Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Rock Harbor Search and Rescue - eBook

Thomas Nelson Rock Harbor Search and Rescue - eBook

Emily O'Reilly is obsessed with all things Search and Rescue---she volunteers with the team and goes on rescue missions with her stepmom and she even sells homemade jewelry to save up for her own search and rescue puppy. But when an expensive necklace is stolen and Emily is accused of the crime, it looks like she'll never get her puppy and join the Rock Harbor Search and Rescue team. But she sets out to find the culprit---only she isn't prepared for the secrets she and the Search and Rescue dogs sniff out in the process.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rock Harbor Search and Rescue - eBook
Review 1 for Rock Harbor Search and Rescue - eBook
This review is fromSearch & Rescue, Rock Harbor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Read

Date:July 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larik
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow!!! What a mystery! For early teens it is hard core!! I couldn't figure it out until the end. Lovely book! Im so getting it for my niece's 13th Birthday!!!
I was actually pleasantly surprised that the author kept the book strictly to that age-- tight friendships, enormous curiosity, boy crashes, peer pressure from school, relationship with parents.. And so on. Coleen and Robin did incredible job with this book. I cant wait to read the adult version.
In many ways this book has reflected on my theories of life. It is true that when one of your superior's is getting unreasonably mad at you that means there is a much bigger issue looming over.
Poor children -- to have your own mother try and kill you. It is just wrong. Im glad they were blessed with a great step-mom who more then made up for the actual mother.
Overall this book is great fast read. I wouldn't exclude it only as teens material. The twists of mystery are adult quality! I totally recommend this to all ages. Even parents if teens - you should know they can read you better then you realize and even though they seem ignorant or preoccupied they are paying attention to all your moods and actions. Enjoy!!
Disclaimer: I got a free copy of this book from Tommy Nelson Publishing through NetGalley.com in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rock Harbor Search and Rescue - eBook
This review is fromSearch & Rescue, Rock Harbor.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Rock Harbor Search and Rescue by Colleen Coble

Date:June 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rock Harbor Search and Rescue by Colleen Coble is an installment of the new series. Emily’s stepmom is a search and rescue team member along with her dog, Charlie. Emily has been going along with them for a while now and is excited to think that her dad has agreed to help her purchase her own puppy to train. Emily makes jewelry and is planning a big sale at the next craft sale in town soon. She needs $150 for her share and she hopes that she will have it ready by next month when her puppy will be ready. She hoped it until she was accused of stealing the $1000 necklace of the person selling in the booth next to hers. Her family and friends except her best friend Olivia all act like they believe she is lying when she says that she did not do it.
I liked this book and would recommend it for reading for any student with the ability to read it. It is a good mystery probably of interest to those of middle school age. There is an appropriate love interest among the 14-16 age group of the primary characters in the story. There is discussion of the difficulties of working through parent’s divorce for the children in the family as well as the difficulties of physical abuse from a parent and how that affects the children.
I received this book from Booksneeze for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rock Harbor Search and Rescue - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Teen Read

Date:May 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great teen read. Emily O'Reilly is a sweet, God loving, honor student. She loves her family, which consists of her Dad, her Step-Mom, Olivia, and her brothers Timmy and Matthew.
What a young girl doesn't need is to be accused of a crime she didn't commit. She feels like even her Dad has let her down. She was saving to buy her own search and rescue pup to train. Now, she has been accused to stealing a necklace, her Dad made her give the money she made selling her own jewelery to Mrs Dancer.
This book will make you feel like there is no one who believes in you. Yet there is much support from her Step-Mom, and other friends, including her best friend Olivia. Travel with this young teens on this adventure that will keep you turning the page.
There is a sense of unease when Em's and Timmy's real mother is about to be released from Prison. Also you question some of the people who might or might not be friends. We do go on a few rescues with the dogs, to find those who have lost their way in the woods. We are also up against evil spirits and people who do no know God.
I have read many books by both Colleen Coble and Robin Caroll, and this one is very good!
I received this book through the Publisher Thomas Nelson on Net Galley, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rock Harbor Search and Rescue - eBook
This review is fromSearch & Rescue, Rock Harbor.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

