Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Mark of Distinction, Price of Privilege Series #2

Tyndale House Mark of Distinction, Price of Privilege Series #2

Thrust into society as the Emerald Heiress, Julia is the toast of London, a celebrated curiosity. But in reality she's trapped between the clutches of two powerful men. Aided only by a gentleman whose intentions she prays she can trust, Julia must finally take control of her own fate-but outwitting one's foe rarely goes according to plan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.192 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
0
23 out of 2688%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mark of Distinction, Price of Privilege Series #2
Review 1 for Mark of Distinction, Price of Privilege Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mark of Distinction full historical intrigue

Date:July 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mark of Distinction
The Price of Privilege #2
By Jessica Dotta
Julia Elliston has escaped. At least for the moment. But she has been caught in a web of deceit from which she never emerge. In Born of Persuasion Julia had seemingly escaped from the designs of her guardian, until she found herself forced into a marriage she didn't want to a Mr. Chance Macy. To Julia's surprise and horror she was the unwitting pawn in a game of chess between Mr. Macy and Lord Pierson, the father she never knew of. With the help of Edward Auburn Julia escaped Mr. Macy and made her way to Maplecroft, her father's home.
But now she is at the mercy of her father's schemes to destroy Mr. Macy and to secure political future of Lord Issac Dalry. Julia is left with little choice in what her life has become as Lord Pierson manipulates the lives of those around him.
Mark of Distinction is an intriguing book as one tries to figure out what exactly who is doing what and what their ultimate goal is. One feels sorry for Julia, though some of her problems are of her own making. I think Issac is the one person empathize the most with. He too is at the beck-and-call of Lord Pierson. But he truly cares about Julia and her feelings.
This is a book that I don't think you could read without first reading the previous book. You need to read Born of Persuasion to fully grasp the nuances of the characters and their relationships. I can't wait to read book 3 to find out what happens. Does Julia have a happy ending? Or will she bow to her father's demands?
I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher Tyndale through The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mark of Distinction, Price of Privilege Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ruth Stiles
Location:Central NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this book from Tyndale Publishers and am not being compensated for my review.
Julie Elliston finds herself in high society. Who can she trust? Who can she trust her heart to? Will those in charge of her life make the right decisions for her? This are all questions Julia asks herself when a secret plan to trick others falls into her lap. She is one step away from destroying the illusion that has been painted as her life.
Lord Pierson, Julia’s father, is going to help her escape Chance Macy. The key is to figure out how to be part of society, as her father wishes. But Chance Macy won’t give up and tries to get Julia back. As the story unfolds, Julia finds out what she really wants.
This is book 2 in a 3 book series. I have not read the 1st book, but I would recommend it as Jessica Dotta is a wonderful author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mark of Distinction, Price of Privilege Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't Put It Down

Date:July 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
My only regret in reading this book is that I didn't read "Born of Persuasion", the first book in the series first. It took me a couple of chapters to figure out who was who, and how the relationships intertwined, but once I did I couldn't put the book down. Out of all the books I've read in the last few months, there are only 3 that I could say I truly loved, not just liked, and this is one of them. (Born of Persuasion is also one of the 3)
Jessica Dotta is an amazing author with a talent for creating characters that come alive and a story line that twists and turns and begs you to go with out sleep to finish the book. Upon finishing this book I then read the prior book, which I had downloaded on my Kindle. And let me tell you, the first book is just as good as the second. This story has the drama of P&P combined with the mystery and suspense of Jane Eyre. One of the unusual things about this story is the villain. Normally, a villain is so black and white it's easy to dislike him, but not so in this series. I had to keep reminding myself, "he is the bad guy".
Julia and Isaac play center stage in this story and their relationship is complicated to say the least. Isaac's care and concern for Julia won me over from the very beginning. There are to many ins and outs to write about, but I enjoyed every one of them.
I highly recommend this book (as well as the first) and can't wait for the final installment next year!
I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher through bookfun.org in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mark of Distinction, Price of Privilege Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

lots of intrigue and london society

Date:July 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
SusanP
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chock full of twists and turns and so many chances of high society scandal, this story is a brooding example of London’s fickleness. Julia is thrown into a society she has never known as the rightful heir of Lord Pierson. The story draws you deep into her rollercoaster life as she struggles to find her way. Many dangers lurk and many characters fill this story. In the end Julia must decide whether to trust God or trust in herself for her future.
I received this book from bookfun.org for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mark of Distinction, Price of Privilege Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Mark of Distinction

