Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Critical Pursuit

Tyndale House Critical Pursuit

K-9 search-and-rescue officer Brinna knows firsthand how it feels to be abducted---so when a child in her precinct goes missing, she and her dog, Hero, are first to respond! When an opportunity arises to catch her former kidnapper, Brinna's doubly motivated. But will her reckless new human partner prove less reliable than her 4-footed one? 375 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Critical Pursuit
Review 1 for Critical Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Critical Pursuit

Date:December 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! Janice Cantore did it again! This was a wonderful read! I felt like I was part of Brinna's life in this book. Brinna is a cop who has an obsession with finding abducted children. This obsession came from her being abducted as a child. We go through her life with her as a cop and trying to understand how God has a part in her life. I would recommend this book to everyone especially those who like inspirational suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Critical Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wants you to want more

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
wonderwheel
Location:Mentor, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janice Cantore writes stories that grip you and make you just want to read more and more. She makes her characters so personal you feel as if you're part of their lives.
Great Read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Critical Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well-written Christian Police Thriller

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Police Office Brinna Caruso is a dog handler in Long Beach (it’s a strange name, but the character does tell us the origin of the name, which illustrates a lot about her relationship with her parents). Her passion is finding kidnapped children—because she once was a kidnap victim. But Brinna’s role is placed under review when an arrest goes wrong, a suspect ends up dead and her name is plastered all over the newspapers.
She is partnered with Detective Jack O’Reilly, coming back to work for the first time since his wife died a year ago. He can’t face homicide—he can barely face life—so he is put out on patrol with Brinna. They are both initially uncertain about their new partners, as their reputations have preceeded them, but they will have to work out how to work together.
The first couple of chapters are a bit slow, but the pace soon picks up when the reader realises that Brinna’s kidnapper is back in Long Beach, and is searching for his next ‘Special Girl’ to celebrate the twentieth anniversary of Brinna’s rescue. We can see what is going to happen, but Brinna, Jack and the rest of the police force are oblivious, as records show the culprit died ten years ago. They think the messages left for Brinna at crime scenes are from a copycat killer, or perhaps a local paedophile who knows about Brinna’s Wall of Slime… This was a really good technique, as it really ramped up the tension and made the second half of the book a real page-turner.
This is Christian fiction, and while it’s more gritty than most, it still manages to convey the damage done to Brinna all those years ago without getting into detail, and I appreciated that. The characters were strong, the writing was excellent, and the Christian aspects of the story were handled well. Recommended for those who enjoy a good thriller. I’ll be looking forward to seeing what’s next in store for Brinna and Jack.
This title was first published by OakTara as The Kevlar Heart in 2007. Thanks to Tyndale House and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Critical Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Story

Date:September 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
deanna13
Location:Jonesboro, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Critical Pursuit by Janice Cantore is a great book with a lot of suspense woven into the story. The main character is Brinna Caruso, the one person in the police department to call when a child is kidnapped. When Brinna was six she was kidnapped but fortunately she was found and now that she is a police officer, she and her K-9 search dog will let nothing stop them from searching for missing children no matter what the cost. Jack O’Reilly lost his wife a year ago when her car was hit by a drunk driver. Jack worked in homicide but he is no longer in the department due to his state of mind and his overwhelming desire for revenge against the drunk driver. Jack is assigned to be Brinna’s partner on patrol duty and this causes some tense moments between the two. Brinna is not sure that she can depend on Jack if trouble arises and he is not sure that he can hold up his end of the partnership. A man who fits the description of the man who kidnapped Brinna surfaces and this greatly adds to her problems for she is determined to capture the man and see that he receives the justice he deserves.
Janice Cantore is a retired Long Beach, California, police officer and is well qualified to write a great story that keeps one sitting on the edge of their chair or chewing on their fingernails. I really like the way that the author developed the characters to let the reader know exactly what they were thinking and feeling. Each character was so well developed that they became real people. Due to her career in police work, the dialogue rings true and is interesting to read. Her description of the action scenes was so real that I was right there in the middle of what was happening. The story is filled with lots of suspense that kept me turning the pages to see what would happen next. At the beginning of the book, Brinna and Jack are both fighting against God and His love and are unwilling to forgive others, but as the story develops, their hearts start to soften. I especially like that the author wrote a true to life police novel and did so without using profanity or vulgarity. In spite of all the terrible things that happen in the story, it does have a happy ending.
The following links are provided for readers interested in more information about this book and the author. If you would like to read the first chapter it is available as a PDF. Other items that may be of interest are the author’s photo, Janice Cantore’s website, Janice Cantore on Facebook, and you can visit Janice on her blog.
I highly recommend this book to everyone who likes a great police story that contains a lot of suspense and has a good ending.
Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Critical Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic!!

