Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House It Had to Be You, Christiansen Family Series #2

Tyndale House It Had to Be You, Christiansen Family Series #2

Eden Christiansen never imagined her role as her younger brother Owen's cheerleader would keep her on the sidelines of her own life. Sure, it feels good to be needed, but looking after the reckless NHL rookie leaves little time for Eden to focus on her own career. She dreamed of making a name for herself as a reporter, but is stuck writing obits-and starting to fear she doesn't have the chops to land a major story. If only someone would step up to mentor Owen . . . but she knows better than to expect help from team veteran and bad-boy enforcer Jace Jacobsen.
Average Customer Rating:
4.739 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 out of 2396%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for It Had to Be You, Christiansen Family Series #2
Review 1 for It Had to Be You, Christiansen Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So much for sleep...

Date:April 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are some things in life I don't recommend.
Starting a book at ten o'clock and then not being able to put it down... not one of my best ideas. And yet, I can't think of a better way to spend my night.
It all comes down to a battle between, "I really should get some sleep. I have a lot of stuff I need to do tomorrow" and "Oh my gosh this is amazing! There's no way I'll survive if I leave this till tomorrow!"
Every once in awhile we come across one of those books that does this to us, and for me, this was one of them. Now, maybe I was just desperate for a late night read. Maybe I was in the mood for a good romance. Maybe I just have a thing for good looking hockey players.... but whatever it was, Susan May Warren gave it to me. Her characters became my family and I loved how manly the hero was. I can't stand weak male protagonists. He was willing to go after the girl and he knew what he had to do to get her. I think men could learn a thing or two from Mr. Jace Jacobsen.
I would read this again and I highly recommend it to all lovers of Christian romance. It's a book I'd be proud to add to my collection. I look forward to reading more in this series.
P.S. And just a side note, as a Canadian girl, I really appreciate the hockey. I'm sick of reading about football players :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for It Had to Be You, Christiansen Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hockey and Learning About Each Other

Date:March 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susan May Warren in her new book “It Had To Be You” Book Two in the Christiansen Family series published by Tyndale House Publishers takes us into the life of Eden Christiansen.
From the back cover: Come home to the Christiansen’s, where faith and family meet real life.
Eden Christiansen never imagined her role as her younger brother Owen’s cheerleader would keep her on the sidelines of her own life. Sure, it feels good to be needed, but looking after the reckless NHL rookie leaves little time for Eden to focus on her own career. She dreamed of making a name for herself as a reporter, but is stuck writing obits—and starting to fear she doesn’t have the chops to land a major story. If only someone would step up to mentor Owen . . . but she knows better than to expect help from team veteran and bad-boy enforcer Jace Jacobsen.
Jace has built his career on the infamous reputation of his aggressive behavior—on and off the ice. Now at a crossroads about his future in hockey, that reputation has him trapped. And the guilt-trip he’s getting from Eden Christiansen isn’t making things any easier. But when Owen’s carelessness leads to a career-threatening injury and Eden stumbles upon a story that could be her big break, she and Jace are thrown together . . . and begin to wonder if they belong on the same team after all.
I am not a big fan of hockey. I hope I just didn’t offend the hockey enthusiasts out there it is just not a sport that I can get in to. Having said that Ms. Warren does make the sport interesting and she does it through her characters. Two of them, Jace and Owen, are hockey players and, of course, Eden has ties to both of them. It is fun watching these two learn the truth about each other as both of them came into the relationship with preconceived ideas. The Christiansen Family is not perfect but they are interesting. Ms. Warren does a superb job of making each character come alive so much that they seem as if they have been our friends all our lives. In addition Ms. Warren has provided a free novella entitled, “I Really Do Miss Your Smile”. It’s the story of how Ingrid and John met and eventually found a life together. What a powerful love story. ”It Had To Be You” is a wonderful, sweet story with power and depth that will keep you flipping pages. I recommend this book highly and look forward to a return to Deep Haven.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for It Had to Be You, Christiansen Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susan May Warren really nails the heart with love and grace when characters in the novel begin to understand how they are viewing themselves, and when what they do in their lives becomes the standard to which they measure their hopes, fears, triumphs or failures is the dawning of a new day. Jace is known as the NHL Blue Ox team’s bad boy. The more he fights instead of scoring, the happier the fans. Eden thought writing obits was a meaningless job when all she has ever wanted to be was an honest reporter.
In reality, our lives tend to mesh and we gather our identity through another person’s life or whomever we tend to idolize. The Christiansen family isn’t depicted as perfect Christians, but has its own problems, hopes, dreams, failures and triumphs. With each page, readers will be able to identify with various characters with different life situations. Sounds like reality does it not?
When parents watch their children become adults, they learn to let go and pray hard for their offspring to be the people God has called them to become. It is never easy for a parent to let go in the hope and knowledge that God their Father is right there with them. While I read, I learned it takes faith and grace to let go with one hand and hold onto the Father’s hand with both. One child in the novel needs a heart transplant; her father is a single parent, having lost his wife to the same heart condition years ago. As time passes without seeing any hope, the father on his knees hands over his daughter’s care and life into God’s hands because he realizes he cannot carry the burden alone any longer.
Susan May Warren draws the audience into the adventure of the Christiansen family and friends as they live very active lives in Minneapolis in a story that is written with a mother’s heart and life experience. Each page speaks about an individual’s choices in faith and how God can redeem what looks to be a life wasted. I appreciated the reality that is reflected in some parts of the story when a character hears words of wisdom with their ears, but God brings it to a rock solid truth in their heart. I cannot imagine the pressure that professional athletes are under to perform, meet certain criteria or even take on a persona that is not who they really are. In one scene, readers will read a tender moment where a hockey player is reading his Bible looking for answers, understanding and peace. Our times with God can sometimes be like this, during trials when we are on our knees handing a hard situation into God’s hands. For me, meeting with God in His Word is not a ritual to perform or something to mark off a “to do” list, it is a relationship. A relationship He initiated, keeps and grows for which I am immensely thankful for each new dawn. I have learned that I have a part in the relationship also by coming to Him just as I am. How about you?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for It Had to Be You, Christiansen Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It Had to Be You will touch your heart!