Date:June 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Julia Pierson has escaped Chance Macy, and is living with her father, Lord Pierson, while trying to figure out how to be part of society, as her father wishes. But Chance Macy won't give up and tries to get Julia back.
I liked this book more than the first, but I was still confused by the long list of characters and events. Faith in God is mentioned a bit, but it isn't really part of the overall story like I would expect in a Christian novel. There are enough loose ends in the storyline to make the reader want to read the final book in the trilogy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mark of Distinction, Price of Privilege Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

sanctuary at Maplecroft

Date:June 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kathleen
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thursday, June 19, 2014
Mark of Distinction by Jessica Dotta, © 2014
Price of Privilege Trilogy, Book 2
I remember the disdain I felt at the crushed violets with their purple velvet scorned and smashed onto the cobblestone by a small slipper foot. The pain of being discovered, I pushed it with my foot under the wooden stand so not to be found by those so immaculately putting the tiny bouquet together to give. The haughtiness and arrogance spurning this tenderly gathered offering being disposed and tread upon pierced my heart. Memories. I am old now, but they are fresh in my mind. Man's inhumanity to man. One incident of many brings it all back. Unraveling misgivings, rumor and truth, I want to leave my own words for those who follow after me in my lineage. For how could it be another way, misinterpreted by rumor and doubt?
Paperwhites have not been a favorite of mine, as my mother before me. How sad, but yet appropriate that flowers have such meaning in my life. An offered warmth in the coldness of my first days of arrival at Maplecroft estate and Edward's departure somehow settles me. I am told my father is coming; is he aware it is my birthday? Eighteen years and the first year without my mother beckoning me for the appearance of dawn. How I miss her. Although my father has offered me sanctuary here at Maplecroft, he does not beckon me upon his arrival. He has brought Forester with him and I am in range to hear them arguing ~ or discussing as they might decide. Am I to be believed, or suspect?
So much turmoil and indignant expectations. There is a spy in our midst. Who am I to believe? The one who is so haughty with me, following along with my father's every whim? Or my proposed fiancé ~ selected for me, but not by me? My whole life has changed as I have become known as my father's child. Where was he all the years my mother and I struggled; the one I find now is so benevolent? His motives, not mine, nor desired to be. Am I truly being sheltered, or used for benefit of others; continually?
My dreams and desires remain with another. Pulled away and shredded beyond my remembrance. I flee to my youth with Edward, Elizabeth, my friend, and Henry, Edward's brother. Giggles and dreams shared together those long ago days. I wondered if they would ever come again; days of happiness with longings to return to my life as Miss Julia Elliston, not as the Emerald Heiress, being sequestered at Maplecroft.
***
In Jessica Dotta's book 2 in the Price of Privilege Trilogy, Julia is carried forward from book 1, Born of Persuasion, the debut novel telling of her days at Am Meer and beyond, before her need for sanctuary at Maplecroft, leaving her prior world behind.
It would benefit to read book 1 so as to experience with her, what Julia has left out of necessity. This Victorian-era story portrays an upper class dependent on the wiles of society and governing politics of the times. The disdain of some of the staff in attendance to this perceived "interloper" is reflected from their earlier positions within the household.
Julia is expected to be schooled in deportment and social standings when she had none of these requirements prior to her arrival. She is to follow without rebuttal, the trappings and directions given, relying on others.
The girls continued to intrigue me the most. They all seemed so adapted, content to be in my exact position—resigned to remaining under their fathers' rule, happy to rely on the gentlemen for their fate. It was as though they'd forgotten how to run through meadows barefoot with blades of grass stuck to their legs, or lie outdoors at night beneath a star-filled sky with a friend like Elizabeth. It dawned on me once, as I stopped dancing and stood still amidst a swirling ballroom, that maybe they hadn't forgotten—maybe they'd never known.
--Mark of Distinction, 297
Book 3, Price of Privilege, releases in the Spring of 2015. It will be interesting to learn of the outcome of decisions made, for better or for worse.
***Thank you to Book Club Network and author Jessica Dotta for Book 2, Mark of Distinction, and to Tyndale House Publishers for sending me a print copy for review. This review was written in my own words. No other compensation was received.***
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mark of Distinction, Price of Privilege Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gothic Romance In Victorian London

