Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Still Lolo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hope

Tyndale House Still Lolo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hope

When 23-year-old fashion model and journalist Lauren (Lolo) Scruggs lost her hand and eye after she was hit by an airplane propeller, she faced tough questions---Where is God in this pain? What kind of future will I have? Now she speaks out, revealing an inspiring story of faith, determination, and staying true to who you are! 272 pages, hardcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.517 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 2997%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Still Lolo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hope
Review 1 for Still Lolo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So glad to hear more of her story!

Date:June 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carol
Location:Rock Hill, SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A friend alerted me to pray when LoLo's accident happened, and I did for days. Thrilled to hear more of the story. Her recovery is amazing - totally God's answer to many prayers.
Loved the format of the book which told the story sequentially, using the voices of various family members. Such a traumatic event is, of course, a huge family affair, and it was good to see the way God used each one's periods of being "up" to encourage the rest of the family in their "downs" over the terribly difficult circumstances as they changed.
Also a great manual on how to be a godly friend walking alongside our brothers and sisters as they struggle.
Each one shared enough of his own struggles to be truthful, not a sugar-coating.
Would be a terrific gift to others facing traumatic times...so long as we make it clear everyone has the right to process grief in his own way, on his own timetable. I think grief is cyclical, not linear, and we revisit the same emotions over and over again, but as this book and others point out, GOD IS PRESENT IN THEM ALL.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Still Lolo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good

Date:June 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
reli
Location:WI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The true story of Lauren being hit by a propeller blade and losing her one eye and hand. I was encouraged by her determination to get up and get moving, but also by her sharing the real struggles of learning to accept the loss of her hand and to be able to go out and face the public once again. That wasn't easy for her--she didn't like the prostheses.
I also liked how it gave the story of her life--it told how her mom and dad had divorced and then got back together again after they had both become Christians. Giving up high-paying jobs in the corporate world to work as marriage counselors takes a commitment as well. It chronicles her failures and her successes, which makes her story more palatable rather than just being about her accident and how wonderfully she overcame it, which can be discouraging for those who struggle through life. I would recommend this book to others. Very easy to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Still Lolo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

All new to me

Date:June 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kris
Location:Fairfax, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read this book because it was on the Tyndale's summer reading list. I thought her story was interesting and I was certainly fascinated that her parents remarried after 7 years of being divorced. I guess if I had been following Lauren before the accident this book would have been even better because it gives details of her life before the accident and how the accident impacted her life and details about the recovery. It was all new to me since I'd never heard of her before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Still Lolo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
thecraftyhome
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Still Lolo is written by Lauren Scruggs as well as her family. The subtitle is a spinning propeller, a horrific accident, and a family's journey of hope. Lauren Scruggs was a fashion journalist when a simple air plane ride to see the cities Christmas lights turned into an accident that would changer he life. Left without an eye and a hand in addition to needing brain surgery and a multitude of other things, it is a miracle she survived. This is the story has told through the views of Lauren, her mother, her father, and her twin sister. Not only is this a story of the accident but a story of her life which has God's grace and hope written all over it.
This book was great. I hadn't heard about this even though it received major television news coverage. (maybe because we don't have tv LOL) I loved how it was written from different perspectives. For someone who is worried about non-fiction books this one was great! I enjoyed reading it and it truly encourages you in your faith. Plus I will now be praying for the Scruggs family as they continue to find ways to pay for all the medical bills from this horrific accident. This is a must read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Still Lolo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unexpectedly Powerful and Beautiful

Date:August 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This one made me cry. Lauren tells of her journey full of pain and miracles, and the sister, mother and father express how they made it through. It is enlightening in more than one way. Her father works out his grief partly by visiting the accident site, and the diagram and his research were eye-opening. Many aspects of the accident and the road to recovery are explained so well that it kept my interest to the end. These are brave and open people to share their lives this way. I did not expect such a beautiful testimony of strength. This whole family inspired me with their steadfast faith and love. In fact, their example shames me because I have not followed my beliefs as closely. It is a lovely expression of grace and helps me resolve to renew my faith. Difficult issues arise but restoration is ultimately received. Oh, yes, and the photos in the paperback are absolutely beautiful and precious!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Still Lolo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

story of hope

Date:August 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leeann
Location:CdA, ID
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Still Lolo was an encouraging story about God’s work in the life of the Scruggs’ family. I thought the story would be about Lauren’s accident and recovery, but it is the story of God’s working in her whole family through the years. Different chapters are written from different family member’s points of view. God is still performing miracles, and this book really gives God the glory!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Still Lolo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring

Date:August 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
mduncan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book! This book had me almost in tears from time to time, yet it also had me laughing from time to time. I love that the whole Scrugg's family shared in the writing of this book, so you get different perspectives. I also loved that this book wasn't all about her accident it shared a lot of what happened in the Scrugg's family before the accident (including the divorce and remarriage of Lauren's parents) as well as what happened after. This book was inspiring and motivating and there is not much more I can say about this book, other than "go read it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Still Lolo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hope
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Inspiring Story of One Woman's Courage

