Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Calvary Press Disciple Like Jesus for Parents: Following Jesus' Method and Enjoying the Blessings of Children

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Calvary Press Disciple Like Jesus for Parents: Following Jesus' Method and Enjoying the Blessings of Children

Disciple Like Jesus for Parents is for Christian parents who desire to disciple their children as Jesus discipled his disciples. In most of today's Christian homes children are being discipled in the ways of the world with a few church activities thrown in along the way. The result is a wave of kids leaving the church and God during their college years. This book offers an alternative way of parenting that concentrates on relationships with God and man. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 21100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Disciple Like Jesus for Parents: Following Jesus' Method and Enjoying the Blessings of Children
Review 1 for Disciple Like Jesus for Parents: Following Jesus' Method and Enjoying the Blessings of Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent. Biblically sound and a very easy read.

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Elisa
Location:Carmi, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was amazing. I am recommending it to all Christian parents that I know. I have been blessed, convicted and challenged.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Disciple Like Jesus for Parents: Following Jesus' Method and Enjoying the Blessings of Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a Blessing!

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Doug Greathouse
Location:South Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently got married and am now a proud step parent I have found this book to be a great resource. It does a great job of pointing to biblical principals as to how to raise children. It really opened my eyes to all the influences that are in this world that can derail our children from their walk with God. It provides great points on ways to love, protect, and build strong relationships with your children. Two Thumbs Up for Paul Dean and Alan Melton. Thank you so much for writing this book. I hope it will bless many more families as it certainly has blessed mine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Disciple Like Jesus for Parents: Following Jesus' Method and Enjoying the Blessings of Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

How to teach and train your children like Jesus

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marisa
Location:Germany
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Disciple Like Jesus for Parents by Alan Melton and Paul Dean, is a fantastic book. If you are a Christian and want to raise your children to love the Lord, this book has some wonderful advice to help you disciple (teach and train) your children like Jesus. I recommend it to all Christian parents.
As a relatively new mom, I learned so much from this book. The advice comes from the Bible and scripture is quoted throughout the book. The authors point to how Jesus taught his disciples and give you a biblical blueprint to follow in raising your children.
I learned practical ways to apply the advice, such as how important it is that I'm with my children more than I am away from them. Jesus was always with his disciples. Mark 3:14 (NIV): He appointed twelve that they might be with him and that he might send them out to preach. Jesus did not send his disciples away to the temples, for example, to train them. He taught them, Jesus was with them, and they learned from him. Once they were ready, he sent them out on their own. God gave children parents to love them and teach them. We are to build a community with our children and this book gives lots of examples on how to do that.
If you are serious about your faith and want to pass along your love for the Lord onto to your children, read this book. It will probably encourage you in your own walk of faith as well.
http://musingsbymarisa.blogspot.com/2011/07/disciple-like-jesus-for-parents.html
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Disciple Like Jesus for Parents: Following Jesus' Method and Enjoying the Blessings of Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very well and thoroughly laid out for easy reading

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Daniel Mac
Location:Duluth, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this book to all parents who are searching for a resource to disciple their children at home.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Disciple Like Jesus for Parents: Following Jesus' Method and Enjoying the Blessings of Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome, Spirit led, Gospel Centered bood.

Date:October 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nelson
Location:Maryville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over the past 4-5 months, the Disciple Like Jesus for Parent's book has taken off at our church. 3 different groups of parents have been mentored, with some amazing testimonies. It continues to lead parents to make true disciples for Christ, just as it has done in my own life as a parent. It should be a must for discipleship of parents of children and youth for any church program!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Disciple Like Jesus for Parents: Following Jesus' Method and Enjoying the Blessings of Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Guidance for Parents

Date:October 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
VictorLee
Location:Wears Valley, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A majority of parents among the past few generations of church-goers have unwisely handed off the spiritual training of their children to youth ministries. While youth ministries have value, parents are responsible for training their children to walk with Christ. 'Disciple Like Jesus for Parents' is a straight-forward, encouraging and equipping tool to help parents do what God has called them to do. If taken seriously, the book with help this generation better equip their children.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Disciple Like Jesus for Parents: Following Jesus' Method and Enjoying the Blessings of Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Biblically Sound and Practical Book for Parents

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dr Keith Sherlin
Location:SC
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Disciple Like Jesus is a must read for parents who by providence find a desire in their hearts to return to solid methods in training their children as the Lord would so desire. The book is full of not just good theological meat but it goes much further and applies that meat in real day-to-day practical avenues that any parent can immediately begin to put into practice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Disciple Like Jesus for Parents: Following Jesus' Method and Enjoying the Blessings of Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A valuable resource for Christian parents.

