Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House When I Fall in Love, Christiansen Family Series #3

Tyndale House When I Fall in Love, Christiansen Family Series #3

Hawaii was the last place Grace Christiansen ever imagined she'd vacation, much less fall in love. But when her family surprises her with a cooking retreat in paradise, she is pulled-or maybe yanked-away from her predictable, safe life and thrown headfirst into the adventure of a lifetime.

Max Sharpe may make his living on the ice as a pro hockey player, but he feels most at home in the kitchen. Which is why he lives for the three-week culinary vacation he takes each year in Hawaii. Upon being paired with Grace for a cooking competition, Max finds himself drawn to her passion, confidence, and perseverance. But just when Grace dares to dream of a future beyond her hometown, Max pulls away.

Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for When I Fall in Love, Christiansen Family Series #3
Review 1 for When I Fall in Love, Christiansen Family Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I sat down and began reading the novel, I expected nothing short of a great story and I wasn’t disappointed. At the end of the novel the author shares her experiences of how two different people react when suffering came into their lives and how it touched her heart. Loosely based on seeing two different responses to suffering she included each into this tale of the Christiansen family sage. Honestly it is a heart tugging tale because no one who has lived for any amount of time on earth has been unscathed by experiencing suffering or pain in some form.
The story includes the characters from the other two novels which are Take a Chance on Me followed by It Had to be You. While readers can read the book without having read previous installments I think more will be gained by readers who do read the other books to understand the developing tale. One characteristic I appreciated about the novel was the fact that no Christian family is without problems, trials, joys and more. The other thread which is evident is how wanting to know Him more means holding on less tightly to expecting others to fill whatever our hearts are longing.
Within the pages the audience will enjoy reading how God stretches Grace Christiansen out of her comfort zone along with a hockey player who keeps his heart protect from loving and really living. Readers will learn about one brother Owen who is rebelling and still reacting out of a deep loss of his dreams, mad at God and continues to come in and out of his family’s lives without a thought to how it hurts them so. Then there is a young single woman who has nowhere to go, no family to embrace her when she makes a decision that changes her future in ways she can’t even imagine.
Here is a story of redemption, learning to love and live life to its fullest no matter what may or may not happen in the future. It is a story of trusting in God and living sacrificially for the benefit of others who need to know how much He loves them. All of the characters have made or are making choices either to walk each day with faith in Him or by trying to handle their situation in their own strength. A great fictional story which drives home to the heart truths to ponder long after the readers close the cover!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for When I Fall in Love, Christiansen Family Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Christiansen Read!

Date:July 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely loved this story about Grace Christiansen! It was so full of love, faith, hope, and knowing that God wants us to live out "more"!
Susan has a beautiful way of sucking you into the story and getting caught up in these characters lives! "When I Fall in Love" definitely did not disappoint in this area! The concept of having Grace in Hawaii cooking with Max was awesome! I am a huge foodie fan and whenever there is anything remotely cooking-related in a novel I want to read it! To have Hawaiian foods that I had never heard of was a huge added bonus to this story! I found it so fascinating to read about Grace and Max's time in the kitchen! Plus the scenery sounded so gorgeous and had me wishing I was at the beach!
The spiritual aspect is always a hit on in Susan's novel and I really felt this hit home for me! Like Grace, I too feel as if sometimes I leave in fear of reaching out in the "more" of what God is calling me to do or live out! There were other amazing spiritual lessons along the way that really brought "When I Fall in Love" too! This one is would stood out to me the most though!
It's funny because each time I have read a novel about the Christiansens family I say it was my favorite and I am yet again saying this is my favorite out of the series! I am eagerly looking forward to more because Mrs. Warren is quickly becoming one of my favorite Christian contemporary authors! Don't miss this one! However I will warn that having a few tissues near by may be handy!
*(I received this novel from the publisher in exchange for an honest review! All thoughts expressed are my own and I was not required to write a positive review!)*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for When I Fall in Love, Christiansen Family Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Oh I fell in love...

Date:July 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It could be all the delicious food I got to read about. Maybe it's because it took place in Hawaii. Most likely it's just the fact that I love good-looking hockey players...
Anyways, you get the gist. I loved it.
No, this book won't win any awards for most original plot or greatest love story. They'll never make a movie out of it or stick it in a collection of classic novels, but even with all that, I still thought it was great. It has depth, humor, and characters that make you fall in love.
Our heroine was someone I understood. When I read, I need to feel connected to the characters. Susan May Warren gave me that chance throughout this story, and Max and Grace came alive. Their romance was sweet, a little hesitant, and based on their friendship they formed in Hawaii.
Throughout the entire book, there's also a secondary love story that we get to see develop. It adds a nice touch to the book and I'm looking forward to hearing more about Casper and Raina.
I'd recommend this book to all you ladies who love a cute romance. And if you've also got a thing for hockey players, then that's just an added bonus :)
Don't expect anything earth shattering, but I don't think you'll be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for When I Fall in Love, Christiansen Family Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

