Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Strand of Deception, Justice Seekers Series #3 -eBook

B&H Books Strand of Deception, Justice Seekers Series #3 -eBook

When University of Memphis student Gina Ford is murdered, FBI special agent Nick Hagar is on the case. He asks forensics expert Maddie Baxter to run a familial DNA test---and a shocking result emerges. The DNA belongs to Adam Alexander, the same guy who broke Maddie's heart! But do scientific tests tell the whole story?

Robin Caroll | The Justice Seekers Series

Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Strand of Deception, Justice Seekers Series #3 -eBook
Review 1 for Strand of Deception, Justice Seekers Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great suspense story

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I previously reviewed the first book in this series, Injustice For All, and I was very disappointed in it, but this book was great. Robin Caroll is back to great suspense writing here! I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Maddie is a forensics expert and works with the FBI to solve the murders. This is similar to a CSI episode or NCIS but with more detail. The author has obviously done her homework and crafted a believable tale.
The one thing I found irritating throughout the book was Maddie's obsession with Elvis. She's constantly singing Elvis songs in her head and the lines are thrown in there along with whatever else is going on. It's distracting, but not the end of the world. I don't think it adds to the story at all.
All in all, if you like a good mystery I'd definitely recommend this book!
I received this book from Netgalley and B&H Publishing for the purpose of an honest review. My opinion is my own. Thank you B&;H Publishing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Strand of Deception, Justice Seekers Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't guess who did it!

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
JoyAnne
Location:TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the things that makes a great mystery suspense novel is not being able to guess who did it and this one kept me guessing! The story involves Maddie, a young woman guarding her heart to avoid being hurt again and Nick, the FBI agent assigned to the case who is searching for peace in his life. I liked the light romance between them and the spiritual aspect which is sometimes missing in Christian novels.
Maddie's love of Elvis is fun and lets us get to know her better. The author gives us a peek into what happens in a crime lab which I thought was very interesting. I recommend this series to anyone who enjoys a mystery that is difficult to solve.
I received a copy of this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Strand of Deception, Justice Seekers Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Recommended Reading!

Date:March 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Talk about a high-concept, well-written romantic suspense. Heavier on the suspense then the romance, the novel is quick paced, energy charged and consistently kept me up past my bedtime to find out who did it.
I’m not the most intelligent suspense reader. I don’t often “get” everything and get easily lost in all the twists and tails. What I loved about this novel, in addition to being well written, there is the high concept of genetic research and catching the killer, but it meets readers like me half way while leaving plenty of room for the intelligent reader.
I had an idea of who the killer was, thought I was wrong, and then the book looped back around to prove I was right with plenty of twists to get back. The spiritual element was gracefully woven through the story becoming an intricate part of the telling. The romance is definitely the subplot, but I thought it was done in such a way that did not leave it feeling rushed or the reader cheated. It’s just there and was nice.
Plenty of different turns. The genetic research angle was fascinating and the characters were strong and captivating on the page. It has that ability to get and keep you hooked right away. Recommended reading!
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers through CFBA for my copy to review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Strand of Deception, Justice Seekers Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Throws readers into a page turning world

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Robin Caroll's latest offering, Strand of Deception, throws readers into a page-turning world of murder, suspense, and ethical dilemmas arising from the use of cutting-edge forensic technology in the justice system. Maddie Baxter is a wonderful character who stands firmly rooted in her faith in God, but who isn't afraid to admit she's human and doesn't always have the answers. I enjoyed her love for all things Elvis, her courage to face evil, and her tenancity to hunt down the truth. The scenes are taut and the plot is full of twists and turns designed to keep the reader guessing about who the murderer actually is. Although I guessed early on who the perpetrator was, it was certainly a fun ride to unravel the evidence along with Maddie and Special Agent in Charge Nick Hagar, and see how things were resolved in the end. Maddie and Nick's relationship develops naturally and is fun to watch, although some of Maddie's thoughts about Nick were a little too sappy for my male mind. That certainly didn't attract from my enjoyment of the story, however, and I am positive that male and female readers alike will find much to applaud in this story. I really enjoyed the subplot about Maddie's involvement in a court case where the forensic evidence results in the release of a criminal. Even though Maddie struggles with that person's release, she stands by the truth, and suffers as a result.
If you are a reader who likes a good suspense novel that is not only well-written, but will leaving you thinking as well, then this is the book for you! I strongly recommend this novel and award it 4 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Laurel Teague with publisher B&H Books, along with FIRST Wildcard blog tours, for the purposes of this unbiased review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Strand of Deception, Justice Seekers Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Science Doesn't Lie

