Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Dream of Freedom, American Dreams Series #1

Tyndale House Dream of Freedom, American Dreams Series #1

Amidst a nation's turmoil, spirits are broken, families divided, and human beings are sold like cattle. A few will stand, some will fight, and one man will make a decision that may change America forever! From Africa to the turbulent antebellum South comes Phillips's sweeping saga of a people longing to be free. 350 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dream of Freedom, American Dreams Series #1
Review 1 for Dream of Freedom, American Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
peapod
Location:Oregon
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really enjoying this series and the good writting of Michael Phillips.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dream of Freedom, American Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful book

Date:October 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
shadow
Location:Penna
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Michael Phillips is without a doubt one of the best writers of all time. The problem is I'm not getting any sleep, want to keep reading at night. With 2 more books to read, will get nothing done for a long, long time.
His other series are just as wonderful, you cannot put them down once you start.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dream of Freedom, American Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
KayDee
Location:Evansburg, AB
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an incredible book about just before the Civil War.
I couldn't put it down!! It explains things in such detail and you learn so much, but it also has a good storyline to make you want to keep reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dream of Freedom, American Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2010
This is a really well researched book about America. I really enjoyed reading about the peoples attitudes at the time. I couldn't put the book down and am very keen to start the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dream of Freedom, American Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gayle Kindle
This series of books by Michael Phillips is awesome like his others I've read. I lack 30 pages finishing the 3rd one, I can't put them down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dream of Freedom, American Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2008
When I read the series Shenandoah Sisters and Carolina Cousins, I just knew I had to have this series of Books.It took a little bit reading the Prologue-From The Old Books, to remember who was who but once I got into the story,I could not put the book down. Michael Phillips has a way of bringing his books alive.And he has fast become one of my top Christian Fiction Writers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dream of Freedom, American Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Elvi Ketola
Books about the civil War period and slavery are very interesting to me and I did enjoy this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dream of Freedom, American Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lynn Clements
Michael Phillips remains my favorite contemporary Christian author. In this book I learned more of his heart towards slavery, and it challenged me to re-think about the spiritual side of the slavery issue and the conflicts of Christian slave-owners during the 19th century. The entire series is a must-read, especially to get closure!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dream of Freedom, American Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Rachel
Totally awesome reading. I absolutely love these books and want everyone to read them!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dream of Freedom, American Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2006
Customer Avatar
Judy
A great read... it makes history really interesting. The characters are inspiring and I can hardly wait to read the sequel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dream of Freedom, American Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2005
Customer Avatar
Janet
Wonderful historical fiction novel! I am an avid reader of the period before, during, and after the Civil War and this story helped me to imagine what the UDRR was like and how it worked. I can't wait for the sequel. Please hurry! Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dream of Freedom, American Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2005
Customer Avatar
Patricia
Great book, but a couple things not accurate. But very enjoyable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dream of Freedom, American Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2005
Customer Avatar
Pat
Great book! Only one small error I noted. The Boston Globe was not a newspaper in existence until 1878. Somebody goofed on his newspaper that was in existence at the time. Oops!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dream of Freedom, American Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2005
Customer Avatar
Chris Murphy
I very much enjoyed this book. I can't wait to read the rest of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.