Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales

Tyndale House Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales

Landon Reed is an ex-quarterback convicted of organizing a points-shaving scheme. During his time in prison, he found forgiveness and faith and earned his law degree. Now he longs for an opportunity to prove his loyalty and worth.

Harry McNaughton is one of the founding partners of McNaughton & Clay-and the only lawyer willing to take a chance employing an ex-con-turned-lawyer. Though Landon initially questions Harry's ethics and methods, it's clear the crusty old lawyer has one of the most brilliant legal minds Landon has ever encountered. The two dive into preparing a defense for one of the highest-profile murder trials Virginia Beach has seen in decades when Harry is gunned down in what appears to be a random mugging. Then two more lawyers are killed when the firm's private jet crashes. Authorities suspect someone has a vendetta against McNaughton & Clay, leaving Landon and the remaining partner as the final targets.

Average Customer Rating:
4.844 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 out of 32100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales
Review 1 for Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent suspense story.

Date:December 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sue Spaanderman
Location:Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book by Randy Singer is a great book to read. It is real, full of suspense and another one of Randy Singer's great books. It was hard to put down, once I had started reading it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A real page turner

Date:October 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lacholander
Location:NZ
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book kept me occupied for a while and had some great action from the middle onwards as the start was building the base and explaining the lives of the main characters. The book was the best Randy Singer I have read and I would recommend this book to anyone who likes guessing the plots of the story and getting a complete surprise because almost the opposite happened!
I suspecting some things that did happen, and other didn't. The book takes you on a wild roller coaster that never stops turning and is going fast enough that you are hooked and can't get away! It was a very enjoyable book and I would definitely read it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kept me guessing

Date:November 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
lovetosing
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Randy Singer does a great job of building characters you want to cheer for. This book is a good example of those characters: lawed and human, yet intensely likable and believable.
The plot is exciting and keeps you turning pages to find out what will happen next.
A great action thriller!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gene
Location:Stoughton, MA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the action and suspense of this book. I also enjoyed the interaction between the main character's christian faith and how his faith influenced his behavior, both as a man and a lawyer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Share
Location:Crofton, MD
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is great. Fast- paced, kept my interest. His writing is similar to John Grishem. I couldn't put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dead lawyers tell no tales by randy singer is an excellent read. It's a mystery involving a former football player who was jailed for being a part of a point shaving scheme and his attempt at being a lawyer.
There are lots of fun twists and turns in this book. When I began reading the book I immediately related to the characters although it did take me several chapters to really "get into" the story. My one criticism is the number of chapters, 93 and a prologue and epilogue, as well as their length. Some of the chapters were understandably ended because the next chapter began with a different character and setting. Others, however, were broken up in the middle of the same setting or day.
In light of that, I found the story compelling and interesting. I couldn't put the book down and couldn't wait for the conclusion, which in my mind, was a little unexpected. What I thought would be the logical conclusion to the story happened as well as a twist that I did not see coming. I highly recommend reading this book. It was very enjoyable and I would read it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good

Date:July 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Landon was jailed for points shaving in football games. Now he is out of jail and looking for a job as a lawyer. An older lawyer hires him and soon Landon is involved in a case involving a murder.
I thought this was a well written book with plenty of action. The ending was good with a twist that I didn't see coming.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

kept my attention

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leeann
Location:CdA, ID
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales was a great book. It really kept my attention the whole way through. I thought it was well written and an overall great book. I’m not into lawyer books, but I enjoyed it. I thought the ending was a bit silly and didn’t really fit, but that is my only criticism.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bitterness makes a deadly enemy. And wrongs are not always made right this side of eternity. Singer weaves a compelling, gritty legal thriller that extends over more than a decade. While not giving clarity about certain players until the last few chapters, the second half of the story is gripping and intense. The only critique is that some characters are left dangling in the end after having such a brilliant start. Does that mean a sequel? I would hope so.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible mystery highlights legal second chances

Date:July 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
luvs to cook
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Randy Singer, my favorite mystery author, created another great legal mystery. Landon Reed, a quarterback imprisoned for fixing football games, became a Christian and earned his law degree while in prison. But when he was released, he discovered no law firm wanted to hire a former convict regardless of his new faith and his law degree. How he would support his wife and child seemed impossible until Harry McNaughton offered him a job in his law firm. Harry then coached Landon to use his unique trial tactics. Landon appeared to have success in his pocket until lawyers and staff in this firm were being murdered one by one. It became so bad that Landon’s former football team mates volunteered to guard Landon and his family from attack while even the police and other people were pointing the finger at Landon as the guilty party. Singer kept the suspense thick until the final pages of the book with clues so carefully hidden that it’s understandable that Landon with a prison background would appear to be the culprit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales

Date:July 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent! That is my one word opinion of this book! I absolutely loved it! Randy Singer is one of my favorite authors. His legal thrillers are excellent! This book had me on the edge of my seat trying to solve the murder in this story. I would recommend this book to everyone! Just don't start it at night...it will keep you up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Plot full of twists and turns and shocking ending.