Date:September 5, 2013
Critical Pursuit is a fantastic book! Of course, I'm a fan of suspense novels and have enjoyed Janice Cantore's previous books, but this one was my favorite so far! The book is a bit grittier than her previous books (but nothing over the top). I was totally caught up in the police drama, and all of the personal drama just added to my enjoyment of the book.
Cantore found the perfect balance for Brinna's character. She was so anti-God and obsessed with her work (which sometimes makes a character easy to dislike). However, she was so personable that I found myself rooting for her early on. Jack was similar. I felt his raw emotions and couldn't help but want the best for him ... even if he was a little "off" at times.
If you enjoy police dramas, I think you'll love Critical Pursuit! [4.5 stars]
* Note: This book was previously published as The Kevlar Heart.
I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Critical Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kidnappings, Search & Rescue, Action Adventure Thr

Date:August 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janice Cantore in her new book, “Critical Pursuit” Book One in the Brinna Caruso series published by Tyndale House Publishers introduces us to Officer Brinna Caruso
From the Back Cover: Officer Brinna Caruso has built a reputation at the precinct as the cop to call when a child goes missing. For Brinna, it’s personal because she was once one of them. Brinna and her K-9 search and rescue dog, Hero, will stop at nothing to find a missing child, no matter the stakes.
Detective Jack O’Reilly isn’t ready to return to his homicide duties, after losing his wife to a drunk driver. He’s on the downside of his career, and bent on revenge, when he’s assigned as Brinna’s partner. While on patrol, Jack struggles between his quest for personal justice and his responsibility to those around him, especially his partner.
Skeptical of Jack’s motives, Brinna isn’t sure she can rely on her new partner, whose reckless abandon endangers the safety of those around him. But when a man surfaces with an MO similar to the criminal who abducted Brinna twenty years earlier, Brinna and Jack must cast aside previous judgments and combine efforts to catch the kidnapper, and finally allow Brinna the peace stolen from her as a child.
For me if someone is abducted or kidnapped then they desperately need a hero to come and rescue them. Welcome Brinna Caruso and her K-9 search and rescue dog, Hero. These two will stop at nothing to find a missing child, Brinna has a personal fire-she was abducted as a child. Jack O’Reilly is Brinna’s new human partner and they have quite a few issues to iron out before they can really operate as a team. However they are going to have to do the ironing quickly because there is a possibility that the person who abducted Brinna is back and she has a score to settle. ”Critical Pursuit” is how you define exciting! Ms. Cantore is a retired Long Beach California police officer of 22 years. She did what she now makes Brinna do and her experience shines through the pages. ”Critical Pursuit” is a thriller with all kinds of excitement and danger. Janice Cantore knows how to weave a captivating story with wonderful characters that breathe. I enjoyed reading this book and look forward to the next book in this exciting series from Ms. Cantore.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Critical Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

OUTSTANDING AND SUSPENSEFUL

Date:August 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Doreen renewing strength
Location:Tampa Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AUG
23
Critical Pursuit-Janice Cantore
I received this book completely free from Tyndale House Publishers. All opinions are my own and 100% honest.
Well, I was intrigued by the title and the author's bio. But the book itself was totally interesting, well written and accurate. Ms. Cantore is a retired Long Beach police officer so she has a wealth of experience to draw upon.
Brinna Caruso has an outstanding reputation as the officer to call when a child goes missing. She has a K-9 partner, Hero, who is extremely accurate and they get their suspect. Brinna is personally involved with this newest case because it is so close to home and the story is so close to being her own.
Follow these brilliant officers as she risks her reputation, position and even her K-9 to continue to rescue abducted children alive.
You will not be able to put it down. From the beginning you will feel you know Officer Caruso and you, too, will want to understand the meaning of those puzzle pieces left specifically for Officer Caruso. This latest abduction is different but not really.
Great fiction reading written from many years of law enforcement experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Critical Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Butterflyreview
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Officer Brinna Caruso and her K-9 search and rescue dog have built a very good reputation and they are the ones that are called when a child goes missing. They will stay on the job until the child is found. The reason Brinna is so good at her job is that she was once an abducted child who survived. At her home she has a “Wall of Slime” of all sex offenders in her area. She doesn’t believe there is a god because of what happened to her and other abducted children.
Detective Jack O’Reilly is ready to give up on life. His wife and unborn child were killed by a drunk driver. His career has taken a nosedive and he is bent on revenge. Jack is not on speaking terms with God as a result of his wife and unborn child’s death.
At the beginning of the book Brinna is involved a shooting. During the investigation she is assigned patrol duty and Jack is assigned as her partner. Brinna isn’t sure she can trust Jack because of his reckless behavior. When a child abduction happens with the same MO as Brinna’s, they must work together in order to catch the person responsible.
This was a good book. It did seem a little repetitive at times dwelling on Brinna and Jack’s problems. I am giving it 3 stars as I have a hard time dealing with the subject matter. The writing was good. I have read other books by this author and will do so again.
I was given this book in exchange for an honest review. I was not compensated in any way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Critical Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

