Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet: Southern Stories of Faith, Family, and Fifteen Pounds of Bacon

Tyndale House A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet: Southern Stories of Faith, Family, and Fifteen Pounds of Bacon

Written for women of all ages, A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet/i> is a cheerful, funny, and tender account of Sophie's very Southern family. She shares hope and humor, taking a look at everyday real people and showing how God is in the midst of our daily living. His love and mercy are bigger than we can imagine. Southern-style recipes complement each chapter.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet: Southern Stories of Faith, Family, and Fifteen Pounds of Bacon
Review 1 for A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet: Southern Stories of Faith, Family, and Fifteen Pounds of Bacon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Totally Entertaining

Date:August 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is full of very amusing stories of quirky personalities, and touching reminiscences. The tales are almost always upbeat, but the drama of life is included too. I love the writing style; I can almost hear them talk. As the author says, “…this book is not meant to be An Airing of the Grievances; it’s meant to be a celebration of family.” And that it is. The author celebrates life and relatives and friends beautifully (even if she admittedly embellishes here and there). I was alternately touched and laughing aloud. I felt welcomed into her family. Sophie Hudson mentions a few Bible verses, and talks about how the Lord wants us to share stories, talk, laugh, and remember. She even includes recipes. I am glad I bought this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet: Southern Stories of Faith, Family, and Fifteen Pounds of Bacon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart-Warming with a Touch of Humor

Date:August 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet is a collection of heart-warming stories that will make you laugh and wish for home. The author shares some of her most cherished family memories and the people that made the memories worthwhile. In her stories, readers fall in love with her family from her loving parents, quirky mother-in-law with a heart of gold, sweet great-mother-in-law, as well as her siblings, aunts, uncles, husband, son, and cousins whom seem very close to the author. These stories also give you a glimpse of what it is like to be in such a close family unit where everyone seems to adore each other and celebrate family moments. What I really liked about her stories, however, is that she included her own spiritual insights and the lessons that she has learned along the way starting from childhood to present day. From these stories, I saw a picture of a family that loves Jesus and each other. They seem like a family that takes time to help each other out without expecting or asking for anything in return and this reminded me that this is how God intended families to be. I believe that God intended families to model unconditional love towards each other as He loves each of us unconditionally and I saw this model being played through the pages of this book. Another thing, which I appreciated about this book were the recipes in the last chapter. I can’t wait to try them out and when I sit down to share them with my family, it will help to remind me of the lessons I learned by reading this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet: Southern Stories of Faith, Family, and Fifteen Pounds of Bacon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book

Date:August 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
mduncan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a wonderful book. It had me laughing (and sometimes crying), pretty much the whole way through. Sophie is hilarious and it translates well in her writing. Although it was written somewhat like a blog, it made for an easy, funny read, with sweet and tender moments. I would definitely recommend this book to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet: Southern Stories of Faith, Family, and Fifteen Pounds of Bacon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Whimsical

Date:August 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shai
Location:Norfolk, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is absolutely delightful! It had me crying, laughing and everything in between. Sophie’s writing makes the reader feel like they’re in the story right along with the characters. The book keeps the stories engaging, but real and always in an environment of complete respect which was one of the very best parts. She manages to tell great stories that can make the reader laugh or cry but never at the expense of the main characters. A whimsical read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet: Southern Stories of Faith, Family, and Fifteen Pounds of Bacon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable read

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
RuthSophia
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed the stories Sophie tells. It reminds me a lot of my own Southern family, even though the details are different. And I feel like if I met the folks she write about (particularly Martha! can you imagine? CAN YOU IMAGINE?!) I would know them right off the bat. And that makes me smile. (Though sometimes her use of fragments and parentheticals are a little much, they do serve a purpose.) The book definitely made me smile and laugh, though it has its sad parts too - after all, it's a book about life, and sadness and loss is a part of that journey.
I appreciated how things really did keep tying back to God. It was refreshing. ...though I only remember 8 pounds of bacon from the stories, not 15...but there is an unexpected treat of a chapter of recipes at the end of the book. I can't wait to dig in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet: Southern Stories of Faith, Family, and Fifteen Pounds of Bacon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cute

Date:July 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a book by Sophie Hudson, author of the Boo Mama blog. The author tells stories of her crazy Southern family, and there are recipes in the back. I thought this was a cute, easy to read book, and the recipes looked interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet: Southern Stories of Faith, Family, and Fifteen Pounds of Bacon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Book of 2013!!!