Date:June 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jessica Dotta in her new book, “Mark Of Distinction” Book Two in the Price of Privilege series published by Tyndale House Publishers brings us into the life of Julia Elliston.
From the Back Cover: In Victorian society, where even a whisper of scandal can ruin a life. Julia Elliston must watch her step.
London is said to be the glittering jewel of society, a world unto itself—but to Julia Elliston it is a city of shadows. Her life is swiftly dissolving into scandal. And in Victorian society, even a whisper of scandal—substantiated or not—can be the death of a young woman’s reputation.
Now under the watchful eye of Lord Roy Pierson, one of most influential men in England, Julia begrudgingly accepts his protection. But Chance Macy’s power is far-reaching as well, and he is eager to assert his claim over her.
Thrust into society as the Emerald Heiress, Julia is the toast of London, a celebrated curiosity. But in reality she’s trapped between the clutches of two powerful men. Aided only by a gentleman whose intentions she prays she can trust, Julia must finally take control of her own fate—but outwitting one’s foe rarely goes according to plan.
I didn’t read Book One, “Born Of Persuasion”, though that is an oversight I will quickly take care of, however Ms. Dotta does a good job of bringing individuals like me up to speed so that we can read this book, understand what is going on and enjoy it. Wow, history set in Victorian London, upper society, lower society and Julia exiting one and entering the other. There is a lot going on in this book, scheming manipulations, incredible deceit and really nasty people. There are also good people as well and to see who is going to come out on top is quite an attention keeper. “Mark Of Distinction” is also a romance that can only be found in this kind of setting, marry for love, marry for money and/or prestige this can make your head swim but in a nice way. Jessica Dotta knows how to weave a captivating story with wonderful characters that breathe. I am so looking forward to the next and concluding book in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mark of Distinction, Price of Privilege Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great Christian fiction novel

Date:June 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Donna
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even though I have not read the first book in this trilogy, Born of Persuasion, I found that after really getting into Mark of Distinction I could pretty well read it as a stand alone novel. I hope to read the first book and the last one.
All of the characters are unforgettable, strong and well written. My favorite was Issac.
I love historical fiction and loved that this one was set in the Victorian age and how even a hint of a scandal could ruin a woman's life.
Jessica Dotta has a well written story with faith, love, suspense, intrigue, fast paced with an ending that surprised me.
After her involvement with Chance Macy, Julia accepts protection from Lord Pierson after discovering he is her father. She feels like she is living in a prison rather than her home. Known as the Emerald Heiress she is thrown in to the throngs of society. There are many men surrounding Julia. Some who are dangerous, her father, the love of her life and a gentle and protective man.
I do not want to get into much more and risk giving any spoilers. You have to read this for yourself. Recommend you start the the first book if possible. Loved this book.
I received this book from bookfun.org for my honest opinion and review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mark of Distinction, Price of Privilege Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
StoryGirl
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I still have mixed feelings about this book series. Gothic romances aren't really my thing, but on the other hand, Jessica Dotta's writing style is beautiful- classic, but accessible. (and the covers are gorgeous; even the interior is designed beautifully) I will say I liked this book better than the first in the series. It had less of the romantic mushi-ness that made the first book uncomfortable for me, and I felt it flowed better. That being said, I still found some of it confusing (though this may in part be due to the fact that it has been a while since I read the first book, so I was a little fuzzy on some of the details)
Still, it's difficult not knowing which characters to like and which not to. And I grew to really love Isaac, and found it difficult to keep rooting for Edward when he was barely in the book at all. I guess its "out of sight, out of mind" for me in that respect *looks down in shame*
Also, strangely enough - I NEVER have this problem in books- I felt like the heroine wasn't spunky enough. I know, I know. There are meek and mild girls and we need stories about them. And maybe "spunky" isn't the word I'm looking for. But throughout nearly the whole novel, it seemed like Julia was just riding on the wave of others' actions. It was all about how she reacted to her circumstances. She never did anything. I don't like overbearing heroines, but I do like it when characters stand up for their beliefs...and that never really happened. She just didn't seem to have much backbone (especially in regards to Mr. Macy) And every rare time Julia did do something pro-active, I almost always felt she didn't do the right thing. On the other hand, I am curious how the conclusion to this series is going to go, especially since the end of the book finds our heroine embracing Christianity.
Still, despite the fact that the story can be confusing and I don't always agree with the characters' actions, Jessica Dotta is a talented author, and quite frankly, I'm really hoping this series will wrap up soon and she'll begin writing something a bit more on the Jane Austen side of things than the Bronte side...because when that happens, I have a feeling I'll become one of her biggest fans.
I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mark of Distinction, Price of Privilege Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another excellent book from Jessica Dotta!