13 year olds involved in a mystery

Date:June 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
ACS Book Finder
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Review: While this particular book was based on characters from the Rock Harbor series for adults, I did not have any trouble following the characters in Ms. Coble’s “Search & Rescue.” This was an enjoyable book to read for the targeted to the 8-11 age group, I believe primarily more girls than guys would like this book, simply because the main characters are girls working to solve the mystery of stolen jewelry.
I enjoyed this book and will probably read other books written by Colleen Coble, but there are a couple of things that keep me from giving this book a 5-star review, based on the targeted age reading group.
First, Emily struggles with her fears of local stories of the Windigo monster. This is a frequent fear throughout the book, and though Emily realizes that there is no such thing and that her faith in Christ should be stronger knowing that Christ is with her always, she struggles with the Windigo legends. This particular facet of the book may be disturbing to young readers who may have night-time fears.
Second, Emily, who is only 13 years old, is a little boy crazy and has two major “crushes” during the story and even finding herself alone on several occasions with one of the “crushes.” Yet, the author never gives any type of spiritual direction for Emily’s character to “wait on God to send the right young man.” My particular viewpoint of this aspect of Emily’s character may seem old-fashion, I believe it is critical, in this day & age, that we take every opportunity to instill the attitude of waiting on God when dealing with boy/girl crushes. I could even go as far as to say that the author is encouraging young people to seek out a relationship because the biblical side was neglected in the story resolution..
A strong point of the book…Emily wants a rescue puppy of her own and her parents are willing to help her out with this goal; but she has to work and spend some of her own money on the puppy. I hate to sound old fashion again, but so many kids today are just handed whatever they want. They don’t understand the value or life lesson in working for what you want.
All this being said, I did like this book and would have no reservations about reading other books written by Colleen Coble. I enjoyed the mystery side and the detective work of the Emily and her sidekick Olivia. (rev. P.Howard)
DISCLOSURE: A complimentary copy of Rock Harbor Search and Rescue was provided by BookSneeze on behalf of Thomas Nelson Publishers and the author, Colleen Coble for the purpose of our review. Opinions expressed are solely those of the reviewer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rock Harbor Search and Rescue - eBook
This review is fromSearch & Rescue, Rock Harbor.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun, Exciting Read

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rock Harbor Search and Rescue Dogs provide the setting for this fun, exciting story. When the main character, Emily is accused of theft, she turns into Nancy Drew. The target 8-11 year old crowd will enjoy Emily’s believable investigation. Unlike Nancy Drew, Emily’s efforts are not always successful. Readers will empathize with Emily’s feelings when her family does not jump to her defense. There are multiple story lines in the book making it guaranteed to keep the story moving, and hold the interest of young readers. While the book definitely has a Christian theme, it does not portray Christians as perfect people with perfect lives. This is an excellent choice for readers who are looking for a clean mystery with enough twists and turns to keep you guessing until the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rock Harbor Search and Rescue - eBook
This review is fromSearch & Rescue, Rock Harbor.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book for upper elementary/middle school kids

Date:June 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
smk402
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a quick read - likely because it is geared towards upper elementary/middle school aged readers. I think it was good for this age group; it definitely gives the story from the perspective of a middle-schooler.
My biggest complaint was with Emily's father's attitude towards the situation. His daughter, who is nearly fourteen and has never lied to him, suddenly is someone he does not trust? Yes, the situation as described did make Emily look guilty, but if your teen has proven herself trustworthy, suddenly treating her as if she is a liar is not something most parents would do. Even my father, who I felt was exceptionally hard on me when I was a young teen, would not have treated me this way in this situation. I very much enjoyed his apology to his daughter, but his attitude grated on my nerves for most of the book.
Overall, this is a good book for kids who enjoy mysteries, dogs, or both!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rock Harbor Search and Rescue - eBook
This review is fromSearch & Rescue, Rock Harbor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must read for teen girls!

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
kelisni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
In Rock Harbor Search and Rescue, a middle grade fiction novel based on Colleen Coble’s bestselling Rock Harbor series for adults, kids will enjoy the mixture of pets, adventure, suspense, and a mystery.
Emily O’Reilly is obsessed with all things Search and Rescue. She volunteers with the team and goes on rescue missions with her stepmom. She is even selling homemade jewelry to save up for her own Search and Rescue puppy. But when an expensive necklace is stolen from a renowned jewelry artist at Rock Harbor’s fall festival and Emily is accused of the crime, it looks like she’ll never get her puppy and be able to join the Rock Harbor Search and Rescue team.
Emily isn’t willing to give up on her Search and Rescue dreams that easily, and she sets out to find the real culprit and to restore her reputation. With a few suspects in mind, Emily is determined to uncover the truth, but she isn’t prepared for the secrets she and the Search and Rescue dogs sniff out in the process. This exciting mystery is filled with twists and turns that will keep readers on the edge of their seats and have them pining after a Search and Rescue puppy of their own!
This was a great young detective story. I couldn't put the book down. Ms. Coble had me constantly guessing and I can honestly say I didn't know who dunnit. I had my suspicions, but then somebody else would pop up. It was as if I was reading an Agatha Christie book....not knowing until the very end. I loved the undertone of the loyalty of friendship and how much forgiveness heals a relationship. She also pointed out the importance of communication. Assumptions can be very dangerous - just ask!
I look forward to reading more by Ms. Coble!
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rock Harbor Search and Rescue - eBook
This review is fromSearch & Rescue, Rock Harbor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great new series for young teens!!!