Date:March 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have positively fallen in love with the Christiansen Family series! It Had to Be You is a fabulous addition and I had a hard time putting it down once I started reading it! Susan May Warren did a wonderful job creating realistic characters that are flawed, yet likeable. And although I am not a hockey fan, I found this setting to be dangerous, and exciting at the same time.
Eden and Jace are like night and day, and seem like an unlikely match right from the start. One of the best things about this book (as well as the series, so far) is that the main characters must step back and take a good long look at themselves to learn who they really are. Eden Christiansen was very biased about Jace which was mostly based upon the media's persona of him, not who he was through Christ. I loved seeing him through her eyes, while also knowing his point of view, as well. Jace also has biased opinions about Eden, as well, mostly based on how she interacts with and protects her younger brother, Owen. I loved watching as Eden and Jace slowly discovered that their original opinions about each other were incorrect. As their relationship developed they had to weather many storms that threatened to end it before it began.
Jace, tagged as hockey's bad boy, is carrying a lot baggage from his past. Although he is a major hockey star, he sees himself as a failure and really would like to lose his bad boy image. Although I am not a sports fan, I appreciated that Susan explained the game of hockey so that people like me can understand what was going on out on the ice.
Eden's brother, Owen, has a lot of growing-up to do and is facing a lot of "hard-knocks" as he does. I am looking forward to see how Susan grows him up as the Christiansen Family series continues. I also enjoyed getting to know Sam and his daughter, Maddie. It Had to Be You is chock full of interesting characters whose stories beg to be told.
The book includes the prequel to this series titled I Really Do Miss Your Smile. It is John and Ingrid Christiansen's (parents of Derek, Eden, Grace, Owen, Amelia, and Casper Christiansen) story of how they met and made a life together. Even though it is only a novella, it is a powerful love story. I have enjoyed each book of this series so far, and I am really looking forward to the third book in the series, When I Fall in Love, which will center on Grace Christiansen.
**It Had to Be You by Susan May Warren was provided for me free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for It Had to Be You, Christiansen Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Book!