Date:May 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oftentimes the second book in a series just doesn't quite live up to its predecessor. It's almost like the author pours everything into the first one and has little leftover. Mark Of Distinction was totally the opposite, Jessica Dotta has spaced out her storyline and character development perfectly. I liked book one for the quality of the writing but I enjoyed book two even more.
I have to admit that I didn't always exactly like Julia in Born Of Persuasion, she seemed to be self absorbed and very naïve. In Mark Of Distinction she starts to mature, gaining in understanding and compassion. I really liked watching her grow and how the author delved into how Julia's past affected her actions and thoughts.
This is much the story of young and innocent girl caught up in the machinations of powerful men bent on accomplishing their own ends. There are two truly good men that try to help her, and honestly, I found myself divided on who I hoped she might marry.
Once again Jessica Dotta has written a detailed story full of complex characters. A story that pulls the reader in and holds them captive until the very last page. This book will keep you coming back for more and in the meantime wondering where the plot might twist next.
Mark Of Distinction is not a quick read. It is over 400 pages, but it is very well written and every page is worth taking the time to enjoy. In many ways the writing style and the story reminds me much of Jane Eyre, and as a fan of the classics, I find that to be an excellent feature.
Don't miss any of the books in the Price Of Privilege series, both Born Of Persuasion and Mark Of Distinction are excellent reads!
(I received a copy of this book from the Tyndale Blog Network in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are entirely my own)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mark of Distinction, Price of Privilege Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

distinction revew

Date:May 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"Mark of Distinction" is the second book in the Price of Privilege Trilogy written by Jessica Dotta. This series needs to be read in order to fully follow the storyline. I did not read the first book and spent the first half of this one not fully knowing what was going on or why. This book takes place in the Victorian Era Society, with Julia Pierson being the main character. Julia had been raised to believe that her father was her mother's husband but found out after her mother's death that her father was a wealthy Lord. Chance Macy, the cause of Julia's mother's death has married Julia, and has caused quite the scandal. She is staying with her father, but not all together willingly. There is a lot of pulling and tugging, hiding, secrets, lying, sneaking, propriety, etc, etc going on and no real sense of it all. There is a lot of Julia doing absolutely nothing for long periods of time. I didn't really like this book too much. I feel it would have been much more appreciated if I had read the first book in the series, but than again, maybe not. I think a little more action and explaining would have helped more. I received this book in exchange for an honest review from Tyndale Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mark of Distinction, Price of Privilege Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A lovely story reminiscent of the classics!
Mark of Distinction is technically the second in a so-far marvelous series. I have not had the privilege of reading the first, but I will be remedying this. That being said, it did take extra effort to get into the story, but once I was sufficiently hooked there was little stopping me from turning the page. Dotta writes a marvelous story in a fresh, new perspective.
At times, my like for Julia, the main character, swung back and forth like a pendulum. I couldn't figure her out! There were times I wanted to comfort her and times I wanted to shake her. This is probably the trait that makes her a good character, no matter how frustrating. She definitely is indecisive and I didn't like some of the choices she made.
Nonetheless, I have to gush about Isaac for a moment. Talk about the perfect gentleman! I think it's safe to say I much prefer Isaac as a suitor for Julia over Edward; although I haven't read the first book so maybe that will change my opinion. Isaac is pretty awesome though... Ahem, moving on.
I am truly impressed and in awe with Ms. Dotta's fantastic piece of art. I cannot believe we must wait until next year for the conclusion!! It seems an eternity to wait after such a ending. Before I close out this review, I will say the story had a dark/depressing atmosphere for the whole novel, adding to the Gothic feel. I highly and easily recommend this novel to readers familiar with Bronte and Gothic fiction at least fifteen or older.
I received this book from the Tyndale Blog Network in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Mark of Distinction, Price of Privilege Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

wonderful story

Date:May 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
joeym11
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mark of Distinction
By: Jessica Dotta
This book is book 2 Price of Privilege Trilogy. I think these books need to be read in order to get the background of what's going on. I have not read Born of Persuasion. The book was well written for the time period, I could picture what it was like by the description given. After Julia's mother has pass she is now with her rich father who has plans for her. He wants her to marry Lord Dalry, but her heart belongs to Edward. Now being in high society she has a lot to learn. I think she needs to gain control of her own fate. I thought this book keeps you turning pages to see what is happening. The author writes wonderfully. I need to make sure to read book one then I think book 2 will flow right with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Mark of Distinction, Price of Privilege Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Thriller!

