Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Visible Threat

Tyndale House Visible Threat

Officer Brinna Caruso wants perfection; exacting justice. She wants to save and protect the innocent in the world, no matter the cost. After a dead girl is found in the river with a mysterious tattoo on her hip, homicide detective Jack O'Reilly asks for Brinna's help. Unaware of the depths of evil that will be uncovered, Brinna finds herself flung into a dangerous frontier-an organized human trafficking ring.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Visible Threat
Review 1 for Visible Threat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read

Date:March 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jessica Higgins
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
QUICK HIT – Visible Threat is a high-speed chase thriller that doesn’t forget to have a good story with great characters. This was my introduction to Janice Cantore, but it will for certain not be our only meeting.
Officer Brinna Caruso is on a mission. She is set on trying to save and protect all the innocents in the world, no matter what it cost. She and her partner, Hero, a K-9 police dog, track down offenders and help bring them to justice.
Ivana and her sister, Villie, have come to America from Bulgaria with the promise that they will work for a rich family and have more than they could have ever dreamed of. Before they reach the shores of America they have their passports taken away and are beaten by the man who has promised them so many lies.
After a dead girl is found in the river with a mysterious tattoo on her hip, homicide detective Jack O’Reilly asks for Brinna’s help. She—of course—accepts and finds herself flung into the middle of the most awful kind of evil: a human trafficking ring. Together they all have to work together to save more lives and innocents.
Janice Cantore’s experience as a police officer definitely helped shape the writing of this novel to make the characters and the experiences they go through believable. The writing was quick and easy, making the story flow smoothly. The interwoven stories of Ivana and Brinna were easy to follow. The relationship between Brinna and Hero really drew me into the story. The love she had for Hero brought her closer to others around her and made her a better officer and a better person.
It wasn’t until the final few pages of Visible Threat that I finally figured out where the story was going. Cantore kept me guessing right up to the very end, keeping her surprise twists a surprise rather than being obvious about the story’s direction. That made it a lot different than a lot of police procedurals out there and brought a fresh look and feel to the genre. Visible Threat is just simply one of those books you don’t want to put down and have to feel a little sad about when the story’s over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Visible Threat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Visible Threat

Date:March 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since I have read all of Janice Cantore's books up to now, I was excited to review her newest book-Visible Threat. This is the second book in her latest series There are authors that you just know their books will be good and she fits into that category for me. Being a retired Long Beach police officer adds so much credit to her writing. As I read her books I am thinking this was a case she may have investigated which makes reading more interesting for me.
As with the first book we are following Brinna Caruso as she wants justice and to save the innocent from the evil predators that inflict pain on their victims. The storyline follows two sisters arriving from Bulgaria being promised a better life in America. Unfortunately that was a lie and they were not the only ones being coerced by the evil of human trafficking. A body is found in the river and Jack O'Reilly needs help from Brinna. As they uncover the identity of the victim, they hunt for the sister and the story explodes from there. A lot of times Brinna does not go by the book and does things her way which lead to another storyline in the book. Brinna was kidnapped at age 6 and was rescued two days later, which is why she has such an interest and such an emotional attachment to this case. There is also Brinna and Jack as they find the traffickers but also as Brinna learns from Jack. "If he is a good God, why would he stop something in your life that will make you stronger, make you a better person?" "Just because bad things happen doesn't mean that God isn't good"
The story is at times hard to read, forgetting that this in happening now all over the world. It is not just a growing problem worldwide but in our own backyard. The author did a great job of making it real but not
being too graphic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Visible Threat
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A disappointing read

Date:March 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Officer Brinna may want perfection, but this book sadly falls short. The wordy, disjointed writing detracts greatly from the plot. As an example, someone says to Brinna after she saved her friend who was kidnapped "Thank you that you took Gracie seriously and that you saved Nikki." The characters fell flat, and in addition the self talk about searching for the peace that Brinna's mom and Jack had seemed redundant after a while.
The author is also overly descriptive about things which I felt slowed the story down. On the other hand, I don't believe she ever really gave a description of Brinna or Jack. Perhaps she assumed the reader would have read the first book and remembered. The ending was also somewhat odd and anti-climactic. Sort of tacked on after I thought the book would have ended more naturally.
There is nothing objectionable content-wise and the storyline had a lot of promise, but I found it very difficult to get through and I won't read the next book in the series, if there is one.
I received this book from Tyndale House for the purpose of an honest review. My opinion is my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Visible Threat
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Visible Threat

Date:March 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Danni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let me say right off that I really liked this book. Such a refreshing change of pace in the Christian fiction area.
Cantore's police drama blends the tough topic of human trafficking with what truly feels like real life police officers. Brinna, Jack, Maggie, Ivana, and Mrs. Caruso are so well developed and compliment each other very well. It is always good to see relationships grow and develop during a story.
Even though this is the second book in the Pacific Coast Justice Series it can work as a stand alone. There was enough information given about the first book that didn't seem repetitive but filled the gaps nicely if you haven't read the first one. If you love a good action book read this. This book is good for a man or women. Just an overall good read.
I received this book from this book from Tyndale Publishing in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Visible Threat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Visible Threat, by Janice Cantore, is a thrilling suspense novel. The sequel to Critical Pursuit, it tells of another chapter in the life of Brinna Caruso, a K-9 police officer. Having been abducted herself at age six, Brinna has a special drive to protect children from predators and will do anything necessary to do so.
Brinna and Hero, her dog, are asked to assist in the investigation of a young girl with a strange tattoo found dead in the San Gabriel River. As homicide detective Jack O’Reilly and Brinna, as well as others on the police force, uncover more and more evidence, it becomes clear that they are dealing with a human trafficking ring. When another girl is pulled from the river days later with the same tattoo, the sister of the first one, Brinna’s mother steps up to house the girl and minister to her. Brinna faces her greatest challenge when she receives the call that the two have disappeared from her mother’s house.
I enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys Christian suspense novels. Written by a former police officer, I found the details very believable and precise. I had not read the first book in the series, but found this one stood very well on its own. The characters are well-developed and easy to relate to. You will not be able to put it down!
Kara
I received this book free from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Visible Threat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brinna, Hero, Maggie and Jack... they're back!