Date:July 8, 2013
I don't read a lot of non-fiction. And I rarely—if ever—post a review of the few I do read. However, I couldn't keep my excitement about this book to myself. It would be a disservice to you, my faithful readers, and the public at large.
A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet by Sophie Hudson is hands down the best book I've read this year. RUN to the store and get yourself a copy. NOW. Don't even read the rest of this review. Just buy a copy for yourself … and maybe one for your mama and your grandmama and your best friend too.
Sophie has an incredible talent for weaving stories of her very southern family together with nuggets of spiritual truths. Some of the stories are quite poignant. (Reader Tip #1: Have a box of tissues on hand for the first two chapters.) Others are happy tears streaming down your face, wet your pants funny. (Reader Tip #2: Particularly for chapter 7, it would be in everyone's best interests to "go potty" prior to reading. I am not lying to you when I tell you I nearly wet my pants—and thus the bed—while reading this chapter very late one night. Additionally, my dear husband thought I was having a seizure because of the spasms I was having while trying to laugh silently so as not to wake him up. Needless to say, he woke up anyway.) But each story shines a light on the legacy of faith that Sophie and her husband are so blessed to have. Plus, Sophie tells these stories in such a way where her family seems to leap right off the pages, becoming more than just "characters" in a book (which of course they are, since they're real people and all).
By the end of the book, I literally could.not.put.it.down. I read the last two chapters on the way to church one night and sat in the car in the parking lot to finish the last few pages. (Pastor, I apologize for coming in late to service that night. This book was just so good!) (Reader Tip #3: Clear your calendar when you pick up this book. Your spouse, children, dog, pastor, and friends will thank you for it.)
Sophie's reflections about the treasures she has in her family made me reflect on my own family. There were moments while reading where I found myself imagining my mom or grandmother doing or saying the exact same thing. (Southerners are really all alike, you know.) Southern born and bred, I have a new appreciation for the way we sit around after dinner and tell stories—some of which I've heard at least half a million times.
Every year it seems that one book stands out as a book that must be read by all. And it inevitably ends up under every Christmas tree we visit because I can't stand the thought of everyone I know not getting to read this book. For 2013, I feel certain that A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet will be that book (unless I can't wait until December to share it). (And for any relatives or in-real-life friends who may be reading this, act surprised when you open your Christmas gift this year!)
A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet reminds Southerners of the joys of being Southern and is a great introduction to the best parts of the South for those who may not have the privilege of living here—faith, family, and lots of laughs.
(And apparently, I've now adopted Sophie's habit of writing with lots of parenthesis … at least for this review anyway!) [5 stars]
I read this book for the pure pleasure of reading. I was not requested to provide a review. All opinions expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet: Southern Stories of Faith, Family, and Fifteen Pounds of Bacon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book About a family close to God

Date:July 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lizzy970
Location:Fountain, Co
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book. It seems to talk to my heart. As I was reading, I noticed that the author incorporated what she had learned and not just on the surface either. I like the part where she says God camps right in your heart and stays for life and never leaves you. And the part where someone come full circle from where they started. That's where I am. 22 years ago I fell in love with this guy, but it seems he didnt want and told me so, Broken heart. And now 22 years later the same thing happened to me, my ex-fiance broke my heart, I found out he was living with some woman and broken heart again, but this time I am finally learning the lessons I should have the first time. God comes first and we listen to Him and read our Bibles to learn what he wants from us. I am at the beginning stage again, but starting to be more mature in my dealings in life because of God. This author nailed it just perfect the way the state my heart is in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet: Southern Stories of Faith, Family, and Fifteen Pounds of Bacon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun read and great recipes

Date:July 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bookworm
Age:25-34
This is more than a recipe book, it shares personal stories, southern traditions, and healthy alternatives, as well as spiritual tidbits for desert. ;)
I've only made one of the recipes so far - delicious nut recipe. mmm
This book would make a wonderful gift (for women.) I know, because it was a gift given to me. :)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet: Southern Stories of Faith, Family, and Fifteen Pounds of Bacon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You can pick your nose....

Date:June 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sandy J
Location:Miamisburg, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
The saying goes "you can pick your nose and your friends but you can't pick your family". We have all heard that. But do we go one step further to complete the circle that GOD chooses our families for us???? That everyone placed around our table was chosen by God to be there and has a purpose in shaping our lives? This book reminds you of how precious your family is. Our world today has many demands for your time - infinite meaningless trivia on the Internet, and TV.... Focus on your family. They are right there in front of you and don't forget.... GOD gave them to you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.