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales is a story that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Landon is a disgraced football player who goes to jail because of his part in a cheating scandal. During his time, he gives his life to Christ and becomes a changed man. When he finishes serving his time, Landon, with the support of his wife and daughter, takes the steps to become a trial lawyer. Despite much opposition, he is hired by a quirky lawyer named Harry, who sees potential in Landon. With Harry’s support and aid, Landon becomes involved in a high profile case defending another lawyer named Elias, who is accused of murdering his assistant to cover up an affair and pregnancy. Just before Elias’s case is to go to trial, the unthinkable happens: Harry is assassinated. As Landon tries to make sense of the tragedy, Harry’s two other partners are blown up on their way home from a case leaving Landon to wonder how their deaths tie into Elias’s case. With the help from a football buddy and Landon’s wife Kerri, Landon is able to piece together a sinister plot of deceit, murder, and revenge. I found this book to be full of twists and turns and the end was a real shocker.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down!

Date:July 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kris
Location:Fairfax, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Randy Singer was great, again! I really enjoyed reading this book, wanting to figure it out and completely not connecting the dots until the very end. Even at the end I wanted to know what would happen next, and no, the epilogue just left me wanting more but make sure you read it! Singer masterfully brings the characters to life - I kept rooting for different ones and hoping others wouldn't go down the path they appeared to be heading towards. One of the things I love about Randy Singer's books is knowing it will be well written, thrilling, believable and without all the garbage that some authors feel compelled to add.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Read

Date:July 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lawrence Lewis
Location:Flowery Branch, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like Randy Singer's books. I read my first book by this author 4-5 years ago. He was living in the area so had the chance to talk with him a couple of times. The good thing about that is knowing the person writing the book you get a feel for the person and match it to the books. I will read all that he writes and looking forward to "The Advocate" next year. I loved the way he challenged the characters with trust. that is a challenge I believe.
You won't find a better book to read than this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow!

Date:July 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
rlighthouse
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the first book I read by Randy Singer and I cannot wait to read his other books. I have enjoyed reading John Grisham books in the past and this book was even better with a Christian perspective added.
This story follows Landon and Kerri after Landon's release from prison through his quest to become a lawyer to starting work with McNaughton & Clay, working on the Elias King case, and the many bumps thrown into his life along the way. There were many unexpected surprises right up until the last page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very compelling storytelling

Date:August 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book held my attention all the way through. While dead lawyers didn't happen right away, you knew it was coming eventually because of the title. The story started out with a bang and ended with an "oh my" kind of shocker, but it lends credence to writing another installment if there is a series in the works. I have always enjoyed legal thrillers and this has all the right ingredients. Add to that some romantic tension and genuine faith elements and you have one compelling novel.
Some things that I suspected came true, and yet there were a number of surprises I never saw coming. They made sense, though, and the author gave enough elements to make the facts convincing as well. Without posting any spoilers, I'll just say that anyone who enjoys legal thrillers that are packed with crimes to solve, red herrings, and all the while someone is killing off people around the main characters will love this book. It was well plotted and intelligently written. A five star on all counts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book, A Page-turner!

Date:June 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Callie
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I saw Dead Lawyers Tell No Tails by Randy Singer was up for review I was excited to read it. I had heard of Randy singer before and I've been wanting to read one of his books. I like the law mystery/suspense novels that I've read in the past, and I liked the idea of reading one from a Christian author.
The book start out with Landon Reed getting out of jail after serving time for a point-shaving scheme he was a part of while playing college football. He is changed in prison, and decides to go to law school. No now will hire him until a criminal defense lawyer, Harry Mcnaughten, decides to give him a chance. But then lawyers at the firm start dying, and Landon has to dig deep to fin out what exactly is going on inside his new firm.
I really enjoyed this book! One of the reviews on the cover says Singer's books are "every bit as good as John Grisham", and I have to concur. The book was easy to read and kept me wanting to find out what would happen, and the ending was exciting and satisfying.
It was also clean, which is what I would expect from a Christian author, but I appreciated that because some of the law fiction that I've read in the past hasn't been. Christianity wasn't the main focus of the book, but it was weaved into the story naturally, and I liked that. I'm thinking I want to look into getting more of Randy Singer's books now, and I'm excited that I found a good new author!
I'd definitely recommend checking out this book (or his other books too, I know I'm going to be checking into his other books). I think this would be a great vacation read!
Note: I received this book for free from Tyndale in exchange for this review. This is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

