Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Twelfth Prophecy, A.D. Chronicles Series #12

Tyndale House Twelfth Prophecy, A.D. Chronicles Series #12

She is a singer of sweet songs . . . and a sinner. A searcher for truth . . . and an outcast.
Life is fraught with danger in the village of Sychar in the first-century A.D. But for Abigail, the Samaritan woman, the danger lies not as much from the ever-present Roman soldiers but from the rabbi and the people of Sychar. A woman of renowned beauty, whose reputation was tarnished at an early age, Abigail is pregnant . . . and the father is not her elderly husband, Zakane. While protecting her lover's name, believing he will spirit her away, Abigail is imprisoned, then nearly stoned by her neighbors. She's befriended by the beggar Leah. But even the beggars, the lowest of the low, don't want her around. Abigail longs for love, kindness, a home for her soon-to-arrive baby . . . and forgiveness for her anguished soul. The answers will come from the most unlikely of places.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 out of 1292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Twelfth Prophecy, A.D. Chronicles Series #12
Review 1 for Twelfth Prophecy, A.D. Chronicles Series #12
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Betsy
Location:Glen Ridge, NJ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the books written by Brock & Bodie Thoene. I have this entire set + I have read the Zion Covenant and Zion Chronicles series. All are captivating and so well written.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Twelfth Prophecy, A.D. Chronicles Series #12
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book. I enjoyed it so much!

Date:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
barb
Location:NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Thoenes are excellent authors. They really make the Bible come alive. My niece read it and loved it, too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Twelfth Prophecy, A.D. Chronicles Series #12
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I hope this is really not the end

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gwenjo
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the last book of a series that really needs to be read in it's entirety to be fully appreciated. The Thoene's have left the door open for more, but I think this is truely the end of the series.
Never have I read a series that has touched me as much as these books have. They are written artfully, and with so much scripture it makes you want to go back to the source.
The research that went into these books is incredable.
One of the best things about the series are the study questions at the end.
I recomend this series as a small group study. You could do a book a month and spend the year in a deep and meaningful journey with Jesus and the people whose lives he touched while he walked the eath.
I hope this is not really the end.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Twelfth Prophecy, A.D. Chronicles Series #12
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hooked on these books

Date:March 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cookie
Location:Frazier Park, Ca.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I so enjoy the Thoene's books, they make Bible times come alive and the people so real.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Twelfth Prophecy, A.D. Chronicles Series #12
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Greatly disappointed.

Date:March 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jean
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought the first 11 books of this series were wonderful and I couldn't wait until #12 was in print. Now, if I hadn't read it, I wouldn't have missed anything.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Twelfth Prophecy, A.D. Chronicles Series #12
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
halfpint32
Location:MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great books, I've read all twelve of them. Are there going to be any more. Love CBS.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Twelfth Prophecy, A.D. Chronicles Series #12
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Date:January 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
aty12
Location:Elk Grove, California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Im a big fan...I love the AD Chronicles....I want to read more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Twelfth Prophecy, A.D. Chronicles Series #12
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is the last book in a great series

Date:July 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kerr
Location:Winnipeg, Manitoba
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful book unfortunately I believe the last book in a great series. Have you ever wondered about the family and friends of major characters in the bible? Would you like to intimately walk with those who arent nescessarily major characters in the bible, although you are involved in their stories, but others, those that are around these people looking in on their stories, well you will find that written in this series, you are transported to another time and place and you can feel the dust in your teeth, and the heat of the hot enviroment of Jerusalem and the other land marks around them. AD Chronicles, you have to read them all they are a wonderful taste of what it might have been like, those secondary characters of the bible with their own stories to tell. Enjoy, you wont be able to put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Twelfth Prophecy, A.D. Chronicles Series #12
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Donut Lady
Location:Winona, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have been waiting for this last book in theA.D. Chronicles series to come out, was not disappointed, story line was great just like the other eleven, felt like you were right with the characters as the story unfolded.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Twelfth Prophecy, A.D. Chronicles Series #12
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A BIT DIFFERENT--BUT VERY GOOD!

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Johnson
Location:Golden Valley, MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Twelfth Prophecy was different from what I had expected in this book, but it was still a very worthwhile read. From the beautiful Scriptural account we have of the woman at the well's encounter with Jesus, I would have expected this book to be an amplified, however fictionized, account of the results in her life and in the village where she lived. Instead, we were mostly told of horrible cruelty on the part of the folk of the village toward Abigail. At times, I must admit that I felt it hard to read of this extremely negative attitude. However, the love and caring of the exceptions to this rule were memorable. The Thoenes certainly create beautiful people in their novels, and this book was no exception to that. And the descriptions of the setting and life in this village and surrounding ones were perfect. After reading this book, I felt I had lived there!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Twelfth Prophecy, A.D. Chronicles Series #12
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AD Chronicles series keeps you looking for more

Date:June 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
LoveToSoak
Location:Duanesburg,NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This whole series has been awesome. Could not put the book down till I had finished the story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Twelfth Prophecy, A.D. Chronicles Series #12
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A climax worth waiting for

Date:May 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
raymondgibson57
Location:Modesto, Ca
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I finished book eleven I was agahst at the idea I had to wait for the twelfth book to be finished. I received the final volume just three days ago and have finished it... Amazing! If ever you've wondered what that time and place would have been like, you must read this series. Courageously beautiful, historically believable, and heart rending in its' delicacy. A simply marvelous adventure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.