Date:March 23, 2014
Susan May Warren is one of my favorite authors, and I feel like every time I read one of her books, I declare it a favorite. It was no surprise that when I turned the last page of It Had To Be You I sighed and declared it a favorite. And seriously, it will probably make my list of favorites for 2014!
I really love reading family sagas that follow siblings, so I fell in love with the Christiansens and have been looking forward to more of their stories ever since. Eden's story is amazing. I felt like we got to know both Eden and Owen pretty well in this book—even if I didn't really like Owen for much of the book. I caught myself mentally screaming at Owen a few times and am interested to see how his story plays out in the rest of the series.
Eden, though, was a special character. I felt so sorry for her at times. Her family loves her and she serves them selflessly, but she can't see the good that she has to offer those around her. It was just so ... sad! As her friendship with Jace developed, I was so intrigued at how they both had these horrible assumptions about each other! Somehow, though, they kept trying to work through it all, and the sweetest friendship developed.
Two other stories were woven throughout as well, which made for a fuller, more complete story. Maddy was the cutest little girl, and her story really helped to show Jace's softer side. And the "John Doe" story worked to add a flair of mystery. I was quite surprised by how everything came together in the end.
The writing was flawless. The emotions were intense—for the characters and for me! And the romance was just beautiful. It Had To Be You was an amazing book, and I highly, highly recommend it! [5 stars]
I Really Do Miss Your Smile (Prequel Novella included in this book)
I read I Really Do Miss Your Smile—the prequel to the Christiansen Family series—last year and was pleasantly surprised that it is now included as a free novella at the end of It Had To Be You. I loved reading John and Ingrid's story and seeing how this whole family saga got started. While this is a short novella at only 65-ish pages, I still felt like it was a complete story. Don't miss out on this sweet story! [5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale through Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for It Had to Be You, Christiansen Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Susan May Warren at her best

Date:March 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owen Christiansen is playing his first season of pro hockey, and sister Eden is his self-appointed babysitter, there to drag him out of bars and make sure his clothes get washed. Never mind that her dedication to Owen means she is missing prized assignments at work, and possibly costing her the opportunity to get out of writing obituaries and into real reporting.
Jace Jacobsen is Owen’s team captain, a role that places him in the sights of Eden Christiansen far too often for his liking. And he’s got his own problems, like knee injuries and migraines that affect his playing, and might mean his contract isn’t renewed. And then there’s Megan, his best friend’s daughter, who is ill.
I thoroughly enjoyed It Had to be You. Jace was a wonderful hero, a bit like Mr Darcy in that he was rich and handsome, and Eden’s initial impressions of him turned out to be all wrong. With Eden, I liked the way she wasn’t impressed by Jace’s fame (but perhaps less impressed with the way she held Jace responsible for Owen’s mistakes). Overall, this was Eden’s story, as she was the one who had to learn to see herself as a person of value in her own right, not merely a shadow of her famous younger brother.
It Had to be You is the second book in Susan May Warren’s Christiansen family series, which is set in Deep Haven, the same location as the (surprise) Deep Haven series. The early Deep Haven books were light romances, while the later books focused more on restoring relationships. The Christiansen family series is following (another surprise) the Christiansen siblings. It Had to be You can easily be read as a standalone novel, as it’s not actually set in Deep Haven and has fewer overlapping characters than earlier novels. However, fans of the earlier novels will like this continuation.
One of the strengths of Susan May Warren’s writing has always been her ability to weave Christian themes and lessons into a story without it sounding like preaching, and It Had to be You is no exception. Recommended for all Deep Haven fans.
Thanks to Tyndale and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for It Had to Be You, Christiansen Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Date:March 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
The Happy Reader
Location:Columbia, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's no wonder Susan May Warren is a bestselling and award winning author. This is a fabulous look at a very complex cast of characters. There's more to each than meets the eye.
I laughed, I cried, I cried some more, and I cheered for the characters. The only one I didn't really care for was Eden's brother Owen - but that was a necessary evil. My short review? Highly, highly recommend. Read on for my long review.
Eden Christiansen thinks the purpose of her life is to be the cheerleader for everyone else. She has a mediocre job in the obits department, a slew of siblings who each has their own awesome talent, and a superstar hockey brother she feels she has to serve and protect at all costs. Even if it's to her own detriment. Always comparing herself to their accomplishments, she feels that somehow, no matter how hard she tries, she'll never be as good as them. Yet she wants to do something spectacular - she just doesn't see it happening in the obituary department.
Jace Jacobsen has his own demons to destroy. He, a hockey superstar, has a less than desirable name and past. He knows better than anyone his own faults - and wishes he could change things.
As the story unfolds, both main characters see the other for what they are - hurting people who need someone to care for them. To see that they're worth something. To look past the exterior and see the potential.
Supported by a stellar cast of characters, this isn't just a story about how two people meet and how they learn to like each other. This is a story about heart conditions, desperation, despair, losing everything important, new beginnings, old hurts, and finally, forgiveness. Love. Mending. Growing.
Each person has their own story, and no one lives to themselves. I loved the main plot, the secondary plot, and the emerging plot that I'm pretty sure is going to be the focus of another Christiansen family book. And I can't wait to read it.
*My thanks to the publisher and author for providing me a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinions. I was not required they be positive.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for It Had to Be You, Christiansen Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a wonderful story!