well written legal thriller

Date:June 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Landon Reed was an all-star quarterback for Southeastern University. Caught in a financial bind, he agreed to shave a few points off of games he knew his team would win anyway. But he got caught and as the novel opens, he is just being released after completing his prison sentence.
Waiting for him is Kerri, his loyal girlfriend, and Maddie, their daughter. Landon is a changed man. In prison he came to faith in Jesus and the first thing he wants to do is marry Kerri.
The story quickly moves to Landon's review before Virginia Board of Bar Examiners. Landon has earned his law degree and wants to practice. It is a hard sell, because of his prison time but he convinces the examiners that he is a new man and he passes.
One of the examiners is Harry McNaughten, an old criminal defense lawyer. After months of not being able to land a position with a law firm, he runs into Harry again. Landon has been in a fight in a bar. Though he did not start it, he may lose his privilege to practice law. He is saved from that when Harry comes to his rescue. Harry offers Landon a job with his law firm, much to the dismay of his partners.
Landon works with Harry on a high profile murder case. He is a bit disturbed by Harry's unusual techniques and then his world is turned on end. Harry is murdered. Then two more from the firm are killed. Suddenly, working for this law firm can be deadly.
Singer has crafted a great legal thriller. He weaves several stories together to create the drama. There is a retired CIA undercover operative, now the owner of a large private special forces company, who is out to kill those in government who let his foreign girlfriend be tortured to death. There is the successful district prosecutor now accused of embezzlement and murder. And there is Kerri, successful investigative reporter for a local television station.
Readers who like Grisham will like this novel. The characters are well developed and the action is tight. Landon and Kerri are Christians and their faith is essential as they face danger. You learn a little about football and lots about the legal system. I enjoyed it from cover to cover. The twist at the end was great too.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are times when I am reading a novel that I want to know more about the person who wrote it or the subject matter, maybe even what others have written in their reviews. It is great to see a novel come along that shows there is more to life than just one decision or mistake. The main male character, named Landon Reed, who has been released from jail, is now able to live a totally brand new life. Landon became a Christian while in jail due to a choice he made while in college, and while that brought disastrous results at first, later on even better fruit comes forth.
As a first year lawyer, Landon goes through mishaps at the firm he is working at and is now trying his first major case as a defense lawyer. The other case is about setting up off shore accounts by his current client, who now faces indictment for two murders. Kerri waited for Landon to be released from incarceration to provide for their daughter while she worked at a local television news desk. Kerri loves being an investigative reporter. While Landon is working hard as a lawyer, Kerri meets with a clandestine figure with a promise not to reveal anything until he grants permission. She is looking to always reach her highest dreams when Sean Phoenix comes with the promise of a story to make any journalists career soar, but at what cost? Sean Phoenix is the head of a security firm called Cipher Inc., which does covert operations for clients who desire anonymity. However, is that all Cipher Inc. does or is there more going on?
Their marriage is under fire, partners in the law firm Landon is working with are turning up dead, and now they have constant protection as three partners of the firm Landon works for may have been murdered and with only two partners left and a high profile case no chances are being taken that Landon maybe the next target. The novel is full of twists, turns and pulse raising scenes that will keep you wanting to know what happens next. One of the other characteristics I like is that the chapters are short, which makes the story action move swiftly along, being able to easily read it while waiting at the doctor’s office or other places. There is so much more to the novel than I can share, and I just don’t want to ruin it for you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Intricately woven tale

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes. All opinions are my own.
Randy Singer is one of my favorite authors of Legal/Suspense fiction, but this was not one of my favorites of his books. That being said, this is still an intriguing tale with many story lines that appear to be separate yet are all intricately interwoven. Some of the behavior just doesn't make as much sense to me, and I would sometimes lose interest while I was reading. To be fair, I am trying to read during a time when I am swamped with work, but I normally get more caught up in a book. However, I am interested enough to put this on my "keeper" shelf to reread later.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>