Date:March 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maddie Baxter is a Tennessee Bureau Investigator, she has a gun and a badge. She is a forensic scientist, and helps put the bad guys away, and occasionally helps get the innocent out of jail. Science doesn't lie.
We have met Maddie's sister Riley, and her brother Rafe before. We catch up with them in this book, but this is more focused on Maddie.
When a Senator's daughter is murdered, the FBI is called in. So Maddie and her brother's former boss Nick Hagar are put together. Maddie has collected samples and is working diligently with Nick, and they begin to date.
This story has several cases in it, and many twists and turns. You guess, and guess again. Things keep changing. Through it all, Maddie and Nick keep working to bring justice, but can their relationship go any further if Nick is not a Christian.
Things have happened in Nick's life that have made him doubt his faith, also will Maddie be able to trust Nick? She has had her heart broken a couple of times.
If you enjoy mysteries, and there are a few here, this is the book for you!
I received this book through First Wild Card Book Tours, and Net Galley, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Strand of Deception, Justice Seekers Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Nick Hagar—Rafe’s boss in book one of the Justice Seekers Series—is the main character in this novel, together with Maddie Baxter—Riley’s sister from book two in this series. It was really nice to see these two people meet in this latest work by Robin Caroll.
The senator’s daughter is murdered and Nick is working the case. Maddie, as a forensic scientist, is collecting the evidence. This is how the two meet again. They already knew each other because Nick used to be Rafe’s boss and they went out on a date once. They feel attracted to each other, but Maddie is afraid to get hurt in a relationship again, so she tried to avoid him after their first date. But since they are working on the same murder case she can’t avoid him any longer. Will Nick be able to win Maddie’s trust and love?
It was quite interesting to read about familial DNA testing. I had not heard about it before.
There are many twists and turns in this story. It was not easy to figure out who the killer was. At first I thought I knew who did it, but while reading I changed my opinion several times.
If you are looking for a good mystery with a flavor of romance, then you should pick up one of Robin Caroll’s books. She’s a master in spinning a suspenseful tale!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Strand of Deception, Justice Seekers Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Book from Robin Caroll

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Clover, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Robin Carrol's books! She writes Christian romantic suspense in a fantastic way that has the reader holding their breath, wondering what's going to happen next. And she does it well, because the reader is in the dark about the culprit until the very last pages, too!
A prominent politician's daughter goes missing a week after a student was killed on a TN college campus. Enter Maddie Baxter, forensics expert and Nick Hager, FBI special agent. Maddie and Nick had shared a brief date a few months previously but have not been in contact since. Now they must work together to find the perpetrator of this crime and another one, which has caused Maddie a ton of stress.
Carrol's done her research well on this one (and her previous ones, too!) and the reader is not disappointed once with the details of both the FBI and the forensics angle of the story. I loved that part, too. Science does not lie, Maddie is fond of saying, but things look hairy for a while in that regard.
This book moves along at a fast pace, making the reader feel they must finish it soon because they are eager to know the ending. However, as with all Robin's books, this reader also wants to read slowly to savor the book.
This book ends the Justice Seekers series and I can't wait to see what Robin Caroll has in the works for her readers next!
See your review on the site
Review your other purchases
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Strand of Deception, Justice Seekers Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Suspenseful Romance

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
The IE Mommy
Location:Beaumont, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was captivated by this book from page one! Strand of Deception had me intrigued and confused until the very end! Just when I thought I had it all figured out, another twist would spin me into a completely different direction. It’s been a while since I read such a great suspenseful mystery. I love when I can’t figure out the ending to a book. It keeps me reading and wanting more.
While reading this book I felt like I was watching an episode of CSI, only better. I’ve always loved the forensic aspect of solving crimes and Caroll is clearly well educated on the subject making the book even more real and believable.
Maddie Baxter works in forensics and a high profile case finds her working side by side with Nick Hagar, a handsome FBI agent. They work together to follow the strands of DNA to find a killer. The DNA leads to a surprising prime suspect. Every time I thought I knew who the killer was, the evidence would point somewhere else. I love a mystery that truly remains a mystery until the very end.
Romance and suspense are the perfect combination for a great book. The suspense brings a depth and reality to the romance that usually isn’t present in most love stories. Caroll smartly balances the two genres to perfection.
Strand of Deception is a thriller that will keep you reading faster and faster to find out who done it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Strand of Deception, Justice Seekers Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Real Page-turner