Date:October 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor
Location:Spartanburg, SC
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alan Melton and Paul Dean hit the nail on the head. Discipleship for Christians should be a priority in the home. They pull no punches in sizing up the battle parents and children face today. "Disciple Like Jesus for Parents" is filled with scripture, insights, and "how to" instructions. It is eye opening and realistic for the Christian parent who wants to raise their children to follow Jesus Christ. I recommend this book to all parents.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Disciple Like Jesus for Parents: Following Jesus' Method and Enjoying the Blessings of Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read For Every Parent

Date:September 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor Daniel
Location:Chesnee, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Disciple Like Jesus For Parents is a must read for every parent who desires to raise their children to follow Christ. This book is so powerful and practical, I ordered copies for every family in our church.
Pastor Daniel
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Disciple Like Jesus for Parents: Following Jesus' Method and Enjoying the Blessings of Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Vital for Christian families

Date:September 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brian
Location:Greenville, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
"But the steadfast love of the LORD is from everlasting to everlasting on those who fear him, and his righteousness to children's children, to those who keep his covenant and remember to do his commandments."
(Psalm 103:17-18 ESV)
If we would be disciples of Jesus and disciple our own children, then we cannot approach our faith as a supplement or add-on to our lives. Our faith is our lives. We live by faith. It is vital for our children to see that faith lived out before them. One of the single greatest factors in children leaving the church has been not seeing faith lived out in different age groups. We have children in age bracket Sunday School, then youth group, then college class, then singles class, and they leave the church because they never were in the church. Our children need to see not only our faith, but the faith of their grandparents, the faith of older saints in the church, and younger saints in the church. They need to be exposed to faithful believers of all ages. And it is our responsibility to direct that exposure. This is an excellent book (and ministry) for helping you practically find ways to disciple your children in the same way the Jesus led his own disciples.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Disciple Like Jesus for Parents: Following Jesus' Method and Enjoying the Blessings of Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read for Parents, Grandparents & Pastors

Date:September 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
JMP3RD
Location:North FL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Why is this book a must read for all Parents, Grandparents, Pastors & their staff? Practical. Relevant. Insightful. Biblical. These are some of the descriptions that apply to this book. Disciple Like Jesus by Alan Melton is not another parenting book based on theory. It was born out of Alan's own experiences within his family. He wrote the book after discovering the Biblical principles; finding the best ways to apply them in his own life and family, and then experiencing the blessings of obeying God's Word! You can learn from this book if you read it with an open mind and heart and apply the principles found therein to your own life and family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Disciple Like Jesus for Parents: Following Jesus' Method and Enjoying the Blessings of Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent discipleship primer for parents

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Matt C
Location:Greenville, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Disciple like Jesus for Parents is an excellent tool for parents, new and old. This book covers the basics of Jesus' discipleship methods with insightful thoughts as to how this can apply to parents as they seek to establish a discipleship environment in their home and with their children.
I have been privileged to have Alan Melton, one of the authors, as a personal friend and mentor. I know many times when I read a book I wonder if the author lives up to the ideas he or she espouses. I can heartily say "Yes, Alan does!". Alan is a humble man with a heart for God, families, and making disciples of all nations. I have seen him navigate parenthood personally, listened to him as God was burdening his heart to help parents learn to disciple their own, and watched as he faithfully went about writing and teaching the basic biblical concepts that Jesus clearly used in the gospels.
I HIGHLY recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Disciple Like Jesus for Parents: Following Jesus' Method and Enjoying the Blessings of Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I implore parents, please Disciple Like Jesus!

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
RaisingGodlyChildrenOrg
Location:Greenfield, IN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reading the book, Disciple Like Jesus, is equivalent to drinking cold fresh water in a dry and thirsty land. The authors (Alan Melton and Paul Dean) unapologetically declare the truth when it comes to the crisis the American church is facing: a reality which isn’t being preached in the majority of pulpits nationwide. The numbers are alarming: two million “Christian” youth are being lost to the world in the American church every year.
According to Disciple Like Jesus, around 90% of youth leave the faith after college with the vast majority never returning. The effects of this are being clearly documented among various denominations, along with famed Christian pollster George Barna, who recently declared, “young adults rarely possess a biblical worldview. The current study found that less than one-half of one percent of adults in the Mosaic generation – i.e., those aged 18 to 23 – have a biblical worldview.” (www.barna.org, March 6, 2009). One-half of one percent means only 1 in 200 Mosaic generation youth actually have a biblical worldview, absolutely stunning.
Disciple Like Jesus is the manuel needed to help parents combat this disturbing trend. Disciple Like Jesus foundation is the all sufficient, powerful, life changing Word of God. The book is completely rooted in scriptural truth and discipleship methodology. The authors use Christ’s model of personal evangelism and discipleship amongst the peoples and His disciples and convey that model to parent-child discipleship process. What greater teacher can one have in training up their children than Christ Himself?
All sixteen chapters are filled with rich examples from scripture and practical commentary on how to disciple our children the same way Christ discipled His. I appreciated the authors’ bluntness and real world examples of parents who’ve neglected their duties and the tragic results that have been seen. This book is not water-downed. The authors make it very clear that parents need to step up to the plate and take ownership of their children’s spirituality. I appreciate and respect Disciple Like Jesus for that focus. This book may offend some, but it will change the lives of those who heed it’s Godly principles.
In conclusion, Disciple Like Jesus is a book that should be studied and read by serious parents who humbly long to raise their children up “in the discipline and instruction of the Lord”. Not only do the authors present practical scriptural advice, but they also provide other rich resources to assist parents in raising Godly children throughout the book. What a blessing! I implore parents, please Disciple Like Jesus!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Disciple Like Jesus for Parents: Following Jesus' Method and Enjoying the Blessings of Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Disciple Like Jesus is a absolute read for parents