Date:July 30, 2013
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When fashion journalist Lauren Scruggs lost her eye and her lower left arm in a prop-strike, her accident and recovery process made national news. This book is her story, told by herself, her twin sister, her parents, and polished by a co-biographer.
Lauren's story is inspirational to say the least. Her strong faith and positive attitude are great encouragement. The behind the scenes look at what is necessary to become a fashion journalist is intriguing. Similar to Bethany Hamilton of Soul Surfer (who wrote the introduction), I think Lolo has great potential to become a positive role model for young women.
The only place I found this book to be lacking was in the actual narration, and it wasn't severely lacking, just enough to annoy me.
Portions of the writing felt emotionally flat; not entirely unexpected coming from someone who has been through something extremely traumatic (Lauren even briefly and indirectly addresses the issue), but slightly disappointing from the standpoint that Lauren used to be a descriptive writer for fashion week.
Also, the narrative comes across disjointed. We jump back and forth between Lauren's accident, present, childhood, career, and recovery as the different narrators (Lauren, parents, sister) each have their say. For me, the splitting point where we left one time period and moved to another didn't always make sense. The book has the sense of a family sitting around a kitchen table telling a story together, which I'm sure is what is intended. I can't think of a more pleasant way to learn family history than with everyone chiming in together when I'm there in person and it's my family, but in the book, it sometimes feels like people might be talking over each other, or telling multiple stories at the same time. Lauren survived a propeller strike and Lauren's family survived her propeller strike. Both stories are worth telling, and both could even be put into the same book. I just wish it had been done a little more coherently.
Finally, the book ended rather suddenly. There isn't much of a where-do-we-go-from-here. I'm not sure the authors know. They include an epilogue to update the book, but beyond saying that everyone is still doing fine, we are left with very little. There are lots of loose ends in the "plot" which are left hanging. Real life is messy, far messier than a modestly sized memoir can convey. But again, it doesn't make for the best read.
Small gripes. Not enough to prevent me from recommending the book as an uplifting read, just enough for me to round my 3.5 star rating down to 3 when clicking the review window.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Still Lolo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hope
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good book

Date:July 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fashion journalist Lauren Scruggs ("LoLo") is injured when she is struck by a propeller blade. The family's story is told in the book, starting with Lauren's childhood and through the accident.
I thought this was a good book. Lauren, both parents and twin sister Brittany take turns telling the story. It was heartwarming to read about all the people who prayed for the family, helped out in various ways, etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Still Lolo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hope
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Lightweight inspirational autobiography

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
aklinslow
Location:Anchorage, AK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
An autobiographical first person retelling of the life of Lauren Scruggs and her family, "Still Lolo" was written in an easy to read format, very conversational. I did find it interesting how each chapter was told from a family member's perspective: most often from Lauren's, but quite a few times from her mom or dad and once or twice from the point of view of her twin sister, Brittany.
Although this is mainly their retelling of Lauren's accident of walking into a plane's propeller a few years back, her parents actually go even farther back in telling about their own relationship: marriage, divorce and reconciliation, and how that impacted their daughters' lives and in some ways prepared them for this time of trials. 
However, the reason I'm only giving this an average rating is because there is also a lot of unnecessary "fluff" in the book. Maybe that's to be expected when a woman in her early twenties is writing an autobiography, but I just felt like all the name dropping and mentions of every single boy she dated or thought was cute was excessive. self-involved, and distracting. 
I would not say this is a very inspirational book, but I'm sure many people would enjoy it. My favorite part was the last few chapters of the book where Lauren and her family describe life after the accident and how Lauren did discover some real meaning in her life and perhaps more clearly found her true Source of strength. 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Still Lolo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Story of Determination and Courage

