us or, when it is absent, cause us to waver and lose our motivation. The brothers have no idea of how to get home but they believe that God will see them home. Sallie is a little lost due to an event that she feels God will not forgive her for. How all of this works out is the basis for the story so I will not spoil anything for you here by telling you. “Love Stays True” is a story of love, forgiveness and restoration. I like the way Ms. Rogers writes. She is an accomplished author who knows how to deliver true to life dialog and create characters that you fall in love with. This is an excellent read! I am looking forward to the next book in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Realms. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Stays True, Homeward Journeys Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Homeward Journey

Date:June 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sallie Dryer has been through a traumatic time during the war between the North and the South. She fears God has turned away from her. In her mind she has done the unforgivable. What if her childhood love, Manfred Whitman is not able to forgive her either? Sallie watches for her sweetheart to return. He is the first thing on her mind when she awakes and then dreams of him through the night. What if he never returns? What if he has been killed? All of these things among others is what go through her mind day in and day out.
Manfred along with his brother Edward, unbeknownst to his loved ones, have just been freed from being imprisoned by Union soldiers. They have a long journey before they reach the their home. They have been through bad and good on their journey home but God has guided and protected them every step of the way. He is anxious to see his family but most of all he wants to see his sweetheart Sallie Dyer. Will she feel about him as he feels about her after all this time apart?
I have no doubt that the author writes from her heart. She gives us many life lessons be learned from reading this story. Most importantly is trust in God which the character Sallie was unable to do therefore it instilled her with doubt and fear. The author is a wise woman in that she creates stories that will encourage the weary and downtrodden soul to turn to God with our every need. I love an inspiring historical romance and that is exactly what the author has given us with much to ponder on in our daily walk with God..
I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Booketeria/Realms for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. This review is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Stays True, Homeward Journeys Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Uneven in historical detail, character development

Date:June 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Love Stays True" is a Christian historical romance set in the American South from April 4, 1865 to June 7, 1865. I was expecting a deeply historical and realistic novel because the story was loosely based on actual journals from the time. While the situations were realistic enough, there were a number of improbable or inaccurate historical "daily life" details.
I also didn't feel much suspense. Manfred wasn't worried about making it home due to his deep trust in God, he was patient during any delays, and any danger was quickly over. Sallie's troubles (corsets, parties, being courted) didn't seem weighty compared to what others were dealing with. Also it's hard to have a romance when the two characters haven't seen each other in over a year and don't interact for most of the story. Their personalities and beliefs were so different that I wasn't actually hoping they'd get together.
The main characters' reactions often seemed too simplistic. Manfred didn't have emotional trauma from fighting in the war and cared only that he was free. All of the main characters basically said, "Oh, well, we lost, but at least everyone's coming home and things will get back to normal!" They quickly dismissed any bitter or mixed feelings about losing the war or the assassination of President Lincoln.
While Sallie did suffer bad dreams after killing an enemy soldier in self-defense, her reaction seemed impossibly naive. She didn't even seem to realize that Manfred and the rest were killing people in the war. Her reaction never moved past "God won't forgive me because I killed. I don't want anything to do with God because he won't prevent bad things from happening to everyone, even my enemies" until the very end of the book.
And Sallie worries that she'll fall in love with a handsome, kind suitor even though she loves Manfred "with all her heart and soul." She tries to stop the suitor from visiting with her so she won't fall in love with him instead. She avoids anything that might make her question the basis and strength of her love rather than maturely considering the situation.
There were frequent mentions of God working things out and of Sallie blaming God for letting bad things happen. There were no sex scenes and no bad language. Overall, I guess I'd recommend this novel to those who like uncomplicated romances with historical backdrops.
I received this book as a review copy from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Stays True, Homeward Journeys Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Stays True

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
mamaof4
Location:Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
>"Love Stays True" The Homeward Journey #1, By Martha Rogers, book review
April 1985. The War between the states has been going on for so long, and so many have been affected. Sallie Dyer and her family are just trying to keep their family together. The war comes close and she must defend herself and the other women of her family. When their home is damaged they flee to her grandmother's farm and stay until the end of the war.
Manfred and Edwin have fought for the South, but were captured at the battle of Nashville. They now are being held in a northern prison, but only want to go home. When word comes that the war has ended, and they are released, they begin the long walk home. The brothers take word to the family of a fellow prisoner who will be released later , and are given not only food and shelter, but much help on their journey home. On the way, they decide to help as they can along the way.
Meanwhile Sally waits for Manfred. She fell in love with him before the war and has waited all this time for his return.
This novel is well written and shows many of the real troubles that families endured during the terrible war. The characters seemed quite real and believable. The plot moved along well and kept my interest. I look forward to book #2 due out January 2014.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher, Realms books. All opinions expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.