When I Fall in Love

Date:July 13, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The latest chapter in the Christiansen Family is shared in When I Fall in Love by Susan May Warren. You will meet Grace as she is traveling to a cooking retreat in Hawaii. Grace is a homebody, so you instantly realize that she is not in her comfort zone!
At the beginning of her trip, Grace meets Maxwell Sharpe, the man sitting beside her on the plane. After he helps her overcome her motion sickness during the flight, Grace knows she has found a great traveling partner.
Grace and Maxwell take you along on their journey together: Grace learning to do things she has never done before (snorkeling and surfing) and Maxwell, falling in love for the first time!
When everything seems to be falling into place, a secret from Max's past comes to light and Max runs!
The book had me turning page after page to come to the conclusion of Grace and Max's tale. It was a journey worth taking!
I received this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my unbiased review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for When I Fall in Love, Christiansen Family Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love is a Forever Prospect

Date:July 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I Fall in Love
A Christiansen Family novel
By Susan May Warren
This is the third book in the Christiansen Family series and Grace Christiansen is the featured family member. But all the Christiansens are in When I Fall in Love and this is an interesting and intriguing story to say the least.
Grace's life is safe and predictable as long as she stays home in Deep Haven. But no one gets it - when she's away from home she's miserable and disaster is just waiting to catch her with her guard down. So when her family surprises her with a 3-week (3-weeks away from home in the middle of an ocean!) culinary vacation in Hawaii Grace is less than thrilled. But her family won't take no for an answer. So Grace is off to Hawaii and thanks to big sister Eden and her fiancé Jace she is going to be babysat by Jace's former teammate Max Sharpe.
Max has no time for romance. He's all business and for him business is hockey except for the 3 weeks he spends each year in Hawaii cooking. The last thing Max wants is to babysit the needy soon-to-be sister-in-law of his teammate. And Max has a secret - a secret that he refuses to share with anyone - a secret that is controlling his life.
But life has a way of surprising us and Max and Grace are both in for one when they seem to hit it off almost immediately. Friendship seems safe if only they can make their hearts listen.
Meanwhile back in Deep Haven Owen is slipping further into his no regrets rebellion- no matter who it hurts in the process. And he is about to cause some big hurt in his family with his latest actions.
Eden and Jace are moving forward with their wedding plans and want Grace to cater it. And Derek just may have found someone. Take a trip back to Deep Haven and visit with the Christiansen family as they navigate the twist and turns of life - some of it good and some of it bad. When I Fall in Love is a book that you'll enjoy and just like the song of the same name it is forever which is how love should be viewed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for When I Fall in Love, Christiansen Family Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
thecraftyhome
Age:25-34
Gender:female
When I Fall in Love is the third book in the Christiansen Family series, however, this is one of those series where you don't really have to have read all the others for it to make sense or be enjoyable. This novel follows the story of Grace Christiansen as well as having a side plot involving Eden getting married and Owen and Casper and another female character. As you can see you will get to enjoy many of your favorites from the family. To thank Grace for catering her brother's wedding the family buys her a trip to Hawaii for a culinary school/vacation. Grace, however, has never left Deep Haven and has no desire to. But she finally is convinced to give it a try. She ends up having Maxwell Sharpe, who played hockey with Owen and Jace, be her friend on the vacation. They begin to fall in love but Maxwell has sworn off dating and the thought of getting married. So what happens when he is confronted with that fear as he falls for Grace. And can Grace let go of her fears and fully trust God?
This book is another fantastic one from Susan May Warren. I would daresay she is the best romantic Christian author out there right now. Her books aren't too sappy and really deal with a lot of tough heart issues. They help bring you closer to the Lord while leaving you with a fabulous story. I highly recommend you add this book to your summer reading. It would make a great vacation book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for When I Fall in Love, Christiansen Family Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Loved this Book!

Date:July 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
ChooseWisely
Location:Fredericksburg, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Oh my stars, I loved this book!! Add Susan May Warren to your go to authors for a guaranteed fantastic read! I feel absolutely robbed that I have never read one of her titles before now. I read When I Fall in Love in two sittings and I was immediately desperate to read the books which proceeded it. When I make my list of books I truly loved in 2014, When I Fall in Love, will be at the top of the list!
In this third book of the Christiansen Family Novels, Grace Christiansen is sent by her family on a culinary vacation to Hawaii. It is there she meets up with Maxwell Sharpe who has been asked to look after Grace while she is away. Max is a hockey player and culinary whiz desperate for a vacation and adventure. The unlikely pair hit it off in a story you will want to read over and over. I truly hope this one makes it to the big screen!
What I love about this book is the way Susan May Warren tells a believable and heart warming drama of two lives coming together. I had no problem diving in and feeling at home with the characters, their heartaches, struggles, and celebrations. I especially love the way Warren is able to tie in the faith of the characters in an authentic representation that never felt forced or unrealistic. Believe me when I say, this is a delightful book you will be glad you read.
I was given a complimentary copy of this book by Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own and I have not been compensated.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for When I Fall in Love, Christiansen Family Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great 3rd Christiansen Family Novel

