Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Courteous Cad, Miss Pickworth Series #3

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Tyndale House The Courteous Cad, Miss Pickworth Series #3

On her tour of the English countryside, a chance encounter in the streets alerts Miss Prudence Watson to the inhumane working conditions at the worsted mill. She learns that the owner is William Sherbourne, a Royal Naval officer just returned from sea. Following in his wake is his reputation as a cad and a secret so ghastly he'll do anything to protect it. Even worse, he's handsome and charming and not at all the villain Prudence expected him to be.
Average Customer Rating:
3.533 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Courteous Cad, Miss Pickworth Series #3
Review 1 for The Courteous Cad, Miss Pickworth Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very interesting plot

Date:June 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Donna
Location:Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great read. My heart actually fluttered a time or two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Courteous Cad, Miss Pickworth Series #3
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
carolyn
Age:55-65
poorly written and boring, just not very good at all.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Courteous Cad, Miss Pickworth Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:milton, ontario
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i enjoyed the book - i like romance novels, and this one was engaging. i was very interested to find out how it would end, but i did notice a fairly constant and oft-repeated theme of class distinction.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Courteous Cad, Miss Pickworth Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Catherine Palmer is an author I want to follow.

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jelly Bean
Location:California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this third book in the "Miss Pickworth" series, Catherine Palmer again kept me wanting more. I felt pulled along with Prudence when she was with the Blanketeers. She really pulled the story together at the end. The only thing in these three stories that I felt missing was more of "Misss Pickworth's" musings. But not enough to dissapoint me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Courteous Cad, Miss Pickworth Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
victorious
Location:Uganda
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book was so captivating.The characters were very good.I really enjoyed the book.God bless the author for the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Courteous Cad, Miss Pickworth Series #3
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2010
I'm new to Christian fiction, but am drawn to historical writings. I read this on a whim and while I did find the writing itself colorful with a hook that kept me turning pages; the unyoked relationship didn't ring true.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Courteous Cad, Miss Pickworth Series #3
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Annette Mason
The Randolph/Olivia link was interesting. But their digression from Biblical principles to see Prudence, a believer marry William, a non-believer tainted my perspective of the story and purpose.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Courteous Cad, Miss Pickworth Series #3
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cathy Cole
I stumbled through the story with three questions never answered. 1. What did these two polar opposite people see in one another? 2. Why, did the other believing siblings ever encourage a union? 3. Why was Prudence denied having children - she was the "honorable" character and ends up with the "reformed rake" who has an illegitimate child, now as her only child? Ouch. Major disappointment to end on.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Courteous Cad, Miss Pickworth Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
This was a very good book, especially how it tied two of Palmers Series together. The romance, the era, the schemes were very well written. The only thing that was odd to me was that Prudence is a bit different in character than she is in book #1 & #2, but it still was a great book and I'm so glad I got it. It was very Jane Austen, who I love!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Courteous Cad, Miss Pickworth Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christine Howard
Nice to see Catherine back to this series, but a rather lack luster offering. Too many givens and not the unknowns some of her other works carry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Courteous Cad, Miss Pickworth Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
The Courteous Cad by Catherine Palmer is the third book in the Miss Pickworth series taking place in Regency England. Prudence Watson is the toast of the ton with her golden curls and rosy cheeks, but while traveling in Yorkshire, she is struck by the plight of mill workers and feels the need to improve their working conditions. But when she meets the mill owner, William Sherbourne, she is forced to reconsider her quest. This historical romance never quite clicked for me. The story is mostly dialogue, and while Palmer tries to imitate Austen's quick wit and clever conversations, I was more frustrated by Prudence and William's insistence on always thinking the worst of each other and never telling the truth. I didn't understand what they saw in each other, because he was consistently telling her and everyone else that he was a cad, and she was forever telling him that she was silly. I enjoyed the historical portion of the story with Prudence's work in the mill and her relationship with her sisters was amusing as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Courteous Cad, Miss Pickworth Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2010
The horrors of the industry were harsh and there is details in there, which the heroine endeavors to fight against in a variety of ways. This was a interesting story from that time period with hints of the mystery of Miss Pickworth and who she might be. In the days where women were required to marry, Prudence rises above with higher aspirations and wants to reform the mill industry, much to the consternation of the mill owners. Undercover work as well as keeping up with societies demands is difficult, but keeps her on her toes, all the while dealing with the courteous cad of a man, who irritates and fascinates her at the same time.I found it a easy, lighter read, with some great history of this time period. If you enjoy light reads of regency era, you will enjoy this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Courteous Cad, Miss Pickworth Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2010
Another good Regency book by Catherine Palmer. Here we encounter several characters from her other books but this book can definitely stand on it's own, no need to have read the others first. I like that about a series book, it's nice not feeling like you're missing some important background information when you read a new book. The Regency historical information is definitely on target. The characters are quite believable in their emotions and actions. One can see how assumptions can totally mess up a relationship and a conversation. I liked that this one didn't harp on society silliness like so many historical romances do, this one dealt with how a woman reacts to and deals with her brush with the plight of children working in the mills rather than what to wear at a ball. Don't get me wrong, there were many scenes involving fun too but they weren't the main menu. The end notes had some very good soul searching questions and contained a preview of one of her other books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Courteous Cad, Miss Pickworth Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
Catherine Palmer has just published her third book in her Miss Pickworth series. The Courteous Cad focuses on William Sherbourne a cad, and Prudence Watson a wannabe crusader who has vowed never to marry.William fully admits to being a cad. Was a cad, is a cad, but will he stay a cad?Prudence only wants to make changes for the good, but seems to fail at her attempts. When her feeble efforts involve Mr. Sherbournes worsted mill, a clash of the two opposites ensue.Prudence (sister of Sarah from book 1, The Affectionate Adversary) was hard for me to figure out. Although, I think that was all part of her character. Prudence is trying to figure her own self out.Throw in a dashing, charming, supposed-to-be-but-maybe-not villain, and any female character in a novel is confused. ;-)If youve been waiting for Catherine to finish book 3, then you will likely enjoy revisiting the characters, as well as a few oldies from her English Ivy series.By the way, for those of you who have read the other two books in Palmers series, society tattler Miss Pickworths identity is revealed in The Courteous Cador I think it was!For the last several months, I have been in a Jane Austen kind of mood. Books, movies, doesnt really matter; anything set in that time period is holding my interest at the moment.Because Im in that Jane Austen mood, I enjoyed the flow and feel of The Courteous Cad; however, although I am always glad to finish a series, The Courteous Cad was not a couldnt-put-down kind of read.Check out my other book reviews on my blog: thecreativesideofsteph [DOT] blogspot [DOT] com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Courteous Cad, Miss Pickworth Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa Chisholm
Loved it! It was a great story. I had waited years for Catherine Palmer to finally get this book to print.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.