Date:March 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
OH MY!! Love, love, loved this book. I missed out on book one in this series, but I will be trying to find it soon!! This book had me crying nearly in the first chapter. Eden was so nice, and her family often seemed oblivious of the fact that they were using her, and not taking notice of her talents. I wanted to smack her brother Owen. Several times. This was a great story, and I am daring to say this. It is my favorite SMW book to date. Great book, great characters. Loved the prequel included in the back also. 5 stars No question!!
This book was provided for review purposes only no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for It Had to Be You, Christiansen Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susan May Warren is one of my go-to romance authors. Her books are fun and have a spiritual depth I enjoy. It had to be You was no exception. In this book the heroine has forgotten how to live her own life; instead, she is wrapped up in her brother's life as a NHL hockey player. She has dreams, but she's forgotten how to pursue them in the light of keeping him out of trouble. And she blames the team captain for the messes her brother gets into. The only problem is he's living a life that isn't what he wants either. He doesn't like who he's become and doesn't know how to break out of the image that's been foisted on him. The book is the exploration of the reluctance we sometimes have to shed the roles we either create or accept in our lives, no matter how poorly they fit. And those roles can prevent us from becoming the people we want and hope to be. These were characters I longed to return to and I hated to see the story end. A double thumbs up for readers who love romance with a strong spiritual thread.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for It Had to Be You, Christiansen Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Letting Go

Date:March 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! I loved my return visit with this great family. There is even a novella at the end ...a bonus...how the family began.
This is Eden and Owen's story. Knowing what it is like to come from a large family and being one of the older siblings. We do the mothering thing. This is Eden, she has taken over the care of her hockey star brother. Yes, she was the one who took him to his meets and training as a youngster, and wiped his tears, and hurts.
They are both adults now, and Eden still wants to mother, guess that is a hard roll to release, even though, in fact, Owen does have parents. Do we need to pick up and protect our siblings for the rest of their lives, or let them make their own mistakes?
We also meet a fan hero, superstar, and Hockey player, Jace Jacobsen. He is nearing retirement, and dealing with some medical issues. He is also haunted by his own demons.
Ms Warren, places you right on the ice, in the living room. You are going to feel like you are a participant! Talk about feeling the cold emanating from the ice! You also feel the pain of parents loving and wanting the best for their children. How can you let go? We find some amazing answers.
Looking at the book and seeing how big it is can be intimating, but in reality, it was a very quick, page turning read. You will not want to miss this one!
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for It Had to Be You, Christiansen Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Loved This Book!

Date:March 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am absolutely loving this series about the Christiansen family! It Had to Be You is a wonderful addition and I just could not put this book down once I started reading it! The author did such a great job creating characters that are flawed, yet likeable. And the setting she chose, the hockey world, is exciting and dangerous at the same time.
Eden and Jace don’t seem to be a match at first. One of the great things about this book is that the main characters must learn to look deep inside themselves and others to discern who they are. Eden has some very strong opinions about Jace that are based partly on media hype and partly on the man he used to be before finding Christ. I loved seeing him through her eyes, while also knowing where he was coming from. And Jace has some opinions about his team member’s older sister, as well. I enjoyed watching Eden and Jace discover that their assumptions about the other were not accurate. Seeing their relationship develop and weather some rocky storms was just so captivating.
Jace has a lot of baggage that he is continually trying to work through. Even though he is a major hockey star, he feels that he has failed in many ways and is really not happy with his “bad boy” image. I loved the look into the hockey world and even though I haven’t ever been a follower of hockey, I was totally wrapped up in this book! The author did a great job explaining the world of hockey and making it exciting for the reader.
Owen, Eden’s brother, has a lot to deal with in this book. His story that is evolving as he tries to find his way will surely be a moving one to read about in a future book. I also loved reading about Sam and his little girl, Maddie. There is just so much to this story and it is all fantastic.
Included at the end of the book is the free novella titled I Really Do Miss Your Smile. It is the story of the patriarchs of the Christiansen family. It’s the story of how Ingrid and John met and eventually found a life together. And even though it is only a novella, it is packed with a powerful love story. I have loved each book of this series so far, and I am really looking forward to the next one.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers through Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for It Had to Be You, Christiansen Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great romance and hockey too