She Gets Her Man But Not In The Way You Think

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Floyd Johnson
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Officer Brinna Caruso's day could have gone better. Her mother was pusing some crazy religion down her throat. Her new partner's ex-partner was doing the same. She had made a clean shot at a kid who was shooting at her, except a local attorney was determined to make a federal case of it. And, a child abuser had resurfaced, 20 years after his first known offense. Yep, the day could have gone better. Brinna is now being sidelined from her regular assignment as a member of the K-9 unit and being assigned as the training officer for a lunatic cop that might not make it back onto the force after the death of his wife.
In the midst of this both Jack, her new partner, and Brinna are trying to answer the question of how a person can be in a better place if there is no God. Though the question is asked more than once in the story, it is never answered definitively; leaving the reader to answer it for himself or herself.
Janice Cantore has again shown herself to be a capable writer. Her twenty-two year experience as a Long Beach police officer has prepared her for her new writing career. The suspense, the emotions, the uncertainty associated with this challenging job is seen in the life of Brinna and her colleagues. The characters, both good and bad, are believable. The reader is drawn close to the men and women who "protect and serve". At the same time the reader is forced to view the long dormant abuser with as much contempt as he deserves.
This book will not leave the reader looking for a thrilling read about the life of an officer disappointed. I will be looking forward to the next book featuring Brinna Caruso, her K-9 partner, Hero, and the rest of her team.
______________
This review is based on a free electronic copy of this book provided by the publisher for the purpose of creating this review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Critical Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review from a Man's Perspective

Date:August 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book in a new series by Janice Cantore. It looks as if this was originally published several years ago by a different publishing house, but it now being republished by Tyndale Publishing.
Brinna Caruso has a personal connection to wanting to protect all of the missing and abducted kids, she used to be one herself. As a young girl, Brinna was abducted and left to die but was miraculously found before she could face certain death. As the years went by, Brinna kept in touch with the detective that found her and he became a mentor to her. Now as a police woman handling a search and rescue dog, she has made it her mission in life to find abducted and missing children and to find those accused of doing it. Jack O'Reilly has lost all drive since he lost his wife. He's taken a step back into patrol from being a detective just to see if there's anything left in him. Not only has he lost his motivation at work, he's also turned his back on God and anything to do with religion. The two of them are paired together and begin to bond over the job, the burnout and their dislike of religion. As the days continue, Brinna's father's health takes a turn for the worse and a set of twin girls are kidnapped. Will her father's health improve? Can they find the girls before something terrible happens? Who's sending the personal notes to Brinna? Will they ever find a pathway to God? Some great reading will be in store, when you get up and go BUY THE BOOK!
Every since Janice Cantore burst onto the Christian Fiction scene last year with her first book in the Pacific Coast Justice Series, Accused, I have eagerly awaiting each new book. Sometimes, I think, it's hard for people with a certain background to impart onto others exactly what it feels like to do their job. It's hard to portray with an accuracy the ups and downs of a profession without coming across as "talking over my head". It's a good thing that Janice Cantore isn't the same way. Even with all of her training and background in police work, she is still able to explain the police procedures in terms that even a simple layman like myself can understand. I became so involved with Brinna and Jack, not only in their daily patrol, but also as they began to questions each other about their lack of interest in religious and a heavenly father.
Is this a guy's book? There are plenty of police procedures, car chases, search and rescue, etc. to keep any guy entertained. I would definitely rate this as a new series that I will be waiting for each additional book to be published.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Critical Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good read on a hard subject

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beth
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 2nd series by Janice Cantore that I have read and I think that overall I liked this series better and I look forward to reading the future adventures of Brinna.
The premise of the book is about Brinna who makes it her personal mission as a cop to find children who have been abducted like she was when she was a child and to save them. When Brinna is under fire because of a shoot out she is teamed up with Jack who was once an outstanding cop but is not reeling from the death of his beloved wife. As they learn to become a team, Jack is going to find it very difficult to keep Brinna from someone in her past who wants to celebrate the anniversary of her abduction.
This was a quick paced,interesting read.The subject matter was very hard to read as it dealt with unsavory issues such as child predators,etc and that is really hard to read. I thought the author handled the subject well and did a great job at engaging one in the book.
I would not recommend this book for just anyone,but if you like a good suspense/thriller and can handle the subject that are brought up,then this is a great read!
I received a copy of this book from Tyndale in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Critical Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Wide open undecided

Date:June 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:Upstate SC
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The stars, value, recommend to a friend, etc. are all based on THE KEVLAR VEST.(2007)
Ms. Cantore's THE KEVLAR VEST just got a quick re-read from me, because CRITICAL PURSUIT sounds like a re-package of it.
If it is, the announcements for Critical Pursuit should state this so as to be above-board in advertising the book. Also to avoid disgruntled customers!
If it is, I hope that the many typos and other language concerns have been addressed and corrected.
If it is, I also expect the euphemistic cussing to have been done away with. Ms Cantore is a good wordsmith and can paint the picture without that objectionable language. There is no place for it in 'Christian' writing.
If it is - I would love to see a pre-publication copy. I would read carefully to see if I could change to a whole-hearted recommendation. The Kevlar Vest is a good read, but loses stars due to my concerns. (See above)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.