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally a series of great novels for middle school age teens! Colleen Coble has been a favorite author of mine since reading the first of many books that followed and now, just in time she and author Robin Caroll have teamed together to bring you the first in a series of novels designed for young adults. Rock Harbor Search and Rescue begins the new series and is a great mystery for those of you that love untangling the clues to solve the crime.
In this case, eighth-grader Emily O'Reilly is saving up for a Search-and-Rescue puppy of her very own after being involved with working with Charley, her stepmom Naomi's canine. Her parents have asked her to pay for half of the expenses as a way to show teach Emily the responsibility that comes with being partnered with her own Search and Rescue dog. She has it all figured out too. She loves making her own jewelry and hopes during the weekend of the town's fall festival that she be able to make the money no problem.
When a fellow jewelry artist asks Emily to watch her booth while she takes a short break, Emily is more than happy to help. After all she has been creating her own jewelry after Mrs. Dancer's more expensive jewelry creations only hers aren't half as fancy or nice. She ends up selling a few of her pieces before she returns only to discover that her most valued piece of jewelry the Sapphire Beauty necklace is now missing and Emily's cheap imitation is in it's place instead. No matter how much Emily assures Mrs. Dancer that she didn't take it, all the signs seem to point to Emily. Even those closest to her including her Dad begin to wonder if perhaps her real mother's criminal past hasn't come full circle with Emily. Is it possible that she is like her mother after all? She needed the money to pay for the dog she's always wanted, would she be willing to steal for it?
To find out the answers to these questions and more, you'll have to pick up a copy of Rock Harbor Search and Rescue by Colleen Coble and Robin Caroll at your favorite book retailer. I received this novel compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers for my honest review and received no monetary compensation for a favorable one. This is just the beginning of an exciting new series of novels geared perfectly for those middle schoolers that are looking for a bit of fun, adventure and mystery to go along with their novels. I rate this one a 4.5 out of 5 stars and can't wait for the next novel due out in the fall of this year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rock Harbor Search and Rescue - eBook
This review is fromSearch & Rescue, Rock Harbor.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a bit lost at first, but great story

Date:May 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
tmurrell
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Emily is an eight grader who enjoys making jewelry and going on rescues with her step-mom and her dog, Charley. The rescue missions start when someone is lost and a scent dog is needed to find them. Emily hopes to sell enough jewelry to pay for her very own search dog.
But before she can get the money she is accused of stealing a very expensive piece of jewelry from another seller. Her parents don't believe her and it's soon obvious that only her closest friend is willing to help her find the real thief.
This book is a children's book that appears to be written in conjunction with the adult series, Rock Harbor. Because I haven't read anything from this series, I was left a bit lost several times in the book. The author makes the assumption that the book will be read by readers of the adult series. My only other complaint would be the portrayal of the dad. I felt very frustrated, even as an adult, at the way he handled the theft with his daughter. But these two things aside, I did enjoy the book. It was full of mystery, boys, faith, and family. I would definitely recommend this to young readers.
I received this book free of charge from Thomas Nelson and The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rock Harbor Search and Rescue - eBook
This review is fromSearch & Rescue, Rock Harbor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Danger, Suspense, Mystery and Family Troubles