Date:July 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Still Lolo is a true story about a woman named Lauren told from the perspectives of not only the author, but also her parents and sister. The story began with how Lauren’s parents met and touched briefly about the trouble that they had trying to have children. After many years, Lauren’s mother became pregnant with the help of IV therapy with Lauren and her twin sister, Brittany. Lauren’s early childhood was sad because her parents divorced and she and Brittany were constantly going from one parent to the other. Though the divorce was hard on the girls, they knew their parents truly loved them and that fact made the situation more bearable for them. Like most children, Lauren and her sister never gave up hope that their parents would remarry. When the girls were older, their dream came true and the split family became whole again. Lauren and her sister grew up and headed off to college. Lauren, who was the creative one in the family, went into the fashion world and started her own magazine that had topics of interest to her: fashion, health, beauty, etc. When all seemed to be going well for Lauren, tragedy struck! One day, as she was exiting off a plane from a trip, she ran into the plane’s propeller and her life was changed forever. Thankfully, she survived the accident, but she lost one eye and hand. This book tells of Lauren’s courage and determination to get her life back and I found it to be very encouraging. Instead of becoming bitter, she relied on God and I think it is amazing how He has used this story to touch people’s lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Still Lolo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Still Lolo is a book by Lauren Scruggs and family about her propeller accident. Lauren was at a family friend's home when they suggested they take their plane for a little flight over the property. The flight went well however when exiting the plane it was very dark and Lauren was hit by the propeller's blade. She was struck on her left side, injuring her brain, eye, shoulder, clavicle bone, and severing her left hand. This book gives background on her life growing up and her recovery following the accident and how she leaned on God to help her throughout her difficult recovery.
It is a very good book. I especially liked the perspectives of her family during her recovery. I like how they formatted this book. Her story is so encouraging. She didn't have an easy time dealing with her injury and she didn't shy away from her shortcomings. The inclusion of
Her mom dad and twin sisters stories really helps to see the whole picture of their lives up to during and after the accident. When I finished reading this book, I was greatly encourage and felt uplifted by God's plan for Lauren. It was a wonderful feeling to have after reading such a compelling story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Still Lolo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hope
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Story From Headlines Shows Human Interest Side

Date:June 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
ajreader
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Read my full review on my blog: http://ajreader.blogspot.com/2013/06/still-lolo-lauren-scruggs-and-family.html
"If you do not keep up on celebrity gossip, the fashion world, or entertainment news, you have likely never heard of Lauren Scruggs. In December 2011, an airplane propeller hit her. As a result, she lost her left hand and eye. Though I did not realize it at the time her accident made headlines, Scruggs and her family have shared an incredible journey of faith. Still Lolo does not share just Lauren's story, but her whole family joins in the telling of their history.
I enjoyed reading the story behind the headlines, especially since, in this case, the headlines got a lot of things wrong. The Scruggs family demonstrates true grace and faith in their writing. They come across as truly genuine in both their struggles and triumphs."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Still Lolo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Full of Lessons Learned, Gratitude, and Praise

Date:June 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Still Lolo" is the story of one young woman and her family’s spiritual journey, from her childhood to the night of the tragic and devastating accident that put their faith to the test up to right now.
On December 3, 2011, Lauren Scruggs stepped out of a small airplane and into the path of its propeller. (In Chapter 19, Lauren’s father walks readers through the scene of the accident, clearly explaining how such a thing could happen—and did.) Miraculously, Lauren survived, though she lost her left eye and hand. (Lauren’s father also explains just what a close call it was: a miniscule measurement meant the difference between a clear miss, the injury, or death.)
But the book isn’t just about the accident or Lauren’s recovery. Family members take turns (with the help of Marcus Brotherton) telling about significant events of their lives leading up to the accident and how God used these to prepare the family the handle the trauma victoriously, in complete dependence on Him and with the abundant help of caring community. This book is packed full of lessons learned, faith in our sovereign God, generous gratitude, and praise.
Readers who are inspired by testimonies and biographies will want to read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Still Lolo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Faith and Hope to get you through

Date:June 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
memakf
Location:Ephrata,PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“Still Lolo” by Lauren Scruggs takes you through the difficult journey of Lauren’s accident and the first year of recovery. The family tells different parts of the story and there are chapters on earlier years to give the reader some background on the story and how everything in our lives can be a path to the next experience. The family’s faith plays a strong part in their resilience to overcome this difficult time. Lauren’s story can be an inspiration to many people – those that are hurting and those that need a reminder that without faith our lives are much harder. Bad things do happen to good people – it’s what we do and how we act following the hard times that are a true reflection of our character. The Scruggs family is working hard to be a shining example of how you learn to move through tragedy and let it reshape your life into something worthwhile.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Still Lolo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lauren Scruggs: A Story of Faith, Hope, Strength

Date:March 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
melz
Location:NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book tells Lauren’s story not only from her perspective but also from her parents and her sister, Brittany. I found myself engrossed in Lauren’s story from page one. Lauren tells her story with honesty and courage as if she is only speaking with you. Lauren not only speaks about the accident and her feelings but she also gives us a look into her past and shares her belief and faith in the Lord that has given her the strength and perseverance to make it through various events in her life.
Other chapters within the book are also written from the perspective of her sister, Brittany and her parents, Cheryl and Jeff Scruggs. Lauren’s parents and sister write of their own worries and struggles with the accident and Lauren’s recovery, however what really shines through is this family’s faith and strength in the midst of this life-changing event.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this book. It is well-written featuring such honesty and really showcases a message of hope and encouragement that everyone needs to read. Lauren’s story is truly inspiring and is such a powerful illustration about how God uses us to positively impact others.
Note: I have received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Still Lolo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring book