Date:March 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is another great novel centering on the Christiansen family. (The first one is Take a Chance on Me.) This one centers on Eden, the encourager of the family. She's in Minneapolis, cheering on her little brother, Owen, a rookie in the NHL. She loves to be needed but it leaves little time for her own career. She wants to be a star reporter but is sitting at the obituary desk.
Eden wishes the team captain, Jace, would mentor Owen. But Jace is known for his “bad boy” behavior, aggressive on and off the ice. When Eden has to rescue Owen from a fight, she gives Jace a piece of her mind. The situation only gets worse when reckless Owen gets himself in a situation that may end his career. With Owen in the hospital, Eden stumbles upon an individual that may just be the one good story she is looking for – the one that will make her career.
This is another great romance from Warren. Jace and Eden have a love hate relationship. He is attracted to her but he doesn't quite trust her, knowing that she is a reporter. And Eden is attracted to him but knows that she is not the kind of successful woman he wants. The two have an antagonistic relationship with fleeting windows of trust.
There are many interesting themes in this novel. The ego building role of sports in a man's life is one. Another is about being on the sidelines, cheering on someone else while never having that full life God promises. There is also the theme of sacrifice as Jace's friend is willing to give up everything to provide a heart transplant for his daughter.
Be sure to have your tissues handy when you get near the end of the book.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book through the Litfuse Publicity Group for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for It Had to Be You, Christiansen Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love This Family!