Date:June 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Clover, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Here we have Susan May Warren's 3rd book in The Christiansen Family series. This one tells Grace Christiansen and Max Sharpe's story.
Grace wants to stay in Deep Haven forever because it's safe and she doesn't have to risk anything. No adventures for her, she's perfectly happy where she is. But there is something missing from Grace's life. Then her family gifts her with a 3 week culinary holiday in Hawaii. Grace doesn't want to go, but allows herself to be talked into it by her family. IF she can force herself to actually get on the plane, that is.
Max Sharpe is a tough pro hockey player, all put together and in control. But is he? Max loves to cook and has always felt at home in the kitchen and is also on his way to the 3 week culinary event in Hawaii.
Max and Grace are chosen as a team in a cooking competition and Max feels stirrings in his heart for Grace. Grace is confident, full of passion for cooking and determined. But Max fights his own heart, determined himself to not fall for Grace. He can't open his heart to something he can't ever hope to have.
Susan May Warren never fails to pull her reader in with her books. Both these individuals have serious issues in their lives that they just can't seem to let go and let God work in their lives and give them the answers. Why do we do this? Determine to bull headedly hang onto our problems when God has the answer and wants to bring healing to us all the time?
This book is a ministry, especially one scene on the beach near the end. Wow. Tears. You will be blessed. Just as I was blessed. Just as I realized that God has the answer to my own problem and I just need to stop being fearful and look to the future God has planned for me. We can't control what happens in our lives but if we let God lead the way, He will take care of us.
I always look forward to losing myself in one of Susan's books and soon as I finish, I'm hungry for the next one. Happily, there are 3 more Christiansens left and a novella about the parents left!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for When I Fall in Love, Christiansen Family Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My favorite Susan May Warren book!

Date:June 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ane Mulligan
Location:Suwanee, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Susan May Warren's characters! They're so real, I've found I can relate to each one of them. When I Fall in Love is probably my favorite book of hers. I highly recommend it! What a great summer read ... or fall or winter. It's a super read anytime.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for When I Fall in Love, Christiansen Family Series #3
This review is fromWhen I Fall in Love - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down! Score for Susan!

Date:July 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nickiarieanne8
Location:Appomattox,VA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grace Christian has always been a homebody. One of those people who is just 100% more comfortable and safe in their own environment. She thought her family understood that...or at least until they gave her plane tickets for a 3 week vacation in Hawaii. Hawaii.She couldn't just go to Minneapolis to visit her sister, she had to fly all the way across the ocean for a cooking class. And the worst part is that, not only does she have to go to this cooking class but she is learning Hawaiin cooking to cater her sister's wedding. At least she thought that was the worst part. Until she learned she was also to have a travel companion/babysitter along with her. Will Grace overcome her fears and go on the surprise trip or will her conscience convince her that Hawaii is a very, very bad idea?
Max Sharpe is ready and excited for his 3rd annual 3 week vacation to Hawaii. Or he was until he found out he had to babysit. Worse yet, she's Owen's sister, and obviously doesn't know his terrible secret that his eaten at him since Owen got hurt. And Jace doesn't understand he goes to Hawaii to escape the one thing that will destroy his life. He can't believe Jace would pull rank on him like this and make him take her. After making a new friend (a gorgeous girl no less) he wonders if he can't just ditch Grace after they get to Hawaii safely. Until he finds out a secret about his newly found friend.
With sickness on the trip, a cooking contest, dangerous riptides, and a handful of secrets will Grace stay in Hawaii or book her next flight home? And will Max be able to stay away from his new friend and keep his deadly secret hidden? Or will all their secrets be uncovered and everything start to unravel?
Meanwhile, a newcomer at home has caught Casper Christiansen's eye and he thinks she likes him too. But as he continues to puzzle over something she said before she officially met him, her friendly, then withdrawn attitude, and her sudden outburst at a family member he begins to wonder what he's done...and how he can fix it.
Raina can't believe she was stupid enough to fall for another guy. Casper Christiansen no less...but the more she gets to know him, the more she's convinced he's fallen for her too and the more she sees a future with him. She finally decides just to let go and have some fun with Casper...until a past regret is almost uncovered and she realizes she can't be involved with Casper. Not now and not ever. Will she be able to break it to him gently or will they both be hurt in the process? And worse yet, will he even still love her if he finds out her secret?
"When I fall in Love" is an incredible story on trust, love, faith and hope in the future, in each other and in God. You will no doubt laugh, cry, hurt, and rejoice with the Christiansen family in the third book from Susan and anxiously await her next stories!
I was given a complimentary copy of this book by Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own and I have not been compensated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.