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
This Christian fiction is the third in the Justice Seekers series, but it's a stand alone work. I received my copy Monday afternoon and had it finished by Wednesday evening. It's a real page-turner.
I like the two main characters: Nick Hagar and Maddie Baxter--who become romantically connected. They both share tragedy in their past lives: Nick's brother died while serving overseas with the Marines, and Maddie's parents were killed by a drunken driver. This causes Nick to doubt God, while Maddie leans on Christ.
Nick's hard work at finding and following leads has the reader jumping from one conclusion to another. "Science doesn't lie" is the motto that Maddie lives by, as she manages the DNA testing. Their struggles of work on a murder case makes for some interesting and complex issues.
Maddie, a super fan of Elvis and his music, creates a lighter theme that runs throughout the novel. As a long-time lover of Elvis, I really enjoyed the references!
Discussion questions included.
Thank you to Bonnie at Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and B&H Books for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Strand of Deception, Justice Seekers Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good novel of forensic DNA testing

Date:February 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the last in The Justice Seekers Novels, but can certainly be read alone.
In this novel, we follow Maddie Baxter, sister to Riley, who we met in To Write a Wrong. Maddie is a forensic expert with the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation. When the daughter of a prominent senator is found murdered, Maddie analyzes the evidence.
Her job is complicated by the FBI agent assigned to the case, Nick Hagar. Maddie is attracted to Nick, and he to her. Their romance blossoms as the investigation proceeds.
At the center of this novel is DNA testing. On the one hand, Maddie finds that recently found DNA material frees a man wrongly accused of a crime years ago. Maddie knows the man is evil and struggles with her work setting him free.
Yet it is cutting edge DNA testing that ultimately points the way to the murderer of the senator's daughter. But Maddie is troubled when the familial DNA results indicate a man she used to date.
This is another good novel from Caroll. There are several subplots that run through the novel, such as Maddie's life being threatened because her work set an evil man free from prison. Another subplot is the question of why God allows terrible things to happen.
The Christianity of the characters is clearly presented in the novel, as is the gospel. Non-Christian readers may find it a bit “preachy.”
The only aspect of the novel less than perfect, I thought, was that Maddie and Nick, in their developing romance, were a bit childish as one is hurt by the other. At their ages, they should have been more mature and understanding.
All in all, a good novel. And I learned about familial DNA testing, something that is new and not being done everywhere yet.
I received a complimentary egalley from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Strand of Deception, Justice Seekers Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Justice Seekers Series Book 3

Date:January 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Strand of Deception by Robin Caroll
Justice Seekers Series Book 3
Maddie Baxter is a forensic expert. She believes strongly that, science does not lie. Even if that means finding a creepy looking, dead eyed guy innocent and allowing him to go free. It’s part of her job. She wants justice and fights hard in her lab to find it through the DNA she tests. Now she needs to find out who killed a young woman, maybe two. And who is threatening her. On top of that, the handsome FBI agent she dated only once, is thrown into her path. She has two negative strikes with relationships, does she dare go for the third?
Special Agent in Charge Nick Hagar has his work cut out for him. A woman has been killed and her father is high profileand the man is also running his mouth off to the public. Along with calling the mayor and governor enough to put all kinds of pressure on Nick and his agents. Along with the agency testing for DNA matches. Every suspect they get is making it hard to find the truth, but the truth will prevail.
Robin Caroll has the reader going from one suspect to the next in this book. They look guilty at first until you meet the next one who looks a bit guiltier. Never giving away who really murdered the two young women until the end. And it comes with a surprise to the reader, at least this reader. This is a great series that you can see the author has put a lot of time into researching and describing different areas that are brought up in the book. Like the DNA testing process. Book 1: Injustice For All, Book 2: To Write a Wrong.
**Received through NetGalley for review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.