Date:February 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
CharityUAusten
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This right here, folks – this is a good book. I think I have become quite attached to the Christiansen family. You get to know them very well in these first two books in the series. They are delightful, realistic, easy to identify with, and very lovable. I’m so excited for Owen’s story someday! Something tells me it’s going to be interesting. But I really loved getting to know Eden and Jace so well in this book. They are an adorable couple with a strong foundation. The story felt very realistic (I’ve already mentioned that the family is!) and was easy to get into and read quickly. Another highlight in this book was the novella at the end, titled I Really Do Miss Your Smile, and covering pages 395-462. It’s the story of the parents in the family, and is a most delightful read that I greatly enjoyed. All in all, I recommend this series and can’t wait for more!
**I reviewed this book for Tyndale House Publishers as part of the blog tour. I wasn’t compensated in any other way or required to post positively. All opinions are my own.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for It Had to Be You, Christiansen Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Another sweet, endearing story from Warren!
In this Christansen family novel, we watch Eden grow and figure out where God wants her to be. I really liked the little bit of Eden we saw in Take a Chance on Me, and I was so excited to read her story. I don't know what I expected, but I wasn't let down in the least. I can't say it quite topped Darek and Ivy's and Jensen and Claire's story though.
Eden is a cheerleader. Not literally, of course. She's the mother hen who doesn't want to see her chick, or her little brother, fail or get hurt. I admired this aspect of her character. It's a big sister trait, I think. But just like any older sibling, they all must learn to let their little sibling stand on their own two feet. It is no easy lesson.
At first I really disliked Jace, but then he grew on me, and it was too hard not to like him. Except when he had a momentary lapse of judgement and I wanted to slap him... Ahem. Anyway, I loved watching him come into his own, watching him mature. All main characters grow in a book whether or not it is obvious. In the same way, I feel like Jace was a classic case of someone misunderstood, thanks to the media. To me, it's simply the truth that you can't judge someone by their cover.
All in all, I totally enjoyed reading about Eden and Jace. I can't wait to see which Christansen is up next! I recommend this book to fans new and old of Warren's work ages sixteen and up. This book is geared more for women than teenage girls so keep that in mind. :-)
I received this book from Tyndale in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for It Had to Be You, Christiansen Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wman4JC
Location:miami, fl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You don’t have to be a hockey fan or a fan of winter to enjoy this book, but both of these topics play a big part. I didn’t connect with it until about 100 pages into the book, but I did enjoy reading what happened with Eden and Jace. It was a pleasure to see them discover their worth/identities in Christ.
Eden has taken it upon herself to be there for her kid brother, Owen, but she doesn’t realize how it has taken over her life being on the sidelines for him. Also, he totally takes her for granted and believes he has the right to do as he pleases. It seems he has developed an invincible hockey ego and doesn’t realize how it affects his team or his family. Eden will discover that she has to find her own way.
Jace has developed quite the infamous reputation over the years as the professional player he is, but he forgot what it feels like to play just for the enjoyment of the sport. Now he’s trying to play with the same edge he always had without getting into fights on the rink because one more concussion could kill him. With his contract expiring, Jace is trying to figure out his next move because hockey is all he knows. Meanwhile, Jace’s best friend, Sam, is struggling to pay his bills while taking care of his sick 9 year old daughter, Maddy. *it was difficult watching this beautiful child suffer*
I cringed when Owen got hurt and over the politics of hockey, the players making the sport look good and keeping the fans happy. I learned a lot from this aspect of the story and was more eager to see Jace see himself as God sees him, not trying to constantly prove himself on the ice. I was amazed by how cruel and arrogant Owen was in the story. However, he’s just a confused kid who doesn’t want to let go of hockey. When an athlete spends their life dedicated to one sport, it’s easy to see how it becomes their entire identity if though they have a tremendous family backing them up.
I got a kick out when Jace wants to do something nice for Eden and asks her siblings for advice. NONE of them knew her well enough to be helpful so Jace kind of has to go it alone. It’s a disaster, but it was still priceless.
I loved that Eden is a writer in the book. She loves her family so much, but she really doesn’t feel part of them in so many scenes. I admired her dedication to Owen and that she always does the right thing. John Doe was also a very intriguing part of the story and I enjoyed watching that develop. Eden and Jace’s romance was slow and sweet, they were both frustrating and amusing to read about. I cried a lot at the end as everything concluded….even though I didn’t connect with the story right away, I enjoyed it overall and the ending wasn’t anything I expected. This book includes a note from the author (if you’re into behind the scenes bits like me then you’ll like that), discussion questions, and I Really Miss Your Smile novella. Please also see Susan May Warren’s website and her Scribbles blog where she gives more information about this story and its wonderful characters.
I want to thank Tyndale for the review copy provided. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for It Had to Be You, Christiansen Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Meet Eden of the Christiansen Family

Date:February 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My favorite kind of book series is the kind that tells the stories of family members one after another until all the siblings are happily married off. Susan May Warren’s Christiansen Family series is one of these and Tyndale House has just released the second book which includes a bonus novella about the Christiansen family kids’ parents.
In this second book, "It Had to be You," readers get a closer look at Eden Christiansen who is living on her own in Chicago, writing newspapers obits while striving toward her goal of becoming a “real” reporter. She’s also watching out for her younger brother Owen, who has just landed a contract with a professional hockey team. Eden considers herself his guardian and is frustrated by his developing rebellious ways. How dare a little brother rebel against his big sister?
Eden’s attempts to wrangle Owen put her in contact with his team captain, hockey superstar Jace Jacobsen, much too often for her own comfort until the two of them bump into one another and a John Doe coma patient in the hospital. The encounter gives Eden and Jace a mystery they both feel compelled to solve.
I loved reading this book. Susan has a gift for writing brilliant and surprising mentors into her stories. I learn from the mentors right along with Susan’s characters. The messages in this story were especially inspirational to me.
I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I recommend the book to you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for It Had to Be You, Christiansen Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It Had to Be You

