Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Follow Me Large Print: A Call to Die. A Call to Live.

Tyndale House Follow Me Large Print: A Call to Die. A Call to Live.

What did you leave behind when you chose to follow Christ? For some, the answers are obvious. If you struggled with habitual sins or addictions like alcoholism, drugs, pornography, violence, or promiscuity, the choice to follow Christ often marks a distinct ending of your old life and beginning of a new one. Or, perhaps you grew up in a culture unfriendly to Christianity, where your conversion would mean instant alienation from friends and family, maybe even a threat to your life. In these situations, the cost of following Christ seems clear.

But what if you didn't have a dramatic life-changing encounter with Christ? What if you've always grown up in the church and been immersed in Christian culture your whole life? What does it mean for you to count the cost and follow Him?

In Radical:Taking Back Your Faith from the American Dream, David Platt sought to expose the ideas in American Christianity that are antithetical to the gospel, to show what we must let go of in true discipleship. In Follow Me: A Call to Die. A Call to Live., Platt seeks to show whom we must take hold of. In order to live as authentic disciples, Platt believes we need an authentic encounter with the person of Jesus Christ, who He is, what that means, and to count the cost of truly following Him.

Look afresh at the invitation Jesus offers, and discover perhaps for the first time, the joy and purpose that comes from abandoning your life to His. Large Print Edition.
Average Customer Rating:
4.842 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 out of 19100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Follow Me Large Print: A Call to Die. A Call to Live.
Review 1 for Follow Me Large Print: A Call to Die. A Call to Live.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a call to discipleship

Date:July 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Leeann
Location:CdA, ID
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an encouraging book to read about the importance of discipleship in the Christian life. There are some questions at the end to think through about your own life and about following Christ. The book is well titled because it is all about following Jesus and not getting caught up in other christian things.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Follow Me Large Print: A Call to Die. A Call to Live.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A practical, thoughful challenge

Date:June 8, 2014
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book wasn't as moving as I expected it to be, but it still contains solid information that those who think they are Christians need to hear. Most Americans claim to know Christ, most Americans - in all likelihood - do not know him. Platt lays out how this is the case, and what we can do to fix it. At the end of the book he provides a nice set of questions to help you formulate your response to his book, including space to write down your thoughts, if you desire. A worthwhile read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Follow Me Large Print: A Call to Die. A Call to Live.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Challenging Book!

Date:September 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Frank
Location:McDonough, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Platt gives a whole new meaning to the casually used term, "Follow Me".
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Follow Me Large Print: A Call to Die. A Call to Live.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Live for God and not for man's acceptance!

Date:September 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
James
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With startling and vivid examples, firmly backed by footnoted Scripture, David Platt forces us to judge our faith and action with the words of the Father stated by the Son.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Follow Me Large Print: A Call to Die. A Call to Live.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2013
I think all Christians should read this book. What could be more important than a discussion about whether or not you are truly saved?! Platt challenges readers to follow Christ with total abandon and die to self. This book will certainly make you think, but don't let it stop at "thinking." Take action steps to live your faith out day-to-day.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Follow Me Large Print: A Call to Die. A Call to Live.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Radical call to follow Christ by making disciples

Date:August 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
luvs to cook
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
According to David Platt many people will assume they are Christians because they "made a decision to ask Jesus into their heart" when in fact they aren't actively making disciples of other people and thus they are not truly Christians. All of Jesus' disciples (except Judas) as well as Paul, Silas, Luke and Timothy showed their faith by sharing the gospel with others and most were martyred. Today we are encouraged to "pray the sinner's prayer" or raise our hand to indicate our acceptance of Jesus and assurance of salvation based on Christ's work. But if we indeed do receive the Spirit of Christ in us, we will obey his command to share His love with others. We will be hungry for the word in Scriptures and want to share what we're discovering with others wherever we are. Although it is true works won't save us, there is a possibility if we aren't actively living for Christ, we may not be His. The Bible doesn't teach us to build big churches, but to go into the world to share our love for Christ with others. We should all be active workers, not just delegating the work of God to a few missionaries. We should gather together to share the good news of Christ, and perhaps by doing so the divorce rate among Christians would drastically fall from being even with that of non Christians. Our buildings, programs, staff, and activities wouldn't be necessary if we were all active followers of Christ, sharing our lives with others wherever we find them and encouraging those who commit their lives to Christ to share in the marketplace what they've learned about Jesus. This is not an easy book to read, but it is a thought provoking one that may cause you to do a one sixty and start talking to strangers and acquaintances about the way Christ is making changes in you.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Follow Me Large Print: A Call to Die. A Call to Live.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good Read!