Date:May 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pamela Jo
Location:Bucks County, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mark of Distinction is book two in Jessica Dotta's Price of Privilege Trilogy. Before I say anything else, you need to know that these are not stand alone novels. You must read book one (Born of Persuasion) in order to follow the plot continued in book two. Believe me, you will want to read both, as this is a thrilling series!
Mark of Distinction continues the story of Julia Elliston, a woman who becomes known as the Emerald Heiress. She is a woman who seems to have no control over her own life, being manipulated at every turn by many who do not have her best interest in mind.
The story itself is narrated by Julia as she nears the end of her life and looks back to her youth. She wants her story to be told...and what a story!
There is mystery, intrigue, and suspense throughout. Many of the characters in the first book return, in addition to new characters, most of whom can't be trusted. Some are just plain evil!
Lord Pierson is protecting Julia from the evil Mr. Macy...or is he? He has plans of his own for Julia and those plans are to use her to his own advantage. He is a cold, calculating man.
Julia is still in love with Edward Auburn, a man of faith who is one of the only truly good influences in Julia's life. She will never forget him, but is kept from him as she becomes more deeply entangled in the schemes of others around her. Another character, Lord Dalry, seems to treat Julia with kindness, but nothing is as it seems in this book!
This novel is so good I could not stop reading! Each page drew me deeper into Julia's life. Jessica Dotta has such talent, and tells a tale much like classics by the Bronte sisters. I highly recommend Mark of Distinction.
The final book in this trilogy is scheduled for release next year. I truly do not know how I can wait that long to find out what happens to Julia! Based on my enjoyment of the series thus far, I know it will be worth waiting for!
I received a copy of this book from the publisher, courtesy of The Book Club Network (bookfun.org) in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Mark of Distinction, Price of Privilege Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

nail biting, fast paced, and packed with intrigue

Date:May 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shannah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book, much like the first, is a Victorian Gothic style that will be sure to entrance readers who enjoy the works of Jane Eyre and Northanger Abbey. It is dark and menacing, with many twists and turns that keep you turning the pages and biting your nails until the very end. The author did a wonderful job of making the story flow. It could have been a very depressing book, because a lot of bad things happen in succession to Julia, but Ms. Dotta sprinkled just enough action and intrigue to keep the reader from being bogged down.
I am SO happy with the way Julia progressed, as a character. The first half of the book, I pitied her and her situation. Her actions were selfish, but I understood them. Her very identity had been stripped from her and she was struggling to come to terms with who she was. Her faith in God was being formed and tested and she was beginning to lose herself until she finally surrendered. The supporting characters were different in this story than they were in the first book because she had been stripped from her familiar surroundings and thrust into another world. Lord Pierson is a powerful, but troubled, man. I wanted to dislike him, but Jessica Dotta wrote his character in a way that made me grudgingly respect him instead. He is the typical man, not good with his emotions, but she gave him just enough to make him human. Isaac is Julia's saving grace. He is gentle, where her father is gruff. He is kind and accepting, when Julia is hard and distrusting. He helped shaped her character in more ways that she realizes throughout this book.
As I have previously stated, Jessica Dotta is a master storyteller. The events and character development seem so natural. The story was nail biting, fast paced, and packed with intrigue and suspense. The ending was so unexpected, but I wanted to shout for joy! I absolutely enjoyed the story and cannot wait until the third, and final book comes out!
**Thank you, Tyndale House Publishers for providing me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Mark of Distinction, Price of Privilege Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Romance with Over-Dramatization