Date:March 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My whole family gets excited about a new Janice Cantore release. We we so happy to open the package from Tyndale and find Visible Threat inside!
Chapter one, all nine pages of it, drop us right into Brinna's life. This savvy cop who never gives up on an abducted child and who never gives in when pursuing a perpetrator is in the middle of one of those pursuits. A previous offender on parole has lured away a fourteen year old girl over the internet, then kidnapped her at their meeting place in the park.
If you've never met Officer Brinna Caruso before, you'll know exactly what drives her by the end of these first pages. Saving kids, at any cost to herself, and even if it means disregarding and out-of-touch Lieutenant Harvey. That is her mission. When a child's future is on the line, nothing else matters.
If you met Brinna already in Critical Pursuit, you probably have a few pressing questions. Where is she at with God? How is her relationship with family? And what about her and Jack O'Reilly?
Well, no spoilers here, let me just assure you that it's all good.
Brinna's awareness of God is helping her see new dimensions in her world, and it's challenging her to spread her wings of faith.
You will be delighted to see her and her mom growing closer (her mom plays a critical part in this story!) Mother and daughter are finding ways to merge their lives and depend on each other.
And for her and Jack, they were on their way to a lasting friendship at the end of book one, and I'm really happy for the two of them at the end of book two!
Plus, you'll be glad to have Brinna's spunky friend Maggie back. This girl is a hoot. Constantly sizing up every single man she meets, usually trying to fix up her friends, Maggie has a heart of gold and is as loyal as can be.Maggie's character is developed more in this book, which was great. Brinna needs a friend like her.
Janice Cantore has hit it out of the park with this book. This can be a stand-alone, but it's even better when paired with Critical Pursuit, the first book about Brinna. It's a sure bet for mystery and police-procedural with strong human stories woven in.
The cops she writes about are not "Robocops." They do their best and they make mistakes and they struggle with their families and their work. They worry that they haven't done enough, they blame themselves when they shouldn't, and they support each other as partners and fellow officers.
The victims in the crime, in this case human trafficking, are also presented as people.
Thank you Tyndale for my review copy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Visible Threat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reviews From A Man's Perspective

Date:March 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nothing says “Woo-Hoo! I’m going out of town and will have time on my hands!” then to pick up a copy of the newest book in the “Heart of Justice” series by Janice Cantore.
After leaving Brinna with her K9 dog, Hero in “Critical Pursuit”, she is back and still working to save lost children. After a floater is found down by the river, Brinna is called in with Hero to see if they can track down where she came from. With no new leads, Brinna goes back to the daily routines of police work and being notified that her days with Hero may be numbered due to a cut in the Federal Grant that was paying for the program. As the weather turns violent with torrential rains, a call comes in of another body in the same river, but this time she’s still alive. Putting her life and another officer’s on the line, they go in the water to get the young girl before she’s swept away. But their heroics come at a price as both Brinna and the other officer are pulled under themselves. Are they able to snag the girl? Will they survive the attempt? Who is she and what is her connection to the other body they found? Hang onto the edge of your seat and GO BUY THE BOOK!
In reality, I don’t have many close friends. In my head, though, I get to have dozens of friends as I read some great books all of the time. A sign of a great writer, to me, is one that creates characters that you enjoy reading about and miss them when you close the book. Brinna and her friend Jack are two such characters that have been created by Janice Cantore. Brinna has such a drive and determination to be the best at her job and to make sure that no other children are abducted like she was as a child. Jack has lost his wife and still struggles with the day-to-day living of going on without her, but is finally on the road to allowing others to get close to him again. Both of these characters are ones that I will miss when this series comes to an end. This book did not disappoint as it continues with the smooth plotlines and character developments that I have seen in all of her earlier books.
Is this a "guy's book"? This book has chase scenes, daring rescues and complete police procedures. I can’t imagine any guy not looking forward to picking up this book and the first book in the series as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Visible Threat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent police thriller

Date:February 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Denise
Location:Palmdale, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Visible Threat is the latest police thriller written by Janice Cantore, a veteran Long Beach police officer herself. This is book two in her latest series, which follows police officer Brinna Caruso. Brinna is a kidnap/abuse survivor herself, so she wants to make sure no other girl is kidnapped and abused like she was as a child. Along with her police dog Hero, she works to eliminate crime. In this book, she's caught up with former partner Jack O'Reilly into a dangerous mystery involving a murdered girl which leads to them uncovering a human trafficking ring. There is a bit of a romantic storyline between Brinna and Jack as well, which rounds out the suspense.
I absolutely loved this second book about Brinna. The first one, Critical Pursuit, was excellent; but this one managed to top even that. There is the perfect blend of suspense, drama, police work, and a bit of romance. This one will grab you from the first page and you'll have trouble putting it down! I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves good Christian suspense and/or romance. Janice Cantore's experience as a police officer uniquely qualifies her to write very realistic police procedurals.
I received a copy of this book from Tyndale House in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.