Date:August 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
hannah97
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Follow Me by David Platt was a good book about following Jesus that I would recommend to my friends. I enjoyed it and the message in it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Follow Me Large Print: A Call to Die. A Call to Live.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Follow Me: Portrait of Real Christianity

Date:August 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Follow Me by David Platt is a book that encourages Christians to live for Christ by following Him not only in word, but also deed and thought. The author stresses the seriousness of sin and the deep need for forgiveness for our sins that can only be found in Jesus. Mr. Platt teaches that saying a prayer, doing good works, and following a bunch of rules is not really what Christianity is about. Real Christianity is following Jesus with our entire beings and encompasses all of us. Real Christianity is being changed from the inside with a New Spirit: God’s Spirit. Real Christianity is being obedient to God and interacting towards Him as His Children, whom He dearly loves. Real Christianity is doing God’s will no matter what His will is or where He will send us. Real Christianity is doing all these things not to earn salvation, but because we want to because of how much we love Jesus and how much we want others to be changed by Him too. What I really liked about this book is that the author teaches in a way that is easy to understand in a practical manner with many examples of Christians who follow Jesus. I also liked the last few chapters, in the book, that had questions for each lesson taught answering what, where, how, when, and why. I found these to be helpful because they are practical and something which I can do where I live. I also found the study guide in the very back of the book to be useful because it makes it easier to use this book as a Bible study in a group setting. Of all the books I have read this summer so far, I found this one to be one of the most thought-provoking and I know this is one that I will not likely forget anytime soon.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Follow Me Large Print: A Call to Die. A Call to Live.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Call to Follow Not an Easy Cross to Bear

Date:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
DiscipleMom Laura
Location:TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
David Platt's book "Follow Me" literally follows on the heels of his book "Radical," once again challenging the very core of what many Jesus followers believe.
Platt argues that salvation isn't merely "professing Jesus as personal Lord and Savior," but instead, is a personal relationship that evidences itself in obedience to God's Word. Following Jesus, is a call to die to self, to let Christ live through you, Platt says.
In this scripturally based book (just take a peek at the footnotes if you don't believe me), Platt purports that it's God's will for every disciple to make disciples. He challenges every disciple to be a disciplemaker, and he encourages readers to ask hard questions of themselves.
This it not a book to read quickly in one sitting. I guess you can, but then you'll be missing the point. "Follow Me" is a book to spend time with, to chew on, to pray over. It's a challenging read, as many books are. But the best part is when Platt asks you to do something with what you've learned. He asks you to write and then live out a personal disciplemaking plan. Because after all, what good is knowledge if you don't put it into action?
Followers of Jesus don't make disciples by learning more and more, but by doing something about what they've learned -- by passing it on -- by discipling another. That's what I like about this book. You're challenged to do apply biblical principles of disicplemaking.
It makes me wonder. What would truly happen if each follower of Jesus discipled one person each year? What kind of multiplication would we see?
Two things to note: There's a "Follow Me" simulcast scheduled for August 14 that you might enjoy after reading this book. You may want to check out www.multiplymovement.com to find out more about disciplemaking.
* Note: I received a copy of this book from the publisher for this review. However, the opinions expressed in the review are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Follow Me Large Print: A Call to Die. A Call to Live.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book EXCEEDED all my expectations!

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chelsea
Age:Under 18
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! This book was soooo challenging! Don't read it unless you're ready to have your life turned upside down (in the most wonderful way)! Buy this book. Seriously. You won't be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Follow Me Large Print: A Call to Die. A Call to Live.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
puffy
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is blowing me away. David Platt has a unique way of looking at things and helping me to see God in a new way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Follow Me Large Print: A Call to Die. A Call to Live.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:April 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sharpie
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful book. It challenges your ideas, your Christianity. It pushes the boundaries of how we live and how we believe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Follow Me Large Print: A Call to Die. A Call to Live.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What it means to follow Jesus