Date:May 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Colleen Coble and Robin Carroll in their new book "Rock Harbor Search and Rescue" Book One in the Rock Harbor Search and Rescue series published by Thomas Nelson takes us into the life of Emily O'Reilly.
From the back cover: In Rock Harbor Search and Rescue, a middle grade fiction novel based on Colleen Coble's bestselling Rock Harbor series for adults, kids will enjoy the mixture of pets, adventure, suspense, and a mystery.
Emily O'Reilly is obsessed with all things Search and Rescue. She volunteers with the team and goes on rescue missions with her stepmom. She is even selling homemade jewelry to save up for her own Search and Rescue puppy. But when an expensive necklace is stolen from a renowned jewelry artist at Rock Harbor's fall festival and Emily is accused of the crime, it looks like she'll never get her puppy and be able to join the Rock Harbor Search and Rescue team.
Emily isn't willing to give up on her Search and Rescue dreams that easily, and she sets out to find the real culprit and to restore her reputation. With a few suspects in mind, Emily is determined to uncover the truth, but she isn't prepared for the secrets she and the Search and Rescue dogs sniff out in the process. This exciting mystery is filled with twists and turns that will keep readers on the edge of their seats and have them pining after a Search and Rescue puppy of their own!
Having made a hit with adults in her Rock Harbor series Colleen Coble teams with Robin Carroll to give us a new heroine in Emily as part of the Rock Harbor characters. The minute I hear search-and-rescue I immediately feel the immediacy of the moment. Someone is missing, there is trouble involved and there is no time to waste. Ms. Coble and Ms. Carroll know exactly how to bring all of that to the story and more. All Emily wants is to save up enough money to purchase her own puppy to train as a search-and-rescue dog while she trains under Bree Matthews. However while selling jewelry at the fair somehow the real piece of jewelry was stolen and people think Emily did it. Now she has a very short window of time to find the thief and clear her name before the puppy that she wants is sold. Danger, suspense, mystery and family troubles "Rock Harbor Search and Rescue" has it all. This is a fast-paced read that will keep you flipping pages to keep up with the story. Ms. Coble and Ms. Carroll have done an outstanding job. I want to have more stories about Emily O'Reilly at Rock Harbor.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program.. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rock Harbor Search and Rescue - eBook
This review is fromSearch & Rescue, Rock Harbor.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A new series for Middle Grade Readers

Date:April 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Cara here: Two of my writing friends have come together for a series for middle-grade readers. Set in Rock Harbor, Michigan, the setting for one of Colleen's series, this books brings back characters moms have grown to love in a book that is perfect for 10-14 year olds. Here's my daughter's take:
In Search & Rescue, 8th grader Emily O'Reilly is accused of stealing a necklace. Even her dad believes she did it. Determined to clear her name, Emily begins a search for the truth.
I loved this book (4 out of 5 stars). It's one I'll re-read, especially when the next one releases. I'd read the adult Rock Harbor books and enjoyed seeing all the charcters from those books again.
Emily's deepest desire is for a puppy of her own that she can train to be a search and rescue dog. Her stepmom works with Bree training search and rescue dogs, and Emily can't wait to join their team. But her dad won't let her get a puppy because he thinks she stole the necklace. He forces her to give that money to the woman who lost the necklace. The only way to reserrect her dream is to prove she didn't steal the necklace.
Even though I figured out the mystery, I kept reading because I needed to know that I was right. I'm looking forward to the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rock Harbor Search and Rescue - eBook
This review is fromSearch & Rescue, Rock Harbor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Welcome to a new mystery series for younger reader

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carol Gehringer
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Award-winning author Colleen Coble collaborates with Robin Caroll to present Rock Harbor Search and Rescue, a children’s mystery series set in the familiar Rock Harbor, Michigan, featuring some characters from Coble’s Rock Harbor adult series.
In Rock Harbor Search and Rescue, thirteen year old Emily’s stepmom, Naomi and her dog Charley are part of the Rock Harbor Search and Rescue team. Emily wants to be a part of the team and is saving the money to buy a puppy of her own to train.
But when an expensive necklace disappears while in her care, she must prove her innocence to everyone who considers her guilty, including her dad. Only her friend Olivia believes she is innocent. Her dad wants to believe her but the evidence (she has motive and means) makes it difficult, so she turns over her savings to the owner of the necklace.
While she works to clear her name and find the real culprit, she must deal with middle school girl-drama. She grapples with her faith (“Why God would allow her to be accused of wrongdoing?”), as well as the Native American beliefs about evil spirits (“Is the Windingo real?”).
Coble and Carrol do an excellent job of taking that familiar series and creating a good clean mystery/suspense appropriate for upper elementary readers. Coble fans will appreciate the plot twists and a visit with the familiar Rock Harbor characters. This new series will earn new and younger fans.
Rock Harbor Search and Rescue is told from Emily’s point of view and readers will appreciate the realistic narrative. The series includes mystery, action, suspense, and loose ends, leaving room for story development in the next book.
Disclaimer: Book reviews are my opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publisher in exchange for a honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Rock Harbor Search and Rescue - eBook
This review is fromSearch & Rescue, Rock Harbor.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great new series for young readers