Date:February 8, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It Had to Be You by Susan May Warren is the second novel in the Christiansen Family Series.
It is interesting to be introduced to Eden Christiansen’s world. While Eden is working at a newspaper in Minneapolis, trying to find where her place is in this world; she is also working hard to keep her younger brother, Owen, out of trouble as he is starting his career in the NHL!
During Eden’s attempt to keep the limelight from going to Owen’s head, she meets Jace Jacobsen, the team enforcer. Jace seems like the perfect person to help her keep Owen in line. Before Eden realizes what is happening, Jace seems to be become a central figure in her world! You won’t believe where he takes her!
Susan May Warren has written another book that you won’t be able to put down. I can’t wait for the next book in this series!
I received this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my unbiased review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for It Had to Be You, Christiansen Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ashley
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is no secret that I love Susan May Warren’s writing. I have been looking forward to It Had to Be You since I read Take a Chance on Me, and it did not disappoint. Her characters are authentic, engaging and down to earth. Her stories are romantic, intriguing and hopeful.
As soon as you crack open this book you’re immersed in a whole new world, experiencing the successes and trials of Eden, and Jace, and everyone their lives touch. I love that this book was able to tackle some really hard issues. I mean intense faith questions, head on, with no fear, and come away hopeful. No empty platitudes here. These characters really had to grapple with some harsh realities and make some painful decisions, including what it means to trust God and hold on to faith in the midst of very dark times when it feels God may not be so trustworthy.
I love that Susan May Warren isn’t afraid to tackle these tough issues in her books and that she never creates perfect characters or perfect circumstances or perfect faith. The way she writes lets the truth of God and what the Bible really means shine through naturally, without preaching or beating you over the head with an agenda. Although some subject matter is pretty serious, this book doesn’t bring you down when you’re reading it. And there are always moments of levity and enough romance to balance out the rest of the plot. I thoroughly enjoyed this installment in the Christiansen Family series and I can’t wait to see what is coming next! :)
*I received an ARC of this book from Tyndale House in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for It Had to Be You, Christiansen Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well written and wonderful! Will surprise you!

Date:February 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In case you're wondering, this book is definitely worth reading. I highly recommend it. There, that being said, let me tell you about it.
This is the second book in the Christiansen Family series by Susan May Warren. I downloaded the first book, Take A Chance On Me for free recently and really enjoyed, it so I was excited to read this one. The Christiansen family own and operate the Evergreen Resort in Deep Haven, where a previous novels by the author have been set. There are six siblings in the family and Owen is a brand new NHL hockey player. His sister, Eden has lived in Minneapolis with him for the past three years, keeping him out of trouble while he worked his way up the hockey ranks. Now that he's in the NHL and getting older, growing out from under her wing, there are new troubles and temptations has to learn to deal with while she learns to let go.
There's two other significant story lines entwined with this one but it's done so well and seamlessly that it doesn't distract or detract from the story. How they all intersect at the end is wonderful. The book is not preachy or pushy but Warren paints a beautiful picture of the love of God through hard times.
I received this book from Tyndale House Publishers for the purpose of an honest review. My opinion is my own. Thank you Tyndale!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for It Had to Be You, Christiansen Family Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding! Outstanding!

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Clover, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read Susan May Warren for a long time and I love her Deep Haven books. The first in this series about the Christiansens was wonderful but this one is just totally over the top! It moved me in ways I never imagined.
Eden Christiansen has always been there, hovering, taking care of, babying, her brother Owen, rookie hockey star. She's put so much effort into his career that she hasn't had time for herself in any way at all. She dreams of being a great reporter, but seems stuck writing obituaries for her paper. She doesn't see that this will ever change.
Jace Jacobsen is the enforcer of his hockey team, aggressive and blunt, but he's not at peace with his life. Eden holds him responsible for policing Owen's behavior, too. Jace also has secret demons in his own life that weigh him down at every turn.
Will these two people who seem to hate each other manage to look beyond the turmoil in their lives and see the hope that God offers them? Or will they continue in their stubbornness and miss out on the greatest thing that could ever happen to them.
This book has so much of value in it. Susan May Warren has the unique ability to make the reader a part of the story. From the very first, you feel as if you belong there, with the characters. It's almost as if there is a big giant tv screen playing along in your head as you read!
I shed a lot of tears during the last portion of this book. And I tell you this: God ministered to me about a situation in my own life, teaching me a lesson about hope and grace, too! The theme of redemption runs strong through this book also. It's like I got a sermon from this book! I just read another book this week with the same message, so I think maybe God is trying to get my attention!
The romance was fantastic. She writes so sweetly about the romance between her characters, always has. You'll never regret buying a Susan May Warren book! I know I'll never miss one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>