Date:April 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
David Gough
Location:Alexandria, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This third of David Platt's books continues the theme began in "Radical" of what it means to truly be a disciple of the Lord Jesus Christ. Though a bit more lengthy than his earlier books, it is written to be read quickly but digested slowly. Platt writes as he speaks, plainly and compellingly. He is clear from the beginning that "following Jesus" means much more than just "making a decision" or "saying the sinner's prayer." It involves an investment of one's entire being and all of one's resources. He challenges the reader to consider whether or not they are really disciples of Christ if they are not actively making disciples of others. That is our purpose! His charge flies in the face of "contemporary Christianity," which is characterized by a "spectator mentality" of comfort and ease. Platt urges readers to break that mold and to become active in fulfilling the great purpose to which God has called His people, making disciples of all the people groups on the planet. He offers suggestions for getting started near the end of the book. The personal (and at times humorous) stories he shares of his own family help to flesh out the practical nature of his premise. Platt is "radical" in his thinking and vision-casting, but only to those who are unaware of or choose to ignore the biblical call. The Great Commission was not just for the first-century church. It is for all followers of Christ today. "Follow Me" is intended to encourage those who are genuinely following their Lord, as well as to prod those who are not. Get this book. Read it carefully, and share it with others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Follow Me Large Print: A Call to Die. A Call to Live.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Woody
Location:LaFayette, Al
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Challenging read. David Platt always gets to the core of issues that wake up the sleeping heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Follow Me Large Print: A Call to Die. A Call to Live.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:March 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Thatsmrb2u
Location:North Chili, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great book, an easy read, a wake up call to all! David Platt shines a light on what it really means to follow Christ, I would definitely recommend reading it!
As Christians we are called to go into the world and make disciples of men, but most are lucky if they are even being a good example living as a Christian.
We must use every moment of our lives and every opportunity that we have to be that light, share our story, share our love, and present the Gospel to others! Simple as that! You were called for a reason, now lets change the world!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Follow Me Large Print: A Call to Die. A Call to Live.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

In response to Scott Snyder's review

Date:March 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trey
Location:Greenville, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the first reviews below is by Scott Snyder, in which he states that after reading the book, he felt Platt almost laid a guilt trip on those who were not quitting their job and leaving for overseas missions (his review is positive, however).
This area is actually addressed in the book, in which Platt clearly states that overseas missions may not be the calling for every single member of the body of Christ. In fact, Snyder's own argument is found in the book so I'm not sure how he missed it. Platt discusses the importance of focusing on the Great Commission at home as well, since local areas are contained inside "all nations". Platt argues, at length, for the importance of supporting overseas missions; not everyone may go to another country, but it must be a major focus that we support.
'Follow Me' is a fantastic read and is a great reminder of the undeserved call that we have received from our Lord. The calling of Christ, to take part in His joy and will is something we should cherish and not take lightly. The question is not merely "Are you going overseas?" but "Are you focused on making disciples"? The first question has no major implications regarding our sincerity in faith; the answer to the second question will reveal much about our faith. If we are truly followers of Christ, and His will and commandment is to make disciples, then clearly this focus will be evident in our hearts and lives.
Highly recommended book for new believers. Long-time followers of Christ will cherish this poignant reminder of the mission of God and the call to take part in said mission.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Follow Me Large Print: A Call to Die. A Call to Live.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book hard core truth

Date:March 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Toeknee
Location:El Dorado, Arkansas
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is amazing so jam packed with truth that has long gone without talking about. It challenges reader to follow Christ in a real way not just walk an isle or check a box or repeat a prayer. The Gospel bids us come and die not chase the American dream. This book is a great read David is real and straight fwd but loving and humorous in is style. He poses questions and then backs up everything with scripture. Pick this book up you won't be disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Follow Me Large Print: A Call to Die. A Call to Live.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I find this book very encouraging.

Date:March 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy Williams
Location:Hood River, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not finished with this book yet but it has met my expectation so far & is challenging me to commit myself more fully to sharing God's Word & making disciples.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Follow Me Large Print: A Call to Die. A Call to Live.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book - however...

Date:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Scott Snyder
Location:Va
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book on carrying the message. This is the third book of David Platt's I have read. He certainly stresses the importance of taking the gospel to other nations. The great comission is still just as much a command for us as it was for the early disciples. However this book leaves you with the impression that if you don't quit your job and move overseas or relocate into an inner city environment that you are a poor example of a Christian. I would point out the following:
In the book of Acts Christianity first began spreading with the persecution following Stephen's death ACTS 8:1-2. The apostles however remained in Jerusalem. Paul then has his conversion and later begins his missionary journeys establishing churches through out the eastern Mediterranian.
While a number of converts to Christianity in the early history of the church left on missionary journeys a larger number remained in the cities they were converted in. Otherwise there would have been no local churches and no places for Paul to have sent the letters he wrote to. I think we can assume that not all of David Platt's congregation quit their jobs and moved to other countries otherwise he would not be pastoring a church in Birmingham.
I don't think the problem with Christianity in America is that we aren't sending enough missionairies overseas or to the inner city although those are both worthwhile missions that some people are called to. I suspect more of us though are called to service in our local church in some capacity. I think the question is what are we doing where God has put us to advance the kingdom of God. Are we living in a way that shows people what the gospel looks like?
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.