Date:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Emily O'Reilly has a chance to get her own puppy and train it to be a Search & Rescue dog. It's going to cost her, though. She's confident she can make the money quickly by selling the jewelry she makes at craft bazaars. But when another vendor accuses Emily of stealing an expensive necklace, Emily sets out to prove her innocence, which is hard when her own father doesn't even believe her. Will Emily be able to catch the real thief in time to get her puppy and have a chance at her dream of joining the Rock Harbor Search & Rescue team?
I'm so excited about this new series. I grew up on Nancy Drew and The Hardy Boys—read every book in both series—so I'm thrilled to find something new and equally as fun. I had no idea people surfed on the Great Lakes and found that fascinating. I liked Emily's character immediately. She's smart and confident. I liked that she had a unique interest and was determined to put in hard work to see her dreams happen. Emily also wasn't shy about telling a cute boy what she believed. I loved that, seeing a girl with enough conviction to stand up for her beliefs, even to a cute upperclassman. Peer pressure does not sway this young sleuth!
I had two little pet peeves in the story. One, Emily's dad was really mean at times. It killed me that he didn't even listen to his daughter, let alone believe her when she said she didn't steal the necklace. I felt so bad for her. Two, Emily copied Mrs. Dancers jewelry designs, sat in a booth beside her, and sold hers at a much lower cost. It's really inconsiderate to copy someone else's work and charge less right beside them, where you can steal all their customers. It seemed a bit unethical for Emily's character. But perhaps I've just worked too many years in the fashion industry and seen too many people put out of business this way.
The plot of this book was great with enough suspects and twists and turns that I didn't have a clue who'd done it. The other characters were excellent. I loved how different everyone was, and I look forward to seeing some of the side characters again in future books. There were also lots of fun seeds plants for further books in the series which will make girls excited to keep reading. Loved this book. Highly recommended for young readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Rock Harbor Search and Rescue - eBook
This review is fromSearch & Rescue, Rock Harbor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rock Harbor Search & Rescue packs a punch & lesson

Date:April 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rock Harbor
Search and Rescue
By Colleen Coble and Robin Caroll
Rock Harbor is the destination of tourists and surfers and it is Emily O'Reilly's home. But when a valuable necklace is stolen at the Annual Fall Festival and it is replaced with a copy that Emily made Rock Harbor doesn't seem too friendly anymore.
Suspicion places its eyes firmly on Emily and hardly anyone believes her, including her own father! To make matters worse, her father insists that the money Emily earned at the festival be given to Mary Dancer! How can this be happening? The money she had earned towards the purchase of her Search and Rescue puppy was now gone.
Everyone at school is whispering and pointing fingers at her and her former friend Rachel Zinn outright accuses her of planning the theft and Gretchen Siller backs-up Rachel's story. With the support and help of her best friend Olivia, her younger brother Timmy, and his best friend Dave, Emily is determined to clear her name and solve the case.
Every lead they come up with proves useless. Why would anyone steal a necklace valued at $1000.00? Who could be that desperate and why replace it with the copy Emily had made? If they can come up with the answers to these questions they can solve the case and get back the money Emily had earned for her puppy before it is too late!
Rock Harbor Search and Rescue is an exciting page-turned that both pre-teens and young teens should love as they try to solve the case along with Emily and Olivia. Share in the excitement as Emily goes on search and rescue with her step-mother Naomi. And feel her pain at her father's lack of trust. This is definitely a book that you won't want to put down until you get to the end.
There are also little things that happen throughout the book that will you looking forward to the next one. Like what's going to happen with Emily and Timmy's mom? Will she cause problems? Can she help Brandon overcome his belief in the Windigo?
Have you ever had someone not believe you? Someone like a parent, grandparent, or a teacher? No matter what you said you just couldn't get them to realize that you had told them the truth? And even worse you had never given them cause in the past to doubt you now? If so you will feel Emily's pain at her father's lack of trust. And if you were punished for this thing you didn't do you will totally sympathize with Emily when her father takes away her chance at getting her search and rescue puppy.
I received an advanced reader's copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review all opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Rock Harbor Search and Rescue - eBook
This review is fromSearch & Rescue, Rock Harbor.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

First in an Exciting New Series

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trudi
Location:Bath, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Since she herself was rescued by a Search & Rescue canine team six years earlier, 14-year-old Emily has wanted one day to have her own SAR dog and team. She helps her stepmother with searches and is excited to hear that her parents will help her purchase her own pup if she earns half the money. When Emily is selling her handmade jewelry at a local fair, she realizes that she is within sight of that goal. Her dreams come crashing down when a valuable necklace disappears from the next vendor stall and everyone believes Emily is the thief.
In this fast-paced story, Emily faces long held fears, bullying and the loss of her reputation. She and her best friend decide to do some detective work on their own, but realize one-by-one, that their various suspects are not the culprit. Through the experiences, Emily learns to trust God more deeply and she exhibits a growing courage and maturity.
Colleen Coble has produced a fun and believable adventure/mystery story as the first of a series. I believe her audience will enjoy Rock Harbor Search & Rescue and will be looking forward to future releases in this series.
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.