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janet P
Location:El Cajon, CA
The book Still Lolo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hopeis written by Lauren Scruggs and the Scruggs Family with Marcus Brotherton. I think most of us remember hearing about Lauren Scruggs who walked into a plane propeller and lost sight in one eye as a result. At the time that I heard about the accident in the news, I wondered how something like that could have happened. This book explains that and also how Lauren and her family got through the healing and recovery process.
Not only is Lauren's background interesting, but her parents' story is very interesting also. Her parents had married, had two children (Lauren and her sister) and then divorced. Both parents eventually put Christ in their lives, then remarried several years after the divorce. The family turned to their faith after Lauren's accident to get them through the accident and recovery.
I really enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it to anyone. The book is very inspiring and also reinforces that God is not concerned about outward appearances, but about what is in our heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Still Lolo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Still LoLo

Date:January 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the story of Lauren Scruggs dealing with an accident that in a split second changed her life forever. The story is told from her birth to the accident and how she has been faithful to GOD all her life. This book is faith based and would be really great for teenage girls that are facing all of society's pressure and the way that GOD intends us to be.
I was very impressed and inspired by how Lauren and her family have always kept the faith in the situations that they have had to deal with and turning to GOD for all the answers. One of the favorite chapters is how Lauren describes NY and the Big Apple to the apple in Genesis, it was a great way to explain sin-- loved it.
Something that surprised me most was that Lauren was not a model or rich as most of the media stories have said when covering her accident. This part of the book is really interesting that the media is not sharing the true story; the book tells the truth and it is really different then what
the public has been told by the news.
I would recommend this to everyone to read. It will inspire you and you will want to have others read this encouraging story. If you are a teen girl or have a teenage girl read this book you will love it.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Tyndale bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Still Lolo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspring true story

Date:January 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Still Lolo by Lauren Scruggs and the Scruggs family is an inspiring true story about the Scruggs experience when Lauren walked into an airplane’s propeller a year ago this past week and lost her left hand and left eye. Think Bethany Hamilton of Soul Surfer.
When I called this book an inspiring true story it wasn’t just because the phrase was typed on the front cover or because others have called it inspiring. I think whenever I read a book detailing someone’s tragic event and comes through it stronger it helps those of us hearing about it be inspired to adapt to life’s changes and to look at life’s challenges differently.
Bethany Hamilton actually wrote the forward of this book and shared Lauren’s definition of every day courage,
Even when life hits you hard, keep going.
I can only imagine how Bethany and Lauren must have felt as they went through the ordeals life threw at them with the propeller and shark attack. I am sure this is something they had to remind themselves over and over again.
Here are some of the notes I took from the book as I was reading it:
Christ as our strength and source of hope…
Bethany also shared how God mended and healed their hearts again and again. How often do we need him to do that for us?
The Physical Therapist story on page xii of Bethany’s intro…the Physical Therapist wanted Lauren to take 20 steps and Lauren took 30. Bethany said this encouraged and inspired her to take “10 extra steps”
80 people filled the waiting room once word got out that Lauren was in the hospital - they were all waiting for the word “stabilized” – I don’t even think I know 80 people who would do that for me or my family.
Isaiah 40:29-31 was shared within the book and I started reading it on a day that I was emotionally, mentally exhausted and it was an encouragement to me.
There were other things that stood out to me too, like the fact that Lauren’s parents got divorced but the end result was a blessing most divorcees do not get to experience.
The Scruggs’ family friend, Cindy, who told Lauren, ” God wants to use you mightily for his purposes, in ways you can’t yet imagine. But before he can do a work through you, he needs to do a work in you.” She seemed to speak life into Lauren. Negativity is a common trait in our society. I wonder what would happen if more of us chose to speak uplifting words instead of words that tear down – how different the world would be?
As you can see by the things I shared from the book, I gleaned a lot from it. I loved how the whole family’s story was interwoven and included. It really gave a clear picture of their family, where Lauren came from, where she was at, how she was before the accident and after. By allowing each family member to tell his or her version of the story gave a clearer picture of their life.
I give Still Lolo two thumbs up as a must-read book. Just beware to shed a few tears in the process.
Faith and Family Reviews received the following product in exchange for writing a review. While we consider it a privilege to receive products to review, our reviews are our honest opinion and thoughts of the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Still Lolo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Still Lolo

Date:December 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
anneneufeld
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A touching and inspiring story of a young woman’s journey from the door of death to the struggle to survive against all odds.
This story spoke to me in so many different ways. It told me that no matter how we look on the outside, scars, missing limbs, etc. that God loves us for what we are on the inside.
If we don’t think of what’s wrong on the outside, God can use us in mighty ways, way beyond we can ever imagine,
I sincerely hope that you decide to read Still Lolo, the story of Lauren Scruggs and her family’s journey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>