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Flattop
Location:Spartanburg SC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I have been in youth ministry for over 35 years working with children, students, and parents. We have read a large number of books on child rearing. Disciple Like Jesus has Biblical insights and Biblical Principles that will help parents not to make the mistakes that thousands of parents make in rearing children in this godless culture. Statistics show that 60 to 80% of students are leaving the church and I believe it starts in the home. God's Word exhorts the church leaders to equip the believers to do the work of the ministry. Our first ministry should be in the home and especially our children, and Disciple Life Jesus Like Jesus is a fantastic tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Disciple Like Jesus for Parents: Following Jesus' Method and Enjoying the Blessings of Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What every family needs....

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
anna
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were at a crossroads with our daughter when we got this book. Needless to say, it made all the difference in the world. Every parent should have this book and use it faithfully from day one. I strongly recommend it, and still refer to it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Disciple Like Jesus for Parents: Following Jesus' Method and Enjoying the Blessings of Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything I was looking for ....

Date:May 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
MammaMeshele
Location:Jackson, MS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only a few pages left in your book ... I've enjoyed it immensely. So much of it has been confirmation that I'm on the right track (and not crazy like the world would have me believe) but there's also been plenty of some illumination where I need to do *much* better. Many of our daily routines are changing now and there's a much more concentrated and deliberate effort made at teaching, instructing and discipling. I know I've known these things needed to be done in the back of my mind but I've always felt so inadequate. Thanks for giving me the confidence I needed to realize I am the best possible choice of teacher for my children! (You would think 4 years of home schooling would've showed me that! lol ) God Bless you and your ministry!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Disciple Like Jesus for Parents: Following Jesus' Method and Enjoying the Blessings of Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recomend

Date:March 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
QueenofHarts
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Disciple Like Jesus opened my eyes to the real meaning behind "discipling". The book showed how Jesus discipled by leading, showing, and explaining. 80% of our children leave the church after they graduate. We send our kids out to be taught and forget that the real teaching and guiding should be done by us, the parents. We should disciple them exactly the way Jesus did. We have to open our eyes to our children and see what they are being taught and who is coming in contact with them. We shouldn't allow anything against our beliefs to influence them. They shouldn't go find their beliefs on their own. They should be taught the true Word of God and that is our responsibility.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Disciple Like Jesus for Parents: Following Jesus' Method and Enjoying the Blessings of Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unwrap blessings with this book!

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tiffany
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our family just got back from vacation and I finished Disciple Like Jesus! What a wonderful book, great talking points were had as a result. We had more time together than we have had in years... and what an incredible experience having a biblical overlay of Disciple Like Jesus during this journey. My prayer for our family and each family that reads this book is that there will be continued unwrapping of the blessings in each other provided by God in each moment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Disciple Like Jesus for Parents: Following Jesus' Method and Enjoying the Blessings of Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Biblical help to raise godly children!

Date:February 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
sukaryan
Location:SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has been a revelation for us in raising our children. Not having grown up in a Christian home, we had no idea about the right way to raise children to love the Lord. We needed real help! And we wanted to do our parenting in a Biblical way and to teach our children as much Biblical knowledge as we could. This book was full of great information and practical ways to impliment it. Instead of forcing them, we are leading them, just like our Good Shepherd!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Disciple Like Jesus for Parents: Following Jesus' Method and Enjoying the Blessings of Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Biblical Parenting Book in Years!

Date:November 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
mommyandrews1
Location:Denver, Colorado
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our world is rapidly changing, and our children are not facing the same battles of our youth. They are constantly battered with immorality, not only by unbelieving kids, but by kids who profess faith in Jesus Christ. It’s a daily challenge to raise godly kids in this ungodly world. After reading Disciple Like Jesus, not only was my life challenged, but God prompted our ladies’ small group to make drastic changes in our parenting methods. Our children are worth fighting for, and we’ve armed ourselves with God’s Word and with great insight from Disciple Like Jesus to help us win the battle! Thank you for stepping out of the pool of mediocrity in the parenting book genre. Your work has made an enormous difference in our family and in the lives of many other families in our church body.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>