Date:July 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is interesting, and more complete than Book 1, but reading the first book before this would make things clearer. The surprises in the plot were creative, and the writing was reasonably well done. However, for someone who thinks she contains her emotions well, the main character certainly panicked often, she was weak, and she was flaky. I realize strong women were rare then, but she seemed to get herself deeper into trouble at every turn, by not speaking or changing her mind. She daydreamed a lot, which did nothing to further the story line. I noticed mannerisms jumping from one character to another inexplicably; the two men were unrelated. I liked the creative use of antiquated vocabulary. If you like a clean, slow-moving romance, this is nice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Mark of Distinction, Price of Privilege Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julia is now living with her father, Lord Pierson after a dramatic rescue from Mr. Macy by her love, Edward. She is trying to get out from under Mr. Macy's grasp but as she puts it herself, "she's gone from one cage to another." Her father's protection comes with a price. What will happen between her and Edward? Will she ever be free of Mr. Macy?
This was another interesting and complicated book. A difference in this book as the first in the series is that faith in God has more of a place. It was mentioned in the first installment but is explored further in this book. Julia is an interesting character. She is very complex and at times off putting, in my opinion. I found myself enthralled. I couldn't wait to read what would happen next. I eagerly await the third book that is coming out next year. I recommend this book and the first in the series,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Mark of Distinction, Price of Privilege Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Twists, Turns and Hope :)

Date:May 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let me just begin to say that I've read Book #1 Born of Persuasion many months ago, anxiously awaiting Book #2 Price of Privilege and it doesn't disappoint or leave me forgetting any of the exciting details! The Author, Jessica Dotta has a very unique writing ability that to some readers might feel confusing, because she uses very large words that I could see Jane Austen writing a century ago. It's very deep, and thoughtful, and her writing isn't for the faint of heart, you must really put your whole heart and soul into the details as she explains the different situations of the characters which is just stunning! I always enjoy reading about the heroine, Julia (she is my favorite lady, a person I wish I could meet in real life!) as we return to the set of gothic-victorian London, as Julia continues to try to decipher between friend and foe, power and love, mystery and romance! I can't wait to conclude the series with Book #3, please hurry!! :) Thank you to the Publisher for letting me have a copy in exchange for a free, unbiased, non-profit review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Mark of Distinction, Price of Privilege Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

So Engrossing

Date:May 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Danni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me say right off that in order to read this book you must read the first in the series.
The story picks up right where it left off with Julia still struggling after her mother's death. She continues to be used as a pawn in her father and "husband's" political lives. I loved reading how Julia's character developed and how she started to come into her own.
I will admit the ending surprised me and I still have no idea where the third book will end!! Can't wait for the next one.
I received this book from Tyndale Publishing in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Mark of Distinction, Price of Privilege Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thrilling intensity

Date:May 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From one fire to another, Julia finds herself under the protection of her guardian, Lord Pierson, who has decided to make himself known as her father. Now the pawn of not one, but two powerful men, Julia wonders if she will ever see her dear Edward again.
Meanwhile, she finds herself plunged into high society, attending balls is the enigmatic Emerald Heiress. A hero comes forth in the form of Lord Isaac Dalry, who appoints himself her protector and advocate, doing everything in his power to help her feel at home in her new environment. But Macy's grip on her is far from loosed, his men watch her every move, and Julia doesn't know whom to trust.
Mr. Forrester, the unscrupulous newspaperman hounds her every step, taunting her, and teasing her with his knowledge of her past connection to Macy. As secrets from her past are threatening to be revealed, and the lives of the ones she loves are put at stake, Julia finds herself seeking comfort and solace the one place she swore she would never turn. God.
Will Julia ever be free from the dangerous game being played around her?
I loved this book! It picks up right where Born of Persuasion leaves off, as Julia finds her self plunged into a world of wealth and privilege, where lines are blurred and only the strong truly survive. Filled with mystery and intrigue, Ms. Dotta weaves a web of intricate secrets revealing one, only to expose thousands of other untold threads.
I was immediately drawn into the world of blackmail and secrets, where many of the characters are not what they at first seem. I think my favorite character in this book was Isaac Dalry. Isaac had such depth to him, and he was nothing but honorable, ever compassionate, and forgiving. I also admired his great strength of character, and his strong faith that he lived out everyday, though he had his human failings. He reminded me of Mr. Knightley (my favorite Austen hero), ever proper in public, yet with a warm heart that knows how to have fun in private. His sister, Kate was an absolute delight. And I can't help but think that he will be a huge part of the next book in the series, with more about the mysterious Ben to be revealed.
Overall, this was a thrilling read, perfect for fans of Austen and Bronte, with all the intensity and tension of the Tudor court. Julia has grown so much over the course of her journey, yet I fear the worst is yet to come. There were so many unexpected twists and turns, which kept my head fairly spinning the whole way through. I loved every minute of it! This fantastic book left me begging for more, and I can't wait to see what will happen next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>