Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Eighth Shepherd, A.D. Chronicles Series #8

Tyndale House Eighth Shepherd, A.D. Chronicles Series #8

After Yeshua of Nazareth has raised his friend El'azar from the dead, news of Yeshua travels fast and the Sanhedrin begin their plot to kill him. Despite the danger, Yeshua and his followers begin the journey to Jerusalem for Passover. Meanwhile, Zachai the tax collector (Zacchaeus), the most hated man in Judea, longs to be a part of the Jewish society that he has been cut off from due to his profession. He falls into despair, believing God can't hear him and that he will always be alone. Simona, a leper who was healed by Yeshua but remains cut off from society to live in the sycamore grove, shows compassion to Zachai and tells him of Yeshua. Zachai begins his quest to find Yeshua in hopes that this man can heal his heart, just as he healed Simona's leprosy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Eighth Shepherd, A.D. Chronicles Series #8
Review 1 for Eighth Shepherd, A.D. Chronicles Series #8
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Barby Johnson
This series is amazing and the story of Zacchaeus was a wonderful reminder of our Saviour's power of total transformation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Eighth Shepherd, A.D. Chronicles Series #8
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kory Nordick
I love this series. I can't wait until my children are old enough to read them. You get such a great sense of being right there when everything happens. Very emotional.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Eighth Shepherd, A.D. Chronicles Series #8
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Helen Norlund
Read with my family during the Advent Season. It truly gave new meaning to the Shepherds being the first to tell of the birth of Christ. A great read that is full of history, culture and little known facts. If you like the Left Behind Series, you will love this series as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Eighth Shepherd, A.D. Chronicles Series #8
This review is fromEighth Shepherd: A.D.Chronicles Series #8.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
DMcVey
The Thoenes always captivate me with their series and I'm delighted with the way they help one visualize what it was like to live in Jerusalem while Christ walked there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Eighth Shepherd, A.D. Chronicles Series #8
This review is fromEighth Shepherd: A.D.Chronicles Series #8.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Scott Sterling
The continuing story of Shimona the Beautiful Ex-Leper, and Zachai the Publican. The book brings Luke 19: 1-9 alive!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Eighth Shepherd, A.D. Chronicles Series #8
This review is fromEighth Shepherd: A.D.Chronicles Series #8.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Eileen Larson
excellent book and series. It makes the Bible come alive and has a positive impact on my time studying the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Eighth Shepherd, A.D. Chronicles Series #8
This review is fromEighth Shepherd: A.D.Chronicles Series #8.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Eugenie Wilkins
Marvelous, as usual, but their books are getting shorter and shorter all the time. They used to be three to four hundred pages long. That was a problem at times because they were hard to put down and my housework suffered until the book was completely read. :) I finished this one in just a day and a half. I am not interested in the interactive workbook section in the back as I try to relate what I am reading to my life AS I READ THE BOOK.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Eighth Shepherd, A.D. Chronicles Series #8
This review is fromEighth Shepherd: A.D.Chronicles Series #8.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sue Osborne
Brock and Brodie Thoene have done it again. This 8th book in the A.D. Chronicles is as exciting as the other seven books. For historical fiction they weave together stories of Christ's time that puts you into the book and the times; how the culture was back then and how cruel many of the peoples were, but always, always the saving grace of Jesus and those with the genuine heart for God and what is right. I can never put their books down once I begin to read them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Eighth Shepherd, A.D. Chronicles Series #8
This review is fromEighth Shepherd: A.D.Chronicles Series #8.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2008
Another good story in the series. I felt cheated though. This book is a lot shorter than the others and still $18.99. It seems like they were in such a hurry to get out the next book that they cut it short.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Eighth Shepherd, A.D. Chronicles Series #8
This review is fromEighth Shepherd: A.D.Chronicles Series #8.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Johnson
Another amazing book from the Thoenes. As I always am by their books, I was extremely blessed by this story of Zacchaeus and a young woman healed of leprosy. Bodie writes with such feeling for people. And it was so good to get in touch with Peniel again. Don't neglect buying this book and missing out on the blessing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.