Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers KJV Audio Bible Dramatized on CD

Hendrickson Publishers KJV Audio Bible Dramatized on CD

Add new dimension to your devotions! The world's best-loved Bible translation is brought to life in this powerful word-for-word narration by renowned British dramatist Alexander Scourby.

Dozens of additional voices, sound effects, and background music create added impact as you listen at home, in the car, or while exercising.

59 digitally remastered stereo CDs in an attractive black carrying case.

Average Customer Rating:
4.328 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
4
14 out of 1782%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for KJV Audio Bible Dramatized on CD
Review 1 for KJV Audio Bible Dramatized on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product, The best ever.

Date:November 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Yane Yane
Location:Henderson, N. C.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great products, I will recommend this company to all my family and friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KJV Audio Bible Dramatized on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am thourally enjoying it!

Date:May 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
icohoon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very glad that I ordered These CD's of the bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KJV Audio Bible Dramatized on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The dramatized Bible is a refreshing approach

Date:March 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kate
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been enjoying my dramatized Bible very much. Because it is on CD, it is easy to take with me and listen to at any time. The stories come alive when you are listening to various persons speaking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KJV Audio Bible Dramatized on CD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

needs better audio

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
bowhunter
Location:newmanstown pa
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I personally don't like this audio bible. there are better ones available. some of the people talking are hard to understand what they are saying
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KJV Audio Bible Dramatized on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for commutes

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michele
Location:Norwood, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to listen to on my 45 minute drive to and from work. What a great way to start the day!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KJV Audio Bible Dramatized on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Doug
Location:Wayne, WV
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually bought this for my wife and she loves it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KJV Audio Bible Dramatized on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
etiffany88
Location:Northridge, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first heard of Alexander Scourby when a friend of mine introduced me to her KJV audio Bible that he had narrated. She told me that he also had a dramatized version, and i should get it because it would really keep my attention. Well, it did! I got through Genesis 1-Exodus 4 in just a week (54 chapters)! If you want an audio Bible, this is the one to get. You will love how there's so many different voices and how well everything is played out.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KJV Audio Bible Dramatized on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This version holds my attention...

Date:October 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tyrone
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A voice for every character which makes it more real not just another speech rending , this is very different ...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KJV Audio Bible Dramatized on CD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I wanted to like this more, but...

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
human being
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I agree with reviewer KDT who also gave this 2 stars. I've listened only to the sample of the dramatized (revision) of the Alexander Scourby KJV reading. It seemed less cluttered with sound effects than the NIV dramatized version, but the producers have speeded up Mr. Scourby's reading to where you might actually miss some things and need to rewind, if you are doing other things while listening. At least, I think they've speeded him up. I had this recording on cassettes back in the 1970s. I don't recall him reading this fast! And yes, it makes him sound flat and emotionless. I also agree that the actor's voices sound flakey. And the music is not helpful. Finally, I also prefer the KJV (actually the NKJV) over the NIV as a translation, but the TNIV dramatized audio version seems a way better production than this KJV. However, the TNIV is a *very* dramatic production, maybe too much drama for some tastes. (I'm going to listen to the samples of the KJV narrated by James Earl Jones.)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KJV Audio Bible Dramatized on CD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
irina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The voices are too dramatized. In my opinion it sounds obnoxious, over done and distracting.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KJV Audio Bible Dramatized on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product meets my expectation.

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Diann Sutton
Location:Kerrville, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product definitely meets my expectation. This product brings the Bible to life. I enjoy listening to the narrator and the sound effects.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KJV Audio Bible Dramatized on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has great features

Date:January 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
George Calloway
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I sent this as a gift and the family member love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KJV Audio Bible Dramatized on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Dramatization

Date:January 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
abpmary
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Dramatization. Wonderfully Done!
Pricing is Great and reasonable for those who live on a fixed income.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KJV Audio Bible Dramatized on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Product

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
njbop
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have given this product as a gift to several friends and relatives. I like it because it brings the bible to life without changing the text, e.g. you hear a woman's voice when a woman speaks or if there is a war you hear sounds denoting a war. I recently gave my copy to a new member in my church and purchased another for myself. I have also given copies to very sick friends who love the Word but are no longer able to read for themselves. This is an excellent product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KJV Audio Bible Dramatized on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I like the clarity of this product

Date:December 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
JLynn
Location:El Dorado Arkansas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I purchased this as a Christmas gift - I cant wait to hear more when he opens it and we can listen together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KJV Audio Bible Dramatized on CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for the car.

Date:December 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
sotlg
Location:Paradise, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter likes to listen to it while I'm driving and so do I.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KJV Audio Bible Dramatized on CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great listening

Date:November 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
JLS51
Location:New Hampshire
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It takes a little getting used to the dramatised style, especially when someone is trying to replicate their idea of God's voice, but it does bring things to life and adds some of the emotion that people like Joseph must have felt when revealing himself to his brothers, meeting his father after so much time, etc. I love to listen when on a long drive. It's so much better than trying to find something on the radio worth listening to.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KJV Audio Bible Dramatized on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Fowler
I highly recommend this product, it really helps to keep focused when reading, the voices and backgrounds sounds really enhance what is really happening. Also great for helping to pronounce some of those words that we are not very fimiliar with. It is worth the investment.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KJV Audio Bible Dramatized on CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Konrad Krabill
The children love listening to the "stories". It's great to leave on all day. Every time it's on, something new catches our ear. The children go to sleep listening to the Bible.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KJV Audio Bible Dramatized on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mike Kiefer
I first listened to this dramtzed Bible in 1977, while locked up in prison in Okla. It was like havining an oasis there with me. I would always give this one away to people when it was on tapes; now that it is on CD it just makes it better and user friendly for moving forward or backwards. In Joel 2, you can hear his voice break when he reads the part about the old men dreaming dreams. If I couldn't see to read; this is the Bible I would want with me for the rest of my days on earth. I would listen to one CD for a week before I would change it out.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.